Spirit Airlines

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3090 reviews
3/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"not as bad as many people say"

(United States)

Not Verified | I would only recommend this airline if you are on a tight budget. I will say it is not as bad as many people say, but if you have another option I recommend taking that said option. I flew out of Hartford to Orlando due to the incredible price. The ground service was acceptable, and the crew were very friendly. Literally everything on board costs money, however. The seat was tight, and legroom was limited. They did not recline and the tray tables were a joke. Also you even have to pay for water. I mean come on. But hey, the price was amazing so if that’s a big factor for you, feel free to fly this airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHartford to Orlando
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"will never use Spirit again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Myrtle Beach St. Thomas via Ft. Lauderdale. Have used Spirit several times. Cheap fares, but also cheap operation. Last time a disaster. Had a vacation scheduled in the Virgin Islands. We stayed in a hotel nearby due to an early morning flight. Arrived at the airport plenty early, 5:30 AM and an hour and a half prior to scheduled departure. As we were trying to check our baggage, we were told our flight was cancelled! We were told the plane had been held in Boston for maintenance. The ticket counter staff was less than helpful. They even refused to answer questions about assurances of a flight the next day. When I’m asked if we had to count on the same aircraft being available the next day I was told “probably”. Basically they just wanted me to agree to try to fly the next day or just get the fare refunded. No offer to help, make any other arrangements, etc. I told them I wanted a refund! While I was upset about our own situation, what made me the more angry was that there were several people there who had a worse situation. It was a Sunday and they were scheduled to fly on the same flight to Ft. Lauderdale for cruise hoardings. The cancellation really screwed up their plans. Our own trip was cancelled and we lost over $3000. The Spirit employees acted as if they couldn’t have cared less! They just wanted everyone to move along. No apology or anything! Cheap, but unreliable. We will never use Spirit again. Advise readers to avoid them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMyrtle Beach St. Thomas via Ft. Lauderdale
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Do not be fooled"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dallas to New Orleans. It’s extremely difficult to understand this company’s strategy. Apparently it’s to take you for as much money as possible one time because clearly they are not seeking repeat customers. Do not be fooled by their low ticket costs. If you have to take bags with you, you will end up paying double the ticket price in bag fees. Oh, and did I mention that the fees escalate and seem to vary based on day and mood of the idiot in charge at the moment! Needless to say, I will never fly Spirit Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to New Orleans
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked a round trip through expedia from New Orleans to Las Vegas. When I went to print out my itinerary out, my outgoing flight had been cancelled. Reason was you can not book a round with Spirit and Frontier, but no one notified me of this. I had 2 days to book another one way outgoing flight and have not been reimbursed as of yet. They said 3 business days. Then it cost me $348 for 2 people 1 carry on and 1 checked bag and don't bother paying for an assigned seat. The rep offered no resolution what so ever or would not even give me a credit. Frontier bags are $118, but Spirit charges new baggage charges at every stop. I will never fly with them again. If they would have let me cancel all flights, I would have flown with delta.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Orleans to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never fly Spirit again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Baltimore Washington to Seattle. It was not advertised that refreshments, including water, were not free. I had to pay $3 for a bottle of water during a 5.5 hr flight. The seats are hard molded plastic with maybe 2 mm of cushion. The flight back was cancelled due to lack of personnel to complete the flight, not because of plane issues, but personnel issues. I was 12 hours late getting home. Thank God I flew Delta home, much better. I had to inquire about getting my baggage fees back from the attendant informing me I was leave the next morning on delta. He knew I paid for baggage. I figured the baggage fees would transfer to the flight on Delta. I had to pay for the Delta flight separately and then return to spirit to inquire about the baggage cost. Only then did they refund the money. I was going to be stranded over night at SeaTac. I was not offered a place to stay. Only after I inquired about the situation they caused, I was told that a hotel stay was possible. In other words, the airline cancelled a flight due to personnel issues then tried to leave myself and my family stranded over night. Long story short, Spirit does not care for its workers or its passengers. I will never fly Spirit again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore Washington to Seattle
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"I’d 100% fly with them again"

(United States)

