Auckland Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 228 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Unbelievably quick and efficient"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Unbelievably quick and efficient. Arrived back in NZ after holiday in Hong Kong, arrived 4.15pm, flight was 1.5 hours late after amazing run-around at Sydney Airport during transfer, which was annoying as it threw us into late afternoon traffic into Auckland. What a pleasant surprise Auckland arrival was, we were expecting long delays after the rantings and ravings by a local Auckland radio jock, whose name rhymes with "busking", but we were amazed at the turnaround since our last visit, we honestly were outside waiting for a shuttle in 10 minutes, our bags were on the turnstile as soon as we arrived at baggage claim, there were plenty of auto passport scan booths available, the customs guy was friendly and chatty and with nothing to declare he waved us straight through, it's hard to believe but we were through our home airport quicker than either Hong Kong or Changi, well done Auckland, world class.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"ordeal cost us time and energy"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | After queuing up for quite a while (around 30-45 minutes) to check in our baggage at the MAS counter for flight MH 130 on 22/11/18, we were ushered to the Business Class check-in counter as it was free. The man at the counter weighed our luggage and told us that the total was 108kg (maximum baggage allowance = 90kg in total. Hence, we were supposedly 18kg in excess). We were shocked and couldn't believe it. We promptly went to the airport's weighing station to weigh the luggages ourselves and found that the total was only 56kg, not 108kg. Then, we had to line up again to check in our luggage. We went to a different counter and this time, the total was approximately 56kg. We do not know why the first weighing was so terribly inaccurate and shudder at the thought that we would have had to fork out money for the excess weight. We did inform the man at that first counter, just so he would be aware of this mistake and so it wouldn't happen to other people. However, he did not offer an apology. This whole ordeal cost us time and energy, and left us feeling too stressed to even eat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Very impressive service"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Very impressive service from the assistance team at Auckland airport in terms of helping a single mother travelling with a baby all the way. Fast and efficient. These girls made our day and deserve a reward.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Departure boards were not changed"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Delayed Air New Zealand flight one hour to Perth. Departure boards were not changed. Passengers waiting in "cattle pen" which can only accommadate the number for boarding a small aircraft not a 787. Air New Zealand were also to blame for not making announcements.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"extremely poor performance"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I fly into Auckland from Australia 4 or 5 times a year. I generally arrive on the flights arriving around midnight. These flights are mostly early due to the westerly weather pattern. Last night we arrived around 15 minutes early and had to wait for ground staff to clear the approach and flag us in (that was the pilots comments apologising for sitting on the tarmac away from the terminal). After 10 minutes or so, the plane docks. This is not an isolated occurrence and surely the ground crew know the planes generally arrive early so planning for that might be a good idea. I watched a sullen person bring out cones and an extinguisher etc in dirty hi viz clothing before we then moved up to the gate. Passing though immigration was quick and I arrived at the baggage carousel about 15 minutes after getting off the plane. The carousel number 3 sign posted as our flight baggage claim started up shortly after I arrived and the priority bags arrived simultaneously and were collected by their owners almost immediately. My bag arrived approx 45 minutes later than the priority baggage, as did the bags of much of the planes economy passengers. This is extremely poor performance and more so because no official came to offer an explanation or apology to the hundred or so passengers waiting for their bags.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Not the best NZ has to offer"

(Japan)

Not Verified | What a dump. Disconnected, all shops, few restaurants. Strange interrogation right before boarding flight. Very limited free WiFi. Horrible connecting between domestic and international. Not the best NZ has to offer.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"service desk however was horrible"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I was droping off my mother at Auckland airport yesterday for her first ever trip to New Zealand visiting myself and her grandchildren. She's coming back to Indonesia by herself using Singapore Airlines. Due to her lack of English, the airline had told me to go to service desk to ask for assistance so she could go to the gate that she's supposed to. The lady at the service desk however was horrible. She was rude and started yelling at me. I had done nothing but wait patiently in the queue, and she told me to move away, and back off. I thought people at the customer service were supposed to be friendly and helpful? This lady was not friendly or helpful. So Auckland airport, New Zealand is famous for how friendly and nice the people are here, you put that horrifying kind of person as your representative at the service desk, this was a big mistake.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"only seen it get worse"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | I am a regular traveler through Auckland international and i have only seen it get worse, very little improvement at all. Now takes longer than ever and on Sunday 30th of September the cue for immigration was out into the shopping area and only half of the security lanes were open. Poorly managed and completely set up for revenue gathering. I got through Cairo airport far quicker, what an embarrassment. Airlines should boycott, would happily fly to Wellington or Christchurch to avoid if i could.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"very disappointed"

(Australia)

Not Verified | On Sunday 16th Sept I arrived at the Auckland International Airport had a lovely walk over to the Domestic to wait for my connecting flight. A couple of hours later and listening to many delays of flights with disgruntled travellers my flight was also delayed for and hour. With very limited seating due to the delays there was nowhere to sit and people were splayed on the ground to rest their legs. My return 10 days later I am saddened to say I was very disappointed with my lengthy wait at Auckland International on Tues 25th Sept. Due to an earlier connecting flight I had a 5 hour wait at the airport. I don't mind the wait but it would have been nice to have found some seating to use whilst waiting. I scrambled for a table to sit and eat, the limited food outlets led me to the Haymama for something decent, unfortunately I had the wonton soup that consisted of 6 small wontons and some 2 min noodles in a very bland hot water - this 'meal' cost me the expensive price of $16. Disgusting. I dread to think what some of our travellers from overseas think of this. I know there are modifications going on but please - for heavens sake - some seating and reasonable food at a respectful price. You have a captive audience and they will be back and they do pass on their thoughts and recommendations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a poor airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | What a poor airport. We had a layover for 3 hours and they didn't have a restaurant to have dinner. Only a food court with limited selection and long queues because of the low number of choices. No place to get a quick decent burger. Uncomfortable chairs. Noisy atmosphere. Construction all over the place.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no