Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 544 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"incredibly frustrating experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My recent travel with Alaska Airlines has been an incredibly frustrating experience. My family (3yo, 8yo and two parents) were travelling from Bellingham via SeaTac to Orange County. We were delayed in getting there, and cancelled many times coming back due to weather. Alaska typically cancelled with short to no notice (even after a five hour wait at the airport) and rescheduled us to flights that were undesirable. We finally got home (three days after schedule) on another airline and by renting a car because Alaska wasn't able to get us to our destination. After coming home attempting to get a refund for the flight we never took was next to impossible. Every time I called the person on the phone said the previous agent hadn't done what they needed to do and my file had gone nowhere. I've had to call SIX times to now get a completely different answer about how I will get my refund (over a month after the non-flight). I've also filed a complaint through their website with no response. My overall experience is that I've gotten variable information from almost every agent I've spoken to, and have experienced a lack of responsiveness for my concerns. I don't plan on flying with Alaska again and would not recommend their services.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBellingham to Orange County via Seattle
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never will I fly Alaska again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew with my two children, ages 5 and 9 on a pre-booked flight with assigned seats from Newark to LAX. The flight was cancelled but automatically re-scheduled for same time the next day. We were given 3 seat assignments, all of us separated from one another. The ticketing agent told me there was nothing she could do because it was overbooked but to tell the gate agents. I did and they refused to seat us together on the 6 hour cross-country flight, but were happy to add stand-by passengers to the flight and offered to try to seat them all together! I then asked the flight attendants who nastily also refused. I pleaded with them that my kids were too young, esp, my 5 year old, to sit without me, and with strangers for this long flight. They rudely told me tough luck. I was panicking then, but I knew it was best to stay calm and polite. When I asked again, the agent told me that I might prefer de-planing and explaining my problem to TSA. It was exasperating. The Alaska Newark crew - all of them at the gate and in the plane - were nasty, taking advantage of post-911 TSA threats for any reason. I wrote a letter when we returned and got a canned response--with $75 vouchers which are absolutely useless - you can't use them for regularly priced tickets. If I wanted to buy a $2000 one hour flight which is priced at $49 by Southwest, the vouchers work. Never used these and when I told them about this, they offered me a few thousand miles instead - also worthless but also so I am forced to fly with them again. Not only were my complaints not adequately addressed, they get me to spend more money with them. I wouldn't take it--I would rather they lose my business for life. How do you separate a mother and both of her two young children on a 6 hour flight, and also threaten to de-plane us all because I was distressed? They threatened me because they could. I did my part by pre-booking and getting assigned seats. Never will I fly Alaska again. No matter what.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Hooray to Alaska Airlines"

(United States)

Not Verified | Unfortunately, the plane that we were taking had some mechanical problems when it landed from the flight right before us. Not knowing the extent of the repair, they had us all board and then realized that it was going to take longer than they anticipated to fix. So, the captain came out and told us what the problem was and then told us that we could get off of the plane and wait in the boarding areas. Of course, no one was happy about the delay -- BUT, Alaska did everything they could to make our 4.5 hour delay bearable. They gave us meal vouchers to use in the airport ($12 each) and issued each passenger a $100 discount code to be used in the next year. While we waited not knowing what to expect, the airlines and the gate personnel were amazing about keeping us updated. They even took our cell numbers in case we wanted to venture away from the gate areas to personally call with updates. We got regular texts from the airlines - and constant smiles and apologies from the staff. One of the gate personnel, Tiffany, went over and above to make us all feel cared about. She even took our 11 month old grandson and played with him for a little bit to help keep him occupied (at this point, he was already bored with us). We lost 1/2 day in San Diego - but, that's one of the risks of air travel. Hooray to Alaska Airlines and their staff for going out of their way to make a bad situation better!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to San Diego
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly Alaska again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to New York. I will never fly Alaska again! This is my second time flying with them and sad to say I didn’t learn from the first time around when they ran out of snacks/drinks back in Jan 2018 only 30 mins into the flight. This time around I wasn’t able to chose my seat so upon arriving to the gate I went up three different times and was told to wait but I was just requesting a seat not in the middle and the lady pretty much kept yessing me to death and ended up putting me in a middle seat in the last row. I will never fly this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to New York
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It was bad"

(United States)

Not Verified | Boise to Honolulu. It was bad! Our flight got cancelled with no other flights available until 3-5 days later! We all needed to get home that next day but they had no other way for us to leave. We were checked into a hotel with no shuttle early enough for our trip to the airport and they gave us food vouchers that didn’t supply enough money for a meal.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoise to Honolulu
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"this lady was amazing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Vancouver. This review is for Trish, Seattle airport customer service), this lady was amazing. She helped me find another flight after I missed my flight to Calgary, it took her about 45 min between calls and holds by she was very patient to get me the best flight without much wait, Thank you Alaska for hiring employee like her.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Vancouver
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Francisco to New Orleans. The flight was severely delayed (5 hours) due to inadequate staffing and disorganization. No meal vouchers or other compensation were offered. This happened on two flights in one week with this airline. I will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to New Orleans
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never be flying Alaska Air again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Chicago. After checking in online and receiving an electronic boarding pass we tried to board the plane to be told we had to go back to the desk. We had booked premium seats and already paid the upgrade. At the desk we were told "NO I DONT HAVE THAT HERE" and the rude woman on the desk would not listen or look at the booking receipt we had. We were told there was never a 17C seat in premium (despite my boarding pass and email confirmation). We were not the only ones, some people from First Class and others from Premium had the same issue and we were all put in economy and handed a number to call "take it up with them". Appalling customer service. We all boarded the flight and sat on the tarmac for over two and a half hours. There were no pilots to fly the plane. Why they let us board and sit there in the heat is unacceptable. The crew informed us at the end the ground staff knew there was a plane change and kept all the crew in the dark so they would keep us all on the plane. Just confirms they are a terrible company to work for with a real lack of respect for their employees. This morning after complaining I was offered initially a $75 credit each towards a flight for the 2 bookings. I had to tell them I wanted the money for the upgrade back as I did not receive that service. They couldn't find anything about the upgrade? after I said I can send you the email booking which clearly shows the upgrade charges did they offer the refund. Shame on you Alaska Airlines. Its pretty clear all the positive reviews are Virgin America which they bought out. I certainly will never be flying Alaska Air again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
Route Los Angeles to Chicago
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"can’t serve us any alcohol"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Los Angeles. Had the worse experience ever! I fly 5-6 times a month (not with Alaska Airlines) And this flight was so bad that I can’t pass on it. Our flight attendant was very rude. We came back from Honolulu to Los Angeles and my girlfriend had a headache when we enter the plane, so I asked for a cup of water. The flight attendant said she can serve drinks only after we take off. It tonight it’s the policy, but meanwhile she could sneak drinks and snacks to her girlfriend that was sitting next to us. When I complained to her, the flight attendant was rude, she ignored us and even refused to take our trash when she picked up for the rest of the passengers. After all of that, when I asked someone else from the crew for an alcoholic beverage, she said that she can’t serve us any alcohol drinks (because we asked for water when we enter and it means we are sick!) I upgraded our seats to premium sitting because the drinks are included (cost me an extra $200), and we didn’t get any drinks at this flight. I felt so uncomfortable and so embarrassed with the way the flight attendant treated us, and I demand will never fly with them again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight home is canceled"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Ontario to Seattle. Bought round trip tickets to CA. Had to leave a day early. Alaska Air says “No Changes”, buy new 1-Way tickets to CA on earlier day. Alaska Air says “you didn’t make 1st part on round trip, so now flight home is canceled!” New flight $449 per person for trip home.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOntario to Seattle
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no