ITA Airways

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 51 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airline in Europe?"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Flight AZ0074 from Rome to BCN. 14.11.2022. Worst airline in Europe? Maybe. They took cabin luggage from almost all non Italians and put them down in the carrier with the excuse that the airplane is full. Above that, all luggage were thrown from the entry level of the aircraft to the airport ground, this is the reason a lot of them appear broken. No respect. No dialog. Very sad that Alitalia ended up like this. Will never fly ITA again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Barcelona
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I’m very, very unimpressed with this company"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I’m very, very unimpressed with this company. Never in my life have I experienced such disrespect from a company. Let alone an airline. Be very careful with your decision if you are considering this company because if something goes wrong they have absolutely no respect for there passengers. Misplaced luggage seems to be an occurring problems I’m seeing others having as well as myself with this company. The funny thing is they don’t actually have a line to call for this kind of issue (misplaced/lost baggage). So you have no other choice but to email them where they will give you a case number. They will “search” for your suitcase for 45 days it has now been 90 days and I still don’t have a response. Please avoid this company if you don’t want to end up in this kind of situation.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Algiers via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Worst airline ever"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever. Their ground staff in ATH inexplicably split our booking (1 adult 2 children) and on the return sectors could not do web check in, leaving one child on a separate booking. So no web check in possible. Phoned customer service (located in Albania) and they could not rectify. Ground staff in EZE could only give seats together for first leg, we had booked 3 seats together, they messed up, no one cared. The planes had dirt on seat pockets on every sector, seats and tray tables were dirty, the food was poor quality and little on the FCO-EZE. On the EZE-FCO (night flight) the ceiling lights were left on for the last 6 hours of the flight. No child meals and no amenities for kids (though they should be provided as per booking and as advertised on their website). On the FCO-ATH they took one of our hand luggage, because GS said we had too many and the flight was full, but we had only 2 carry ons and 2 small backpacks to be placed under seat, and had boarded first! Their website is basic and pretty useless to find info about your booking.
AircraftA350 / A320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBuenos Aires to Athens via Rome
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely horrific and atrocious"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We are flying out of Rome to NY to connect to LAX. We were not told about a delay until we were already at the airport with our bag checked. The airline sent us to a far corner of the terminal to get information. There was nobody there. The next gate over we asked for help, they sent us all the way back to the help desk which we'd passed already. The "help" desk told us that the flight was delayed, they couldn't do anything about it and had no answers because, get this, the flight wasn't officially delayed yet. They said come back in 30 minutes to figure it out. We asked if there were options and they said no. Never once checked flight logs, never once looked to help. We come back, they tell us the flight is delayed 3 hours and now we're going to miss our connector flight. Is there anything we can do? They shrug. We asked for an upgrade. No. We asked for a row to ourselves as my wife is pregnant and they've greatly inconvenienced us. No help. No answers. Will we make a connector in NY? Do we need a hotel now? Who knows! Certainly not the two horrible women at the "help" desk who, instead of offering any sort of assistance, scolded me for not doing more for my pregnant wife. Absolutely horrific and atrocious. Not to mention, our inbound flight was delayed due to a strike nobody told us about either so they messed up both our flights with no warning. Use ANY company besides ITA.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to New York
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the most unprofessional occurrence"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | I took an ITA flight from Madrid to Tirana via Rome. I am, writing this to report the most unprofessional occurrence regarding the delayed or rather, non-delivery (arrival) of my luggage which was checked in at the Madrid airport on 1/9/2022 and upon arrival at the Tirana airport, my luggage, much to my horror and dismay, did not arrive with my flight destination being Tirana. I thus completed an irregularity report. I would point out that we arrived in Tirana in on 1/9/2022 with over a three-hours delay. The consequences were dreadful. My return flight to Madrid was on 18/9/2022. When I arrived at the airport in Rome, I had less than 90 minutes until my next flight but I decided to go to ITA´s office in spite of the limited time I had, to enquire about my missing luggage. I was told that they didn’t have any news & that it did not appear on the system! This, in spite of me being in possession of a reference. I then proceeded on my own volition toward the lost and found office at the airport where, I found my luggage without a tag. Unassisted by any staff, whom when I said that I had a connecting flight, STILL made no effort to help me. Time was running out whereby I almost lost missed my connecting flight to Madrid. This was truly disappointing, and absolutely unprofessional! In today’s world, with all ‘the state of the art’ security and technology available to you as a large ‘prestigious ´airline, it begs the question how such an organization not only completely loses or misplaces a passengers’ luggage, but worse than that, to have their staff handle it with such apathy!? Stop just for a moment if you would, to consider how you would feel if this had happened to yourself or a member of your family? I have no doubt that you would be just as, if not, more upset than I am! I went back to the airport over a period of three days but my luggage still did not reflect on the system There was also no news or indication of where my luggage was at all, and little to no effort was made by ITA airways to assist me! After three days with no luggage, I was forced to buy purchase some clothing and requisites as I had planned my itinerary to first go hiking to the north with a motorbike and then to take a cycling tour around the south. I did not have any suitable clothing to go motorbike riding, hiking or cycling. This all happened because ITA airways staff had simply not bothered to look for it or find it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Tirana via Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"entire flight including the return was cancelled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Having had an issue and missed the first leg of a long and expensive trip from Miami to Cagliari in business class, my entire flight including the return was cancelled without a chance of reschedule or refund of over $5000. I emphatically discourage anyone thinking to use this horrible company. I am saddened by the worsened state of the main airline of Italy.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional and unreliable airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very unprofessional and unreliable airline. I called almost 2 months before my flight to get premium economy seats with leg room because my parents have trouble sitting in regular economy for long flights. The agent assured me they got me the premium seats and sent me the invoices and seat numbers. But when I arrived at the airport, after over an hour waiting in line to get my boarding pass (they don't even have kiosks), they told me that they gave my premium seats to other people and could only give me regular economy seats. They then told me they could not issue a refund there and that i had to call and complain to the airline to get a refund for the premium seats I paid for. I will never fly with this airline again and advise others not to either. You can never be sure that you will get the seats you pay for.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to New York
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Awful behaviour from the cabin crew"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Athens to Rome. Awful behaviour from the cabin crew. Impossible to understand announcements in English. I'm 1.85m and the seat was too small even for a 2h flight. Snacks were good but the beverages less than mediocre
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a really disappointing flight"

