Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 483 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never use Alaska Airlines again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Newark to Los Angeles. I will never use Alaska Airlines again due to the poor customer service I just received. I’m disputing a claim because I was charged erroneously for more than 1 bag for a flight I took in October where the agents at the desk took separate payments for myself and my friend who traveled together. There's allegedly no record of her paying for her own bag (i find that hard to believe) and they charged me twice. The customer service agent at Alaska Air didn’t want to help me unless I could produce a receipt, which my friend doesn’t have because this is now over a month later and she probably threw it out. So I’m being penalized for their oversight, and my bank is siding with the airline. This is the worst customer service on an airline I’ve ever had. Not to mention you get absolutely nothing when you fly anymore, the planes are getting smaller and flights keep increasing. All I’m asking is to be refunded for 1 bag - you’d think I was asking for a kidney donation. It makes no sense, if I was paying for her bag, why was I not charged on the way back? This has ruined my entire day for the way I was treated.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"provided excellent service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Denver to Vancouver. Just want to commend an employee who provided excellent service, the likes of which I haven’t seen for a while. There was a mom sitting in front of us with two children, one of whom wasn’t behaving well. He had some kind of device playing a game that was really annoying for the rest of us and the stewardes politely but firmly said he couldn’t remain with the sound on but she would get some headphones. The plane wasn’t completely full and once we had taken off, the stewardess gave a few passengers the option to switch into other seats to make this flight a little more comfortable. She did it in a well managed way. The stewardess then brought the child in front who was still having problems something to amuse him and a treat. He still wasn’t behaving well for his stressed mother so the stewardess took him for a walk around the plane to give the mom a bit of a break. She brought him back and continued with her work but then she returned again later, knowing the mother was still in a mini crisis. She took the time to sit with this mom and talk with her, understanding the difficulties she was having and giving her the comfort she needed. Both my husband and I were so impressed with her compassion and attentiveness and we are sure she made a huge difference to this mom. Top marks.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Vancouver
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"terrible flight experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Lauderdale to Los Angeles. This was the most terrible flight experience ever because of one flight attendant. She was rude, unprofessional, unreasonable and ill-mannered. Her attitude doesn't belong to any job with customer service involved. It started with me not feeling well at the take off, so I had to first use my "little red bag" for that purpose & then two more bags of people traveling next to me. As soon as seat belts lights were off, I got up & proceeded to the bathroom to wash myself off. I kindly asked the male attendant, who was there, for extra bags, since I was feeling ashamed to ask people at front or rear rows for their bags. The attendant apologized to me but admitted they were completely out of bags! I went back and had to ask complete strangers in the back of my seat row to borrow their bags. I was then throwing up for another 30 minutes or so in fear that I will use all other bags and run completely out of it. My neighbor then brought me some napkins, so I was very grateful. I also used all water I had left in my bottle. I got up again & went to the bathroom. When I came out the attendant's cart with drinks was literally at my 19th row but they were still servicing people ahead of my row, so if they would move just one row back I would take my seat, but the flight attendant refused when I asked her to allow me to sit. I had to go back to the bathroom area to wait while I was so dehydrated that I could't even stand without leaning up against the wall. The FA passed by me few times taking more drinks (small wine bottles) with her. One time I stopped her asking for a cup of water. She said she can't stop the service because it wasn't her fault that I missed my time in my row. I pointed at the bottle of water standing near her working station, but she said its was her partner's bottle that he was using. It was obvious that the bottle was unopened and full. I explained her that I was feeling really sick, but she pretended not to hear me, and went back to serve others.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"luggage totally damaged"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to New York. Terrible airlines. I received my luggage totally damaged. It took me months of fighting with airline and hours of calling to get my money back! They would never reply or call to solve the problem. The operators and managers have no respect to the costumers and dont want to take responsibilities! Will never use Alaska Airlines again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to New York
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"incredibly rude and unacceptable"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have always enjoyed using Alaska Airlines. But, last night was different. I was on a short, late flight out of Portland into Redmond, OR. The plane was not full, in fact there were several empty rows. I had a long day of classes in Los Angeles, and flights home to Central Oregon. After the airline attendant had finished her duties of counting the passengers, and getting ready for the flight (the aircraft had not started moving yet-still sitting waiting) I kindly asked if I could move to the seat behind me. I really wanted a relaxing flight home. She said, "it is a short flight, just stay where you are". This was incredibly rude and unacceptable to me as a mileage member with Alaska. After I had nicely asked, there were others that moved without asking. I was respectful, and she was not. I would like somekind of explanation of why I was treated this way.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Redmond
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"put me in the back of the plane"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Austin. I booked a first class ticket as you can see. A completely different first class seat is broken but for some reason they took my seat away, put me in the back of the plane and gave this person my first class seat.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteSeattle to Austin
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extremely unacceptable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Los Angeles. 4 days ago I called to purchase ticket, which could only be done via phone. During the process at some point the Alaska Airlines agent booked two other flights costing me over $2,600 using my credit card they also sent me their customers personal & flight information to me via email! The day the mistake happened (Tuesday) I was told my refund would be made within 3 days. I called Alaska Airlines today (day 4) and I'm getting the runaround with different numbers to call at a certain time. This is extremely unacceptable that I had to pay somebody else's flight, and even more not having my refund yet it is not $100 mistake it a greater than that.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great, friendly, caring"

(United States)

Not Verified | Portland to Las Vegas. I've flown quite a bit but this was the first flight ever for my grand daughter, who was turning 7 that day. She was fine until we boarded the plane and then it hit her and she was terrified. The flight staff immediately upon hearing it was her birthday offered to take her to meet the captain while people was still boarding, she went in but was too shy to allow a picture but he gave her her wings regardless. Then we sat in our seats, it was myself, my daughter in law and my grand daughter. By this time my grand daughter is full terrified mode, the flight attendant came up and was so kind and reassuring to her and made her feel at ease. Once we were up in the air, she brought her over a little snack pack and a soda and came over to check on quite frequently. Soon she decided flying wasn't too bad and actually liked it. She even wanted to take a picture with the FA but it was a full flight and she was very busy and we never got the chance. More than one crew member stopped to check on my grand daughter always making sure she was okay and wishing her a happy birthday. So my review of Alaska was they are great, friendly, caring and I for one will be a return flyer with them. Oh and Alaska now offers free movies and headsets! Way to go Alaska!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Las Vegas
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"horrible in every way"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Seattle. I used to think United was the worst airline as far as customer service, efficiency and overall experience but after this trip, I now think Alaska is the worst. Our experience has been horrible in every way. Flight and boarding gate crew have been slow, rude and unhelpful. Our flight gate has changed both on our arrival flight and departure. Our departure flight was delayed but not for weather or even maintenance - just overall inefficiency. On our departure flight, they were out of several of the food and beverage options. I plan to cancel my mileage credit card and avoid this airline in future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Seattle
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I do not recommend the airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to New York. I paid as much money as anybody else, however my seat at the very back of the plane was not reclining on an overnight flight. The little comfort I could have had was not given to me. The stewardess told me there is nothing she can do. I do not recommend the airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to New York
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no