Virgin Atlantic

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 845 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"all in all a good flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified |  The 'Economy Delight' product was worth it if you're tall, but not necessarily comfortable if your on the rugby build, broadish side. The aircraft on the return flight wasn't in the best condition- parts of one toilet area was held together with tape. Rather surprising for what I deemed as a new generation aircraft. I appreciate that on a route such as this, culinary choices must cater for all tastes that suit the passengers; however, particularly on the return flight to London, we were rather expecting, even in economy, a variation of choice. Even our flight attendant was happy just to offer the tray without the hot meal, adding that we could pick from the snacks in the galley later, if we wished. I must commend the punctuality of both flights, and the professionalism of the captain and co-pilots for ensuring a safe landing in Delhi in a thick fog. Some cabin crew were friendly, some offish, but all in all a good flight.
AircraftA350-1000
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Delhi return
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

“cannot recommend enough”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I cannot recommend Virgin Atlantic enough. As a nervous passenger I was treated so well, the cabin crew were amazing with me explaining noises, what was happening and checking in with me all flight. The seats in premium economy are really spacious, the food is good, obviously it’s not amazing but there was plenty of choice and lots of drinks if you wanted them. The aircraft is spacious, modern, very clean. Plenty to watch, listen to etc. All in all a very comfortable flight with fantastic staff.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteNew York JFK to Manchester
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the policy is the policy"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Virgin Atlantic cancelled the return leg of my flight with no notice and left me stranded in the US. I had to purchase a separate single fare ticket at over $1000 (original return flight booking had cost £580). Virgin refused to help, said they were just following their policy and even hung up on me once I had finally got through to a customer service team. (which takes ages and cost me £42 in phone calls.) The full story is that 9 months after buying a return ticket with for myself and family, I realised I needed to fly out the US for business and would not be on the outward flight, I planned to meet my family in Florida and so I would still need the return flight. We let Virgin know via email (sent to their [email protected] address) and stressed that I would still need the return leg. My wife mentioned the situation at the Heathrow check-in for the outward leg, where the Virgin representative said "OK". Virgin has a policy that if you don't take the outward leg, they will cancel the return leg, but they will not tell you about it this policy. I only found out about this when I tried to check in for the return flight. I was really shocked, and explained that I had informed Virgin of my plans, so why was this happening? Their response was that I had contacted the wrong customer service team. Instead of informing the customer care team, I should have informed the customer centre. (I had no idea there where two different teams, let alone that they would not be able to communicate between themselves). They also said though that this would have made no difference as it was their policy to cancel the booking! So it would have happened anyway, no matter who I informed. When I asked why they didn't at least let me know they had cancelled my booking (they clearly had all of my contact info!) , they said there policy was their policy and it was up to me to know about it. I have since checked... there is no reference to this policy on the ticket or with the booking information. The policy is noted in the legal details on their website, you have to click through a lot of links to find it. Once back in the UK just under £900 poorer, and having had a pretty stressful time, I contacted them for a refund on the extra ticket. They said they are unable to do this, as the policy is the policy. On the flight I did take, the audio-jack was broken (so no entertainment), the seats were cramped and the food was disgusting.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Heathrow
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Probably worst flight ever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified |  I first flew Virgin in 1986. Last flight a huge disappointment. My wife and I flew Upper Class return. On the flight out both our seats were broken and had to be wound with a handle. We could sit bolt upright or lie flat. On way back one glass of wine served before staff disappeared. I went to serve myself at the bar and was told this wasn’t allowed. Steward pours me one glass of wine and said passangers couldnt serve themselves. Only place for snacks was to go to premium economy. No choice for breakfast. Probably worst flight ever. Called customer service and was given 30,000 miles. I wouldn’t bother with “upper” class
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHeathrow to Johannesburg
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Inexcusably bad customer service”

(United States)

Not Verified | Inexcusably bad customer service; 1. The website is misleading, tries to route you to self-help services and FAQs, anything to keep you from actually talking to a customer service representative 2. The chat function (also misleading btw, it's a lazily programmed chatbot) informed me that for my issue I had to call the number, directed me to it 3. When trying to find the number, was just redirected to the chat function 4. Eventually found the number on a 3rd party website of companies' customer service lines 5. They said they were busy at this time, will have to wait 30 minutes (standard) 6. After holding for 48 minutes with the most insufferable godawful hold music, they hung up on me out of the blue, with no callback. 7. I now can't verify my review because they never picked up; catch 22 TLDR: don't expect any customer support services, useless and angering.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to London
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

“nice flight, on time, with decent service”

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | First time flying Virgin. Check-in and security were pretty easy but South Terminal MIA is awful. If you don't have lounge access I wouldn't spend too long airside. The seats were a lot more comfortable than the BA equivalent, but that might have been because the guy in front never reclined. God bless him. We had warm prosecco before departure, then wine in a can with our nice chicken meal. The best bit was liberating the airplane design salt and pepper pots along with our neighbours. Due to the 160mph tailwind, we were on stand a little early, but have not been in LHR Terminal 3 for years it seems to be from another era. A nice flight, on time, with decent service, okay food and drink, and not bad value. I'd certainly think about them if the conditions were right.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMiami to London Heathrow
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"uncomfortable and the recline is poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified |   It was OK but: 1903 lounge in Manchester was fine. Boarding on time and a punctual pushback. The crew offered excellent service with more than acceptable food and drink. The main issue was the seat. They point towards the aisle. All you see is other passengers feet. They are uncomfortable and the recline is poor. You have to crick your neck to look out of the window. Return flight als excellent service but again the seat. Both flight arrived early.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteManchester to New York
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"utterly dissatisfied"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First time flying Virgin Atlantic and utterly dissatisfied. First of all flight delayed on way out and way back. Aeroplane looked run down and old with seats as cramped as a short haul Ryanair flight. Flown with TUI numerous times and feels like luxury in comparison. Would not recommend ever flying with Virgin Atlantic
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Orlando
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cabin crew was rude & unprofessional"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Food on flight is better than expected, economy class seats are narrow space. Cabin crew was good except bad experience on flight DL5989 (VS0137) from London to JFK where cabin crew was rude & unprofessional. He did not serve coffee, I waved my hands for his attention plus make attendant call from my tv screen but no one came to my seat. When he was picking breakfast garbage and I Told him that he did not serve coffee here, he told me rudely to come on pantry to take coffee.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to new York via London
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"top-tier airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Virgin Atlantic is a great airline and I highly recommend it. The air hostesses were amazing and the check-in personnel is attentive and friendly. They fed passengers with a courteous service. We flew on an Airbus A350-1000 from LAX to LHR, and I was really excited because it was my first flying in one of these aircraft. The seats were standard but quite spacious for economy class. I did encounter a bit of a problem at my check-in at LAX; the young man at the desk was a bit standoffish at first and seemed to not be having a good day, so I nicely told him to "smile" and he changed his demeanor after that and everything else went smoothly.
AircraftA350-1000
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to London
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes