Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3397 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I will not ever fly Spirit again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My friend was booted off the flight because his mask kept falling below his nose. They refunded my ticket but didn’t refund his. They kept my luggage on that flight but once I arrived to the airport no one and I mean absolutely no one was around at the Spirit counter to give me my bag. They are closed until Thursday so I’m without my luggage until they reopen. How inconsiderate and inconvenient is that. I will not ever fly Spirit again. The seats don’t even recline, on top of poor customer service, it’s just too much for me.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Indianapolis
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"my flight was actually good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I heard so many bad things about Spirit I was scared to book a flight with them. Unfortunately time was of the essence and Spirit was the only reasonably priced flight I could find that was non stop. To my surprise my flight was actually good. I had a nice flight attendant named Raymond that was very accommodating and when he heard that my mom and I were leaving Vegas due to my grandmother passing away he offered his condolences and paid for us to get a snack. The flight was smooth and we left a little early and arrived in Baltimore early. The only thing I would fix is spirit not having updated seats that recline and a tv attached that you could watch. Spirit charges for everything why not put in new seats and charge a small fee for people to have access to tv.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Baltimore
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refused to wear their masks"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My husband and I flew on Spirit Airlines on Sunday, January 10, 2021. There were 3 passengers seated across from me and up one row who refused to wear their masks despite being asked multiple times by flight attendants. The flight attendants just kept bringing alcohol to them even though they were already drunk & and being loud and unruly. I assume this is because Spirit wanted to make more money from these passengers. This behavior endangered the entire plane which was sold out and full. Several other passengers pointed out the no mask wearing and loud behavior by these 3 passengers but were given lip service and told that they could not do anything about these passengers not wearing their masks. When I got home, I tried to call Spirit Airlines to complain and ask them to follow their own policies moving forward but I couldn't actually get anyone on the phone. So I sent a detailed email regarding the situation, and got a return email stating that Spirit would reply to me in 30-60 days. Any other airline would have diverted the plane or had passengers removed from the plane by law enforcement upon reaching the destination. There were no consequences for the 3 passengers on our plane. To top it all off, I rec'd an email from Spirit a couple days ago stating that they were following strict mask policies. Not true. Again, I hope we and the entire full plane don't get Covid-19.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Columbus
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fly any airline besides Spirit"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flight was cancelled coming out of Florida. I had to fly Southwest at the last minute which cost me three times the amount and I was unable to afford to take my co-worker. The only part of my trip that I used was my solo flight back to Tampa. I tried to resolve the refund issue at BWI, but was told that I had to contact customer service. I tried calling multiple times but could not get anyone to answer. I tried emailing customer service and received an error message. I have filled a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and they refuse to respond to the complaint. Do yourself a favor, fly any airline besides Spirit.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Baltimore
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I felt so vulnerable to COVID in their planes"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Spirit Airlines is not practicing COVID safe distancing by passenger spacing between Window and Aisle seats. I just flew 5 legs with Spirit and every flight the middle seats were filled, and not with people from the same party. I felt so vulnerable to COVID in their planes. Two flights announced completely filled flights. Plus one of my flights was cancelled and I was put on a flight 36 hours later. My connecting flight in LAS scheduled for Monday 10:20pm was cancelled and replaced by a flight Wednesday 11:00am. Spirit would not provide a Hotel or Taxi even when they failed to have an aircraft for my flight. This is the first time I was stranded overnight and the responsible airline would not provide any compensation, hotel or taxi. My replacement flight was scheduled to arrive in BWI at 11:00pm Wednesday, when my return flight was scheduled for 7:00am Thursday, eight hours later. Not even enough time for me to leave the airport. I had over $500 additional out of pocket costs because of Spirit’s issue. I had to pay 2 nights stay at a Las Vegas hotel because my connecting flight was cancelled and my layover now became 36 hours. Because I did not arrive into BWI at my scheduled time and date, I incurred a rental car and hotel penalty for a No Show. Spirit declined to help with any of my incurred costs. My trip cost was more than double as a result of Spirit cancelling my connecting flight. I also had to rebook Last-Minute hotel and rental car reservations at peak prices when I finally arrived at my final destination.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to Baltimore via Las Vegas
