Frontier Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1697 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"would never recommend Frontier"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Indianapolis to Portland via Denver. Customer service was rude. Flight attendants were grouchy. No in-flight complementary snacks or drinks on a 3 hour flight. My original flight was with a 51 min layover. It went to a 12 hour layover. I only got $50 discount on my next flight. I asked for a hotel voucher, which would be same price as the discount. They said that was impossible. I checked nearby hotels, they were priced around that. Wouldn't give us food voucher either. Snacks and drinks were $3 and up. That's for a can of pop, tiny bag of pretzels, the type of things you get for free on other airlines. I would never recommend Frontier.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Portland via Denver
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incompetent and irresponsible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Juan to Atlanta. This is the worst possible flight experience imaginable. The flight was delayed 2 hours before we were given any answer as to why. Then the response was that the airplane was rerouted somewhere else because of weather in Puerto Rico, while no other flights around us were delayed for weather. Then our flight, almost 4 hours delayed, lets us know that what was suppose to be a direct flight, would have to do a layover in Orlando. When asked at the gate why, they said it was to refuel but when we called Frontier they said it was because of weather in Atlanta, and when we actually board they said it was because our flight crew had reached it's daily hourly limit and we had to have a crew change in Orlando so we could make it. So it took 3 tries for Frontier to tell the truth: that 4 hours isn't enough for them to organize themselves and find a replacement crew in Puerto Rico instead of wasting fuel and time and probably a plane full of customers and adding a stop to a direct flight. Then what was suppose to be a 4 hours flight was a 9 hour ordeal and to add insult to injury we asked if we could at least get a glass of water or coffee and the flight attendants said no because it was out of policy. I've read the reviews and heard all my friends complaining about this airline, but since it was the only real direct flight from Atlanta with a semi-affordable price, I booked it. So on my first flight with Frontier I learned the following: they will lie to you to save face and give no direct answers to what is happening, they will have inadequate planning and are disorganized when it comes to unforeseen issues, they have ZERO compensation for screwing over their customers (not even a glass of water), and just because you pay for a direct flight doesn't meant that is what you are getting. It's incompetent and irresponsible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Juan to Atlanta
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airline in business"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Denver. I’m sitting on the runway during my second Frontier Airlines flight in the last 5 days. We are heading back to the gate. This flight is already 40 minutes late. Both of my flights have been extremely late, employees make little to no effort to notify waiting customers of the delays. My outward bound flight was delayed for hours with no communication. Their employees are rude. They act completely shocked when customers request information about their flight. Although clean, their planes couldn’t be more generic and basic. They offer zero comfort. This is without a doubt the worst airline in business.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Denver
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This airline doesn't care about it's customers"

(United States)

Not Verified | Their customer service was absolutely horrible in Denver. My Norwegian flight from Paris to Denver was delayed by an hour - I even received a notification. When we arrived in Denver, it took about 20 minutes to get off the plane, followed by another 20 minutes to retrieve bags and go through customs before checking in to my connecting flight. I get to the Frontier Airlines kiosk and the agent told me I could not board the aircraft 30 minutes before departure - yet in their terms and conditions, it says that passengers are allowed to board up to 30 minutes before departure - either this agent was purposely making this experience hell for me, or was a complete idiot and had no idea how to do his job. I tried explaining to them that my flight was delayed and I had come up to the kiosk as fast as I could after having to wait through customs and baggage claim. The agent alongside him said I needed to calm down and that I was flabbergasted - no regard nor understanding to the frustration after flying 11 hours, and then being told I would not make my connecting flight and that "it's not their fault I missed my flight". The agent also said that they do not receive any notifications at the kiosk about delayed connecting flights, which I find absolutely absurd. They told me I needed to go speak with a manager but there was no one to be found at the moment. I spoke with Spirit Airlines next door, they said I would have to pay for a new flight if I were to fly with them - but that I could attempt asking the manager from Frontier Airlines if they could assist with that. The manager was now at the kiosk at Frontier, and her presence, attitude, and tone of voice was the worst I have ever experienced at an airport. She was extremely rude, and would not even listen to anything I tried to explain and kept dismissing every sentence without thought. She was robotic in tone of voice and did not care at all about what happened with my flight, and blamed me for missing the flight and that there was nothing they could do. I left crying out of frustration and rudeness that I experienced from that so-called "manager" - it's a mystery as to how someone with such a horrible attitude and personality would have that role. I had to buy a new ticket from another airline, as well as transportation and hotel for the night since they had no other flights to offer me. This airline doesn't care about it's customers, nor do they offer any type of class in their customer service. What a disgrace.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Chicago
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I’ve ever been on"

(Panama)

Trip Verified | San Juan to Orlando. The worst airline I’ve ever been on. This was my first time flying with frontier and my first time visiting Puerto Rico I was so exited For My amazing vacation the price seemed very attracting so I decided to give them a chance and try the airline out! Never knowing what was to come, I arrived at San Juan super happy and exited waited for my luggage next thing I noticed is my bag very badly damaged (wheel torn off, hole punched in, and several other missing parts) ran quickly to the front desk and told them what happened they took pictures and filled a report the lady said in 2 days max I’ll get a answer, got an email that night stating the issue was filled, 3 days went by and no answer! Had to make a new claim all over again! Next thing you know they said they”ll give me just a voucher or 75$ check - my bag cost me $299 and they where offering that? Disputed it they said the only way to refund me that was with receipt. Called friend back home to search all of my house, bills, Emails exxxx to find the receipt and thank God he found it and I sent the picture right away. Next thing you know they said they couldn’t pay me because the receipt was a little faded? Why ask for receipts then obviously some may be faded away by time! Spent several of my vacation days upset on the phone, suddenly hurricane Dorian came by Puerto Rico it was a mess and never got all the mess sorted out. In conclusion I never got refunded my bag price.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Juan to Orlando
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nothing redeemable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Las Vegas to Houston. There is a reason Frontier has the lowest customer satisfaction ratings (and by lowest, I mean the rock bottom friends). The "flight attendants" are mainly just teenagers who can do little more than handle three main things. Seatbelts. Trash. No loitering. It takes one whole flight attendant for each category. We spent the better part of three hours toward the front, watching four flight attendants do the following: eat oatmeal, drink various items (which you won't get on this airline unless you're willing to hand over your card for a $4.00 Coke). We're suspicious that the fourth person was actually just a passenger dressed like one of them. Nothing is free and the only time we saw actual activity from them was when one went down the aisle saying "trash?" while another followed at the same time saying 'seatblets?' The third one spent about an hour moving soda into one cart and back again (because no one wants a $4.00 Coke). Clearly these folks aren't at the top of their multitasking class. Their seats honestly feel like you are sitting on stadium seats. You know, the hard metal bleaches that cause your butt to fall asleep after an hour? I did say a silent prayer that at least while it's numb, it didn't hurt. Aside from the pilot managing to get this plane and passengers to its destination (I mean, that's really as low as the bar can go), there is nothing redeemable about this airline. Do yourself a favor and spend the additional $60 (on average) to fly a major airline. Even United looks like a five-star experience compared to this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Houston
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charge astronomical fees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Jacksonville. Frontier Airlines seems to try to present themselves as a budget airline, but charge astronomical fees. I have consistently seen very rude employees in personal experiences with Frontier Airlines. They entice you with low fares, but I have seen them raise their prices before I can complete a booking. I have also seen error messages on their website when trying to book their "low" costs. When I go back to try again; the error has mysteriously vanished and the prices have gone up significantly. I have had numerous conversations with their customer service agents on the phone, and they are extremely rude and have even hung up on me. My family and I have been mistreated and humiliated at the boarding gate as well as observing the poor treatment of other Frontier Airline customers.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Jacksonville
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"3 hour delay with no compensation"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Milwaukee. Of course just like all the other reviews, there was a 3 hour delay with no compensation. No wonder why Frontier has that reputation, I will not travel Frontier again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Milwaukee
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"entire crew were great"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Little Rock to Denver. I read a lot of reviews concerning Frontier before deciding to give them a try. I am disabled and traveled with my personal mobility scooter. It was transported in the baggage compartment and I was able to ride it to the aircraft door and they then placed in baggage and delivered it to the aircraft door upon arrival. It was handled professionally and with care. Flight attendants were most helpful. In fact, the entire crew were great about keeping us informed on flight status and progress. Aircraft was clean and well maintained. I have no problem with charges for baggage. The overall cost was a bargain compared to competitors. Lack of free drinks and pretzels on a 2-hour flight was not a problem. I will not hesitate to recommend Frontier to friends and family. Just do your research and know what to expect.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLittle Rock to Denver
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight was delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Indianapolis. One of the worst if not the worst airline I flew with during my 20 or more years of flying. The flight was delayed for more than 2 hours with no explanation to why it’s delayed. If you want to fly cheap fly with a different airline. At least you’ll get to your destination on time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Indianapolis
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no