Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 5095 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“worst airline to try to cancel a flight”

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline to try to cancel a flight. I tried to cancel due to an upcoming surgery but they charged me almost the full cost of the flight and put the remaining $ in an account that had to be used in 90 days.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMyrtle Beach to Hartford
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"great if you’re on a budget"

(United States)

Not Verified | Everyone knows that Spirit is cheap and uncomfortable and charges a lot for baggage, seating and food. The way you do it is you pay for your bags in advance as you buy the ticket, check-in online and then bite the bullet on seating or pay. You can get a pop from a vending machine to save on money in the air. So, expect to spend about $43-$50 in addition to your fare each way. Our flight was full, so the seating was very uncomfortable and tight. The tray table in the seat in front of you is just a little ledge to set your drink on. I fortunately had an aisle seat for a small amount of comfort, but it was still bad. We took off and arrived on time, which is a huge selling point for Spirit. Overall, the carrier is great if you’re on a budget and want to save money. We saved about $100 each by flying Spirit with one checked bag and were thus able to afford a nice hotel room. I’d gladly fly them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to New Orleans
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

“nothing but a huge money grab”

(United States)

Trip Verified | The first week in February, I bought a roundtrip non-stop ticket for the first week in May, from Boston to Las Vegas, for an incredible deal of $124. Less than five days after booking, they changed the flight from nonstop to a ridiculous amount of time on a plane with a stopover that ended up getting to Vegas at 11 PM at night instead of 11 AM - which pretty much screwed me out of a whole day of already planned activities with my nieces and nephews. I only had these four days to see my family, so that was completely unacceptable. What did they offer me? A credit. This airline has no other flights available that work in the timeframe of my trip. My itinerary was carefully selected to coincide with an already paid-for shuttle to and from the airport AND a rental car. This was nothing but a huge money grab by Spirit Airlines. Never again. Expensive lesson learned! (And yes, I realize it's only $124, but it cost me over $500 to book an equivalent flight for the same dates!)
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Las Vegas
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Won't ever use this airline again"

(United States)

Not Verified | The web application would not send me my electronic boarding pass during check-in. Worse than that when I clicked on the link in my email to follow check-in from my phone it led me to a payment portal asking for $50. It was never explained what this was for. In order to get to my flight on time I paid the $50 and the application took me back to check-in without ever providing by boarding pass. This continued in a circular loop. Eventually, I found the kiosk in the airport and used my confirmation code there to get my boarding pass. I later found out the $50 dollars was a fee for having an agent print the boarding pass at the counter. Obviously I hadn't done this as I was charged this fee during online check-in while trying to get my electronic boarding pass. I waited for 40 minutes on the phone to talk to customer service after which I was transferred and they refused to give me a refund for the fee. Worse they told me I should have contacted them by phone before paying the fee. Won't ever use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Orlando
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never be flying with Spirit again"

(United States)

Not Verified | I will never be flying with Spirit again. We were flying from Miami to Atlanta, and our flight was delayed for over two hours. We did not want to be stuck in that airport for so long. there was nothing to do. When we finally boarded, the plane was so dirty like nobody cleaned the plane. Also somebody at the gate yelled at us because our bag was a little bit over the maximum weight. She almost made us pay $85! The flight attendants weren’t nice, and the food and beverages were so expensive. Water was four dollars each. In my experience, spirit airlines is the worst airline ever. Avoid if you can. But if you want to fly airline that is cheap and gets you from point A to point B, then spirit is the best option.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Atlanta
Date FlownMay 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incompetent to take care of me"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airline has no idea how to take good care of their Customer. I had a one way free bag. Every time I called to add this bag to my flight I was given false promises. I talked to about 10 different agents and every single one was incompetent to take care of me. Something so simple became impossible for them. Needled to say I never got to use my free one way bag. Do your self a big favor and don't do business with this Airline. I wasted hours and hours trying to get this done.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Palmerola
Date FlownJuly 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disgusted by their service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight was ok but the huge issue has been the fact that they destroyed my son’s stroller during the flight in their storage. I have filed a complaint (claim) right away after we landed and up to now nobody from the claim dept has Contacted us back (after we have been told 24 hours), When I call costumer services the supervisor (I spoke with 2 of them) they say there is nothing they can do. I can’t speak to anyone above them and the claim dept communicate just through a chat where nobody is log in and we don’t now If we ever get a response and no guarantee of a reimbursement of a $750 + stroller. Absolutely disgusted by their service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Newark
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“will never fly Spirit Airlines again”

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Our flight was supposed to leave at 12.45, we arrived at our gate and our plane was ready. 30 minutes before boarding, they switched our gate and gave our plane to people flying to Oakland because their plane was late. I will never be flying Spirit Airlines again, and I would recommend every1 to not use this airline!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Detroit
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Low cost and low expectations”

(United States)

Trip Verified | Low cost and low expectations. Their IT infrastructure sucks. It was insulting and degrading trying to register a DOT approved service animal. They are poor at handling the disabled. An announcement was made for people needing extra time in boarding to come forward. Before I could walk to the gate agent, they started boarding first class. Then, I paid for internet service but the signal was too poor to allow programming. It’s a very long flight when all you can think of is how much you dislike the airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBoston to Fort Myers
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Customer service is terrible!”

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline! Customer service is terrible!! Can't get through, can't reach the customer support team. For several days I tried to somehow cancel my flight because I got sick. As a result, they held out until the last day and offered me a 30% refund!!! This is theft! In any airline you can cancel or change a flight without problems and without losing money, but not here!! I will never use their services again and will not recommend them to my friends! Worst experience!!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Jersey to Pittsburgh
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no