Milan Malpensa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 165 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Terrible queues, insufficient number of employees"

(Russian Federation)

Not Verified | Probably the worst in Italy and basically reminds me Africa and JFK. Terrible queues, insufficient number of employees. Laziness along with stupidity. To say nothing about stupid procedures on self declaration on COVID handing to police this creating terrible crowd with no distance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"there is no social distancing"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | One of the worst European airports to arrive and under normal conditions I would have used Zurich and connected to Varese by car or train. The airport is badly maintained, old and desolate. Luggage is slow to arrive, no one around to help, no friendly faces. Of course as their surveillance cameras will show there is no social distancing despite the markings. No enforcement or warning my local police officials just watching the free for all to yank luggage off the belt. Very disappointing. And the one toilet I did visit on the way to the luggage area was filthy. Not the most hygienic place to arrive at.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very low standards of hygiene"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Flew KL 1630 from MPX to AMS. Airport toilets are in a shocking state. Very low standards of hygiene. On arrival at final destination the checked in bag was lost again from MPX. This has to be one of the worst airports I have been in and a case study in poor management and absent leadership. Does anyone actually supervise anything there? And please just a handle on how to transfer bags. Its not possible that every second trip there my bag is lost. Somebody do their job!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I've never seen anything more poorly managed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I've been to many airports, and this is without a doubt the worst I have ever experienced. I had to run from one end of the airport to the other to check in, because they had only opened one door. The queue was huge, with only 2 staff working. I joined the queue at just after 5, & wasn't checked in until 5.50. I then had to pay an exorbitant fine for airport check-in, and paying required a separate queue - another 15 minutes, to be served by a woman who snatched my payment slip out of my hands, then threw my card back when I'd paid & said 'ok, go'. Then I saw the security queue, at this point with only half an hour before my then-late flight was due to leave, I've never seen anything more poorly managed, there was barely any system, everyone packed together like cattle. I managed to get to the front of the queue as people kindly let me through, only to meet one of the rudest women I've ever encountered. This agent at security control nodded to allow me to skip the line, which I did, then began shouting at me for going through. I pointed out I didn't intentionally do the wrong thing, so she began shouting & condescending me as if I didn't understand English 'keep a distance, stay away, do as I say!' - if we are to follow the distancing rules, why is everyone herded together like pigs in a trough awaiting feeding time?! Then as I was putting my luggage in the trays, again she shouts at me, this time also grabbing my arm to add extra spice to proceedings, & begins barking 'wait for the bags to go through the machine, them first, then you!'. I've literally never encountered this rule at any airport, & it became clear she was doing this to humiliate me, as I watched as she didn't do it to a single other person. I dropped my e-reader without noticing, then happened to see it, and her smirking and looking away with no intention to tell me. Thinking of her now makes my blood boil, she should not be working in a customer-facing role, the tiny bit of power she has has clearly gone to her head. I then had to run the full length of the airport again to get to my gate, was seen by many members of staff but never offered any help, I made it eventually, to find the plane delayed by an hour, & the only shop at the gate closed. As I showed my boarding pass & passport, when we finally began boarding, the woman checking laughed and said 'oh yes, I saw you running before!' - as if the concept of customer assistance had completely passed her by. If you are concerned about the virus, this is the airport to avoid like the proverbial plague - everyone was packed as closely as possible at all times, it appeared to be some kind of competition to see how many human sardines they could fit in the tin, the signage is out of this world, the distance between the major points puts the London marathon to shame, and all in all I never had a worse airport experience than this. I was supposed to be flying from Milan Bergamo, but I guess for extra fun WizzAir decided to change last minute. To keep us all on our toes I suppose. If you see this airport as a destination or departure location, no matter if free first class tickets are served to you on a complimentary golden diamond-encrusted platter in the business lounge, with the promise of the celebrity of your choosing serving drinks on board as you are treated to a full body massage, serenaded by the entire Royal Operatic Society and eating food cooked by Gordon Ramsey himself - fly somewhere else.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"below standards for a European airport"

(Honduras)

Not Verified | Long queues for check-in and for immigration. Waiting time of luggage never less than 30 minutes. Wifi very convoluted to get on, asks a lot of unecessary info, and is slow. Certaily below standards for a European airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible arriving experience"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Terrible arriving experience. 2 hours waiting time for immigration control. This happens every time for the flights arriving from outside EU, especially when arriving at evening.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the worst airport I've ever seen"

(Romania)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I've ever seen. The food court is very poor! After the passport control you don't have anything to eat or the possibility to buy a snack or something. I travel a lot but I haven't seen anything like this in my life. I walked a lot to reach the gate B and I was in a permanent hurry even I Ieft the city with 3 and a half hours before the flight on a Sunday. I will try to avoid as much as possible this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Very friendly airport staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very friendly airport staff - both the helpers around the place (wearing blue shirts) and the security staff. Airport is clean and seems well maintained and signs/directions are clear. On the downside, long passageways and the inbound passport control for non-EU is tends to be very congested. Bathrooms are not the cleanest. Overall, positive and helpful staff makes the MXP experience reasonably good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the queueing is incredibly slow and long"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Malpensa terminal 2 is horrible. One would think that after reaching this place (it is awfully far from Milan) the airport would at least be modern, queueing be fast and personnel be polite. Wrong. The terminal itself is super old, the queueing is incredibly slow and long (Monday Morning only 2 control gates open and more than 30 min waiting time) and personnel impolite. If your flight calls the last minute boarding announcement, the personnel around you would just ask you to pay for fast track to avoid the queue (yes, fast track is to be purchased separately). Absolutely below standard, especially for an airport that aims to become a prime gateway to the country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Passport control line 2.5 hours long"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Passport control line 2.5 hours long! I’ve been telling myself not to use Malpensa over and over again. Terrible experience, outdated architecture. Ugly as hell. Only 3 passport counters working for almost 1000 people.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no