Not Verified | So we had a 7:40 flight this morning with Spirit Airlines from Newark to Orlando. We were boarded on time, the staff was polite and the flight crew was funny. We actually got to Orlando 15 minutes early! I’m taking my daughter to Disney for the first time so the timely flight was much appreciated! Thanks Spirit, also one of the flight attendants took the time to speak to and explain all her silly questions during descent and was an absolute pleasure, from my experience today I’d 100% fly with them again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Orlando
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst experience I have ever had"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was literally the worst experience I have ever had. A few of my friends and I were heading down to Florida for spring break and the spirit of our vacation was wrecked by Spirit Airlines. We arrived at O'Hare at 9.30 in the morning for a flight due to depart at 11.30. Two hours before hand we head to the gate and see that the boarding time is 11.10. That time rolled around and there was no employee to be seen to board the plane. Then 11.30 rolled around and someone finally came and told us the flight had been delayed 5 hours due to mechanical problems. Fast forward 5 hours and we are on the plane getting ready to leave when they said the crew had "timed-out" and they didn't have staff to run the flight. We sat on the plane with no water, snacks, nothing for an additional 2.5 hours waiting for them to find a crew. At that point we finally got out of Chicago. Now, fast forward to Fort Meyers (where we landed nearly 8 hours late) when we were waiting for the bags we checked they were nowhere to be found. Apparently, they ended up in Baltimore! Then they said in order to get our bags back that we would need to pay an additional $50 to put them on another plane to Fort Myers! We ended up flying Southwest back home because Spirit is the worst airline in the United States.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Fort Myers
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"You get what you pay for"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dallas Fort Worth to Seattle. By far the worst airline ever. Been delaying all day with no explanation. There is no bad weather. Just one sorry airline who should be put out of business. I will never give them 1 cent of my hard earned money. I’d rather fly Delta, at least I’ll get where I need to go on time. You get what you pay for. Cheap is not always better. Dissatisfied customer. Beware of Spirit Airlines. I advise anyone to stay away.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas Fort Worth to Seattle
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the price was perfect"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hartford to Tampa with Spirit Airlines. I flew round trip for the first time on Spirit on 9/5 and 9/9. The trip was smooth, on time and both flights arrived earlier than the scheduled time. The crew were pleasant and the price was perfect for a two and a half hour flight. I would definitely fly Spirit again for short flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHartford to Tampa
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Too many hidden fees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Portland. Too many hidden fees. I ended up paying as much as the more expensive airlines and it took me twice as long to get home. I bought my ticket for $100 and ended up paying $200. I had a 4 hour relay in Vegas. I should have just paid the $200 and would have been home in a couple of hours. Not taking Spirit again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Portland
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

Spirit Airlines Photos

Spirit Airlines is a low-cost airline. Apart from the seat on your flight, you have to pay extra for carry-on bag, checked luggage, printing boarding pass at the airport, early boarding, seat reservation, drink or snack on the plane, ticket change or cancellation.

AIRPORT / BAG CHARGES

To maximise the benefit of selecting Spirit Airlines as your low-cost airline, it is very important that you carefully check and follow all of their conditions - printing your boarding pass, paying in advance for any checked or carry-on baggage.

Pay checkin Boarding pass : see below
Baggage Pay Checked bag : see below
Carry on Pay Carry-on bag : see below
2_6_spacer
ADD-ON CHARGES (USD)
Shortcut Boarding : $5.99
Boarding pass at Airport : $10
1st Checked Bag : $21 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $26 *booked online
Carry-On Bag : $100 *at the gate
Ticket change : $110
One small personal item taken onboard is included in the "Bare fare" (Max size: 16"x14"x12")
2_6_spacer
The above charges are for guidance and subject to change. They should be checked directly with the airline for accuracy

WATCH THE BAGGAGE

Your free allowance is 1 x personal item on Spirit Airlines flights (Max size: 16"x14"x12"). All other carry-on and checked bags have to be paid for. It is IMPORTANT to do this online at the time you book, or you could end up being charged USD$100 per carry-on bag if you leave it until the boarding gate.

ONBOARD FLIGHTS


Seat pitchBig Front Seat pitch : 36 ins
Seat widthBig Front Seat width : 20 ins
Y Seat iconEconomy Seat pitch : 28 ins
Seat widthEconomy Seat width : 17.75 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
No powerSeat power
No IFEAudio / video
Buy Onboard Buy Onboard *see below
Pay Bar Buy Onboard *see below
2_6_spacer
SAMPLE BUY ONBOARD PRICES (USD)
Water $2 / Coffee $3 / Beer $7
Muffin $2.50 / Pringles $2.50
2_6_spacer
Payment onboard can only be made with major credit cards : no cash. The prices shown are for guidance only and are subject to change. You should check charges directly with the airline for accuracy.

AIRCRAFT

Spirit Airlines operate a fleet of Airbus narrowbody aircraft, including A319, A320 and A321 types. Seats are configured 3x3 for economy class, and 2x2 for Big Front seats. [Photo Spirit Airlines]