Korean Air

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 535 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never by Korean Air again"

(Cambodia)

Not Verified | I would like to thank Korean Air for providing me safe flight to meet my husband in LA. However, I’m very disappointed with cabin crew from Incheon airport to LA. I am a mother traveling with two girls. A 5 years old girl with slide behavior problems and a 2 and half years old girl. In the beginning of the flight itself one cabin crew with short hair came to instructed me to wear face mask for my babies. I did all the ways and try my best to put face mask on them as I also scare of the spreading to my little angels. (I am vaccinated and wear face mask in my entire flight). 11 hours flight 3 cabin crew came to wake me up to put face mask on my sleeping girls. I couldn’t count but 11 hours I couldn’t take even an hour rest. Before this flight I just take 5 hours flight from PP and layover almost 13 hours. I was extremely exhausted and couldn’t rest at all. The short hair cabin crew rudely tell me, it is my responsibility as a mother to make them wear face mask all the way, otherwise she would report to the police officer in the US that I break the law since US require child 2 years plus to put on face mask. I told her, I have tried but children feel uncomfortable and removed and screaming and crying. She told this is her duty to make my children wear face mask, I told her I completely understand her but what can I do if they scream and pulling it out each time I put it on. I told her I need rest please. I begged her to try to understand my situation but 3 of them didn’t let me rest at all. They try to read US law to my babies and took video of that, that the worst part I couldn’t bare. Finally we arrived the US pot, yes two police officers were waiting for us, I couldn’t go to the immigration check. Another Korean lady read what the cabin crew have note to the US officer, she even reported that my girl kick the front seat and trying to push and punched her. 2 police officer only asking, if the mother wear face mask, they say yes. Yes I did. Than they said what the problem. I can see their facial expression after hearing what such heartless carbine crew report. They have no problem at all because they understood that they are small kids. She was not satisfied, in between she came and complaining that my girl show violence on her. I told her I am sorry for her misbehavior but she was not even touch her. Then she look a bit ashamed and no words to say. I don’t blame the company but I blame to cabin crew who is heartless and stupidly trying to impress her boss how good she is. Finally, the Korea lady in the US airport understand my hard time so she help me to push my smaller baby through the immigration till the baggage claim. I thanks her for that but I swear I never by Korea Air again if I have options.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhnom Penh to Los Angeles via Seoul
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"flight was one of the best"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Seoul-Incheon (proceeding to Hong Kong) in June 2019 - but I'm going to focus on the Honolulu - Seoul leg only for this review. This was my 7th flight on Korean Air - and all of this started on a very speedy, no-nonsense check-in process at Honolulu International Airport. The immigration checks were quick, and after a short bite, I went to the gate 2.5 hours before departure time. The boarding gate staffs were overall great - so does the cabin crews. I was welcomed in a friendly way. Upon reaching my seat, I figured out that my seat was comfortable in terms of legroom, with tons of features, but the seats were quite firm and hard, and there were several kid stickers that the cleaning crew had missed. Not a big deal for me. Throughout the entire flight, the crew kept on being friendly to me - they asked everything, even asking me if I have ever tried Bibimbap before - my 1st meal for the flight, which tasted very good. The 2nd meal of mine served before landing was beef with rice, which tasted good, but the meal presentation made me deny the 5-star rating. By this point, the crews were still very friendly but they couldn't hide the tiredness they had after the 9-hour journey (which is normal). The biggest blow of the flight was the IFE - hence why I didn't give this flight a 10/10. The IFE, for me, won in terms of responsiveness and layout, but the contents were very lacking, especially the movie section and music, with most of them being 13+ or 16+ contents, with only a few contents that were appropriate to be accessed by everyone. The saving grace of the IFE was the game sections and the onboard camera facility. Actual departure and landing time were pretty on time. In conclusion - apart from the IFE (which, according to their social media sites, has been renovated), this flight was one of the best (well, in fact, the best!) flights I've ever taken in 2019, with the crew becoming the shining stars of this flight.
AircraftBoeing 747-8i
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Seoul-Incheon
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"will fly Korean Air whenever possible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Clark via Incheon. It is really a great flight even if I only had to pay about 630$ round trip going to the Philippines. It is not a direct flight but it is more comfortable than the usual direct flight airlines that I take to go home to the Philippines. Their trays on the seats are less slippery and food trays have a stopper underneath to prevent it from sliding while eating. They serve with silver wares instead of plastic ones. Their food is really good. I had Bibimbap for dinner. Their attendants are so attentive and helpful. We travelled with our toddler and he wanted to walk around the plane but if I stop him he cries. Whenever he cries, the attendants approach us and play with my baby and walk him around the plane. Provides toys and something to keep the child busy. They never sleep throughout the flight. The bathroom has sensor faucets you don't have to touch or press anything unlike in other airlines. Their sink has automatic flush so water goes down while using it and doesn’t clog. Every time I used the bathroom, I noticed the tissue paper was folded like it was not used. They maintain their bathrooms clean and neat. Very helpful ground attendants too. I had a problem with our schedule so when I booked, I didn’t book return for my US national hubby and baby but they helped me be able to still make it to the flight and when we arrived in Korea and PI, some agents came to assist us making sure there wouldn’t be any problems at the immigration. Truly satisfied! From now on I will see to it I will fly Korean Air whenever possible.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Clark via Incheon
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"300 USD for cancelling"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family and I had a flight from Cebu to Dallas via Seoul on March 4, 2020 but due to the Corona Virus, we had to cancel. The customer service rep said they were going to charge us 300 USD for cancelling. I need more clarification about the refund process but I can't seem to connect to their US hotline. Sad. I love Korean Air. I always have a good experience with them but this really disappoints me.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCebu to Dallas via Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"On-time and friendly crew"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Atlanta via Seoul. On-time flight and friendly crew. All of our bags arrived safely at destination. We travelled with our 1 year old son, and with him in a carseat for the long-haul flight between KL and Seoul. The flight attendants wanted to see the airplane sticker on the seat but let us travel with it. We were in the cheap seats in the 3rd-to-last row in the back of the 747-8, in the middle. This airplane experiences a lot of yaw (side-to-side movement) during flight, so if you easily get airsick, I would not recommend sitting way in the back. There was not a ton of legroom but enough to not be uncomfortable. My butt got sore after a few hours in the seat, it is not well cushioned. You are provided with a pillow, blanket, and small amenity kit (cheap slippers and toothbrush). They provided us with 3 meals - a dinner, snack, and breakfast. The food was passable: they had chicken & rice, beef & rice, or beef & noodles on our flight. It came with a roll, dried pineapple and juice. They offer special meals for infants as well. There was no Wifi offered on this flight, and the inflight entertainment options were very few. There were some Korean movies and Western films but I only saw 2-3 movies I liked, which wasn't enough for a 12 hour flight. I've flown on the A350-900 on Delta on the way to KL, and there is a noticeable difference in the fatigue you feel afterwards. The 747-8 is large and spacious but doesn't pressurize as low as the A350, so you feel a lot more tired. Next time I'd definitely pick a 787 or A350 to go over the puddle.
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Atlanta via Seoul
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"certain tickets cannot book seats in advance"

