Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 370 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"deserves its 5-Star rating"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Changsha return. I just got back from a trip to Changsha. This airline is exceptional and thoroughly deserves its 5-Star rating. The check in staff were friendly, the seats fantastic, the food, restaurant standard with superb wines and the crew on both legs were charming, helpful and friendly. I have no hesitation in recommending them and looking forward to my next trip with them in the new year
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Changsha
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I would love to fly again"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Beijing to San Jose. This was my first trip with Hainan Airlines and I can give it 5 stars for its in flight service. The preflight issues were awful and online check in was impossible. The airport check in left a lot to be desired. We boarded to a remote stand by separate bus for business class but boarded together with the crowd. Onboard it was a different experience. The seats were herringbone type which were spacious. The crew were very nice and the menu was excellent. For me it was a treat actually to see no pork items in it. It was like dining in a high class Chinese restaurant at 35000 feet. They offered pyjamas even for us. There was no WiFi but the IE was very good. The toilets were spotless and we landed in San Jose which is a wonderful small airport to arrive into USA from an international flight and avoid the horrors of JFK or LAX. Overall I would love to fly again with it mainly for its inflight service.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to San Jose
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

" she couldn't check my bags through"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Xian to Beijing. The inflight service is ok, but the planes are looking worn. Checking in online simply don't work (that's not very 5 star) but on my first flight, I checked on via the kiosk and everything worked, it took more than a few tries though. On my second flight, the kiosk wouldn't work, so I went to the counter. This was a connecting flight, but the gate agent said she was unable to print a connecting boarding pass. Then she decided she couldn't check my bags through either. She said it wasn't possible. I now had to collect my bag and recheck it. After a 30 minute delay I collect my bag, and proceed to a kiosk to pick up my next boarding pass. I then wait 35 minutes in line to get to the ticket counter only to be told that they couldn't issue a boarding pass there for a "flight they weren't trained on". The staff at Beijing are apparently poorly trained contractors. So, I spent the next five hours in a windowless hall. In Beijing you clear customs, then check in, so you're kind of stuck, with no services, waiting for someone who felt like operating the printer to get a boarding pass. I'll give them plenty of credit for their lounge in Beijing--aside from the weirdly uncomfortable chairs, the staff and food selection was the best in the business.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteXian to Beijing
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"wonderful travel experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Melbourne via Haikou. Wonderful 5-star experience travelling with family and young children. Check-in at Beijing airport was smooth and quick, and the through check-in facility for our luggage to Melbourne was a nice surprise. Domestic 3-hour flight on Boeing 787 from Beijing to Haikou exceeded expectations with on-time departure, spacious seats, full in-flight entertainment, tasty full-service lunch served (including children's meal), and early arrival at Haikou. Through check-in allowed us to transfer easily to international terminal. International flight on A330 from Haikou to Melbourne was also great - with friendly cabin crew, full dinner and breakfast served, and on-time arrival. Thank You Hainan Airlines for this wonderful travel experience!
AircraftBoeing 787-8 / A330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Melbourne via Haikou
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight attendants are very nice"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Boston. Their flight attendants are very nice. they kept the airplane super clean, they clean the rest room when people use it. They offer snacks to us frequently and didn't disturb others.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I really enjoyed my flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Los Angeles. I really enjoyed my flight. The plane is very new and well equipped. The entertainment system has latest Hollywood movies as well as China/Asian/European movies. The seat is very comfortable and noise level in the cabin is fairly low. The food served was delicious and the red wine beyond my expectation. The flight attendants were very nice, professional and caring. Gentlemen were very sharp and ladies were very elegant. The flight attendant served with great smile and took care of needs, constantly walked around the cabin checking passengers’ needs. I highly recommend Hainan Airlines.
AircraftB787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"The flight was great"

(China)

Trip Verified | Xi'an to Los Angeles. The flight was great with outstanding in-flight service and cabin crew. In addition, they helped me fill out my flight log which I was strongly appreciated. The food was tasty and decent. Can't wait to fly with HNA in the near future.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteXian to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Would definitely recommend"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Los Angeles on Aug 25, 2019. Extremely happy with the cabin crew. Very nice and caring. Excellent service overall. Would definitely recommend my friends (if not fly again myself).
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impressed with the service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The flight was great, I am impressed with the service on the aircraft. The cabin crews are more professional. As usual, they could help me fill in the flight logs. However, the sandwiches and salad provided this time is not good as usual this time. There were some chicken but with little lettuce or salad dressing. Hope to have some improvements on the meals. It would be better for the passengers to choose salads and desserts on their own, not only the main meals.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Staff very friendly and polite"

(Ukraine)

Not Verified | Beijing to Prague. The best airline. Staff was very friendly and polite. Nice safety video. Beverages before takeoff. Food was very tasty. Legroom is big, you can transform your seat into bed. Plane wasn’t very old (just 6 years old)
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Prague
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. The Airline celebrated its 24th anniversary in 2017. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer