Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3341 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"demanded that I pay for my bag"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I’ve flown with Spirit Airlines many times in the past. Mostly out of convenience and competitive prices, all with the same “Zone 3” ticket and the same hiking backpack. I have never paid for a carry on, extra bag, personal item or checked bag. However, this trip was different. I was picked out of line and told that I had pay 65$ to take my backpack on the plane. In front of the entire line, this Spirit airline employee demanded that I pay for my bag. This was especially shocking to me because it was a connecting flight and I was not confronted or asked about my bag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Denver via Baltimore
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff were really great"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am not loyal to airlines. I fly 3-4 times a year, and I just always book whichever flight is cheapest. This time I booked with Spirit and had a lap infant (17 months old). I packed for both of us in a personal item sized suitcase and they let me take a diaper bag on free of charge (as well as stroller and car seat which were checked). People often gripe that Spirit charges extra for everything, but they don’t catch you off guard - you know going in that you’ll have to pay extra for additional bags, seat selection, printed boarding pass etc. The staff were really great, both at the airport and onboard. On a returning flight they moved my seat (with baby) and my husband’s to an empty row so we could sit together. We hadn’t even asked. The flight attendants on both flights were really kind and helpful too. Also, I like Spirit’s seats - they seem cleaner than other airlines.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKansas City to Las Vegas
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Delayed 3 hours, bad attitude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cleveland to Orlando. Delayed 3 hours, bad attitude, delay and extra 30 minutes and still no answers . After all this I ask to change my seat to the front so I can get faster when we arrive to Orlando and she want it charge me premium price for it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCleveland to Orlando
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very nice and very attentive"

(United States)

Not Verified | The flight attendants on our flight on May 26th coming home from Los Angeles were very professional, very nice and very attentive to our needs. A big shout-out to Diego, Logan and Rosalinda for all there services and what they do on a daily basis. Thank you.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a poor excuse for a company"

(United States)

Not Verified | I booked a family vacation back in March. The flights were cancelled due to the virus but Spirit Airlines said they can only is a credit not a refund. I said ok because I knew we would take that flight again later in the year when the virus is not so wide spread. I then find out that Spirit is no longer flying out of the airport that I live near anymore. I contact them to find out if I can get a refund now since they no longer fly the airport I live near. The closest one they now fly out of is 6 hours away from me. They said they still can issue no refund and credit is all I get and I just need to drive the 6 hours if I want to use that credit. I did some research and saw that the IS Department of Transportation issues a guidance that all airlines are required to issue refunds if the cancelations are due to the virus. However even after telling Spirit that, they still say I’m just out my $1192 I spent on tickets that we can never use now. This is a poor excuse for a company and I hope other people are not getting treated the same as our family. I will fly Delta from now on and hope you do as well.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Orleans to Las Vegas
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"chosen to not give refunds"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I do not think good customer services is provided to customers who travel with this selfish, in it for the profit and the profit, not concerned with people airline. During a national pandemic, this greedy airline has chosen to not give refunds. You could not pay me to ride or booked a flight with Spirit every in life again. Cheap is right!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Las Vegas
Date FlownJune 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"one year credit - no refunds"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Spirit shows a lot of fluff while screwing their passengers. I purchased a cheap nonrefundable one way ticket last January, and for obvious reasons cancelled before my travel in April. They offer a one year credit - no refunds. Now that the world is beginning to get back on its feet, we know that we will never live the same life again. and a ticket that expires in January 2021 is the same as throwing $200 over my shoulder. Does anyone know what our world will look like in January 2021? So I called and asked for a refund (again). the agent read the script and bottom line - nope and no extensions. For the first time ever, the agent and I (we) are all in the same boat. And we discussed that. So, in an effort to see what they could do, the agent had a supervisor call me back. He did call me and read the same script. And his response: tough! Use the ticket by January 2021 or you are out $200.00. The most amazing thing about this is that I purchased a comparable ticket on Southwest at the same time (for the return trip.) And today I was advised that Southwest's "use in one year" policy has already been extended until - January 2022! I never even had to ask.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Orleans to Las Vegas
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the frustration"

(United States)

Not Verified | Spirit Airlines has had a terrible track record for a number of flights I have taken, but this last one will cause me to avoid them forever. I had a connecting flight in a city that was twice as far as my destination, which was acceptable to me because of the low prices. However, there was only an hour between the connecting flights. We began boarding 30 min late and I told the employees I was afraid I was going to miss my connection. They assured me there would be no issue and told me my best option was to board. I did so, and when I arrived myself and two others on that connection were left stranded in Baltimore. At the gate the spirit employees were helpless and could not provide anything. I left the gate and went to the spirit ticket counter. They informed me the next flight was tomorrow, or they could fly me back to LAX in six hours. They would NOT provide a hotel or a ticket on a different airline. I have never come across that before. I asked for a refund and was told that I would be given a ticket voucher directly to my account. I then was forced to pay out of pocket on a different airline just to make it to my destination. Once I checked my account I found I had not been given a voucher. Three days and half a dozen phone calls later I finally received a voucher number. Upon attempting to use the voucher I found ALL days were unavailable until further notice. A dozen more phone calls got me a plethora of explanations all of which ended with, "sorry, there is nothing we can do." I have wasted so much time and money on this airline. If this happens to you even once it is going to ruin your trip and cause hours of unnecessary work and wasted time. The cheap prices are not worth the frustration this airline will eventually cause you. I cannot dissuade you enough from taking this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Chicago
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"hope that my refund was processed"

(United States)

Not Verified | I called this morning after speaking with other parents from my daughter's cheer gym. Our cheer competition was canceled in March. I canceled my flight on March 16th & received my vouchers. As COVID-19 started to shut down more events, we realized that the cheer competition would not be rescheduled. And, the government was asking airlines to refund travel. Several parents said that they called Spirit and received refunds after the initial cancelation of their flights. One of my friends told me she called this morning, so I decided to call and ask for a refund. She said that the process was simple. She stated that she wasn't given any hassle & it was a good experience. When I called, the representative told me that he was unable to process a refund on the phone, but I could receive a refund if I went online and requested it. I told him that I had a friend that called this morning & she was refunded over the phone. He told me he could not help me, so I asked him to transfer me to someone who may be able to. He transferred me to his supervisor, who proceeded to tell me that I wasn't warranted a refund at all & that he could give me an additional $50.00 on my voucher. I told him that the other representative told me I could get a refund online & he told me that wasn't true. So, the first person told me I could get a refund, but they weren't able to do it. And, his supervisor told me that a refund wasn't authorized at all. I told him about the friend I mentioned above and told him a voucher didn't do me any good because I am not an airline traveler. He hung up on me. This was 17 minutes of conversation. I called back & talked with Zamie. She told me that the supervisor put notes in the system that he was "disconnected". No, he clearly hung up when I asked him about why they issued refunds to other individuals. I gave her both reservation numbers and full names. She looked them up & verfied their refunds. After 53 minutes on the line with Zamie, she told me that she wasn't able to issue a refund either, because "I" canceled my flight .. not Spirit. I told her that the other two individuals did the exact same thing that I had done. And, I was following the same protocol. So, I was curious why I wasn't warranted the same refund that Spirit gave to other customers. We had the same flight to the same location & all of us canceled online and received vouchers. Once I told her I had received an email from Spirit that my flight was canceled, she put me on hold & issued the refund. So, I spent an hour & ten minutes this morning talking with people that told me I wasn't authorized a refund & finally gave me a refund. I understand that there are guidelines & rules in place. But, in times like these understanding goes a long way. And, I would understand if the answer was "no, vouchers only" to every single traveler. But, I personally knew of 2 different families that received refunds & I was being denied one under the same circumstances. Zamie was helpful, but her hands were tied. Nonetheless, I am very disappointed in Spirit Airlines. My husband is a retired Marine of 30 years & I served 5 years in the Air Force. I wasn't asking for something that was impossible. I was asking for the same service other people were given. I am hoping that other customers aren't having to jump through the same hoops I had to catapult myself through. People are out of jobs. People are scared. I truly hope that my refund was processed & I will get my money.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCharleston, WV to Orlando, FL
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The flight was terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Philadelphia to Orlando. I was disgusted for the passengers and flight crew. There was a large group of people That were traveling together that basically ran the plane. They did not follow directive to sit they stood in the aisles hovering over other passengers and their children did the same. The group was loud, obnoxious and the flight crew had no control. I couldn’t order a beverage because they could not get the cart through the aisle because of all the people standing. When we exited the plane it was trashed with spilled milk all over the seats and trash everywhere. Not to mention we didn’t leave the runway until 25min after scheduled time because some other group traveling together were late and needed to board. On top of that there was technical difficulties which made the plane return back to the terminal. We landed an hour and a half later then we were scheduled. The flight was terrible due to the lack of control over this large group traveling together. The flight attendants were loosing their patience and were ignoring the rest of the passengers due to dealing with the large group traveling together. No excuse I paid my money the same way they did. Moving forward Spirit will not be my first choice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Orlando
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]