ITA Airways

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I was treated badly on board"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It’s been a nightmare honestly. I was treated badly on board and my flight were delayed and my bags were lost. Not much to say apart from I’ll never set foot on an ITA Airways flight again and I would not recommend it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Tunis via Rome
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service is very poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Our luggage was lost during our trip to Italy by ITA airways. We had to pick the bags up from Rome Airport two days later costing over $100 round trip in cab as they could not deliver. We were without any clothes or toiletries for that time and had to purchase items to get by. We were advised but ITA to save receipts and submit for reimbursement upon being back home. Our trip in Italy was 3 weeks long. When we returned I spent time on the phone trying to get our reimbursement started which took time as their customer service is very poor. Once I finally got their claims email they replied back stating we broke the 30 day claim window. They said there is nothing we can do. The plane was also old, not very clean, and the amenities were reminiscent of the 90's.
AircraftA330-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Rome
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"joke and disaster of an airline"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | ITA airways is a joke! They lost our baggage due to pure negligence but are taking no responsibility. There is no structure in place or process in place for you as a customer to be able to communicate with anyone or rely on anyone to follow up your case. The one number we were given is just a call center for reservations and have no power to do anything. All they do is check out a website called world tracer which we have access to anyways - I don’t need them to do that. They are not following up on the actual case or looking for my bag. They gave me a bunch of emails to send emails to but surprise surprise - no one is responding to my emails. Not their complaints email, not the ‘[email protected]’ and not the compensation ‘[email protected]’ email. Nothing. Zero support zero customer service - and when I call it’s zero compassion- as if I am burdening with my call for my bag that they lost. I explained that this bag has everything I packed for the holiday all of our clothes all our toiletries and all of our medicine. Even if the issue is with the airport - the least I expect is for the airline to follow up on my behalf. But no they gave me the number of their baggage handling partner so I can chase them myself. Why should I contact your partners? And when I did call they DONT answer. No one answers! Absolute joke and disaster of an airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Olbia
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Just terrible service unfortunately"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Terrible. They lost my husband’s luggage and have not even bothered to update our location address. We email - they do not reply. We call - they either change up after waiting 1-2 hours on hold, or, they say that it’s the wrong number. We have been given 15 different numbers, no one helps. Over 500 pieces of luggage lost and sitting there at Naples airport, but ITA Airways were chilling and laughing behind the counter. They also said if they find it they have to open it to confirm it’s ours - what century do we live in? We have our tags on there, they have the flight codes and stickers on there. Lies. How terrible! They also did not allow us to sit together. They were running almost 2 hours late with departure due to lack of time to put luggage on board. I saw my husbands baggage on the floor outside and when speaking to a staff member, they laughed and said don’t worry it will come on board. Clearly not. Just terrible service unfortunately.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVenice to Naples via Rome
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have ever used"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I additionally booked seat at emergency exit and lounge entry when i booked this flight. I paid eur378,67 for the flight plus extra seats and eur35 for lounge entry. I received a receipt for only the flight 326,67. I did not get my seats and i did not receive any voucher for lounge entry. I called the service desk many times (during 3 days aproximately 15 times) they promised me every time to take care of it and to search for the money. The only thing i could do is to book again and pay again and hope it works out. Nobody called me back and i did not receive the seats in the end and of course i could not enter the lounge. Ita airways does not send me any answers by email. This is definitely the worst airline I have ever used. I will not use them again ever.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Milan
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Comfortable if slightly old cabin!

(United States)

Trip Verified | No complaints. Comfortable if slightly old cabin with black leather seats. Courteous staff, basic food and beverage served at no extra cost, plane departed on time and landed ahead of schedule. Linate airport was very quick and easy to navigate.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I don't think this company knows how to run an airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | We had two flight segments scheduled on ITA, one from Munich to Rome and one from Rome to Brussels. Our Munich to Rome segment was cancelled and they put us on a later flight, causing us to lose 1/2 day in Rome. Then our Rome to Brussels segment was cancelled and the the flight they rebooked us on was impossible for us to make, causing us to have to switch to a different airline. I don't think this company knows how to run an airline. I have flown hundreds of times and been bumped maybe 2x in my life and with ITA I was bumped on both flights I had with them (100% cancellation rate). I will never fly this airline again and neither should anyone else.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Brussels
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst flight experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst flight experience period. Gate customer service was very rude. I paid $ 1400.00 for round trip yet despite being international flight I had to pay $80 for one bag. I am pre-TSA but when I asked them to add it to my boarding pass at gate they simply said “since we are new we can’t add it” so on very busy day at LAX I had to go through regular security line. To make matter more fun the lost my bag so I had to go everything shopping in Rome. Today after 6 days and two trips to Rome airport and dealing with the most uncooperative customer service there I got a call from American Airlines in LA that my luggage is there. And the funny part their tracking website still says they still are looking to locate my bag. There is no customer service number and no one to contact. Avoid this airline by any way possible. By the way the service, food and entertainment on the plan gets 1.5 stars out of 10 at best.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"no one deserves that treatment"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I used Ita airways service to fly to Italy. Unfortunately once arrived in Milan the nightmare with Ita Airways started, one of our checked bags was lost. We went to denounce the loss and we found out that many other passengers that flew on our same flight had the same issue. After a very long time we were able to have the written documents of the loss, and they told us in writing about what to do and who to contact in case we didn’t received information about the lost luggage after 5 days. Well, this is when the nightmare started, we tried to call all the numbers that were available on the notice, but no agent ever answered, only a robot that for many days kept telling us that they were still looking for our luggage, in the same time we tried to send also emails to the email address provided on the denounce document but we received right away the reply stating that the inbox was full and that nobody could read our email, you can imagine our frustration, we had some gift for the kids and my wife’s clothes, we kept calling but no answers and at this point 10 days of our vacation were gone, after that the robot that used to answer stated that the luggage was been found and that was sent to Malpensa, to the lost and found office.l I was super excited they found our luggage, and when finally I was able to talk to a real agent this agent told me that the luggage was not there, at that time my frustration came out and started complaining about the service I was receiving and and at that time the agent answered me “I wasn’t supposed to even answer your call” and hung up. I don’t know if I will ever find that luggage but I am sure of one thing, I will never fly on ITA Airways again because I can accept that they can lose a luggage but I can’t accept to be treated as we got treated, no one deserves that treatment from a public company Customer Service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Milan Malpensa
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ITA Airways is actually worse than Alitalia"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | ITA Airways is actually worse than Alitalia which is saying a lot. I know from experience as a frequent flyer on Alitalia over the last 20 years. My ITA flight was cancelled and rescheduled several hours later allowing me to be in Milan for 1 hour before returning on a business day trip. When contacted for a refund as the ticket was completely useless, the airline placed me on hold for 30 minutes only to come back saying they could not refund me as I purchased my ticket in the Netherlands. This is absurd as it was purchased directly from their website. I was given a number to call in the NL, which did not exist. When I called back, another 30 minute wait, I was told to write a complaint to an email address, that did not exist and came back to me undeliverable. I managed to find the proper complaints and refunds email addresses on their website and explained my situation. I received a reply 5 days later telling me to call the very same customer service number I had already spoken with. Truly the most insane runaround I have ever experienced with an airline. The worst and most ill informed customer service possible. Astounding that absolutely no one would help me, address my request or even care to rectify the situation. I was passed along from person to person who had absolutely no intention of helping me. My ticket was cancelled and not refunded by ITA airways. Be warned, ITA Airways is an appalling company and should be avoided at all costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Milan Linate
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews