Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 329 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"very attentive and efficient"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Zurich. I enjoyed the flight with Hainan Airlines The flight was punctual, the cabin very pleasant and clean, the seat pleasant and the service very attentive and efficient. In the future, I will use this option more and more with Hainan Airlines. Only the stay in Shenzhen of about 6 hours was a little clouded (previous flight with Hainan Airlines from PVG - SZX). Since the actual check-in was only possible 3.5h before departure and there was no possibility to do this time either in a lounge before passport control or then an early check-in to go to the corresponding lounge after passport control.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShenzhen to Zurich
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"smiles and attentiveness"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | . Toronto to Beijing. It was a new Boeing 787-9, 1-2-1 seating which gave lots of privacy. My seat was 11A, first row by the window. The seat was comfortable which could turn into a flat bed. I was welcomed with a pre flight drink, but champagne was not on the list, though it was served after take off. Great selection of White and Red, so as the main courses including steak and salmon. The chef onboard came by a couple of times to ensure dinner was to my satisfaction. Every time I used the washroom, the flight attendant would go in to make sure it was clean and in order. I was well looked after with smiles and attentiveness throughout the flight. I thoroughly enjoyed my flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Beijing
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"not booked with their official site"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Brussels return. Check in at PVG is smooth and quick. HU uses airport lounge at PVG and everything is fine. The B789 is brand new and cabin is spacious and clean. Everything goes fine. Food is tasteful and good quality wines are offered. Service is attentive and professional. The flat seat is designed ridiculously. The end part of both footrest and seat are without any support. The Wi-Fi is totally unusable. On the return flight, when asking for wine refill, I was told that they only have one bottle of wine as the beverage was not loaded properly. The most frustrating thing goes to its online service. The ticket was booked on www.hainanairlines.com, which is HU international website. But when I talked to its call centre to book airport pickup, I was told that ticket was not booked with their official site and I was put on hold for quite long time before they could be able to find my ticket and get access to it. Then I realized that they have 2 isolated online system. Their online service team only supports their Chinese website: www.hnair.com. After 3 weeks of my flight, no award or status miles are written to my mileage account. I booked another ticket and which was cancelled within 24 hours after booking, which is refundable according to their booking and fare rules. But 5 weeks after cancellation, refund was not returned to my credit card. I have called their service centre, where I was informed that refund process might take up to 20 working days. I have waited for more than 25 working days already.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"outstanding and enjoyable"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Shenzhen. Hainan Airlines provides the highest level of inflight service within mainland China for domestic service. There are 3 choices of complimentary meal selections in Economy Class, 2 Chinese and 1 Western,. 40 mins after take off, meal service began. Following the meal service, there are selections of 3 kinds of juices, 2 kinds of soda, coffee, tea and water for the beverage service. The speed is also surprisingly efficient in the same time with the meal. Most of the times the beverage are served when you already finished. But they have eliminated Coconut Mixture in the beverage service, which is my favorite. It was an almost brand new A350-900 aircraft. There was no WiFi enabled on this aircraft. The configuration of the seating in the Economy Class was 3-3-3, not that wide, as well as narrow. The inflight entertainment contents needs to be refreshed compared to other carriers. Lastly, many thanks to the flight attendants. They made a remarkable outstanding and enjoyable trip. ​
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Shenzhen
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a great flying experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Beijing. I like the service they provide including the cabin crew and check-in agent, they are nice and like to help. During the long-time flying, the food is good and bar is open to us, where we can stand and chat to kill the time. Besides, in terms of hardware, Hainan Airlines provides relative new airplanes, which provides a great flying experience to us.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Beijing
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I wasn't disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | From the many positive reviews published on Skytrax, I was eagerly anticipating a five star experience on Hainan Airlines. I wasn't disappointed. Many frequent flyers have harsh criticism of Chinese airlines, but my flights with two of them (China Southern and Hainan) were both exceptional experiences and the equal to that of the more well known and appreciated carriers such as Singapore or Cathay Pacific. The onboard service on my Hainan flight to Beijing was outstanding. The purser made a point of introducing himself to each business class passenger, and henceforth addressed each of us by our names. The meals and wine list were of the highest quality. The bathrooms were kept spotless throughout the 12 hour trip and were provided with a range of creams and colognes, but strangely, no soap. Hainan arranges the business class cabin on some of its 787's in a 1-2-1 herringbone pattern. These seats are great for comfort and privacy, but for passengers who enjoy sightseeing during the flight, the window seats are at a distance from the window itself, and seeing out is a challenge. I echo the observation of other reviewers that the choice of current films is meager, but the air map was detailed and provided endless entertainment. Lamentably, the wifi was inoperable on our flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSan Jose to Beijing
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"deserve to be a 5 star airline"

(China)

Trip Verified | I have been taken flight of this company for many times and last week, I took flight HU481 from Beijing to Boston and got excellent service. I was impressed by the professional and nice service from Check-in desk. She gave me all details about this flight, the 787-9 plane and other items. Hainan Airline deserve to be a 5 star airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Very nice experience"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Beijing. Very nice experience. When I finished my checking formality I found there were some forbidden liquid items in my hand-carry, I was worried about this because my luggage already checked. But the ground staff kindly help me to find another box and packed it very carefully. This was very good experience to fly with Hainan Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Beijing
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"well-trained flight attendant"

(China)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Shanghai. Hainan Airline not only surprise me with how great their service was, but also let me felt how important a well-trained flight attendant was for a customer with acrophobia, for the first time. Flying in an “iron box” in the sky is one of the scarcest thing in the world, for someone who have acrophobia. The entire journey will be a torture. My hand sweat so easily when encountering turbulent, and the nervous was clearly showed on my face. I frequency asked for water in my previous trip in order to decrease my discomfort. Even though I told the flight attendants the reason, they still get annoyed sometime. I got used to it, and learn that It just how it is. No one likes a trouble maker. However, this crew had bring me a totally different experience. one of the flight attendant quickly recognized my fear and asked me if I want anything in order for me to feel better. I told her that I might need a lot of waters to relief my fear. She ensure me the I can call for service whenever I needed. The attendent manager also came and checked on me. Later on, after the captain announced that we were going to encounter a turbulent, she brought me a warm hand towel! I was shocked by how attentive she was and truly felt much better with that warm hand towel. Detail is the king, I was truly amazed by her attitude on understanding my needs. If you do not have acrophobia, you will never understand how I felt in the sky. The flight attendents did an amazing job on comforting me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Shanghai
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"trip exceeds my expectations"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Boston. I found the trip exceeds my expectations: the flight attendants are extremely polite, attentive and help with customers' requests during such a long flight. The flight attendants look young though exhibit a mature professionalism. With this experience I highly recommend Hainan Airline's in-flight service.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. Celebrating its 24th anniversary in 2017, Hainan Airlines is the only Chinese mainland carrier to be ranked as a 5-Star Airline. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer