Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 5025 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Pick another airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hands down the worst flying experience I have ever experienced. Flight was diverted due to a storm and because we were running low on fuel. We were told we needed to divert to refuel, but then all of a sudden the slight crew had reached the maximum amount of time that they could work for the day and we were told to deplane. From there, we experience a total of 6 flights delays and were stuck at the diverted airport for 7 hours. We did not take off from the diverted airport until 2 in the morning. We experienced another delay once they finally boarded us after 7 + hours of delay, only to sit on the runway for another hour. There was zero communication from the airline during the 7 + hour ordeal. This airline is inefficient, understaffed, and a hot mess. I would never book through Spirit again. Pick another airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRaleigh Durham to Ft Lauderdale
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never flying this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They flirted half the plane to pay extra for bags causing a delay. I’ve flown with spirit many times and have never had a problem. Customer service was rude, plane was dirty, overall just very unprofessional. They then force you to pay $99 to pay for your bag. Never flying this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBurbank to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience in my life"

(United States)

Not Verified | The single worst experience in my life. One second I'm boarding then the next I'm back in the lobby with a 3 hour delay which would make me miss my connecting flight. And the resolution i was told was there's nothing we can do but give you a refund or get you a flight the next day. Lost a day on hotel reservations and not to mention wedding plans got delayed. I Should have gone with my gut feeling and never bought from spirit. A complete wasn't of time. And the customer service help desk was incompetent.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Refused to give us accommodation"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | To begin with originally booked a direct flight with Spirit from Orlando to Las Vegas for 19th September. Booked this months ago and was cancelled and altered 4 times up until the day of departure. In the end it was changed to a stopover flight in Houston with a 40 minute wait in Houston. Sounded OK. We boarded the flight at gate 86 and were seated for a 4.26pm departure, when at 4.15 the captain comes out and said they have an engineering problem and we all needed to leave the plane and they will find an alternative. Eventually we were told a new plane would fly us at 6.00 pm from terminal 91.This is what happened, leaving at 6.26.We arrive at Houston stranded, along with other passengers who were travelling to Las Vegas as well. No further flights to Las Vegas available when we arrived at 8pm. We go to the service desk who told us because the flight was delayed due to Weather, we have no recourse. Rang their customer service who implied we were lying about these events. Refused to give us accommodation. On their records it was a weather issue. Amazing this conclusion, as it’s not often you change planes because of weather! Quite unbelievable a company operates like this and couldn’t even tell on their computer that planes were replaced.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the customer service is great"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the only direct flight to Pittsburgh from LA and I travel here as often as I can to visit my grandparents. I am so happy to fly Spirit because on top of no layover, the customer service is great. This particular flight has been my best experience so far, although there was a delay, the on board team got us boarded and taking off allowing the pilot to get us back on schedule. The team, Kitty, Keyy, Marilyn and Angel were so personable and friendly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Pittsburgh
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst service, starting from the counter personal and their machines (which are confusing and I'm not bad with technology) scanners takes forever, they had to help every single person in line because their scanners are useless, women helping was rude and bossy. Attendants were ok but still bossy, no free snacks, it's not like they are the cheapest, they are bad but not cheap and they charge $95 per bag. Seats are so uncomfortable, (but I'll give this, their leg space is much better that others airlines). Overall this is the worst airline out there and laws should regulate mire this aspect.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Portland
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a very enjoyable flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was the second time flying Spirit. The first time I wasn't a fan. Gave them another try and completely changed my mind. The crew was so nice Daniel and Pamala were awesome. This is the first time I didn't want to get off the plane. Crew can make or break a flight. These 2 deserve some recognition. Thank you for a very enjoyable flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Puerto Rico
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"seats are terrible"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Even the cheapest, bucket European airline is way better then this. I wish I had know about what they were like, as I would never have flown with them. 6 hour flight, no charging, no hot food, seats are terrible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cost you more than higher quality airlines"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flying Spirit will cost you more than higher quality airlines in the end. Tried to add checked bag on line for days prior to flight. Continuously received "Oops, something went wrong. Try again". Note everything else on app was working fine. Had to check bag upon arrival to airport which was $20 higher than online ($60 online/$89 at airport). Couldn't get help reducing that cost even though issue was with Spirit's system. - Lower bag weight minimum than quality airlines which means they can add additional "overweight" baggage fees. Another $125. - We paid $214 to check one bag. Now the cost of the "cheaper" flight was more than a high quality airline! - You have to pay for in flight water, drinks, snacks. Again, would have been better and cheaper to book on a high quality airline where you don't have to pay for these. While waiting in line to check bags, all 3 Spirit clerks were tied up with travelers having issues. They did not move them aside while they got these worked out to keep line moving. One clerk allowed family to check bags and then waited for other family members to arrive at the airport and jump up front to check their bags. Then they all had to empty and rearrange bags to help with weight. No in-flight entertainment or free Wifi for entertainment on app like other airlines. Yep, you guessed it, you have to pay extra for that! Flight attendant spent nearly 20 minutes "selling" Spirit and a Spirit credit card. Passengers had to sit and listen to this person go on and on and on. - Seats were in terrible shape - ripped, faded, etc.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Richmond,
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the most horrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | My flight departing from FLL (NK1966) was delayed in FLL for over an hour. We had to sit on the plane until we were able to take off. The only consolation that we got for our trouble was room temperature water in a cup. I was due to arrive in DFW at 11.30pm central time but did not arrive till after 1.30am central. On my return flight the very next day back to FLL from DFW scheduled to leave at 2:38pm central did not actually leave until 3.45 central and again nothing for my trouble. When we arrived at FLL we had to wait on the plane for about 20 minutes until they could pull up to the terminal and again, nothing for my trouble. This was the most horrible experience, and I will never fly with you all again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Dallas
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no