Thai Smile Airways

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"you can't earn any miles"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Chiang Rai. Thai Smile started as a budget offshoot of Thai Air, but has become a mess. Staff seem angry (unusual in Thailand), service was poor, food and drinks non-existent. Worst of all, you often do not have much choice but to fly them. And for the terrible experience, you can't earn any miles. Never, ever again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Rai
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"attendants were very friendly"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Ubon Ratchathani to Bangkok. Booked this flight a few months in advance, but was about a month in advance rescheduled to a later time (by about 90 minutes later). While I would have liked to arrive earlier on the time I booked, it had fortunately no consequences for me. The flight attendants were very friendly, however the legroom provided with Thai Smile is significantly less than LCC carriers like AirAsia & Nok Air on this leg. A complimentary snack was provided too and was quite tasty. Unfortunately due to an international departure of our specific plane, we had to deboard the jetbridge via stairs to a bus to be shipped to the domestic terminal which was rather a long ride. Luggage took another good twenty minutes too to arrive.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteUbon Ratchathani to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"didn’t like the food on board"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Generally, I prefer to fly on Thai Airways within Thailand, this is due to the fact that they use larger aircraft (widebodies) even on domestic routes. I flew Thai Airways up to Chiang Mai, but due to schedule requirements I needed the first flight to Bangkok so I chose Thai Smile who are fully owned by Thai Airways, but operated with a different style. At check in, there was no exact sign showing where to check in if you’re star alliance gold, but they still checked me in using the business class counter, and very kindly gave me a full row to myself. The lounge opens at 5 am and the flight departs at 6:15. I arrived at 4:50am and was told to wait near the reception (inside the lounge) by a janitor and a receptionist arrived and took my gold card and boarding pass. Do note that only Thai Airways’ own elites have lounge access, as Thai Smile is a Star Alliance Affiliate, not full member. I was first to board the aircraft after people needing wheelchairs, and was directed to my seat. The flight was 80% full although as promised they gave me an entire row. The seat itself is identical to BA on their short haul fleet, except for the fact that the backrest is fabric and not leather. It’s comfortable enough and much better than most slimline seats. Service on this flight consisted of something very weird, one sandwich was full of meat and no vegetables, whereas the other one was mixed veg with mayonnaise. I didn’t like the food on board, but I already ate in the lounge. I definitely feel sorry for the 120+ other passengers on the flight. They do come around with a drinks cart, and I asked for Coke Zero and they gave me a can, whereas they normally just pour it from a large bottle. One thing Thai Smile does well is the packaging in which the food comes in, it’s very chic and practical after the flight, appealing to millennials. I find that the flight attendants on Thai Smile are in the beginning of their careers and the airline itself is very age-selective, so the crew may not be as experienced as Thai Airways or other companies. Nevertheless they will absolutely serve you with a “Thai Smile” pun intended. With a smooth arrival and an actual gate (normally they use air stairs) it was gate to kerb in 10 minutes including a bathroom break. Overall, Thai smile works as an airline, and their route network is quite large regionally and I think they are comparable to airlines like Silkair or JetBlue in the US. I would still avoid them unless Thai airways doesnt fly to the particular destination I need to get to.