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Be very careful flying with Spirit internationally"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Be very careful flying with Spirit internationally. I arrived at my destination in another country perfectly. Then they canceled my return flight twice, would not answer their phone after waiting 4 hours on hold! They did not assist me in my costs of staying in the country. Without telling me, they booked me on a different airline and delivered me to the wrong airport on return. They offered no compensation for hotel, transportation back to the correct airport, only a voucher. Even more they told me I would have to file a complaint online. The same complaint form they themselves were responding to because there is no other way they could have contacted me. Like I would take another chance of then abandoning me in another country again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Panama City, Panama
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"pay more for another airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Spirit is one of the worst airlines. My advice is pay more for another airline because in the end you will have a better experience, pay less for luggage and may even save money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Cartagena
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" Never again Spirit Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my first experience with Spirit Airlines. I had heard horror stories previously of Spirit and had consistently avoided them until today when it was what was available. My flight was purchased Jan 2 2021 for Jan 3 2021 at 1200. I arrived at the airport roughly an hour early, waited in line for 15 minutes at the self help kiosk to be told that I needed an attendant to assist me. The attendant then explained that I was too late to check in for my flight, this time frame had expired while waiting. I asked what my options were and was told that I would have to pay a $99 rebooking fee. I agreed as I needed to be in Austin for Business. Cue attendant's kiosk crashing (why we were waiting in the first place). Attendant calls Spirit I.T. (red flags galore). It's a woman in pajamas sitting a her kitchen table with kids...what? Kiosk comes back online, the conversation sounded frustrated and personal, but not technical (again...what?). The other 3 passengers behind me are experiencing the same error and watching these events unfold. One walks up next to me and asks attendant whats going on. She stops helping me, then checks his ticket, only to tell him that he is not going to be flying today as well. She turns her back on him to face me and explains the next flight is the next day. Fine. There is an overnight layover. Ok. They are not going to cover it or a hotel stay. Nope. Attendant then realizes that I'm not flying to Fort Lauderdale, Florida, I'm flying to Austin, Texas. Oh. There are no flights for 3 days on Jan 06. I explain that I can not travel then as my business in Austin is on the 5th and will have to contact my boss to explain situation. Spirit Attendant tells me to "hurry up" as they are closing down in 10 minutes(with more passengers in the same situation as me, at 1200, the same time as my original flight). At this point I did what I should have done the day prior, walked away without another word, and bought a ticket for slightly more money from American Airlines. It may have cost a few extra bucks, but as least I know that American pays their electricity bill and knows how to both fuel an airplane and land one. Never again Spirit Airlines, never again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRaleigh to Fort Lauderdale via Austin
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Thank goodness for the Southwest website"

(United States)

Not Verified | Spirit cancelled the flight on New Year’s Day evening for the flight the next day. One and a half hours of hold time waiting for their “customer service” and then they could not get me on another flight for three days. Thank goodness for the Southwest website though the flight was much higher priced due to the short notice and of course Spirit won’t cover the higher cost. Long story short horrible policies and horrible customer service only fly them if you can afford to be stranded at your destination.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Chicago
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the safety of their passengers means nothing to them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | There were no efforts to social distance people on the plane. A lot of airlines have a capacity limit and leave the middle seat free to ensure passenger safety during Covid times. Instead, Spirit Airlines could not have communicated with more clarity that the safety of their passengers means nothing to them. Both our personal items fit the Spirit dimensions when we measured them at home, and we had no issue fitting them under our seat on the way to Florida. On the way back, they made us and almost every other passenger fit it in their bag thing and when it wouldn’t go all the way down without effort, they charged us $55 per bag. Even though our bags fit under the seat, and fit the measurements. It was just that when we packed them, there was a little bulge. We did not expect them to be this particular, I’ve never had this experience with any other airline. Plus, they were very rude about it. Overall, not worth the low price, avoid Spirit if you can!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Charlotte
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]