Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 276 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"how poorly managed"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified |   Such a shame to see how poorly managed the airport has become. All the investment and nothing to show for it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Auckland Airport is a shambles"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Auckland Airport is a shambles. The new drop off and pick up areas are not flyer friendly. I have a bad knee and after limping for ten minutes, my knee really hurt. At 4.30 am about five hundred people tried to get through custom and security! It took 90 mins to clear whilst we were forced marched through cattle lines. More pain for my knee. There were no departure screens operating and the gate nominated by checking staff was wrong. The layout is a shambles with too many high end shops and only one fast food outlet. Not impressed as our premium airport!!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling service"

(Australia)

Not Verified |   Get to Auckland airport check in 3 hours early at 3:15am for a flight back to Sydney…check in completed including the queue within 10 minutes…go to the security area and it’s locked! It remained locked for over an hour until 4:30am before the floodgates finally opened and the hordes descended…the queue was around a thousand people. It took us at least an hour and a half to get through security finally passed at 5:50am a quick toilet trip before boarding and the airline was paging us to immediately get to the plane or risk missing the flight! Absolutely ridiculous! If you’ve got people checking in for an international flight 3 hours early at 3:15am then have the security open to accomodate them! One old lady next to me in the queue politely and very quietly asked me at 5:15am if she’d miss her flight at 5:30am and should she ask to go to the front of the queue…I told her to jump the queue and go straight to the front of the line which she did…there were only 2 security at the passports section for around a thousand people to serve…pathetic, never seen anything like it…we’re frequent fliers and have been travelling to many countries overseas for nearly 2 decades. Appalling service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Shockingly disorganised"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Shockingly disorganised, embarrassing to be a Kiwi. 4000 steps from transit bus to gate 17. Should outsource to international company with experience. Should be judged on international standards.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"stepped in and saved our backs"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | My family and I were relocating to New Zealand, and so we had a lot of luggage to transport from the arrival terminal, through customs and immigration, and then to our departure terminal. We thought we'd have to move the 13 boxes ourselves, while strolling a two year old, but the employees at the airport, Carl and Richard, stepped in and saved our backs by helping us carry and transport the enormous load through all our checkpoints, while balancing all their other responsibilities, and making it a fun and enjoyable experience. We especially loved the conversation, and felt very welcome as a result of their services. We couldn't be happier with our experience, and would give them both five stars. Also at a certain point Richard had to perform other duties, and another employee joined our moving party (I can't remember her name but she was equally wonderful and helpful). We honestly couldn't have made it all this way without them.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"people getting soaked or blown about"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | My review is about the Transport hub walking area between Airport and Parking. Aesthetically pleasing roofing design line over pathway etc but entirely useless for shelter from elements whether from rain or wind walking to and from…actually preferred the old "containers layout" which actually provided effective cover … Plenty people getting soaked or blown about like Emirates team NZ in the short distance each way. Some sort of bus-shelter type sides are definitely required to be actually functional to provide cover from elements.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
1/10

"not capable of handling 5 aircraft"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Prior landing, crew announced that 4 North American aircraft had arrived. Baggage carousel, Announcement baggage delayed because of a "technical issue" 30 minutes later and 3 announcements of the same bags begin to appear. It is a lie, it was because they are not capable of handling 5 aircraft from north America. also it lets the lines at bio-security get shorter so the complaints are less. Given that there are only 6 "desks" open but it did proceed at a better pace than 6 months back. They are spending 10s of millions to upgrade the place which really is a waste of time and money if they do not have personnel to do the loading and unloading of the aircraft. If the debacle of the new drop of area is anything to go by, they will be having to upgrade in 5 years to cater for the numbers and traffic. Just coming back from third world countries they have a far more efficient operation with populations and visitor numbers far higher than this incompetent outfit, in traffic movements and drop off areas without the logjam that Auckland has spent millions on consultants on how to waste millions on a what they call a world class airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"ridiculous queues everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified |   One of the worst and most stressful airports I've ever been in. It took 20 minutes to get through the departure gates, another 30 in immigration, then another 25 in security. Absolutely ridiculous queues everywhere, and the staff are not helpful. I thought I was going to miss my flight!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

“good coverage in the retail”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | [International]. The positives include: reasonable surface access; good coverage in the retail, though you will sometimes pay more than in the local big supermarket landside. A reasonably straightforward borders and security process, with staff here even demonstrating a sense of humour. Needs work: more and more frequent public transport options (tho' this isn't in the direct gift of the airport to fix). [Domestic] (for a flight undertaken into and out of AKL when I was in New Zealand). The regional services area is getting cramped, and they still don't quite know what they will do here when the terminal is rebuilt at some point.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"a really sub-par experience,"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Used countless times in the last 25 years, ashamed to say it is one of the worst airports I’ve ever experienced. Rude and unhelpful staff, they now have a pick up / drop off point far away from the terminal and it is uncovered, so if it rains, you will get wet just by walking to check in for your flight! Wait times arrival and departure have improved lately but overall a really sub-par experience, from duty free offerings, to overall layout and planning , poor customer service. So sorry to have to say all these things . Hope they get better
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no