Avelo Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 141 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

“my new go to airline“

(United States)

Not Verified | 1st time flying with this airline, usually use Delta or American Airlines. This is my new go to airlines. left VPS on 6/13. fastest boarding ever, stewards & stewardesses were great, personable. Flight arrived 10 min. early, left New Haven 6/14. Boarding again fast efficient, staff great. We arrived home 20 minutes earlier than expected (both flights early? unheard of). Passengers actually broke out in applause on landing, one stated "it was like landing in butter" didn't even feel the landing. Great job to this company, keep it up. I'll be back soon.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDestin–Fort Walton Beach to New Haven
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"charged 65.00 for overhead luggage"

(United States)

Not Verified | Avelo prices are good. However, I was charged 65.00 for overhead luggage going and returning. Totalling 130.00 the almost amount of my total flight Totalling 136.00. I made calls to Avelo since this was my 1st flight with them. The reason for lower prices because they Double Charge for Overhead Luggage. My luggage could fit under the seat.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRaleigh Durham to New haven
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refused to board the animal"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We boarded a flight with a department of transportation approved (DOT-papered) service animal who's flown on every other airline. After checking in and providing all paperwork, and going through every check at the airport including at the gate, the flight stewardess refused to board the animal, after our family had been seated. DOT paperwork was provided upon airport check-in. Our entire family was removed from the flight, our checked bags were lost in BUR, and despite daily calls, Avelo supervisors will not return calls and their service say any refund requests were denied. We have received no credit or refund for checked bag fees (2), both flights for four people, or paid dog fee. We've now incurred no-show fees, lost all of our medications and valuables and to make matters worse, we were traveling due to major illness in the family. So a cheap, direct fare will gets you nothing if anything goes wrong. Do not fly, ever.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRoberts Field to Hollywood Burbank
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"they closed my case"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked, price went down so I rebooked. They didn't give me a refund. They put the money in escrow. I didn't know that so after 5 calls I got a refund but they need to rebook the flight. Upon receiving the conformation I noticed they got the date wrong. Another call. Then I noticed they didn't put on my check bags. Another call where they told me I have 2 checked bags but they needed to put the funds in seats? I said okay you must know what your doing. I was reassured. Got to the airport with my 86 year old mother, sir you need to pay $130 for the 2 checked bags. Long story longer and not wanting to hold up the line I agreed figuring I'll clear it up when I get home. 3 emails and 3 phone calls, no luck. I contacted the executive office and someone said they would resolve this. 5 emails and they closed my case. I sent all the proof. So a $237 flight cost me $397. Stay away I predict they will be gone in two years.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Wilmington
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“does not honor their refund policy”

(United States)

Trip Verified | I never flew on Avelo. When we arrived at the airport in Burbank, the man agent for Avelo at the counter informed us we arrived too late for our luggage to be put on the plane. He went on to say that we could go to get the plane at the gate w/o our luggage; however he could not say that we would be able to get on the plane either! At that point, we decided the flight to Vegas would not be happening & we were informed that this flight was the only one they had all day. Later when I contacted Avelo by email requesting my refund, they repeatedly told me - That we were marked as No Shows - and therefore we were no eligible for any refunds. They to this day maintain that is/was the case. Clearly we were Cancels and NOT No Shows. I said ask your counterperson...he clearly not only saw us, but spoke to us multiple times. So BE AWARE - This airline does Not HONOR Their Refund Policy.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBurbank to Las Vegas
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Re carry-on baggage, beware"

(United States)

Not Verified | Unfortunately they were unable to provide the aisle chair to assist my husband off the plane at RDU. He had to walk unsafely to a wheelchair at the entrance to the plane. Not a good situation for a handicapped person trying to travel. Avelo monitors the same carry on multiple times for size including check in and at gate. They had multiple people at the gate who checked us more than once even though we already paid the extra fee for being .5 too tall. "it's the handle" They measure carryon and charge $65 if 1/2 inch too tall including handle or wheels. You have to keep proving you have paid. It feels predatory unfortunately. There's got to be a better way. The carryon fit very nicely under the seat in front of me without any question. I must say at check-in the agent Polly who charged us the carryon fee was graceful and kind and recognized she took me by surprise. Flight attendant Lisa was delightful. Flight was on time and felt safe which is most important. I recommend this airline for safety, at least it felt that way. However, travel with a handicapped person was very difficult and I would be very cautious. Re carry-on baggage, beware.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Myers to Raleigh Durham
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"awful customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is an awful airline with equally awful customer service. We missed a flight due to their inept employees, had to spend $2000 to fly home on a different airline, spent the night on an airport floor with two small children, and now their rules & regulations have somehow changed 3 times to accommodate their unwillingness to fix the problem. Horrible and cheap.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWilmington to San Juan
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"definitely not work the hassle"

(United States)

Not Verified |   I chose to fly with Avelo - simply because I live in DE. The prices were comparable to other major airlines - especially when you add in all the fees. I will never fly with them again. Our flight was cancelled (and understandably things happen with travel). There was nobody at the airport to assist - we received a text and $150 for a room per reservation. The cheapest room I could find was $200. This is a late departure originally, so you are in limbo. We were informed that the flight would depart the following day, at 7pm. That got pushed back to 9 and then 10, and finally 11. We board the plane and have to wait for fuel. At no point do the pilots or the flight crew apologize for the late flight….anytime I have traveled the company is very apologetic, not this airline. Then the captain comes on and says we have to wait for another plane. We have been on the plane for an hour now - captain comes back on and says we aren’t leaving because both pilots are over their legal flight times….they knew this was a possibility, yet the company proceeded. So we are all off the plane - no communication from Avelo (the poor gate reps). We finally get the test. Again, no assistance from the company with helping find rooms - it’s past midnight. So we are set to leave - Friday afternoon - original flight was Wed. Night. The customer service - from the company is lacking. The employees are kind but the flight crew seems very novice. They don’t have the fleet to fix their issues. It is definitely not work the hassle. Very disappointing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Juan to Wilmington
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service experience unhelpful"

(United States)

Not Verified |   Be aware when booking with Avelo Airlines! Our group of 10 had their return flight changed by 11 hours without any reasonable alternatives offered. Our original flight time was 5:30 PM and changed to 6:30 AM. No other flights that day (Sunday) until Thursday of the next week. The customer service experience was also unhelpful. Consider other options before choosing this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSanta Rosa to Boise
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Steer clear!”

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolute worst airline ever flown with. Flight 588 returning home has been delayed twice then canceled until the following day in the evening. Once again it’s now been delayed again to even later in the evening. Our dogs are being boarded and we have no one to pick them up, money is running low and Avelo had the audacity to offer a $150 voucher to hotel PER reservation. Three people cooped up in a one bedroom hotel…awkward. When I spoke to Avelo customer service rep she confirmed Avelo can not accommodate in any way shape or form besides voucher. No help with car rental, no hope with utilizing another flight to get home with another airline, no help with food, no nothing! Never ever again using this airline. Steer clear!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWilmington, DE to San Juan, PR
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no