Avelo Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Very impressed with Avelo"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew Avelo for the first time with 2 of my daughters this weekend from Wilmington, DE to Tampa, FL. Everything went flawlessly. No they do not provide snacks on the plane, but that was not an issue as we knew to stop at a convenience store for whatever food we wanted to bring. They did offer complimentary water on the plane. The flight was on time. The crew was friendly and efficient. We had no issues. But what really stood out was that my daughter left an important school work folder on the plane. It had slid between the seats during the flight. She realized it in the hotel in Tampa. Later that evening, I received an email from an Avelo Customer Service Lead, Drew Perales, letting me know that they found her folder. He looked into my reservations and knew we would be flying back 4 days later and said to just see an Avelo crew member when we get back to Wilmington. Well 4 days later, my daughter had her folder back in her hands. I was just floored by this customer service. I feel like most people or airlines would have just tossed it. Very impressed with Avelo and will fly again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWilmington to Tampa
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Avoid this airline"

(United States)

Not Verified |   Overcharged when calling to change my flight. The agent was rude. Right after booking I started receiving notices the Flight was delayed. Agent must have known. Avoid this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to New Haven
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they lost my luggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airline is careless, they lost my luggage. I made a baggage claim they refused to send me an answer or my luggage. I sent them several emails but didn't get any response. I am so disappointed and I need my luggage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Haven to Baltimore
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Overall, friendly service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Keep in mind Avelo is a budget airline, so no food (they do provide a bottle of water) & the seats are tight as are the seats on other budget carriers, ie Frontier, Allegiant, etc. I found the gate crew to be friendly, making intelligent announcements. The onboard staff was helpful & friendly and the pilot made timely and helpful announcements concerning weather & turbulence. The interior of the 737-800 was showing it's age- smaller overhead bins, the interior of which were scraped up, several over bin fluorescent lights were burned out, and the new seat material was torn on one of the seats in front of me. Overall, friendly service from a smaller no hassle airport, typical budget interior accommodations on older aircraft, the exterior of which is newly repainted.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWilmington to Ft Myers
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"had to cancel our entire vacation"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Pay the extra money that will get you an airline that will actually get you to your destination. Our flight from New Haven to Fort Lauderdale was delayed 9 hrs initially due to “weather”. The staff seemed just as clueless as the passengers flying. They simply kept pushing the delay back first by an additional half hour then an additional hour. Then suddenly they send us a text saying that there’s no crew for our flight and our flight is canceled and that all the flights for tomorrow are booked. So now we had to cancel our entire vacation due to the incompetency of the airport and airline. Very sad since I was going to see my grandparents before college starts but now I won’t have time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Haven to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

“very helpful, nice and polite”

(United States)

Not Verified | So I got to the airport in New Haven. There is a lady at the counter with purple hair. She was very helpful, nice and polite. Usually when you go to an airport they rush you through and not talk or work with you or ask how your day is going. Things like that she asked how we were doing while she was checking us all in and doing her job bringing on a conversation which was very nice and polite. There was a slight situation with seating and she was able to fix that for us right away too. She went above and beyond in my eyes for her position. The plane ride was nice. Back and forth had no issues. I will fly this airline service again with no questions. Do recommend bring it on snacks. They do don't offer them on the plane but they do give you water if you need it when we left Tampa. It was much bigger than New Haven so you've had to wait in some lines to check in but other than that no problems.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Haven, Connecticut to Tampa, Florida
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

“experience has been a complete nightmare”

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight was scheduled to leave Thursday 12/7 at 7 am. Was delayed until 7 am on 12/8. Multiple delays continued to occur. They said it was due to maintenance, but it was clear that no maintenance crew is wherever working on this flight. They continue to keep all passengers in the dark, giving no explanations. Most of the passengers booked with other airlines. The plane never left Orlando until Friday night 12/8. As you can guess, we incurred a lot of expenses in this process. And Avelo only allowed a minimal reimbursement for a hotel (150/couple) and one meal at 30 per individual. They refused to reimburse anything else. (And it is now 1/1/24 and we have still not been reimbursed by them - from 12/8/23). I strongly recommend that everyone think twice before using this airline. Our experience with Avelo has been a complete nightmare.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Central Wisconsin
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid Avelo Airlines"

(United States)

Not Verified | Avoid Avelo Airlines. I chose Avelo due to the convenient location and cheap price, which I certainly regret now. In fact, the trip cost me more money and time. My flight from New Haven to Chicago was diverted to Kalamazoo, MI. There is no ground support to provide any directions after the landing. Avelo's customer support further refused my request to reimburse the journey from Kalamazoo to Chicago today. The experience is very frustrating in the holiday season. I will not fly and will not recommend anyone to fly with Avelo again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Haven to Chicago
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"people at the gate were just horrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The people that work at the gate for Avelo Airlines have been nothing but rude the last three flights I've been on. I bought my seat early and paid a lot of money for it, I paid for priority boarding as I am disabled. And people at the gate refuse to let me forward with the handicapped people because I was not in a wheelchair. I find this to be discrimination. I went to go ask the lady at the front when are we boarding, and she just said get back in line. I love Avelo, usually there's stewards and stewardesses are fine. But this time the people at the gate were just horrible. Put so much stress on me when I'm already stressed due to the pain in my arm. Have a level 3 torn tendon.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBurbank to Medford
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"avoid Avelo despite its low prices"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The flights from Avelo are usually great but after having my flight get re-routed due to bad weather, I was stuck with having to wait two days before my next flight whilst being completely across the U.S. from my home or staying at the airport we got re-rerouted to and finding my own way home which is still very far. I have flown previously with Avelo but ended up having to wait an additional three hours as our plane had mechanical issues. I'm not sure if this is an unlucky streak or not but it is persuading me to want to avoid Avelo despite its low prices. My total delay time from Avelo over the course of two flights totals to around 13 hours unexpected delay time. This includes mechanical failures, weather and my total travel time that I needed to take, such as driving home from an unexpected state.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando, FL to Wausau, WI
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no