Frontier Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2887 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Frontier didn't help us at all"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Frontier canceled my flight today at 3pm, it's 11pm and I'm still here, I'll be here till 8am in the morning, why you ask? Well because Frontier didn't help us at all and just stranded us here. I had to spend $300 to get a ticket with another carrier and the soonest was 8am in the morning. They have a hotel in this airport but nope they wouldn't get us a room. Many restaurants nope no food either. They are horrible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Antonio to Orlando
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"complete lack of organization and communication"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The most disorganized airline ever. My fiancé and I were scheduled to fly out of Cancun to Chicago on January 4, 2023 on Frontier Airlines flight 45. We checked in ourselves and our luggage and then went to the departure gate about an hour before boarding time and heard other passengers talking about a flight cancellation. We then checked our app and saw that my ticket said canceled but that of my fiancé said nothing. We had received two emails about flight delays, but neither of us got one in reference to the cancellation. Due to this confusion, we began searching the airport for a Frontier Agent but could not find anyone. We then went back down to the check in counter where a Frontier Agent told us to wait at a different counter for instructions on how to rebook as well as find our luggage. After an hour, we were told to once again pass through security and go to our original departure gate. When we got there, a Frontier Agent was present but told us that she had no information and that we should go back to the original check in counter. We ran back down, were told to go back up and so once again passed through security and returned to the same gate. At that point, we were told to go to yet another gate on another level where we waited an hour only to be told to go back to the original gate. At that point, we were notified that we could not be placed on a flight until January 9th so it was up to us to figure it out. We were then escorted to our suitcases which required us to go through both passport control and security. As we were not offered a reasonable alternative from Frontier (we did not have an extra 5 days to spare), we booked a ticket on Southwest for $932.08. We had to once again go through the whole check in process and security. Frontier has only agreed to compensate us for $422.66 of this ticket cost as the delay was weather related. The refund was supposedly processed on 1/5/2023 but as of today, 1/28/2023 it still have not been processed. The complete lack of organization and communication has given us the worst travel experience ever.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Chicago
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"You're not saving any money"

(United States)

Not Verified | It costs more for your baggage to fly than the people. Carry on + checked bag + seat assignment is $160 per person. Industry standard weight limit for checked bags is 50lbs - they drop it down to 40lbs and charge you an additional $50 if you're over that, which is damn near guaranteed. Then they charge you $3.50 for a soda and it feels like you're riding a not so well cared for bus. Flight delayed twice and we were told it was because they were having trouble finding crew to staff the flight. They have this scam pretty well figured out. Now you know to save yourself some aggravation and just fly one of the legit airlines. You're not saving any money here.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Cancun
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"First and last time flying with Frontier"

(United States)

Trip Verified | First and last time flying with Frontier airlines on 01/05. I purchased tickets through Priceline in November for a straight through flight to Phoenix. The aircraft I was supposed to board with the flight number they gave me on my boarding pass was destined for Las Vegas and one of the Frontier ticket agents on that floor near the gate I was supposed to board at “fixed” my flight and their supposed error in the system. “You’re on the manifest for Las Vegas but not Phoenix let me call my manager and we’ll get this fixed”. I walked all over that airport to try and make this flight they changed the gate twice and had to go to the corrected gate after given the new boarding pass. Apparently, not that I was told, I was put on standby and after getting aboard and getting comfy was kicked off and then when they were kicking me off was told I was on standby. (And that they had overbooked the PHX flight and I was pushed to a flight to Las Vegas … with no second boarding pass from Las Vegas to Phoenix. how would that have even worked I wonder?) Apparently NONREV is for standby, I had no clue. No hotel voucher, however they did get me a flight the next day with a connecting flight in CO. The next morning that flight was delayed by like an hour but I was told by the ticket agent that I was on standby and it was a full flight so I just decided to go home, get some sleep and cry that whole weekend.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Phoenix
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I have ever flown"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airline I have ever flown on. They lost my wife's and I's luggage, delayed or cancelled every single flight we were on, and had awful customer service. We were going to a friend's wedding in Chicago and our original flight out of Phoenix was 'disrupted' by over 3 hours causing us to miss our connecting flight in Orlando. After standing in line for 3 hours in Orlando because they were severely understaffed to rebook our connecting flight, they told us the only flight we could get out on today was landing in the other Chicago Airport. We were told our luggage would make it there, but after arriving it never came. We filed a claim but lost all of our clothes and items needed for the wedding. When returning from Chicago they cancelled our flight and told me my only option was to travel to the other Chicago Airport and catch a flight there (which also ended up getting delayed). When arriving in Las Vegas (our layover) we attempted to get our boarding passes for our Phoenix flight. We found out the employee from Chicago cancelled our connecting flight and gave us a one way ticket to Las Vegas. When we explained the situation that it wasn't our fault, the employee said there was nothing he could do because the flight had been over sold by 17 tickets. We were placed on stand by for a flight I booked 3 months in advance because an employee messed up. I never write reviews but I hope someone reads this so they never experience the horrible business practices of Frontier. Spend the extra money for a reliable airline, I will never fly or recommend Frontier ever again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix Sky Harbor to Chicago O'Hare
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not be flying this airline again"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am not a fan of this airline. The first time I flew with them boarding started and an alarm went off causing a 20 mins delay before boarding started back up. The second time flying with them, I was heading back to the military base where I am stationed and they refused to give a family pass to my mom because I am not ”leaving for deployment today” even though I’m scheduled to leave for a deployment soon. This is also the only airline that I have ever flown that doesn’t give active duty military the option to board early. Along with this the people I dealt with in getting my bags checked and boarding passes didn’t ask me how many bags I wanted to check - I wanted to check both bags but they went and printed only one tag without ever asking me) and were very rude towards me. Will not be flying this airline again. I’d rather pay a little more money to get the better service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Fayetteville
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most horrible flying experiences"

