Basel Mulhouse Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"ground crew is not friendly"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | The passport control is the worst I’ve experienced in a long time! The queues are incredible and the ground crew is really not friendly. They seem stressed and upset about the situation too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport in Europe"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | This must be the worst airport in Europe. When departing on a Thursday evening, the queue to get into the queue for the bag-check, extended to the escalators. The queue moved reasonably fast, but not all the gates and x-ray machines were in use. A clear issue of understaffing. The queue at the passport check was again ridiculous, extending well into the departure hall, and half of the counters were not in use, very frustrating. There was also no queue control, leading to frustrations when some passengers decided to push through because they were late. Weren't we all? Coming back on Sunday night at 22:30 we were confronted by yet again a ridiculously long queue for the passport checks. Again, some of the counters were not occupied. The biggest issue in Basel seems understaffing, while it should not be hard to estimate the number of passengers leaving or arriving, based on airline figures. There are some attempts being made to put more counters in, but if they're not staffed, it won't make any difference. There are also zero epassport gates. Having the passport checks at the end of a long and narrow corridor without toilets or space to fast track older people or people with young kids further increases the problems and frustrations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"the worst experience"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Today I had the worst experience ever so far on EuroAirport Basel Mulhouse! Coming from Munich, where the Passport check took less than a minute, Basel required 28 minutes queuing for checking my EU Passport again! I travel already since 2004 frequently via Basel Airport (Senator Lufthansa) but what happened in Basel during the last year is almost unbelieveable. From a nice, fast and efficient airport you now never know anymore what time you will be home and/or what time you have to be there in order to be able to catch your flight. Today I arrived from Munich and the queue started half-way the moving walk way. From that moment it took 28 minutes to arrive at the customs counter, despite the number of people arriving that moment only 2 officers the Passport check. And the worst is that the check seems to be done really quick and superficial just in order to avoid even longer queues. Four weeks ago I arrived from Mallorca and at that moment there was no control at all. So are the intensified safety checks as announced now neccessary or not? Also if you are visiting the lounge before departure you really have to be careful because in order to get to some of the gates you also have to go through customs and also there long lines are common the last months. Also the safety checks where the often unfriendly personnel only (pretend) to speak French are sometimes really annoying. Especially compared with the many other Airports which I visit every year. I really start to think that I have to start flying consequent from Zürich Airport because this kind of things I really don't need in Europe, coming from a flight within Europe
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a nightmare of an arrival experience"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I thought this can not be possible, a nightmare of an arrival experience! Took me longer to pass customs then the actual flight! More than an hour stuck in a narrow hallway to get through customs. Stuck with hundreds of other travellers (not helping the already stuffy air and heat in the hallway) just to find out at the customs only one counter was manned while the other 5 have been empty. With some officers in the back chatting among themselves.Best part is, my partner was stuck exactly the same way just a few days earlier. What are the thinking? Just rebooked the next few trips from ZHR.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"staff were generally friendly"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | A long walk from the car park to Departures for people with walking problems and no obvious way to summon Special Assistance. Once inside staff were generally friendly apart from a messy check-in where the clerk refused to speak anything but French. I was left near the gate with an adjoining snack bar area with eye-watering prices (e.g. small Americano coffee € 5.70 and chicken sandwich €7.50) - making Faro and Bristol look like bargains! Lift to the aircraft before other passengers boarded and given good, friendly assistance. Decent airport but purchases for Swiss millionaires only.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Horrible atmosphere"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Appallingly long queue for arrivals from non-Schengen countries when arriving at 2120, which extended for hundreds of meters back, only 2 police checking passports. Queue moved extremely slowly and the local staff then opened up a second queue in a parallel corridor which fed into the same 2 police officers checking passports, which inevitably slowed things down considerably. Horrible atmosphere, everybody angry and crammed into a corridor. A local member of staff said it was due to the police (French) only being willing to put 2 officers out to check passports. Due to the delay I missed a train home, which I couldn't actually get home as planned using public transport as trains were no longer running. Until this issue is solved, I will be trying to use other airports (Zurich) as this is just unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"entirely unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A nightmare! I arrived yesterday, 21 Sept 2018 on a flight from Edinburgh. The queue that separated non-Schengen arrivals corridors was gigantic. There were well over 1000 people (ie several plane loads) stuck in the two corridors and there were 2 officers only controlling passports at the end of ours. It took over 50 minutes to get through this. Families with small children were stuck in it and old people who cannot stand up so long. Announcements were made the 'anyone who has a connecting flight should come make contact with ground staff'. And, cynically, 'We ask for your understanding 'nobody had any. Nobody could get through the pile of people, though, to make themselves known, and there was no ground staff. How do they explain this policy of not having an EU and non-EU checkpoint? How do they explain the workload on the 2 officers? How do they take responsibility for the health and safety risk for the passengers stuck in these queues in the entirely unsuitable corridors? I am a frequent flyer and I live in the UK and have a home in Germany. I find this practice entirely unacceptable. They are obviously unable to manage the flow of passengers in their non-Schengen section. Why are there no passport machines to check passports? Why are there no separate lanes for EU citizens? Why are the corridors not widened to accommodate the mass of people and properly air-conditioned? Why is there no staff?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"arrival experience shambolic"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | I agree with all the other recent reviews. The arrival experience is nothing short of shambolic. Hundreds of people herded into a hot and cramped corridor at the end of which there were precisely 2 immigration officers on duty. I arrived at 17.50 and managed to escape the airport at 19.00. I have been travelling every second week through the airport for 15 years and have never experienced anything like the current situation. I am using Zurich now instead.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"chaotic for some months now"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I travel several times a year to Strasbourg via Basel. I usually need to catch a train to Strasbourg from St Louis but when I travelled through Basel on 12th September 2018, I missed my train because of the 60-minute wait in a long, narrow corridor to get through passport control. I am returning on 9th October to Strasbourg but will try to travel through another airport as I now realise that this was not a one-off, and that in fact the security situation has been chaotic for some months now. This used to be an incredibly efficient transit, but sorry to see it's not an option for now. Hope this gets sorted.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"used to be a nice airport"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Upon arrival, hundreds of passengers were held in an extremely hot and airless corridor queuing for passport control for over 1 hour. The airport staff did nothing to explain or manage the queue. They should have called the elderly, pregnant and people with small children to the front given the length and temperature of the wait (also with nowhere to sit). It used to be quite a nice airport, but I will pay extra so I don’t have to use it in future. It looks like it is happening often because there are reviews for the exact same thing since June, and the info desk told me they had a lot of complaints.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews