Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1007 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no refund of anything"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I put a sign on one of my carry-on bags, warning about a (fictitious) anti-theft device with an alarm inside of it, just to discourage bag-snatchers. TSA didn’t have any problem with the sign being on my bag, nor with what it said. Airport security at both BLI and SEATAC didn’t have any problem with it. No one at all on the first flight from Bellingham to Seattle (also Alaska Airlines) had any problem with it. And no one at the boarding gate in SEATAC had any problem with it. Then, when I got on the plane, as I was getting to my seat (at the back of the plane), a flight attendant asked me about it. I told them, then took the sign off of my bag and put it away - just in case - stored said bag in the overhead compartment, and took my seat. Two other attendants then came and asked me about the now removed sign, one at a time, and I repeated my explanation to each of them. A fourth attendant then came, and asked me to bring my bags “up front to discuss them” . This was a lie, as, when I reached the front, they walked me off of the plane, and told me that several passengers were “uncomfortable” with the sign. They then re-booked me, without my input, to a much later flight, which would cause me to miss the wedding I was supposed to give the toast at. After talking with Guest Services, I decided to head back home to Bellingham so that I could at least give the toast over FaceTime. However, doing so required the approval of two different supervisors in Guest Services at SEATAC to make happen, because the Customer Service rep (in Phoenix) said that they could neither change anything about the bookings nor refund anyof the round-trip ticket because of the first re-booking - despite the fact that said re-booking was done without my input. Regarding the two supervisors, the first confirmed that no noise-making capable devices are allowed on the plane, and the second said that signs such as mine that “might make some people uncomfortable” are not allowed either. Not that you’ll find either of those statements on the airline’s website, of course - I checked. And given that nobody on the first flight even mentioned it to me, I have my doubts about whether or not this was “official” Alaska Airlines policy. Long story short, don’t fly Alaska. They (apparently) reserve the right to selectively impose new rules based solely on people’s feelings, even if it disenfranchises their paying customers - and some of them will even lie to do so. Just to be clear, at NO point did anyone say anything about any Federal or State laws, nor was security ever involved, so I’m pretty sure what happened was all on Alaska. Including the fact that I’m getting nothing back from them - no refund of anything, nor even a voucher, not that I’d use the latter - in exchange for having my flight yanked out from under me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBellingham to Minneapolis via Seattle
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a very upsetting experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family and I recently had a very upsetting experience with Alaska Airlines. Our Alaska Airlines flight was cancelled (no reason for the cancelation was given; it certainly was not weather-related) which caused us to miss our connecting international flight. No other flights were available that day, so we would reach our final destination 24 hours late. Consequently, we not only missed one full day of vacation, but we also incurred significant costs as we had to book a hotel room at the airport as well as another hotel room at the airport of our destination since we missed the ferry to get to our vacation rental. Not to mention that we lost out on our car and room reservations we already had and which we could now not utilize. Even though we, and especially our little son, were very sad and disappointed to miss one full day of our vacation, we stayed very patient. I am a frequent traveler and understand that these things can happen. When however, on the way back our Alaska Airlines flight was cancelled again, our patience ran thin. No other Alaska Airlines flight for the same day was available, so they had to reroute us to another airport which meant the additional expense for a long Uber ride plus a longer way home from the airport. When this flight was then delayed for more than three hours – we would now be home at three in the morning – I decided to go to the Alaska Airlines Lounge to ask for support. My son was exhausted and I wanted to see if we could sit down in the lounge for the long wait time, since it was freezing cold in the terminal. We didn’t even ask for food or beverages, just a place to sit more comfortably and warm, until our flight would leave. When the lady at the front desk of the Alaska Airlines Lounge refused any help and informed me that I would still have to pay a $30 fee per person, I was literally in tears – she showed no compassion at all! I asked if we could at least borrow a couple of blankets to get warm in the terminal, this was denied as well. Due to these two cancelled flights, we incurred additional costs close to $1,000 (for several hotel rooms, transfer costs, supplies, etc.), we lost one day of vacation on the way out and arrived home much, much later than planned. During this whole experience, Alaska Airlines did not provide any sort of support or compensation. I will never use their so-called “services” again and I advise strongly against flying with this airline, they do not show any consideration for their customers, not even children.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrange County to San Francisco
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"blown away by the service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely blown away by the service that I received - if you're looking to possibly fly with him or have options I would highly suggest booking them. I've flown many airlines and this is the first one that actually treated you like a customer down to earth employees and their flight attendants are actually extremely warm and welcoming
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Columbus
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"lackluster at best"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The flight attendants on my flight were lackluster at best. I was skipped over not once, but both times they passed by to provide snacks and drinks. Both times they blamed not being able to hear. This was my first time on Alaska Airlines and I'll have to be hard pressed to give them another try. Less than impressive experience for an already bad circumstance. I do not recommend them. Be ready to speak up and have the aisle seat folks ready to advocate for you. The attendants will ignore you.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Austin
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Just really going downhill"

(United States)

Not Verified | First class services are stopping. No water, no glass, coffee cups, no snack basket, 1 drink if there is time in the 1.5 hour flight. Just really going downhill. They will lose customers with this cheap tactic.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteJuneau to Anchorage
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

“I use this airline sparingly”

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had a bad experience on my return trip from Ft Lauderdale to Portland. The weather at FLL was rainy, but not terrible. Planes were departing and arriving. After pulling back from the gate we sat motionless for 15 minutes or so. The pilot came on to tell us we had a shortage of fuel, and this was due to the weather and it's impact to availability of fuel. We sat for another 30-45 minutes. During this time the pilot said due to the fuel shortage we would stop in Kansas City on our way to Seattle. After about an hour on the ground in FLL he came on again to apologize for the paperwork being very slow, some corrections that needed to be made to the new flight plans. The delays caused us to be 4 hours late in arriving in Seattle. Here's the problem with Alaska - 1. They lied to us. They don't prioritize honesty with their customers. The fuel shortage scenario he tried to explain was weak at best. It was raining = not enough fuel? Alaska sent me an email apologizing for the stop in KC, but said it was unavoidable due to stronger than expected headwinds. What really happened? Lot of us lost time and $ due to this. The official determination was wind, so no reimbursements for hotels or added costs to rebook. 2. they had a service failure followed by inability to make a service recovery. They were not prepared to handle the onslaught of people who needed help. A desk was there, we were not told where, we had to find it. 4 agents were there; they needed 10 to quickly deal with the problems. Seattle is their headquarters! They had 6 hours to prepare! I use this airline sparingly and will continue to do so. I have 1.8MM miles on Delta. I'm with them because they don't let stuff like this happen. They are professional, honest with their customers, and I've never been lied to.
AircraftBoeing 737 Max
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFort Lauderdale to Portland
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I will be avoiding Alaska Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Literally the only airline that won't let you in their lounge if you have a business class ticket. Even if you have a first class ticket you have to pay extra. Ridiculous. I will be avoiding Alaska Airlines at all.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Albuquerque
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was delayed both ways"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had round trip tickets from Portland to Vegas, my flight was delayed both ways. Flight to Vegas was delayed 4 hours. My flight to Portland was delayed an hour so the crew could sleep. I understand sleep but you would have thought they could have posted the delay the night prior so the passengers could sleep as well but nope. Ridiculous!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Las Vegas
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"first class customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | On a business trip to Spokane, Washington, my return trip to Boise, Idaho was scheduled to leave at 12:30 in the afternoon. I arrived at the airport quite early and noticed they had an early flight at 9:00am. I asked the gate agent if I could switch my flight to the earlier one. The flight was light so they let me switch, at no cost, and they upgraded my economy seat to a first class seat, at no cost. This is what I call first class customer service. Good show Alaska Airlines!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSpokane to Boise
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"deeply unsatisfactory"

(United States)

Not Verified | Poor customer service and deceiving practices I recently had an extremely disappointing experience with Alaska Airlines' phone customer service. The representatives seemed uninterested in assisting, frequently hanging up the call or leaving me on indefinite hold. This neglect is unacceptable, particularly when travelers are seeking crucial information. Furthermore, there were misleading communications about flight delays. I was informed that my flight couldn't depart due to weather issues, yet there were no apparent weather problems. It's troubling to suspect that this may be a tactic to mask the mechanical issues with their older aircraft fleet. The apparent strategy of avoiding compensation by falsely attributing delays to weather is deceptive and unacceptable. Customers deserve honesty and transparency, especially when it concerns their travel plans. I strongly advise travelers to reconsider flying with Alaska Airlines. Their lack of responsible customer service and questionable operational practices warrant scrutiny. In summary, my experience with Alaska Airlines was deeply unsatisfactory, marked by poor communication and suspect practices. I urge potential passengers to be cautious and consider other airlines for their travel needs.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePasco to Las Vegas via Seattle
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no