British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2618 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"seats were the biggest let down"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | BA34 KUL-LHR 6 Sept, return BA11 LHR-SIN-KUL on 16 Sept. All flights in World Traveller Plus with the exception of SIN-KUL on MH economy. On the KUL-LHR leg, the aircraft was clean and spacious in the PY cabin. The seats were the biggest let down. Whilst there was adequate legroom, they were hard and uncomfortable, especially when reclined with virtually no lumbar support. The headrest did not move at all. The seats taper at the waist which is odd and given that they are quite wide, there is very little storage apart from the usual pocket which I think is a missed opportunity by BA to maximise utilisation of space. The food was okay, you get two meals, the first being quite substantial but the second was a joke. IFE was okay but the best part of the journey was the staff who were pleasant and obliging. The return flight was on an A380. Excellent boarding procedure as it was a full flight. Again, seats were the same but the A380 has that wonderful storage space on the upper cabin. Staff were less conspicuous this time around. Overall, I would recommend them but attention needs to be paid to their seats.
AircraftBoeing 787-9, A380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteKuala Lumpur to London Heathrow
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"BA sort this shambles out"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We flew from Los Angeles to Leeds Bradford via Heathrow on Thursday 13th September with British Airways and codeshare partner American Airways. We arrived safely but our bags did not. It is now Monday afternoon and after receiving five different text messages contradicting each previous one we are still without our bags. Come on BA sort this shambles out.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Leeds via London Heathrow
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"experience is so lacklustre"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Brindisi to London. Flying from any airport that includes Ryanair among its serving airlines has to be a bad sign. Brindisi airport is at least modern but it makes few concessions to comfort and there was certainly no lounge for Club Europe passengers. There was also no priority check-in, or, indeed, priority anything. Boarding was a fiasco, with two lines directed into pens, pending the mad dash to the plane, which then entailed using a rather weird, tiered set of steps that was just another queue. Service in Club Europe commenced efficiently, but the cabin crew were of the breezy, cheery type who'd have been better suited to Ryanair. The brief drinks service over, it was on to the the much-vaunted, new look Club Europe meal service. Sadly, this proved to be just another cost-cutting, exercise, with everything piled on to the tiny plastic tray at once, and the appetiser and cheese 'courses' reduced to microscopic portions in little pots. And, of course, the seats haven't changed, although, interestingly, BA seem intent on packing ever more passengers into the Club Europe section, which means that the service is little different to the old economy. Still, we arrived only 30 minutes behind schedule and the priority tags did result in our bags coming off the belt within only a few minutes. It's just that the whole inflight experience is so lacklustre and un-business-like.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrindisi to London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"dreadful seats by the toilet"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chicago to London. I have flown long haul many times with both BA and Virgin premium economy. In my view whilst the Virgin product has improved, the BA equivalent has deteriorated such that Virgin is significantly better. Despite booking and paying for seats with BA this got changed without notification and we ended up in the back of WT+ on the A380 which are dreadful seats by the toilet with limited recline on an overnight flight. For the first time in many years I found the food inedible and the service not great (for example no cutlery initially on tray, no food choice as had run out of other choice, one drink serving and no where to get water on flight). Went through 3 layers of customer service with BA on seat booking issue but consistently fobbed off. Plane was also very warm so that in all a very uncomfortable return leg.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteChicago to London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"do not serve free water"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to London. It was a connecting flight, so I should not complain. The flight was on time and the machine clean and? They do not serve free water, let alone tea or coffee. While this obviously costs nothing it testifies to the low perception of customers. BA simply turned into a low cost airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff was professional"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | British Airways is my favorite airline. Boeing 777 was 21 years old but clean. The staff was professional. Food was above expectation. During 7 hours flight staff is always there. Captain kept updating us about weather, turbulence, and time.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRiyadh to London
