Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 711 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the middle seats were not empty"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Went on a trip to San Diego with my sisters. Bought the same flights as them, only to have my return flight changed from 9:30am to 6:15am. On our flight down to San Diego, the middle seats were not empty. I was in row with two strangers. And one of my sisters was in a row with two strangers. The flight attendants came on the speaker to say “This flight is overbooked. You may be sitting 3 to a row with people not in your family. If this makes you uncomfortable we will put you on the next flight out”. Given this, I called Alaska to ask that I be put back on the 9:30 flight, since they are booking out the middle seats, I could easily sit in one row with two of my sisters. To prevent others from sitting next to strangers. They wouldn’t do that. They would rather have my sisters sit on a flight three to a row, next to strangers, than next to their own sister, who paid to be on that Flight in the first place. I then asked to be changed to the 7:30 am flight so I wouldn’t have to fly out so early. They told me I would have to pay $50 to do that. But there are no change fees on Alaska Airlines, and this 7:30 flight was going for the SAME price I paid for my original ticket (keep in mind I paid in part for the ticket using miles so I couldn’t just cancel and rebook). They said that regardless, I would have to pay the $50 same day change fee.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to Seattle
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"lose even the most loyal customers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Alaska Airlines has been going downhill over the last 5 years or so, but it is actually unbearable on this trip. First, I booked a flight LAX-PAE because I really wanted to fly into Paine Field; I figured it would be nice to come into a smaller airport while Washington State was in the beginning of Phase II reopening. Received a “looking forward to the flight” that included some “what to expect details” email 3 days prior to our flight. On the evening before our flight I log in to check in and get a pop-up to call customer service, or check in at the airport. Thank God, I had time to sit on hold for an hour, because that’s when I learned no Alaska flights were going into PAE. The CSR advised me numerous times we should have gotten an email. No matter how many times I said we had not, and in fact had gotten a confirmation instead. For the record, had we waiting to check in at the airport, we wouldn’t have gotten the 1 comparable flight that day. We rebooked BUR-SEA. As we walked on, they announced the back lav sink is broken, the WiFi is broken and the stewardess did a grumpy-dad-glovebox number on two of the overhead cabinets. So, now we’re sitting at the gate, an hour past take off time, waiting for a mechanic check on something else we didn’t even see or hear about. It’s not like they own the PNW market anymore ... sure feels like they want to lose even the most loyal customers.
AircraftE175
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Burbank
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"What a waste of a day"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I asked if I could get an earlier flight a day ahead of time. They said I had to come in to the airport on the day of the flight and they would try to put me on an earlier flight. Now I am at the airport from 8 am to 4 pm on my regular flight. What a waste of a day. I wish I never would have asked.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Seattle via Sacramento
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"kindness and professionalism"

(United States)

Not Verified | I regret I didn't get any names, but all of the ladies working at the Alaskan airlines terminal in Kalispell Montana on August 11th and 12 th were amazing!! I was extremely disappointed that I wasn't able to go home as planned on the 11th due to aircraft troubles, but everybody was so accommodating and set me up with a room for the night, and meal vouchers for the next day. The ladies recognized me immediately when I came in the following morning and even asked me how my stay was. I was very impressed by the kindness and professionalism that everyone displayed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKalispell to Kahului
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"asked to be refunded the difference in fare"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The flight experience itself was fine. However the customer service from their reservations/customer care departments was worthless. My flight was cancelled and consolidated to a different itinerary. When I had booked my flight I had considered the other itinerary, but chose a more expensive one because it was more convenient for my schedule. When my flight was rescheduled I asked to be refunded the difference in fare. It was only $31 difference per passenger, but it was still cheaper. They refused to refund me the difference in fare. If I had known I was going to have to fly the cheaper itinerary I would have booked that in the first place and saved myself the money. This may seem petty, arguing over $31, but it is the principle that matters, plus I had 7 travelers in my party, so it added up, when multiplied by all the members of my family. You would think Alaska would want to satisfy their customers, rather than infuriate them over $31. Next time I take a family trip I will take my $3,000 to another airline I can trust to make things right with their customers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Anchorage via Seattle
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Alaska was so accommodating"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Had a credit from a canceled flight in June 2020 when the pandemic was in full force. We were worried that we would lose our $ and miles but Alaska was so accommodating and put the cash in our “wallet” and refunded the miles. Just flew down from SF to SD and even though it was a very few number of passengers, the airport and in flight team went above and beyond making us feel safe, explained all rules and regulations clearly and were pleasant and positive! I’ve always chosen Alaska and will continue to do so in the future. Please let the crew on my flight know they are doing amazing jobs considering the current circumstances.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to San Diego
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not offered the additional features"

(United States)

Not Verified | My wife and I paid additional fees for "Premium Seating" and was not offered the additional features that are listed to come with this feature. Premium Class is a product that is offered on select flights. Premium Class seats come with the following amenities: 4 inches of extra legroom Priority boarding Complimentary cocktails, hand-selected wine, and beer (where beverage service is normally served) We did not get priority boarding and did not receive any cocktails. We were served water and a limited choice of juice and soda. If this is the case, then why the additional charge? Remove the "complimentary cocktails" section out of the premium seating description. That is false information and misleading passengers in order to pay the additional fees.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteReno to Seattle
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not caring about the customer"

(United States)

Not Verified | Due to Covid-19 my flight from Anchorage was changed which is understandable, a lot has had to change. However when I got to ANA I was told I did not have a seat on the flight they changed my earlier flight to. I had a seat on my connecting flight in Seattle but flight AS106 out of Anchorage was full, without me, even though they were the ones that changed my flight. So they booked me on yet another flight, 3 hrs later. I was told to check at the gate if there was a no show on the earlier flight (AS106) if so I could get on. Well there was a seat available, but the young man at the gate would not let me have the seat. So the plane left with an empty seat and I had to wait another 3 hours for the next flight. This is some of the worst customer service I have very experienced. I do understand that there are problems brought on by covid but this was brought on by people not caring about the customer. It only gets worse. I just received a text telling me AS106 is delayed by 25 minutes. Why am I getting a text if I am not suppose to be on that flight?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteANA to SEA via GEG
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid Alaska Airlines"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airline in the past 10 years! I understand that these times are difficult for everyone. My flight was changed by the airlines at least 7 times by the airlines in a 2 month period. I get it. The problem was that I was never contacted by the airlines to see how these changes worked with my schedule. There were 5 people traveling together to a remote Alaskan fishing lodge with a tight schedule and limited access to this isolated facility. These changes were never communicated to me or asked which option benefited me rather than the airline random movement. I had also misplaced my driver’s license upon arrival in Seattle for a long layover before continuing to my final destination. I contacted TSA to make I would have the needed material for departure and satisfied them. When I contacted Alaskan to make sure we were good, I was told it would be an additional $200 expense since they had to add two additional sentences to my ticket. This is only a chance to grab more money. I refused to pay and ultimately got on the plane. This was nothing more than an attempt by Alaska Airline to “stick it” to their clients when it was not even necessary. On the return home flight, we had a 45 minute lay over in Seattle between connections. We landed on time and could not get the gate because a plane was at the gate. We let the flight attendant know that we had 5 people making a tight connection and another party of 15 was also trying to make a tight connection to Sacramento. Once we made it off the plane and to a neighboring gate, the Alaska Airlines flight was at the gate and not pulled away. They refused to let us on our flight and would not let us speak to a supervisor. The other group had the flight held for them and made their connection. There was never any effort by Alaskan to provide services to their clients, but rather they did what benefited the airlines only. Custom service, I felt is not a priority for Alaska Airlines. I will go out of my way to avoid Alaska Airlines and suggest anyone else that is booking, BEWARE!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Petersburg
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the rest of the crew was top notch as well"

(United States)

Not Verified | First off let me say that, in my opinion, Alaska is trying hard during these unusual times. My route changed from BWI direct to SEA to PIT then on to SEA. This was not a big deal as we landed, a few folks got off and a few got on. The flight was only about 45 minutes and we were on the ground less than 20. The crew told us to please wear your masks at all times except when eating or drinking and everyone complied. I was moved up to First, one row in front of where I had been sitting. The service was fine but the "food" left a lot to be desired. It was some sort of small box with not much in the way of food inside. As I recall there were chips, crackers, smoked creamy cheese and small salami pieces within. I managed to eat it all but did enjoy the wine with it. The First Class FA made the trip very enjoyable. After serving everyone, she came and sat with me for a little while and we shared our love of aviation over the years. From what I saw, the rest of the crew was top notch as well. The pilots got us to SEA a little early and I then relaxed in the Alaska Lounge for two hours before catching the flight home to ANC. No problems noted as that crew was professional and we were well cared for. All in all, I still enjoy this airline and eventually when all these troubles are over, it will then be able to provide their old, reliable level of service which they were known for. I do look forward to that.
AircraftBoeing 737-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteBaltimore to Anchorage via Pittsburgh and Seattle
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes