Chennai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Queues are very unorganized"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This is the worst airport I have ever seen throughout my travel history. 95% of staff at check-in counter are contractors (Badra) and most of them have no idea about luggage handling. Recently, I was ripped off $100 for carrying an extra 1 kg. Never get to the toilet as they are the worst and no trolleys while you have to cross that long way from aircraft to immigration on arrival. Queues are very unorganized and expect some frustrating moments. I have never had a pleasant trip from Chennai Airport. Chennai is my hometown and unfortunately, I can't avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst airports"

(India)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports. Due credit to the local government and AAI for the conjoined carelessness and lethargy towards the growing traffic. Sluggishness of the security personnel add to the misery of the passengers
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very badly maintained"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very badly maintained. Probably the worst international airport I have seen. The staff don’t seems to know their job role. Hand Luggage screening while arrival is a joke. Security check while departure is pure nonsense - no security measures are followed. Entry and exit to the airport doesn’t need a review - horrible experience. Not sure if this city requires an airport. WiFi doesn’t generate password for international number, but an option is provided. WiFi password requirements is a clowns idea.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Totally disorganised and filthy"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Cannot believe this is an international airport. Totally disorganised and filthy. Immigration officials think they are God's, rude and obnoxious. Need to realise they have a job nothing more. Probably need more training and exposure to other officials so they can get off their high horse. No announcements and all screen data is wrong. Atrocious. Wish we had another choice to enter South India.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports in the country"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Easily one of the worst airports in the country. Dirty and filthy. Poor service. Immigration services are pathetic. Officers are entitled and rude to families and women. Poor and slow security checks. The only business lounges with toilets located outside the lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very dirty rest room"

(India)

Not Verified | Very dirty rest room. Always wet. Seats are full of dust and dirt. Good thing is the friendly staff. Departure is overcrowded with people due to holiday season. AC not working properly. Mosquitoes inside airport. The airport maintenance is very poor compared to Bangalore, Delhi or Mumbai.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security check is the worst I've seen"

(India)

Not Verified | Ladies security check is the worst I've seen. Was pregnant and had 1 year old child and senior citizen mother and had to wait for 20 mins with just 3 to 4 people in queue. Tiny girl who kept laughing at our problems was in charge and the queue doesn't move at all. Worst is that she put another woman who had no problems in front of us. They were taking 5 mins per passenger while the other queue moved at least 10 people during this time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Careless security checkup"

(India)

Not Verified | Careless security checkup in this airport. They have no responsibility on passengers. Security checking system is worst I have ever seen. I was unable to found my moneybag but security police was laughing at this situation. Airport authority need necessary steps to control these situations because passengers are bound to travel by air and hope for better services so if this situation is going on passengers will be fully exhausted.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"very likely you can get ripped off by taxi drivers at night"

(Serbia)

Not Verified | The main problem with this airport is the fact most international flights from the Middle East and Europe arrive and depart around 3 am or so. It is thus very likely you can get ripped off by taxi drivers at night. And many hotel desks do not work at that time. Hiring a car is never an option if you are not used to Indian rules of the road. Because it is night metro trains and buses do not operate, end even if they do you do not get much of it. Otherwise, it is a good airport to spend time in. They shall, however, enable better Internet connectivity. I do not think sending a confirmation via a phone number is the best, because (1) not everyone has a phone number which can receive texts while abroad, (2) it only allows nationals of some 60 countries to pledge their mobile numbers. My country was not on the list, so I couldn't connect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Try to avoid MAA if you can"

(United States)

Not Verified | Atlanta to Chennai via Doha Hamad. The plane landed at 02.00 am at the old terminal. Immigration was a total nightmare. The toilets are filthy and unclean until you pass through immigration. The signs were misleading, being a US citizen with Oci card, assumed we had to pass through foreigner line. 35 min later, we got to the desk, who redirected us to the OCI line. The line was so long, it went out of the immigration hall, and there were only 2 desks there. The guys there were annoyed and we went through the line around 03.55 am, the line was getting ready to riot because the guy was letting some friends of his bypass through the special line. After around 4.30 am we passed through, and the Qatar Airways bags were still there in the 50-year-old terminal. Try to avoid MAA if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no