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a surprisingly good flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Rome to Newark via London. The first sector was on a A319. Flight was a tiny bit delayed but arrived on time. Boarding at FCO was initially by groups and then a free for all after groups 1 and 2. Flight attendants friendly and welcoming. Seat comfort was pretty good with the leather seats though legroom was tight. There was really nothing to set this flight apart from any other low cost carrier as everything had to purchased - even water. No entertainment either. Was prepared for this so packed a lunch from the airport which was better than what appeared to be on the M&S menu. Connection at T5 was smooth as anything given our arrival mid afternoon. Boarding for the flight to Newark was organised and painless. I was dreading this 787 flight a little based on my previous experience with another airline where it felt cramped. Happy to say, the seat comfort was pretty good, legroom was manageable. I was however surprised that for a 2 year old aircraft (i checked), it was pretty dirty. There was grime around the USB port (which didn't work), tv screen and along the floor by the wall. The cushion on the seatback in front appeared to be busting out the sides as well. I found the touchscreen IFE to be outdated and slightly slow in response. The selection was not as extensive but I did find some excellent British content that I had not seen before. The real standout was the cabin crew who were all somewhat senior but their experience shone through in just how consistently friendly, professional and warm they were with their service. They were generous with drinks and very efficient and quick. The main meal was decent though the pre arrival snack of sandwiches were a little dry and disappointing. All in all, a surprisingly good flight on the transatlantic leg in comparison to the sub par european sector.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Newark via London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Staff very cheerful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow to New York JFK. The First Wing at Terminal 5 was rubbish tonight, 20 or so deep and it’s really the only decent part of BA’s ground operation. Flight left late due to repairs then the usual wait for a tow in at Kennedy made us overall late. Staff very cheerful. This route gets decent catering normally but only 3 main options and the Indian chicken was very bland.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to New York JFK
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"This was a great flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London Heathrow to Dubai. This was the first time I had flown in first class on BA. I had read many reviews before travelling and they were somewhat mixed. BA's first class cabin is not even close to the best in the skies but then again it isn't the same price and reward tickets are readily available if you are a little bit flexible on dates. We were on a 777 which is probably one of the oldest in the BA fleet. The cabin was clean but a little bit tired in places but the seat was very comfortable and spacious. The sleep suit and amenity kit were great with lots of little touches to make you more comfy. It is nice they offer a male and female kit, my wife was delighted with the contents. The Champagne that BA offer in first is superb. I enjoyed a couple of glasses in the lounge and some on board and it is probably the best champagne I have tasted. Choice of other wines is good too and a particular treat is the Johnnie Walker Blue Label if you are a whiskey drinker. Food was very tasty and well presented. I had a seared prawn amuse bouche followed by poached baby pear with blue cheese and walnut brittle then Lamb Machboos as a main course and finally chocolate mille feuille. We were offered ice creams a hour or two later and then afternoon tea a couple of hours before landing. I cant really fault any of it. It was the best airline food i have ever eaten and better than a number of restaurant meals too. IFE was decent although the screen has to folded away so no entertainment during take off or landing,. I believe this has been rectified in later versions of this seat fitted to the 787. I do wish they had a full series of a show rather than just some random episodes but there was plenty of choice. The thing that really made this flight special were the cabin crew. From the moment we stepped on board until we deplaned they were fabulous. Attentive with out being over-bearing. Witty and charming but still professional and always available to attend to your every need. They were superb. Wifi was available but the page to connect didn't load up when i tried it. I dint really pursue it to be honest as i was happy to enjoy the other pleasures first had to offer. This was a great flight and i would wholly recommend that you try out first. Whether i would choose it over Club World would be on flight by flight basis. You have to do it once though!
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Dubai
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Left luggage on belt by mistake"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Heraklion to Gatwick. Left my luggage behind on the belt by mistake. 30 mins after I realised I went back to the airport but no British Airways staff was willing to help. Asked me to ring a phone from the arrival hall pillar. Dialed for BA baggage enquiry and staff picked up the phone and hung up on purpose and never answered again. This is so frustrating.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeraklion to Gatwick
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages