Virgin Atlantic

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 803 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Overall an average service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Virgin to Islamabad, Ground Staff at Heathrow was at shortage therefore not-so smooth Check-in and boarding process. The flight pushed back 2hrs late which did get annoying. The seats were spacious, and legroom was excellent even in the far end of the Economy section. The IFE's were quite responsive and easy to use and had many choices available. The crew were also very attentive and helpful. The meals were delicious and fulfilling. Landing in Islamabad was considerably delayed, for those connecting to other destinations it may have been a hassle, however passengers like us whose journey terminates in Islamabad it wasn't that impactful. Overall, an average service, not comparable to the airlines in the Middle East, however in terms of the British/EU/American market they offer a great product and service.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Islamabad
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"it was mediocre at best"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I recently flew to Johannesburg with Virgin on their "new" A350, and it was mediocre at best. The cabin crew were fine, a bit absent during the flight, but no more so than other airlines. I flew economy delight and the seat was nice, especially the extra leg room. Unfortunately after take off there was an issue with the entertainment system which was reset, but a lot of the movies had no sound which was disappointing on a ten and half hour flight. The food portions were tiny, as were the drinks, but perhaps that is what it is like after COVID. It just seemed mean. On arrival at Johannesburg my suitcase was broken so the Virgin rep got me to fill in a form and told me they would get back to me within the week. This never happened. I have tried calling the number on several occasions and no one picks up. It is very poor customer service, actually there is no customer service! I don't expect a lot but I do expect to be treated with a bit of respect and this has not been my experience. I am not looking forward to the return flight, but it will at least be my last with this airline. Considering everything that is going on in the world, do yourself a favour Virgin and realise there are lots of companies out there that deliver a better service and value for money.
AircraftA351
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"awful customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We planned a 40th birthday trip for myself, my wife and some friends to Las Vegas then heading to California then flying home from Las Vegas again. I am 6"7 so we opted for the upgrade to economy delight. We checked for the front row seats at the time of booking and during the build up to the trip but they were never available. The flight back there was next to no food/drinks on offer for the upgrade we booked. The lady in front reclined her seat when the flight took off, she pressed the seat against my knees. Fast forward a few hours where I had finally got to sleep on the over night flight. I was rudely awaken by the stewardess on the chair in front, knee up on the chair, left hand on the recline button and the right hand on the head rest as she repeatedly jumped to recline the chair. My wife saw exactly what happened as she woke from her sleep (light sleeper) and shouted that they stopped. The chair was slammed back in to my knees like 5 or 6 times before she stopped and exclaimed that everyone has the right to recline their seat. Her only response was "Oh!"... no apology, no offer to move the lady in front or myself to a more suitable seat. I filed a complaint with Virgin about the awful service but they don't care. They have offered me some points that will get me money off my next booking but nothing great. Awful experience, awful customer service and awful complaint handling. Won't be flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to London
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Virgin really is all hype"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Virgin really is all hype. What you see on the TV ads is not what you get onboard. First of all horrendous handling in IAD. No communication, staff like lost sheep. Boarded the aircraft at the same time as departure. Drinks being poured in the bar area as we boarded, nice to see Upper Class drink juice from Tetra Pak. Not even fresh juice in Upper? Seat pitch in economy must be the worse I’ve seen. Tatty seats and when you adjust the headrest it comes off in your hands. Crew scruffy look like they just woke up. Food appalling! Basic, tasteless and minimal. Just slides off the tray table anyway couldn't keep anything upright on it. Waited to use the toilet during the flight was there about 15 mins. Crew passed no one said anything, they unlocked the toilet and tidied it up. Nice. Stood waiting like an idiot while crew walked past and said nothing. Breakfast was awful. A pain au chocolat they could at least have the decency to heat. Wouldn’t take 5 mins. Yoghurt and some granola bar. Cabin crew walking around wearing passenger blankets. Duty free service in the dark. What’s the point? Just awful. First experience and I would never book again. Cheapest full service airline I’ve ever flown with. Do not recommend at all.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to London
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"look forward to flying on Virgin again"

(United States)

Not Verified | First leg on Delta was atrocious. Seats on Virgin was very comfortable (11hr. flt.) Meal service was very good, entertainment system very good as well. Extremely satisfied with economy delight class. It seems foreign carriers provide much more service that US airlines. Assistance checking-in in London super with Virgin staff. The walk to the gate was very long however, so give yourself enough time to get to the gate. I look forward to flying on Virgin again!
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to London via Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible service in Heathrow"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Terrible service on Internet site. Payment for seats select was withdrawn but in the terminal check in refused and made me to pay secondary for the same seats. Terrible service in Heathrow terminal. Food very poor.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Tel Aviv
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"definitely travel with Virgin again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Had a great flight out to Vegas with Virgin. I booked the standard economy light flight and had seats allocated when I checked in the day before. The seats were comfortable and the service throughout the flight was exceptional. I would definitely travel with Virgin again. A bit disappointing that the price has risen so astronomically though. I had a return flight booked for back in 2020 that was obviously cancelled due to the Covid and the same flight now costs nearly treble, such a shame.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Las Vegas
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a decent airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On the whole, a decent airline. The only negatives are quite a hard seat, and a weird head support on the seat that can't be removed. Other than that, very friendly staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Las Vegas
Date FlownMarch 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"wouldn't really recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Not impressed. To get to the toilet, you had to go round the back, through the galley which would be a little awkward with half the crew there every time. Most of the crew were friendly enough, but one or two members thought it would be a good idea to make passive aggressive, snarky comments. In flight entertainment was quite poor, although the TV did have better shows available on my return flight-yet none of them had subtitles which was a pain. And worst of all was the freezing temperature on both flights that was still like Siberia even after most of the passengers turned their AC dials off. The fact that nearly every passenger had their blankets out even in the daytime flight says it all. The few positives include comfortable seats, excellent food and a cool contrast setting available to those who had a window seat. Otherwise, wouldn't really recommend. Economy class of other airlines offer a better experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dehli
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent customer service applies to every class of traveller"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew out on the delayed 9.20 on Thursday 14th July, fight was full but cabin crew were attentive and efficient. Due to technical issue (or user error) I was unable to pre order a low lactose meal but thought it wouldn't be a problem as there is always a choice, unfortunately the choices both contained milk which left me with nothing to eat except potentially a bread roll. The cabin staff were great and assured me they would find something, one took charge checking to see what was available and was able to provide me with a very suitable alternative. Her commitment to excellent customer service meant she didn't stop there she also went online and ordered a low lactose meal for my return flight. Cannot thank her enough and lovely to note that excellent customer service applies to every class of traveller.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to New York JFK
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes