Frontier Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1650 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"nobody caring whatsoever"

(United States)

Not Verified | Orlando to Cincinnati. Don't fly Frontier. Not worth the risk. The flight was delayed but we weren't notified until boarding started about an hour later. The guy working the gate kept "hiding". After boarded, went to get our seats but they were taken. The flight attendant said they overbooked and had me and my 2 daughters stand until they find us seats. We get seats and smell like burning rubber. Take off and about 20 minutes later, the pilot says we are rerouting back to Orlando because of an issue with the door. Had to deplane. Long story short, they kept saying we would fly out but then after midnight once customers started getting emails, they made an announcement they have a plane but no pilots. No flight next day available, flights after that are first come first serve. It was a chaotic mess. No one knew how to handle the situation. I specifically asked if we had to use the link they provided on paper and he replied no just screenshot your new reservation on Delta. The paper they gave us had no number to call for assistance. Paid $1200.00 out of pocket to be told a week later it'll take 4 to 6 weeks to get our money back. To sum it up, they lied, scammed, deceitful and took full advantage of us with nobody caring whatsoever.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Cincinnati
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"constantly delayed or cancelling flights"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Austin. Frontier is constantly delayed or cancelling flights. They advertise low cost fares but nickel and dime you to death on extra charges for inflight drinks - alcoholic and non-alcoholic. This airline is beyond cheap. Buyer beware. By the time you add up all of the extra costs, you are better off on any other major carrier.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Austin
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such bad business techniques"

(United States)

Not Verified | I fly frequently and had my first Frontier experience this week. They cancelled my flight and were only able to offer a flight four days later. There was no inclement weather whatsoever. I was given the option of staying where I was stranded and paying for three days of accommodations or getting half a refund on my ticket while I had to pay triple the price to get my one way ticket from a different airline due to the last minute cancellation. I cannot believe this is considered a legitimate business. I truly have never seen such bad business techniques in my life - agents yelling over me while I was calmly talking, rude and condescending comments, and zero apologies for the cancellation, inability to book me on another flight, and stealing koney from me. I was also on the phone with them for 5 hours total the day of the cancelled flight. Complete train wreck situation. Above all, they were dishonest and practiced slimy business the entire process. I will obviously never fly with them again but absolutely want to warn others as I would hate for more people to get taken advantage of too. In reviewing other people's reviews I came across someone who gave a "how to survive a Frontier flight" review. I would add to expect to be scammed, disrespected, lied to, and treated less like a customer and more like target. Don't be their next victim!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Orlando
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flight was canceled"

(United States)

Not Verified | Delayed flight for 2 hours. Boarded plane at 12:30 AM and when all boarding was completed flight was canceled. They had no crew. Claimed it was weather related. No compensation. They are awful.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Centennial via San Diego
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely terrible airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Orange County to Denver. I am so irritated with this airline. Do not be fooled by the “less expensive “tickets on this absolutely terrible airline. They have zero people or service skills and repeatedly fail every time I’ve made the mistake to fly with them. Never again will I willingly give this company my money. Stay far away and pay the extra few bucks for a company that cares about your experience and time.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrange County to Denver
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could not check in online"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Syracuse to Phoenix via Denver. Frontier Airlines will not allow you to check in for your flight and print boarding passes if you are not checking a bag or declaring that you have a carry on item, they make you check in at the airport and get your boarding passes from the customer service rep. My kids were flying with only one personal item each and therefore could not check in online. The website said to get to the airport 45 minutes early to check your bags and get your boarding pass. My kids having no bags to check showed up at the Frontier counter 42 minutes before their flight. The Frontier Airlines customer service rep at the Syracuse Hancock Airport refused to issue my kid's their boarding passes for a flight that was not set to depart for another 42 minutes, claiming that it was a TSA guideline that kept her from doing so. This was at an airport that two days later my family of 5 showed up to the airport, checked 2 bags and received boarding passes from two different airlines and got through security (even with two of us going through more extensive security checks) all within 10 minutes of arriving at this airport. I have arrived at the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport 30 minutes before a flight and never had an issue getting my boarding pass or getting on my flight, but then again I had not tried that with a Frontier flight. The Frontier Airlines rep is not a TSA employee and therefore should have issued the boarding passes and then if TSA had a problem with the time they arrived they could have handled it. This was unacceptable behavior and we are out almost $700.00 for these two flights and my kid's lost two days of work. I will never fly Frontier again and with 3 of my 5 family members working at the Grand Canyon National Park we will be sure to help spread the word to the 7 million visitors we get each year.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSyracuse to Phoenix via Denver
Date FlownJuly 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"procedures are dismal"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Kansas to Philadelphia via Denver. The procedures within this organisation are dismal. At check in the have insufficient staff which leads to lines. There is no useful communication directing people where to line up when the limited ribboned areas are overflowing. The check-in process for me took 58 minutes, and I had prepaid my bags. Our flight was then delayed by 85 minutes to 9:40 but did not commence boarding until 9:45. Passengers were checked through to the sky bridge until it was full, with no air conditioning, but not onto the plane. This was due to a ‘maintenance issue’ but the procedure was not in place to either communicate a further delay or to prevent passengers being checked through to the sky bridge. There appears to be a culture of getting the job done without having a systemised procedure.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKansas to Philadelphia via Denver
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I'll never use Frontier again"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was recently a passenger on the flight on July 6th from Philadelphia to Orlando. On the way there we were supposed to arrive in Orlando by 4 pm. Due to their being a rain storm in Orlando, we were delayed a good while and had to stop at Tampa International Airport for more fuel. We ended up flying into the rain storm in Tampa instead of just flying to our destination in Orlando. Because of this, we did not arrive at our Disney resort until 12 am. I was fine with that since I know that this was just to ensure that we were safe rather than traveling through a storm. We knew passengers on our flight here from Philadelphia who got off in Tampa and said they would not be returning through Frontier. We were still hopeful and gave the company another chance. Then on what was supposed to be the day of our flight back, we were delayed some more. Our flight was set to leave on July 11th at 2:01 pm. We were then told that our flight had been delayed until 5pm. At about 4:36 pm we were informed that our flight had been cancelled. Our family members back home had already left for the airport waiting for our arrival, and we then had to tell them to turn around and go back home. We were forced to book another hotel room for the night and had to wake up extremely early on July 12th to make it back to the airport. We were not given any food vouchers, hotel vouchers or any other accommodations that airlines regularly make for people going through these issues. I had to miss work the following day, July 12th due to all of the travel changes and delays. This travel experience inconvenienced my whole trip and made me realize that I'll never use Frontier again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Orlando
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was continuously delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Cleveland. I couldn’t drop off my luggage until 2 hrs before departure, even though the TSA line was long. The flight was continuously delayed with no mention by the gate attendant. (it could have been nice to get an announcement every time the time changed) Later on she was doing it more but nothing compared to other flight experiences. 3) The flight was delayed 5+ hours. This delay was known prior to the initial departing time. However, it wasn’t until 2.5+ hours after the initial departure that the line decided to cancel the flight due to employee fatigue. I understand the extra workload is a lot for them. However, prior to departure time it was known the flight was delayed 5+ hours. If they knew the extended hours meant the employees couldn’t work, why didn’t they let is know earlier? My family could have booked another flight during that time. My family could have been home! Never again am I giving my money to Frontier.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Cleveland
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Going back to Delta"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was scheduled to go to IAD from MCO on 7/11. I am sitting here on 7/12 at a motel, I had to book last minute because Frontier decided to cancel our flight. When I first arrived there was no staff at the podium. Received the first info on my nightmare by text. There was some rain in DC. I sat for hours to be told “delayed, delayed, delayed”. Then we finally board the aircraft and taxi for positioning. Long story short on that, we sat on the plane for 2 hours, only to run low on fuel, be deplaned and have our flight cancelled. Why? Not because of the weather that had finally cleared, but because the crew had “been on the clock too long”. Not one comp was offered for the trouble. I came to MCO at 11 am. Left at 8.30 pm. I am a Type 1 diabetic who mentioned low blood sugar. Nothing was offered. Not a soda. Not even water. I feel like the discount price comes in the form of you being willing to accept the treatment of cattle, not the treatment that human beings deserve. No compassion. Just indifference. I am rescheduled to leave Sunday. We’ll see how that goes. Next time though? Going back to Delta. Would rather pay more and actually get there.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Washington DC
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no