Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 385 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"wrote a birthday card for me"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Tijuana on HU7925. I received birthday greetings from cabin staff that day. They wrote a birthday card for me, and decorated a small lamp to surround my cake for my birthday. I was so moved and surprised. Thank you two flight attendants.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Tijuana
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"attendants cared so much"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Beijing. At the time, I felt sick and flight attendants cared so much. When I got off the plane, one of the flight attendants helped me remove the suitcase from the plane. HNA's service is the best I've met on a flight. Thanks to Hainan Airlines.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShangHai to Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"mean with top ups for me"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Changsha to London. A mixed bag of an airline. The direct flights from London to Changsha and return were on time, smooth and trouble free. Cabin crew are pleasant and the seat space not too bad, if a little cramped and lacking storage space. The food, drinks, entertainment, lounges that let the airline down. My food was very poor for business class and the airline is clearly catering for its Chinese customer base. The films on board were limited and poor. They offer you wine with your first meal, but were very mean with top ups for me.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChangsha to London
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"professional service"

(China)

Trip Verified | Boston to Beijing. I was surprised by the professional service of the flight attendants, as well as the on-board entertainment and catering service.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBoston to Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"provided hospitable service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had a pleasant trip from Beijing to Boston. Check-in at Beijing was smooth and quick. Flight attendants professional and provided hospitable service. They helped me put my luggage to overhead bin. Food is eatable but recommend to add more options.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the crew was excellent"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Zurich. I had my leg injured and a crew member carried my hand luggage for me to settle down in the plane. It was midnight flight but the meal was served quickly so that passengers could have time to relax. Food quality was not the best, the crew was excellent. A pleasant trip, helpful crew members, professional attitude and sufficient service for a midnight flight. Food quality needs to be improved.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Zurich
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"good thing was the staff were friendly"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Shenzhen. The only good thing was the staff were friendly, airline food normally isn't the best but my food was uneatable on my return trip and they ran out of my choice for breakfast. I went to change my booking this was a very slow process and difficult. I wouldn't use again. No charging point for devices in economy.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Shenzhen
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Very disappointing experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Haikou on 15 December. No selection of seats available online. I called the hotline in China and was advised that I can do so upon check-in. At Singapore check in, I wasn't able to select my seat and was allocated an aisle seat at the second last row of the plane very near the 2 toilets. We were given two food choices and I found both horrible - tasteless chicken breast macaroni and spinach or meat sauce noodles with assorted dim sum and vegetable. No in flight entertainment or seat power socket. Leg room was decent but my seat wasn't very comfortable. No in flight magazine at my seat. Flight attendants were polite but seemed overworked. Overall I would rather pay to get better seats and better food (on LCCs) than what Hainan airlines offered me. Very disappointing experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Haikou
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Inflight the service is good"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Mexico City to Beijing via Tijuana. Booking the ticket was not easy with unfriendly website and selecting a seat was not possible until check in. The flight was delayed for 8hrs due weather and Mexico City ground staff did not help, with the fact that it was a weather delay and this was not their fault. Inflight the service is good, the flight attendants are attentive. The inflight entertainment is outdated, lacks variety and does not compare to other 5 star airlines. The food was the worst food I have had. The seats are okay.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Beijing via Tijuana
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"flight was comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Mexico City via Tijuana. Boarding process was okay. The seat was as promised one with extra leg room which I was unable to book online and had to pay before boarding the plane. The flight was comfortable, the extra leg room seat I think is absolutely worth the price. My food was chewy and saucy, the taste and temperature were not appetizing. The transit stop in Tijuana was weirdly organized as you must go through security again and if you have any liquids or duty free previously bought they may be confiscated. The flight from Tijuana to Mexico City has a new set of crew which are equally good as the last.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Mexico City via Tijuana
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. The Airline celebrated its 24th anniversary in 2017. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer