Jetstar Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 712 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"email cancelling my flights"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne to Adelaide. When you book with Jetstar, please think twice! I booked my return flights with Jetstar to Adelaide early with a special price of $104 return. Thought I got a good deal. Have my travel planned and organised. As travel date coming near, they send me an email cancelling my flights giving me limited options of other flight or refund. This happens twice already. In order to arrive on time for a wedding, we have to refund and book last minute with Virgin at over $170 just one way. Everybody, I would rather book earlier with an airline that is reliable than being put in such position of being ripped off, getting a ticket last minute. After I witness this "sudden cancelling" situation twice within the past 4 months, I never recommend anyone to book with Jetstar, since their "so called" promotional deals is cloud without rain, giving promise of the gift they doesn't realise.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Adelaide
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never again have my business"

(United States)

Not Verified | First time Jetstar flyer, was not aware of such a strict carry-on baggage weight limit. Flight from Cairns to Sydney was delayed in departure, and scales were brought out in a rush. I was first in line. Agent said I had to pay $60 fee for excess carry-on. Thinking we were boarding immediately, I had no choice but to pay $60. However, the flight still didn’t go due to aircraft malfunction. Subsequently, a 3.5 hour delay and a new aircraft. In the interim, I unloaded items from my bag bringing the weight down to 7 kg or less. Thought bags would be re-weighed when a flight was rescheduled and I would be entitled to a refund. Rush again to board the delayed flight at another gate. Bags were not weighed for that flight. I asked agent for a refund of my $60 cash because I was boarding the aircraft with less than 7 kg. She said contact Customer Service upon arrival in Sydney. The kiosk was unstaffed in Sydney. Emailed Customer Service and was told no refund was possible. I asked for different compensation such as an upgrade or meal voucher for my next flight 3 days later. Not possible, they said, because it was a separate booking. Totally unwilling to mitigate the circumstances, even when the flight was 3.5 hours late departing Cairns, and even though my carry-on luggage was not in excess of 7 kg upon departure. Bum deal, JetStar. You will never again have my business.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"okay for them to muck you around"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Jetstar cancelled my 10am then 1pm flights, then tried to throw me on the 21.30. I called to rebook for the following day and they said if I change again I'll be charged! Seems it's okay for them to muck you around but if you can't fit in then they bill you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWellington to Auckland
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"no refund was possible"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. The flight was cancelled and Jetstar’s refund terms limit your ability to make other options. The return flight was not until the next afternoon, costing me a day’s work. I paid for premium seating but the staff member sitting next to me got the window seat and felt like playing loud YouTube clips without earphones. I was told a refund would be possible but following up a week later they said because I took the flight home no refund (even partial for the inconvenience) was possible.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"prepare for a longer delay"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Constant delays as we have experienced yet again can only mean that either the maintenance being performed on these aircraft are substandard or the operational side of the airline is substandard. Four hours late arriving for a wedding in Denpasar Bali though part of this issue was not caused by Jetstar. And now we are sitting in the airport in Bali waiting to leave and a minimum five hour delay though they are telling us to prepare for a longer delay. No airline should be allowed to operate with these constant engineering and or mechanical delays.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Perth
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No apologies offered"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Given our recent experience with Jetstar, this airline doesn't deserve a rating (can you give a negative score?), it was shocking. Our flight from Uluru was scheduled to depart at 12.55. Before leaving our hotel we received a text saying flight departure changed to 15.00. On arrival at the airport, advised departure now 17.30. (Given a $7 voucher for our inconvenience). Further announcement, departure now expected to be 18.30 (given another $7 voucher). By this time the only cafe at the airport had run out of all food. Later advised flight expected to depart 19.30. Plane arrived around 19.30, by the time we got airborne it was 20.15 approx. Got to my house in Melbourne around midnight instead of 4.30pm. No apologies offered by Flight Captain or Aircrew. (Our flight to Uluru from Melbourne was also delayed 3 hours).
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUluru (Ayres Rick) to Melbourne
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"haven't received any response"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Singapore, 9 Oct 2918 the Jetstar Airways flight QF5204 was delayed for about 50 minutes due to computer problems. We finally departed Jakarta at about 4:00 pm local time and when we arrived Singapore, it already almost at 7:00 pm Singapore time. The crew didn't inform passengers at all about how we are going to catch our connecting flight to Sydney with 7:30 departure schedule. We were just instructed to go directly to Gate D46 from the arrival at Gate C24. It was quite far. My wife with her back problems and knee weakness have to follow me to run as quickly as we could. When we arrived at Gate D46 it was already closed. We were instructed to go to the transfer desk to take another flight which is QF2. It's good that we still have another flight. But why the crew with QF5204 didn't tell us about this once we exit the plane on Gate C24? It was really a outright ignorant of Qantas. Even after I wrote the same complain in their website, till now I haven't received any response.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"felt entirely disrespected"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Cairns. I have flown Qantas many times and expected their sister airline to have some of the same polish and class but on that score it failed. The process used to check in could not have been more confusing and frustrating. I was over weight on baggage and the process to purchase additional kilos required visiting not one but two additional desks and then waiting in line again to check the baggage. Why does it have to be so complex? Could this airline do anything more to make a passenger feel like an object without value? The flight itself was uneventful and comfortable enough but after the difficulties checking in and paying for additional baggage (the fees were excessive and made this anything but a "budget" flight), I was frustrated, angered and felt entirely disrespected by the airline. I will try my best to avoid Jetstar in the future.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Cairns
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have flown"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. Jetstar is by far the worst airline that I have ever flown with. Extremely unprofessional and rude ground staff, long delays, very bad organisation, dirty planes. Don’t ever waste your time and money flying with this airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very below par airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very below par airline! They cancelled my flight that was booked from Cairns to Melbourne on Sept 27th 2018. Wouldn't refund me and wouldn't change my flights without having to pay "the change flight fee" As I am a mad Westcoast Eagles supporter who had tickets to the AFL grand final that weekend and to the footy show for that night. The flight was cancelled in that morning, there was no way I was going to miss out. I was then forced to book a new flight that day with Tiger airways. At a cost of $400!! I tried everything and was on the phone for an extensive amount of time. All I asked was for at least a refund as I had to rebook another flight. Will never fly with Jetstar again! Very disappointing from a very below par airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no