(China)

Trip Verified | A very full flight, as Korean has cancelled the daily flight on this route due to the virus. The crew did well trying to serve a meal and beverage service in 53 minutes. My only moan is that with Korean certain tickets cannot book seats in advance, I even went to the airport and was told no. With a virus around families need to sit together and not worry about being split up. Due to that attitude, my score reflects that.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteSeoul to Dalian
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

" Service on plane was nice"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Ulaanbaatar via Seoul in 2017. The staff was helpful with me from the moment I purchased the ticket at the airport office through cash (couldn't do it online as I did not have a credit card). I flew both legs on wide-body aircraft so seating was spacious and comfy even though there're many passenger. Service on plane was nice, cabin crew was helpful and responsive. Gave me lots of snacks whenever asked, served Extra hot meals. Refreshment and drink was great. I love their ice-cream! It's a decent experience after all, I had to flight late time and long transit time however can't complain anything with the service! Very happy and I'd love to try another route to Korea or take their Trans - Pacific routes to the US/Canada. My flight was back in Dec 2017. Couldn't choose the time as it can't be backdated more than 1 year.
AircraftBoeing / 777 300 / 747 8i / A330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Ulaanbaatar via Seoul
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"The food was excellent"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Seoul in business class. The seats are ok and good enough for a 2-2-2 configuration. The food was excellent, especially the Korean food that was served very authentically. English speaking of the cabin crew was not sufficient for an international flight. This should be improved to let the customer better communicate with the crew. Nevertheless cabin crew compensate that by high attention and very short response time. Infotainment was bad, choice of movies was very limited from the point of view of an European.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Seoul
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"The service was amazing"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Bangkok to Vancouver via Seoul. First time flying with Korean Air and was quite pleased. The service was amazing. The flight attendants went above. It was a long haul flight and not one time did they lose their pleasantness. We were fed several times. Meals and drinks were included. Seat room was bigger than your usual economy seating. I will definitely be a returning customer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vancouver via Seoul
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my mother was refused boarding"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Worse service ever. Booked my mother’s ticket from Fiji to London. Along the way Korean air stop operating from Fiji. I was just given flight from Sydney without a choice. I called them up saying that Sydney is a different country. Then I was given ticket from Nadi - Auckland - Seoul - London. On the day of the flight Korean air messes things up and my mother was refused boarding. We had to cancel the ticket and Korean air took USD 400 for the mess up they did. Their obligation was not fulfilled. Totally disgusting behaviour. Sent a feedback nothing happened.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFiji to London via Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no