Milan Malpensa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 141 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"exceeded my expectations"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Milan Airport looks very good and I've managed to clear immigration in a speed which exceeded my expectations. Staff were nice and toilets were quite clean as well.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Expect to wait in lines"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Expect to wait in lines. The layout of the airport makes no sense. Passport control occurs after half of the duty free. Passengers end up panicking because after stopping for a meal or to shop they get stuck in a huge passport line. Don’t shop or eat before passport control! The airline check in process is also horrible with no load balance between busy staff and staff not working. For my flight I was in one long line while passengers flying to a different destination on the same airline. Pricing seemed to be extremely high relative to the high street. An airport where you need to arrive 2.5 hours before your flight just to catch the plane. WiFi is spotty at best. And you need to register. The positives are it is clean and seemed to have good food if you have time and money. Probably average for a North American or European airport but terrible next to Hong Kong or Singapore.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"layout of this airport is really confusing"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | The layout of this airport is really confusing. Usually you would go through customs etc then once you get to the Duty Free stores you can relax and make your way to the gates. I checked the sign which said the distance to my gate so knew I had a bit of time. Then you get to passport control, which when I was there I was greeted with a massive line. I had to push past people to get to my flight in the end otherwise I would have missed it. I was not prepared for that lengthy wait right before the gates. Other people on my flight missed the plane so I’m guessing this is a common thing. There should have been more counters open at least.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"the board was not forthcoming with updates"

(United States)

Not Verified | First of all there needs to be more and better signage in this airport. We arrived from a USA flight at 6:00 morning and planned to wait 2 hours for daughters flight. Notice was ok that it was 1 hour delay. Eventually it was six hours delayed but the board was not forthcoming with updates. Next the free WiFi in the arrival waiting area was very poor. Next they put the hotel shuttle van at the far end of airport with no curbside accommodation. You have to navigate through cars and traffic. Next all the convenient check in gates have obviously been sold to the Middle East airlines and everyone else has to schlep to a distant section of the airport. Then you have to walk a couple of miles to you gate. Security screen was efficient and competent.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"extremely inefficient"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | This airport is a very fine physical building. We find it to be extremely inefficient. Our baggage wa not delivered to the baggage hall for 50 minutes. On the return check in was unfriendly and inefficient. Food facilities at 9.p.m were very poor. The waiting area for boarding was crowded. If possible we would not use this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Staff are good and nice"

(Hong Kong)

Staff are good and nice. Wifi is terrible. Barely connect to wifi, and is limited access. The boarding gate area are very narrow, no much room for passengers, 10-20% of passengers got no seat. There aren't much transport late in the night. The airport is way far from the city unless someone can come to pick you up.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"arrival at gate B7 - 6,000 steps"

(United States)

Trip Verified | If I had been given a choice to die in a car crash or fly through MXP - I would have chosen a fiery car crash! This airport is not friendly. Nothing is close. Our bus dropped us off at check-in counter #1, I had to go to counter 24. Once checked in - the walk to the immigration area and gates was back to the area near check-in counter #1. From the security check to the gate was another half-mile. There are no moving walkways that work, and the arrangement of getting from point A to point B is like going from A to Z then back to A. From the moment I set foot on the airport to my arrival at gate B7 - 6,000 steps! Immigration processing is as slow as watching paint dry. There is little to no seating in the gate area. I departed from gate B7 and found a seat 4 gates away!! Airport Wifi is little to non existent, and it was hard to log into if you could log into it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Poor signage" ** EDITED - ASKED TICKET

(United States)

Trip Verified | Immigration on arrival for non-EU was horrible. Expect potentially 30-90 minutes of waiting in line. Arrived on Ryanair flight from Sofia around 12.30pm. Upon arrival, line was already at an estimated 30 minute length. Poor signage resulted in me (and many others) following a line that led to a EU counter for crew which thankfully allowed me to get through in 50 minutes (although the agents were close to having us restart from the back of the queue). Had the signage been clearer and I followed the line like the rest, I have no doubt my entire waiting time may have been as long as 90-120 minutes. Top 3 longest immigration lines I have experienced out of traveling through East and South East Asia, US, and Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"airport shops should open earlier"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Malpensa has now much better shopping areas (following the smooth security check) on the UE departures, compared to last year. What should be considered is that several flight leave quite early in the morning, thus airport shops should open earlier. In general no long queues from baggage drop off to boarding, everything ok.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"absolutely not professional"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Lost & Found area: 20 desk, only 3 people working on Friday at 16:30. Staff absolutely not professional and unkind. It’s 2018, Milan is an important city in both Europe and worldwide and deserves an important airport
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no