Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 357 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

" Cabin crew were very friendly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Shenzhen. My first time on Hainan. Check in staff were helpful. The flight was smooth with little turbulence. Cabin crew were very friendly and greeted everyone as they entered the plane. Service throughout the flight was excellent, especially the female lead cabin manager who assisted me when my first meal choice was unavailable. She later came back to check on me to make sure I was happy and satisfied and took my order for the second meal service in advance. What a star! My seat was comfortable and inflight entertainment was good. I had a high expectation before departure and was very happy that I chose Hainan Airlines.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Shenzhen
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Real 5-star experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | Tel Aviv to Beijing. Great flight with nice cabin crew. Real 5-star experience. I was a Gold member of Hainan, but for a long time, I didn't fly enough to keep my elite level. After this flight, I decided to keep my gold I was planning to fly back to China on my Birthday just few days earlier. But for some force majeure, I rescheduled it to this flight. When the cabin manager came to send me her greetings, I did tell her a little about this rescheduling thing. To my surprise, after the cabin service one of the flight attendants gave me a Birthday card. I did take some Israeli sweets in my carry on baggage, so I decided to visit the crew to share my pleasure of flying near my Birthday with them. I found it impressive that Hainan has three foreign crew members on this flight. This mixed cabin crew was very cooperative and complementary. From my point of view, this combination of attendants is very good, so Hainan please keep that up. I was flying business, Hainan is one of those few airlines that offer pajama in business class, and the pajama is really nice. Also offered me amenity kit with slippers, etc. The entertainment system is loaded with my favorite movie. Also, the food is and might always be one of the best you can find in the sky. Few things could make it even better. For example, those staggered configuration business is not my favorite. I like the new dream feather reverse herringbone. Yes, sure this staggered A330 business has one of the biggest legroom but is lack of storage space comparing to my favorite configuration.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTel Aviv to Beijing
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Hainan Airlines customer review

(China)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Los Angeles. It's a very pleasant trip to fly with them. The cabin was well maintained and well cleaned. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious. The crew was nice and ready to provide any assistance. One passenger lost his passport, the crew made a lot of efforts to find it for him, which was very lovely.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"it's a great flight"

(China)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Chengdu. Overall it's a great flight. Cabin was well maintained and cleaned. Crew were nice and willing to provide assistance that you might need. Food was decent, and snacks were provided. The flight was not fully loaded, so few people had the chance to set with empty seats next to them, which is lovely.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Chengdu
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very nice and friendly"

(China)

Trip Verified | Boston to Beijing. The cabin staff of Hainan Airlines is very nice and friendly. During the long journey, they offered me delicious food, friendly service, and an interesting chat. It is my first time to have a chat with the cabin staff in the airline and the journey is no longer boring but relaxing because of them.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Beijing
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"above Singapore Airlines"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Paris, having flown into Hong Kong a week earlier with Cathay Pacific. Had not heard of Hainan Airlines but their service is totally 5 stars, and so much better than grumpy and cold service on Cathay Pacific. On this Hainan flight, everything was just superb and really nice flat bed seats to sleep on. Food was just excellent with a chef in the cabin, and far more food served than other airlines business class. Nice sleepsuit, amenities, constantly offered hot and cold flannels, and staff were the most attentive I have experienced. Service was with a smile, staff spoke okay English, and in Asia I would put these guys above Singapore Airlines for good service. Try it and see what I mean!
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteShenzhen to Paris
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"What a great experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Toronto. What a great experience to take the flight with Hainan Airlines because of the unforgettable assistance we got from Hainan Airlines staff at Beijing Airport! I was bringing my mother-in-law to Canada. However, after we checked in and went through the check point, my mom was notified that her passport was cancelled in 2014 for unknown reason. So she could not fly with me. We were completely lost as we had no idea what had happened. My mom was very sure that this must be a mistake. As all my other family members were 1600 KMS away, I was not sure what I could do -rescheduling my flight to stay with my mom means I have to cancelled a few important meetings, while having my mom flying back to my hometown by herself means I needs to take a big risk - she was over 75 years old and she was already very tired and frustrated. I contacted Hainan Airline in Beijing airport, hoping she could give me some advice. After I briefly explained the situation, staff calmed us down and said she would be very glad to offer assistance. Just after a few minutes, they rushed to the border check point and promised that she would take care of my mom, making sure she could fly back to my hometown smoothly with wheelchair service provided. With her promise that I had faith in, I continued my flight as planned. Luckily, the passport issuing office found the mistake and issued a new one to my mom within 24 hours. The next day, staff spent hours following up my mom's flight arrangement, including pre-booking a premium seat without charging extra fee, having her colleague take care of the luggage, and advising both Beijing and Toronto to provide wheelchair service so my mom would not get lost. Eventually my mom arrived at Toronto safely. My whole family were deeply moved by Hainan Airlines staff. Big thank you, Ms Qi, and big thank you, Hainan Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Toronto
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very professional and friendly"

(China)

Trip Verified | Beijing to San Jose. The service in the flight was perfect! The meals and snacks are delicious. I was impressed by the heated bread. On the back side of the cabin, the burger snacks and biscuits was provided whether how much the passengers had eaten. The hardware and software in the cabin were excellent. The brand new Boeing 787-9 light provided inside the cabin was comfortable. The cabin crew were very professional and friendly. Their English was very good. They had a great conversation with everyone on board. As an aviation fan, I talked about aviation and airlines with them. They told me much information about the systems of aircraft and the service of the airline. They even helped me filling the flight log I've created. Hope to fly Hainan Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to San Jose
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"staff in China speaks no English"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Was a very pleasant flight though food very poor from Sydney. IFC just okay not much of a selection compared to BOAC, AF, or AA. The reason for the average score though is that this company does not transfer your bags from one of their flights to your connexion flight. You have to collect your bag in China, face a surly immigration official, pass your bag through an x-ray machine upon arrival, then drag it far away and upstairs and check-in a second time to get your connexion boarding pass and to reconsign your luggage. Also, if your connexion doesn't depart within three hours you have to cool your heels in the check-in lobby and sit with your luggage. That is a colossal inconvenience and when you're a man of my age (56) it is difficult. Also, Hainan AIrlines doesn't seem to have the right to use any of the gates at any of the Chinese terminals (or LAX for that matter) so plan on being bussed all over the airports. Another thing that is troublesome is that their staff in China speaks no English. They carry around their smartphones and show you the translations of what they want to communication ("one moment, please.").
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Beijing via Changsha
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"an excellent experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Beijing. The crew were really friendly and provided excellent service. The meals were tasty and seats were comfortable. After a meal, a Taiwanese crew helped me a lot when he passed by. When the plane was about to land, an old man next to me couldn't find his key or something and the purser, who was in charge of the economy class cabin, helped him find that. In a word, it was an excellent experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. The Airline celebrated its 24th anniversary in 2017. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer