Dusseldorf Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very rude to my wife and I"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A good airport in that the train takes you to there for 2.80 euros from Düsseldorf. We departed from gate C and consider ourselves to be frequent flyers, but we don’t speak German. At security we took out liquids as usual but it would seem that we placed them in the wrong type of tray. Instead of explaining the security man was very rude to my wife and I. At one point he was shouting at my wife "Put it back, put it back", she politely explained that she was unsure what she was doing wrong and his reply was “25 million customers a year all know what to do apart from you two". We were confused and upset. Clearly no need to be rude and I doubt we would have been as polite back in any other place for the fear of missing our flight. After security I complained to his manager who spoke to him yet he didn’t apologise to us.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departure experience was absolutely horrendous. Arrived at 09.10 for 11 flight. Check in was quite slow. Then proceeded to area for A gates. All access points were closed - directed in a big circle (no explanation why) back to A gates where the queue was like something out of a theme park snaking backwards and forwards and virtually stationery. No offers of assistance and took 45 minutes. By now 10.15 and boarding at 10.25. Started to run to gate and ran in to a gigantic queue of maybe 200 people in four lines again virtually not moving. Many people panicking about missing flights , no boarding calls no assistance offered. Border guards incredibly slow. Got through this queue at 11.10 fully expecting to miss my flight but luckily it was delayed and made it by two minutes. Last time I used this airport they lost our bags during transit. It simply cannot handle large volumes of passengers and I will never use it again. German efficiency definitely seems to have by-passed Dusseldorf airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Too small to handle the amount of customers"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | Too small to handle the amount of customers. If you don't have cash with, you have to queue up for min 5-10 minutes for a bottle of water. Restrooms are not clean and cannot handle the amount of customers again. Toilets are not flushing after use at some restrooms and yellow from the urine dried on it. Fans not working in some of the designated smoking areas and almost fully trashed, what indicates the poor cleaning services again. Flights are frequently delaying more than half an hour. Would not call it an airport. Basically it is recommended to avoid if possible. Afraid it will just get worse.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"better than expected"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | My experience at Dusseldorf airport was better than expected. The airport is very nice and clean and it's very easy to find your way to the gate. I liked the fact that there are a lot of restaurants and shops on the way to the gate, so you don't have to worry about missing the flight due to these stops. The security check was quick and smooth. What I did not like about this airport was the long passport check queue for passengers traveling outside Schengen. I waited in that queue for 15-20 minutes and, after passing that checkpoint, there was only one small bar with very few and expensive food and beverage options. Also, the bathroom was on another floor. The seating room at the gates in this area were also quite small. My particular gate was behind a closed door, which caused a queue to form in front of it and block the way to other gates. Once they opened the door and let the passengers in, there was no toilet available in the area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"It's simply too small"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | The airport is not capable of handling the number of passengers that it has. The lounge is always full and the staff has a hard time delivering there. It's simply too small. But much, much worse is their extremely poor performance in security. The queue can be extreme and having priority or fast lane access is a joke as that also takes forever. You can easily spend 45 minutes in the priority lane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Everything is in order and clean"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Düsseldorf Airport is very neat and tidy. Everything is in order and clean. The queues are short and you dont have to wait to long compared to the masses this Airport has to handle. I am a photographer and often photograph planes at this Airport, thus I'm very often there. The only porblem was the queue at my flight from DUS to TXL. We got directed through the Terminal shopping area, just to walk in a circle to the Security Check (but I dont think it was a serious issue because it was the first flight at this morning).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"everything went smoothly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | This time everything went smoothly and without any waiting times. I have been suprised that even the security check in didn’t have any problems, in the past Düsseldorf Airport had many problems with it. Food was as always pretty good and overall Düsseldorf Airport is modern and nice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"make you feel unwelcome"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Generally OK. Good to reach. Easy parking and transport to terminal. Check-in fine, shops OK. But, horrible customs, very disrespectful. They make you feel unwelcome, while they act superior. If you like being treated as cattle, or prefer ignorance or harassment, please go there, otherwise stay away.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will be avoiding Dusseldorf Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The rate of progress through the security gates is very slow. When I attempted to get through security for a 16.40 flight there were only two staff monitoring peoples access to the scanners and passport control. Consequently, only a relatively small queue of 25 people was taking over 40 minutes to be processed. As an elderly person standing and waiting for that period of time (with a serious back complaint) I felt quite ill. Surely there must be an acceptable quality standard for being processed through security. I will be avoiding Dusseldorf Airport if at all possible in the future unless you can utilise more staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control is far too slow"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | We arrived at the airport on time. The lines to passport control had around 200 people each. There were only 4 counters open. It took us 50 minutes to get through it. We were late for our flight with another 50 people (or more). The passport control is far too slow. The management of the airport is terrible!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews