Chennai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 98 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I dread travelling through Chennai airport"

(India)

Not Verified | It has always been an unpleasant experience while collecting the baggage. The entire process of immigration gets over in less than 15 minutes but the wait time for the baggage is around 1hr 30 minutes minimum which frustrates all passengers. I'm an international traveller and nowhere have I waited for more than 15 minutes and this is what I call a customer experience. These days I dread travelling through Chennai airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport seems to be setup to be a failure"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | For someone from Chennai, it hurts to say that I can vouch for the fact that the international terminal in Chennai is the worst of all the airports in India and I have been through a few. It might have to do with the fact that unlike the other major airports in India, the AAI (a government run institution), does the renovation and don’t seem to care about aesthetics and streamlining the process. I thought the airport was meant to be a silent airport, then you hear announcements on the loud speaker (why do I get the feeling of being in a train station in India, when I hear it?). This airport seems to be setup to be a failure and encouraging the airlines to move away to other well run airports which are owned by private players. Landing into Chennai - you get off the aircraft and you have a long walk through a narrow corridor, and in some instances having to go through passengers who are getting on! The immigration area is unorganised and the officers lounging around and in no hurry (good luck if you are landing at about 1 am, when multiple flights land). Leaving Chennai - while the concourse is ok, once you have crossed immigration there is nothing to do while you wait. The spa is a rip-off and if you have flights late in the night, you get to sit on some hard back chairs with nothing to do (worst is around the gates 16-18). Well, you are lucky that you get to leave the airport behind.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most chaotic airport"

(India)

Not Verified | The most chaotic airport, not at all up to international standards. Absolute lack of infrastructure creates hassled customers and staff, no proper queuing systems in place and no effort to get things in place. No internal direct connectivity between international to domestic transit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The worst I have seen"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Having travelled to many countries both in Asia and Europe I can vouch that Chennai Airport both the Domestic and International terminals are the worst Airports in the world as far as service, cleanliness, facilities and rude service staffs are concerned, however the immigration as well as the Airport security staff treat passengers without the slightest human dignity. The worst I have seen, rude, conceited and sheer display of arrogance on travelling passengers. My advice to travellers avoid this Chennai Airport when traveling to South India Cochin or Bangalore Airports are better alternatives.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not up to International design"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | The airport is not up to International design. I saw so many mosquitoes near the food court area close to gate 18. Toilet doors are very dirty and overall it’s such a bad sirport as compared to Mumbai, Bengaluru or Hyderabad. Chennai churns out millions of engineers who go abroad and work but alas, could not use their mind to design a good functional airport. What a shame.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"toilets are so dirty"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Gents toilets are so dirty at Domestic airport. Very bad housekeeping by Airport Authority all across the airport. Probably the worst airport in any Indian Metro. There is no signs or good walkway to come from international Terminal to Domestic Terminal.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"such sincere people"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | I had missed my laptop in the security check, took my bag but did not take my laptop. The next day, when I called the airport officer, he immediately checked and reverted back that there is a laptop with the brand and serial number I mentioned. It was a big relief for me. Appreciate that Chennai Airport has such sincere people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the crowd keeps piling up"

(India)

Trip Verified | Extremely crowded at Security Check. CISF Staff at the airport who are responsible to do security check are totally unconcerned about the long queue and waiting passengers and do all their work so slow that the crowd keeps piling up.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Hopeless airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hopeless airport for people who are in transit. There is no proper service to move from domestic to international and from international to domestic. People will face a tough time because it is approx 2 kms between them. Trolleys are not allowed, so people with many pieces of luggage will have an impossible time. Your only option is battery car that is again hard to catch. All the best if you happen to land in this airport, of course it wouldn't be a happy journey once you arrive at this airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"a painful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I transited in Chennai on our flight from Colombo to New Delhi on AI 043. The transit facilities were a complete mess and were reminiscent of the way thing were done in India in the 1970's. As we deplaned there was no dedicated signage for transit passengers. Airline staff were shouting down the corridor asking transit passengers to various destinations to form up on either the left or right of the corridor. We were all, including aged passengers then led at a fast pace to a point where we emerged at a point leading to the security check area for passengers starting their journey in Chennai. This is totally ridiculous as all transit passengers had already been security checked at their originating airports. The X-ray belts are very short and given the number of passengers the queues were taking very long to be security checked, as a result of which the belt out of the X-ray machines were jammed with baggage waiting to be picked up by pAssengers who were waiting to be body searched. All in all a painful experience for passengers and staff. There should be a way for transit passengers to be taken directly to the departure gates.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 98 Reviews