Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 742 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they decided to cram economy class together"

(United States)

Not Verified | Completely empty flight but they decided to cram economy class together in the back of the plane. I’m canceling my Alaska card and will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Portland
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"said that the markings were wrong"

(United States)

Not Verified | On Monday morning (05/03/21) I checked my baggage in at Spokane International airport. Alaska Airlines (ASA) accepted my checked baggage and TSA screened and accepted my baggage for airline transportation. One of these items was a box of factory sealed ammunition that weighed approximately 25 pounds. My baggage was transferred to another ASA airplane in Seattle and transported to Juneau where I had a three hour layover after which I would board another ASA flight to my final destination in Sitka. During the boarding process in Sitka, I was called to the ASA customer service desk in the departure lounge. Once at the customer service desk a rather rude customer service agent informed me that my ammunition would not be allowed to travel to Sitka. When I asked why, she stated that the box (baggage) "had the wrong markings on it". When I inquired as to what the wrong markings were, she couldn't give me an answer, stating only that an airline baggage handler had said that the markings were wrong. I then assured her that I was well aware of FAA, TSA, and ASA regulations regarding the transportation of ammunition and that my baggage met all of those requirements. About that time she started to become very rude and, with a raised voice, informed me that my baggage didn't meet the requirements. I then asked her to explain to me how it was that both the TSA agents and the ASA customer service agents in Spokane cleared my ammunition for transportation on ASA earlier the same day. She defiantly stated that the people in Spokane were wrong. Following that comment, she stated that I needed to pull my face mask up over my nose, which had slipped down during our conversation. Since the municipality of Juneau owns the airport, it really wasn't her place to try and assert authority over my mask. When questioned further, she stated that I was welcome to exit security, repackage my ammunition and then check it in again for transportation with ASA. I stated that since the flight was already boarding and there was only one flight a day to my residence, that was not a feasible option. After I boarded the plane I placed a call to someone in Juneau to attempt to pick up my ammunition so at least the ASA baggage handler wouldn't get to keep it. The most logical conclusion I can come to is that someone at ASA in Juneau wanted my ammunition and timed the notification to me that it wouldn't be allowed on the flight so that I wouldn't have time to deal with retrieving it. It would be nice if Alaska Air would compensate me for my troubles and $1,000 loss but I won't hold my breath. If they don't I will go out of my way to give my business to small regional airlines and other major airlines, even if they cost more!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSpokane to Sitka
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I'll never use you again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I used to like Alaska, but after last weekend I'll never use it again! I flew on orders to serve my country and what I've got from Alaska is beyond any level of acceptance! I came to the airport 37 min before my flight (cut off for check in suppose to be 40) and they didn't let me in on my flight (I was flying with my toddler). They told me no and somehow that felt very personal and that I have to wait 3 hrs for the next flight! I told them I have to work the next morning, my kid was exhausted and they just mistreated me like I was nothing. Thank you for your service Alaska, I'll never use you again and I fly a lot!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Alaska has gone downhill"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They offer no food, unless you prepay for fruit and cheese 8.50, allergic to cheese, so not much of a choice. Then only 1 offer of beverage, no alcohol served unless in first class, isn't this discrimination against those that can't afford first class. Alaska has gone downhill, flight attendants seem a bit crabby and not overly pleasant to have their jobs. Will be looking for other airlines to fly in future! Paid 20.00 for wifi and was not that great, rip off!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Portland
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"I will fly other airlines from now on"

(United States)

Trip Verified | After flying from DC to Spokane with a layover in Seattle I was on my way back home to DC. After flying from Spokane to Seattle I had a horrible experience at gate N20 while waiting to board my final flight to DC. I had a employee who was working the gate tell me that my mask was unacceptable and she handed me a typical blue one. I put it on but mentioned to her that I had worn my mask from DC to Seattle to Spokane and then back to Seattle. She looked at me and asked "are you going to comply or not?". I said, pointing to my face "I already put the mask you gave me on". She raised her voice and asked again "are you going to comply or not?". I said again, "I already have the mask you gave me on" while I pointed to my face. This time she yelled, "are you going to comply or not, yes or no? I said "yes". I just wish you had a standard policy at all your counters and airports. Then she went and called a supervisor. Luckily, the supervisor had an ounce of common sense and left when she saw I was already wearing the mask that they had provided me. I have never had an employee at any establishment work so hard to start a fight. I will fly other airlines from now on.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteSeattle to Washington
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Very professional in all aspects"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I wanted to say I'm grateful for the staff provided for me upon landing in Seattle on April 20 2021 from flight 201, my seat was 31F. I was unable to walk and your staff helped me with a isle seat and rolled me out of the plane where this wonderful angel was waiting for me to depart from the aircraft. Her name was Selam. She helped me a lot with processing customs and getting me to my vehicle in your garage. Her dedication and care for me was paramount. Very professional in all aspects. I am blessed to have run into her. If there was a way for me to reward your staff I would send it to her. It is with employees like Selam that drives your business. It make the whole world a better place to be in. Please send my praises to your CEO. and thanks again. Thank her for me please
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCabo to Seattle
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"The flight attendant woke me up 4 hours into the flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | The flight attendant woke me up 4 hours into the flight to tell me I didn't have the right mask and I have to wear a different one, she gave me one then came back every 10 minutes to check on my and give me hassle about not wearing it properly and I can't eat or drink and I get a final warning. I had earbuds in and didn't hear what she said till the "final warning" never use this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Raleigh
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use your service again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to New York connecting to Moscow. I don’t recommend Alaska Airlines to anyone. They don’t care about their customers. Due to incompetency of their employees I couldn’t fly home and spend holiday time with my family. I bought non-refundable air ticket because I was flying to the country where I had citizenship and all citizens could enter the country without any restrictions. It was in the very end of December 2020. At the check-in an employee told me I couldn`t go because to enter the country I was going required COVID test. I it was not applicable to me because I have citizenship of that country. Then she called for another employee, they talked and this time they told me I couldn`t go because for the rules of their Alaska Airline to have COVID test to go on board. At the Alaska Airlines website there was no any information that anyone was required any test to go on board. And the first leg of the flight Alaska Airline was to perform was not international, it was from San-Francisco to New-York. I was to change the airline in New-York and proceed internationally. I can`t understand what was the ground for such decision from those employees and where they got this information they didn’t tell me. Sometimes I think they did it for fun. Or it was awful incompetency and irresponsibility. I lost $600 air ticket and Airbnb reservation. My plans to spend holidays with my family were ruined. I came home and wrote a letter Alaska Airlines customer service and asked them to send me the information where it stated that passengers had to have COVID test. They sent me a link where they suggested me to find out myself if I was eligible to fly without test. Following the link I received the information that test WAS NOT necessary for me. I sent them those results. I received apologies and $100 discount for the next travel with them. This is ridiculous, Alaska Airlines! Your employees are so incompetent and your customer service is insensitive and non-caring. I will never use your service again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to New York
Date FlownDecember 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"they over pack flights"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Alaska Airlines is a major hassle and don’t know know where to begin. First they over pack flights and make you check your bags and also they are putting complete strangers next to others. It’s funny I got hassled over my mask not being completely over my nose when I was outside walking to the plane.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Horrible flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible flight, this was on our return home with Delta and Southwest which was wonderful and no issues. We flew with the same bags carry-on on the way to our destination and flying back we were forced to check our bags at the last min when we saw other people with similar size bags. I was harassed about my mask while walking outside of the airplane and not even in the airport over my mask not being completely over my nose. Told my wife not to book Alaska anymore, I will find another way.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no