AircraftA320 Sharklets
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely appalling service"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Shanghai via Bangkok. Absolutely appalling service. Flight way delayed for somewhat reason and I had to miss my connecting. Not only did Thai didn’t want to put me on another available flight, they forced me to accept a midnight flight and wait for 12 hours for it. I was put in what I believe to be a motel with dripping water sound, cockroaches and disgusting sheets. After 2 hours I asked to be sent back to the airport. Thai Smile did not offer to provide any form of compensation for their mistakes and just simply force you to take whatever they think it’s sufficient.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Shanghai via Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Mumbai. One of the worst customer service encountered. I left a small baggage onboard the flight and I called to ask if I could get the baggage from the airport I arrived in. They said yes and I went there to collect it and it was not there. Umpteen calls and they told me that it was now in Bangkok Airport. I contact them to get more information on it and up till now I still cant get my baggage. I called contact centre and they refer me to customer service, who hung up on me when I proposed that someone or another manager could help out in resolving this issue.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Mumbai
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I wish to show my gratitude"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I flew from Penang to Bangkok on 26 sept 2018 for a golf trip. Upon arrival at Bangkok airport I realised that I have lost my wallet on the plane. My tour leader quickly helped me to contact Thai airways office for lost and found to locate my wallet. With the help of Thai airways Malaysia KLIA office, we managed and found my wallet and I collected my wallet at the Thai airways lost and found office. I wish to show my gratitude to Thai Airways staff for quick recovery of my wallet, their efficiency and honesty. Thank you Thai Airways.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"seriously fool their customers"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Yangon. I booked my flight via Thai Airways Website and received a Thai Airways ticket and flight number. As I took this flight already several times (back then operated by Thai airways itself) I did not check about the flight operator. I only found out that the flight will be operated by Thai Smile, when the check-in agent at Vienna airport told me, she cannot check through my luggage from Bangkok to the final destination Yangon. So, I took my luggage into the cabin on the long haul flight to avoid the immigration procedures at BKK airport for collection and checkin of my luggage again at Bangkok Airport. After my arrival in Bangkok I found out that Thai Smile Airways has got no Transfer counter. Worse than that, its mother company Thai Airways also rejected to issue me a boarding pass, even though, the ticket was bought from Thai Airways. This ment I had to clear immigration and customs in Bangkok, approach the Thai Smile (better Thai Cry) checkin counter, queue up for 30 minutes, get the boarding pass, do security check again, go through immigration again which took altogether one and a half hours. Luckily I had three hours connection time, so I finally made it to my flight to Yangon. No Star Alliance benefits, even though I had a Ticket bought from Thai Airways. Great Job, Thai, and Thai Cry Airways! Your going to lose plenty of customers to the competition. My flight back (Yangon to BKK) is with Myanmar National Airlines. Brand new aircraft and I check through my luggage the entire way via BKK to Vienna without any issues. Never again Thai Cry Airways- I'll also think twice before booking Thai Airways in the future, as they seriously fool their customers and refuse to support them at BKK airport.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBangkok to Yangon
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"attempted to change my flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have flown Thai Smile many times and have had a generally positive experience until today. I had a flight booked for the 6PM flight on Thai Smile from Bangkok to Ubon and attempted to change my flight to get back to Ubon on the earlier 2PM flight. I knew there might be a small rebooking fee. But I didn't realize how ridiculous Thai Smile's policy really was on changing your flight. Thai Smile wanted to charge me the full last minute ticket price. I am extremely disappointed in Thai Smile and will think twice before considering using them again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Ubon
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"his return flight cancelled"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Udon Thani. My whole family flew from Bangkok to Udon Thani on separate flights. My eldest son had his return flight cancelled (with no notice to him) and put him on a later flight. As he had a connecting flight to Vietnam he was forced to cut short his holiday one day and the cost of a hotel one night so he could connect his flight. If not for his travel agent trying to assist he would have been very stressed. My other son (whose wedding we all flew over to see) also had his return flight with Thai Smiles cancelled with no notice given to him or his wife - who were on separate bookings. Because they were planning a honeymoon in Koh Samui they also had connecting flight in Bangkok. Thai Smiles were rude, unhelpful and very disrespectful to them. They went to Udon Thani airport many times to try and get a connecting flight or get Thai Smiles to get them on a later flight from Bangkok. They were not interested in helping in any way. My son then had the cost of a night in Bangkok and had to purchase another ticket to Koh Samui. Very disgusted with Thai Smiles - they tried very hard to ruin our family holiday. Wonder how many people were affected with the early morning flights cancelled without notification to anyone, and also no help in any way to get connecting flights. My son's wedding should not have had all this stress and holidays shortened and have to pay extra for flights they had already paid for.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Udon Thani
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"better food than on Thai"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | A branch of Thai Airways. Unfortunately no web check-in was available, and therefore a long line at Airport. They do not accept Star Alliance status and privileges, which is very weird. On the other hand, much more pleasant ground and flying attendants, better food than on Thai, a larger choice of drinks, and a brand new aircraft.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhnom Penh to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews