Hainan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 345 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"nicest experiences we had"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Vienna. The lounge that Hainan Airlines use in Shenzhen (it's not their own lounge), but you should not arrive hungry or thirsty, because this lounge can only be called a bad joke: no food, no spirits, no white wine, just some beers and a very poor red wine, soft drinks, instant noodles, that's it. Thankfully, the fun started as soon as we entered the plane. We were immediately offered a welcome drink (including a choice of Champagne) and were warm-heartedly taken care of, with help in stowing our belongings etc. This went on for the entire flight. Super-friendly and competent crew, delicious food, great inflight entertainment and a full range of drinks, from a choice of 3 red wines to even Cognac and other spirits if you wish. The choices of dinner and breakfast were amazing, nicely presented and very fresh and tasty. We very positively surprised of everything, from the cabin (a new Boeing 787 with 1-2-1 layout and full flat seats), through the flight attendants to the cook, who came even personally to you in order to confirm that the food was to our expectations. It was, actually, beyond our expectations. We fly a lot and have been on a lot of airlines, but this was certainly one of the nicest experiences we had (if you ignore the poor lounge-performance). Highly recommended!
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShenzhen to Vienna
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"provided the best services"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Calgary. I was having a fever when I was taking the flight HU7977, the Cabin Manager and the Purser were very professional and provided the best services they could to ensure the resting environment was comfortable for me since I felt so uncomfortable.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"recommend Hainan Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Boston, as an international student, flight comfort and ticket price are primary for me, and Hainan Airline achieved my standard. Great food and drink, 2 mean meals and free light meal between these with snacks. The cabin crew service is professional. I recommend Hainan Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Boston
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"most enjoyable experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Shanghai via Changsha. Hainan Airlines provided the most enjoyable experience I have had in the economy last year in this route, surpassed Qantas and Cathay in my opinion. The cabins were clean, the services were exceptional. The cabin crews genuinely cared about your well being. I qualified for Hainan's gold membership after a few business class flights last year. I'm also a Qantas one world gold member. Hainan provided far better recognition to their frequent flyers than Qantas and Cathay.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Shanghai via Changsha
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"screen does not work"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Shenzhen on 3rd January. First time flying with Hainan Airlines with much disappointment. I paid extras for the preferred Economy seats but I need to change as there is no point for speaker to be plug into when viewing movies. When I brought up, an attendant recommended me to watch mute movies. I asked another attendant mentioned about changing seats but the screen does not work at the new seats. I was told if I need to watch any movies, I will have to make do by watching from the screen beside me. Such helpful advice! A male attendant tried fixing the screen but was unsuccessful. But I must admit that he did try calming me down.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Chongqing via Shenzhen
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"experience was pleasant"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Beijing. This was the nicest airline. The food was great, seats were comfortable, the staff and crew were friendly and knowledgeable and the overall experience was pleasant. I was extremely impressed. Hainan will definitively be my first choice airline when I fly to China.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"things that are easy to solve"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Brussels to Beijing return. It was my first time using Hainan Airlines. The online reservation was good and the support professional as far as I could experience. The food was delicious. However, when asking for a gin tonic (an option on the menu cards), it was not available on both flights BRU-PEK-BRU. I got 3 different explanations from different flight attendants. One of the flight attendants told me that this kind of drink was not demanded regularly and therefore not available in economy class, She brought me one from business class afterwards.. On the return flight the other told me that it was not available by exception, just that flight, and another flight attendant told me that it would be removed from the menu card. Afterwards the flight attendant got me one again from business class (with no ice or lemon). Also beer was not cold. These seem to be small details but it can have a negative effect on the flight experience. These are actually small things that are easy to solve. I think better communicating the policy to the flight attendants might avoid 3 different explanations for the same issue.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Beijing
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"valuable fly experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Shanghai via Beijing. Hainan Airlines is a very good airline, and it provided me quite valuable fly experience. When I travel to Shanghai via Beijing, due to some terms and conditions, I had to leave my whisky at the airport. And at this time, one of Hainan airlines crew helped me to sent my items to my home via express. She did me such a big favor without asking any payment or reward.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Shanghai via Beijing
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"on a very high standard"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Haikou to Wuhan return on the same day. I have my seat allocated to the first economy row and my preferred seat. The cabin service is on a very high standard under the operation of Cabin Purser. I was offered very delicious food and drinks on the flights. I would like to praise the English skill of Cabin Purser this time. Thank you Hainan Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHaikou to Wuhan
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"outbound flight was cancelled"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I booked return flights with Hainan Airlines from Melbourne to Changsha for February 2019, direct flights in both directions. The outbound flight was cancelled due to corporate planning and we were offered an alternative flight on China Southern with an overnight stop in Guangzhou. This meant that out 10 hour direct flight became an 21 hour flight (with stopover). A few weeks after arrival, Hainan Airlines cancelled the return flight. No apologies, no compensation, just an offer to change the flight to a non-direct flight. I would not trust them enough to book with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Changsha
Date FlownNovember 2018
Value For Money 12345
no

Hainan Airlines Photos

HAINAN AIRLINES

Hainan Airlines is a privately owned airline, the fourth largest carrier in China. Celebrating its 24th anniversary in 2017, Hainan Airlines is the only Chinese mainland carrier to be ranked as a 5-Star Airline. The main international hub is Beijing Airport, other hubs at Chengdu, Chingqing, Changsha, Xi'an and Shangai. Hainan Airlines has a fleet of over 180 aircraft, including Boeing 787-9 / 787-8 / 767-300 / 737-800, A330-200/300, anda further 75 aircraft on order.

NEW UNIFORMS

Hainan Airlines unveiled their new uniforms at Paris Couture Week in June 2017. The fifth-generation Hainan Airlines uniforms highlight the combination of traditional Chinese features and internationally popular elements. The fusion of traditional Chinese elements and popular international fashion created an Oriental masterpiece that turned heads in Paris.

BUSINESS CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul business class is provided on Boeing 787 and A330 aircraft, with flat bed seats, arranged 1x2x1 and 2x2x2 subject to aircraft type. In addition to luxury amenities, business class service includes an Onboard Chef and full dine on demand.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand a la carte dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

DOMESTIC FIRST CLASS

Domestic first class is provided using a mixture of widebody A330, Boeing 787 and Boeing 737-800 aircraft.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 50 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 20 ins
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
AmenitiesSlippers, eyeshade etc

ECONOMY CLASS

Hainan Airlines long haul economy class uses Boeing 787, A330 and Boeing 767 aircraft, and also includes Boeing 737-800 on domestic routes.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 19 ins
Onboard WiFi (some int'l routes)
power_iconUSB power (most int'l routes)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningChinese & Western meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets
AmenitiesAmenity pack (int'l routes)

LOUNGES

Hainan Airlines have recently opened their flagship international lounge, the HNA Club at Terminal 2, Beijing Capital Airport. They also offer domestic lounges at many airports across China and have a new International lounge opening in Xi'an during 2017.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Seat pitchPrivate seat pods
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODEntertainment area
DiningBuffet & a la carte dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingRelaxation rooms
2_6_spacer