Wizz Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 945 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"Good experience all round"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Only my second time to fly with Wizz air. I got a ticket for £25 return. Then you pay for various extras. I paid for 10KG luggage I didn’t actually need. I thought I was signing up for priority but to be honest I did the booking quickly and didn’t read everything. Trick is to read very carefully regarding the numerous add on options. I only had a really small bag so didn’t need that add on at all. What I should have done was chose my seating at the time of booking. I waited till after and it ended up costing me more. No doubt about it, their software will stick you in a middle seat, probably far away form anyone else in the booking. Trick is to select your seat at the time of Booking. I am 6 ft so needed an aisle seat. I got this. The flight was manageable for me, even though my other leg was pressing against the seat but it wasn’t uncomfortable. With my other leg in the aisle as much as possible. Was an hour and a half late on the outbound and 30 min late inbound. On the outbound this was an airport issue. New plane. Good take off and landing. On the return MXP to LTN would like to give a special shout out to Marta who was very nice, polite and friendly. Good experience all round. My flight came to £95 with the extras but still cheaper than other airlines. The days of mega cheap fares are still there as long as you have no luggage and take it as it comes. Again £25 for a return to Italy isn’t bad. They handed Covid measures well. They constantly reminded people to wear a mask which was good. But obviously the plane was full. They couldn’t observe social distancing, so of course mask wearing essential. Thanks.
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLuton to Milan Malpensa
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"ticket was a really good price"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Valencia to Vienna. All-round excellent. The ticket was a really good price. The plane arrived on time. The seats were surprisingly comfortable - leather seats with ample legroom. The staff were professional. Food and drinks were offered for an additional charge. My bags arrived with me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteValencia to Vienna
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Take your money for no flight and no credit"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Take your money for no flight and no credit - had return flights for 2nd April, Vienna - Reykjavik - Budapest cost over Aud $2200 cancelled mid March due to Covid and government flight restriction, only premium call rates so had to contact via twitter etc.. Told to manage booking, reverted money to Wizz Air Flexi account and the credit expires 90 days later and yet cannot leave country. They have been far worse than any other airline I have dealt with, nothing short of thieves.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteVienna to Reykjavik via Budapest
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"ended up with center seats on both sectors"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | First experience with Wizz out of Vienna did not start nicely since after booking my trip to Bremen I received an email informing me that my outgoing flight was changed to the following day. Since it was planned to be a 10 days trip I accepted it, soon after that I received another email with the information that my inbound flight was moved forward one day because of "operational reasons". So accepting this again finally meant that my entire trip was cut down from 10 to 8 days. The next point on the downside was that after these changes I got the information that my flights were unable for online check-in. However my partner could check-in online without problems although I was the one with the so called "priority" status. Because of that I ended up with center seats on both sectors. I have to mention that check-in on both airports was smooth and done within 2 minutes. I also have to say that for short flights the Wizz Airseat configuration is acceptable but definitely not what you would get on premium airlines (230 instead of 200 allows an idea how tight everything is). The crew was nice and seemed to be motivated and drinks from the onboard bistro service were sold at reasonable prices. Both flights landed ahead of time and WIZZ managed the new COVID procedures very well and distributed the necessery health declarations during boarding. Would I recommend WIZZ for short flights? Yes I would, I would like to believe that the flight changes were owed to the extemporized schedule they still have after the total lockdown of air traffic.
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWien to Bremen
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | After Wizz messed up my name on the boarding pass, I was unable to check in online and was charged extra 169 Euro. They then promised a refund, but now 8 months later the money have not come through. I have provided them with all the requested information, but they just stopped answering. Worst customer service of any budget airline. Will absolutely never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVilnius to London
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't ever be using them again"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | I bought the expensive (FLEX or something) ticket for 1 July from Luton to Thessaloniki for 26th July. The Greek Government said that direct flights from the UK to Greece would continue to not be permitted from 1 July (they were not permitted during June, and they were thinking of allowing them from 1st July onwards, but changed their minds, and first announced that on 26th June). He also said that the official announcement was going to come out on 29th June. I didn't want to wait till 1 day before my flight for WizzAir to cancel it (and I found out from others that they ended up cancelling it on the 30th and a mere 14 hours before the actual flight), thus I tried to book another flight. In that effort, I ended up cancelling my ticket which led to the first ridiculous policy they have - it takes 72 hours for them to put the "refunded" money into a "Wizz Air account", why 72 hours? The second ridiculous policy is that after they added it I would only have 3 months to book another flight with them, otherwise they keep the money, which is ridiculously short even for pre-COVID times, it should be 12 months at least, and probably 24 or 36 now that COVID is around. I would have found that reasonable. But regardless, I couldn't wait 72 hours to book another flight with them, so I ended up booking with another company for my actual flight. Once the 72 hours passed, my money was added to the "Wizz Air Account", after which I proceeded to try to get a refund to one of my actual bank accounts. In that process, they ask for the reason for the refund, and they have two new options "Cancellation initiated by Wizz Air due to COVID" and "Cancellation initiated by customer due to COVID" - I picked the second option, assuming that there is a difference from a similar cancellation pre-COVID times, and thus that I would actually get a refund (otherwise what's the point of having such an option). Apparently, cancelling my flight due to COVID (a flight which was gonna get cancelled for sure by them eventually) and having bought the more expensive ticket wasn't enough to get a refund. They hide behind T&C and maybe legally they are ok with doing so, but personally I find this bad practice, ridiculous, and won't ever be using them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLuton to Thessaloniki
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I had two flights cancelled"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | In the space of less than a month I had two flights cancelled, one from Lisbon to Vienna and back due to covid-19 reasons, and the other from Lisbon to Belgrade because they decided to start the operation one month later. I currently have both cases at court for compensation and all the extra costs that were non-refundable, namely accommodation. Can't think of a worst experience than this and made me really sad because I always wanted to visit Serbia.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Belgrade
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I booked 24 tickets for a wedding party. Flight cancelled due to Covid. Unwritten rule says I can now only rebook 5 tickets. Absolute nightmare - no idea how to solve this On twitter you can only have 2 replies then they ignore you. Group booking is a premium call, Emails are unanswered. All I want is to swap 24 Covid cancelled tickets for 24 new tickets - why is this a big problem? Word of warning - if there are more than 5 of you they have different, unwritten rules - go elsewhere if you can, or fall foul of the rules as they make them up.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charges you a criminal amount"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | With the Covid 19 issues I booked Wizz Air's most expensive fully flexible fare, with the reasonable assumption of getting my money back. However on cancelling this just goes into a wizz-flex account to use as expiring credit. I thought I would be able to try a claim from there call centre, however, it just puts you on hold forever and charges you a criminal amount - Total thieves.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Split
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"pursuing Wizzair through the County Courts"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My wife and I have had accounts with wizzair for over 10 years and fly with them at least 4 times a year. Never really had a problem with them but had a few IT issues which have always been resolved over the phone. Before covid 19 lockdown booked 4 flights with them which 1 they cancelled and the other 3 could not be taken due to the fact that the first flight was cancelled. They basically told me to go away and accept 25% refund or nothing!! They argued the remaining 3 flights were available and it was up to us to turn up for them even though it was impossible to do so. We then booked 4 flights for later in the year, when we got conformation they had charged for extra luggage we didn't want, we contacted them immediately AND before the transaction was complete , the money was still in our account, Guess what! Our fault we`re taking the money make a complaint! Then we notice that one of the ticket had the my christian name on it not my wifes. We immediately contacted them, Guess what!!!! You`re fault pay 45 euros or lose the flight!! Wizz Air have definitely changed their customer care from good to tell everyone to go away! We understand it is difficult for airlines at this moment but brutal and rude response to genuine enquiries is not the way to treat long standing honest and decent clients. Regrettably, we will be pursuing Wizzair through the County Courts which seems to be the only way to take them to task. Sad day.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLuton to Bourgas via Varna
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no