(France)

Trip Verified | This was a really disappointing flight. The plane was extremely old and not clean. I am a huge clean freak but even this didn't disturb me as much as a remark made by one of the flight attendants. I asked her to please retrieve my carry on which was in the overhead compartment. I had my 3 year old toddler on my lap who I had been trying desperately to keep calm and sane for the duration of the flight which is why I requested assistance. If you're the parent of a baby or toddler on an 8 hour flight, you'll understand how stressful that is! Anyway, this flight attendant responded, "that's not my job." How incredibly insensitive. I've had travellers offer help just because they see me travelling alone with a young kid and it definitely wasn't their job! It truly was the worst flight I've ever taken to the states from Europe. The staff overall was mediocre in their "human contact" and the food was not edible.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Rome
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"crew was rude"

(Norfolk Island)

Not Verified | The crew was rude, they closed all the shades on a day flight from Rome to Boston - served lunch and we never saw them again. No water to be found after they all disappeared. The seats and window plastic were broken and falling apart. Sad but true the staff, except for 2 people in business class, were rude and arrogant. They charge the most for their flights and they are the worst. I would never fly them again and have canceled my return flight because I did not feel safe on such an old plane with a disappearing wait staff. Do not even mention the food - I was deplorable. The plane was dirty and broken down inside. The chairs did not move, our movie screens were broken and well, it was horrible.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBoston to Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 51 Reviews