(United States)

Trip Verified | One of the most horrible flying experiences you can have. Their seats are horribly uncomfortable. Their bag policy is brutal. Ground service is very rude. Every item sold on plane are absurdly expensive. Not so friendly for families with little ones. Cheap tickets are available only for the days when people are not traveling a lot. Zero out of 10.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Philadelphia
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the cheaper ticket"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived late to check in because of the horrific traffic situation at Cancun International Airport. It was 30 minutes until take-off. I had prepaid my large suitcase to be checked and of course they told me they could not check it. We were told the next flight was in 2 days, but we all had to be at work the next morning. We asked if they would put my bag on the next flight, They said no. We asked if they would ship it to me, I would pay whatever amount they put on it. They said no. They literally told me the only way we could get on the flight was to take our boarding passes, run for the gate and leave my bag there. We asked what do you mean leave it here. She said "Throw it away". I left it at the Frontier counter and ran for the plane. We got on. The pilots were stuck in traffic and didn't arrive for 90 minutes! I was not permitted to leave the plane to go back and get my car keys I left in my suitcase! No one would go to the counter and get them for me. A gate attendant boarded the plane, came to my seat and gave me a number to call once I got home. I called the number. It was to the airport lost and found director. He said they did not have my bag, to call the airline. I have contacted the airline by submitting a lost bag claim, chatting to an agent online (they have now closed down any customer service phone numbers) and they are telling me they do not have my bag, to call the airport. Vicious circle. I emailed the airline and asked what their policy was if there was a bag left unchecked at their counter. I was told Frontier had no policy regarding that, but the counter agent should have turned it into Lost and Found. Are they serious? No policy for an unattended, unchecked bag at an international airport check in counter? This is beyond outrageous. Talk about not having any concern for me, their customer. And on top of that no policy in place for the security of anyone coming through their check in counter. Stay away from this airline. It is not worth the cheaper ticket.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Atlanta
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"An absolute nightmare"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The staff at the front desk extremely rude and inconsiderate. We have to pay. Frontier Airlines was charging $80 for a little back pack, aside from the $25 boarding passes. (3 of them). An absolute nightmare to say the least. I would never recommend this airline or flight with them, ever.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Buffalo
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Wasn’t able to use self check in kiosk, wasn’t working when I went to drop off my bag, the attendant said I wasn’t allowed to board saying I was too late. I was at the airport in plenty of time to board my flight. I was treated as if I missed my flight entirely and wanted to charge me an additional $99 to take a flight the next day and also said I would have to repay the baggage fee and the seat fee. I said I wasn’t paying twice and asked for a refund on the fees which she explained I wasn’t entitled to a refund and gave me a card with a qr code explaining the refund policy. I said I’ll be disputing the charges through my bank she said good luck to me. I’ll try again with another airline that’s more friendly and accommodating definitely will not recommend this airline to anyone.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Boston
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no