Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 574 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"at the airport for six hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Portland to Santa Ana. I always fly Southwest. It's never great and the employees clearly hate their jobs. But the plane is always on time and gets me to my destination safely. Today I have been at the airport for six hours. Because the plane was having Mechanical issues. The Alaska flight I decided to take because I wanted a better experience flying this time. What a joke and the mechanical issues they're having are missing radio parts! What kind of horrific problem is that? How could radio parts go missing! This has solidified that I will no longer be choosing Alaska. And the cc my mother has of theirs, the miles card, is getting cancelled. My toddler also has to be picked up by his 80-year-old grandfather because I'm not there. Never again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Santa Ana
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Another great flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Another great flight with Alaska Airlines, Kansas City to Salt Lake City via Seattle and return. All flights on time, service is grea, Premium Economy upgrade, comfortable seats. GoGo inflight entertainment is wonderful to have on the longer flights. Spent time talking with the cabin crew, very friendly and helpful. We have been flying Alaska for over 10 years and have never had a bad flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMCI to SLC via SEA
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"assigned seats in different rows"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | New York to Los Angeles. Couldn't check in online as the system online wasn't recognising all our details. When we arrived at the airport and began the checkin in process we were automatically assigned seats in different rows. We were told they could not change seats because the system was down. We were told that we can select seats at the gate. When we attempted to change our seats at the gate we were flatly told no because we were economy far holders. Was told that next time I should consider paying more. Found them to be unhelpul and rude. Also on the plane there was no WiFi despite it being advertised. Will not be flying with this airline again. American Airlines were far better.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"locked out of checking in"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Kansas City. Couldn't check in on their app or online, they had network issues. Got in the airport 45 mins before my flight, went to the service desk and they were locked out of checking in. The lady there took me to the supervisor, who was very rude, she said it's not her problem that they had network issues and asked if I read the customer agreement that says I should call customer service in case of network issues. All in all they kept me waiting for 30 mins that I could have made it to the gates and charged me again to rebook a flight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Kansas City
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Service was excellent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago O'Hare to Seattle. First time ever flying. I told them this at checkin. They offered me to meet the pilot and be the very first one to board to calm my nerves. Service was excellent. I would definitely fly with Alaska Airlines again if I was to fly. But flying is not for me, I only flew because I had to, my son got married. All I can say is they were awesome. The pilot explained every question I had.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteChicago O'Hare to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not a good experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Jose to San Diego. Not for families. Rude folks at the gate. All we asked was to place 2 tickets together and two more together if possible as we were three kids and 2 adults. She started with saying you bought cheap tickets and we don't have a say. She then gave us tickets or her choice 3 + 1 , which was not bad, but not before she embarrassed is for buying cheap tickets and indirectly asking us to shut up. The flight was very very dirty compared to Southwest. Flight was very hot until right before AC was switched on. Overall not a good experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to San Diego
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

Alaska Airlines customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to California with Alaska Airlines. I'm not saying that the flight was bad, but the food. I mean seriously, it was horrible. Paid for a first class ticket and got a dang sandwich. Maybe Alaska Airlines should start to follow Turkish Airlines, now that's First Class at its finest!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to California
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"wow do I miss Southwest"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Chicago. I booked a personal flight using the saver fare. If you want to make any changes to your flight, even within 24 hours of booking the only thing they can do is cancel you flight, hold your money for 7 days, and then finally give a refund. I also travel a lot for business, I used to live in an area where Southwest had the most options. I now live in an area where Alaska Airlines has the most options, and wow do I miss Southwest. Once you book a flight on Alaska it's like they hold you hostage, and you aren't making any changes without getting ripped off. Living where I do I am forced to fly Alaska Airlines a lot, seems like every trip I take causes some sort of frustration. I miss Southwest!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Chicago
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Alaska again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ontario to Portland. I flew Alaska on 4/23. I was returning home from a trip, my first flight being on 4/17. My first flight was full and as such it was a struggle to not only find a place to put my carry on, but also retrieve it from the overhead bins they were so packed. On my returning flight, 4/23, to avoid this hassle, I checked my carry on, paying $30. While sitting at the gate an announcement came that the flight was full (just like the first flight was full, but no announcement was made on that flight) and they would be allowing people to check their bags for free. When I asked the customer service person #1, why they didn't do that on the last flight I was on despite it being full and #2, if I could possibly get a refund since my previous experience is why I checked my bag in the first place, I was told no refunds. I reached out to customer service, and they also said no refunds since I chose to check my bag. If I had known, I would have just held on to it and checked it at the gate, but because I planned ahead I was penalized. I will never fly Alaska again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOntario to Portland
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"check-in will be extra slow"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife, son and I were all flying from Seattle to different locations. I had a United flight with checked bags at 7:10am. My wife and son had an Alaska Airlines flight at 7:20am, with no checked bags. We were both in the airport at 6am. I didn't miss my flight, my wife and son missed their flight. Reason? Long, slow check-in process of Alaska. Security check was not the problem because we went to premium security check-in line. However the Alaska customer service person did try to use that as an excuse. According to Alaska, they "give each passenger their fair time". Meaning, they go slow at check-in. Beware people. Alaska check-in will be extra slow.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Philadelphia
Date FlownApril 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no