Icelandair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 645 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"My first time on Icelandair was good"

(United States)

Not Verified | My first time on Icelandair was good. Thanks to the check-in crew, all my baggage was free for check-in. The seating was okay, but the inflight entertainment was very modest, with little excitement or a variety of options. All I had was nothing but free drinks.
AircraftBoeing 737 MAX 8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Reykjavik
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not recommend this agency to anyone"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was with a group of seven to go on vacation together to Iceland. When we found out we were booked at 4 different hotels through Icelandair Holidays, we immediately tried to get some help with making the changes. After multiple phone calls being told no one could help with that part of the trip, and more emails than I could count, we tried to reschedule in hopes we could rectify by selecting another date and starting over. We never once got to speak to an agent and we finally cancelled the trip altogether. Not only did we lose 30% of the booking fee, but our prepaid seats and the prepaid meals for another $177.20 per couple for something that never even got to be used. I don’t understand how this was not refundable! Would not recommend this agency to anyone!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Keflavik
Date FlownNovember 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"enough to keep me away for good"

(United States)

Not Verified | Recommending to use any other airline. I've had trouble since booking and very unhelfpul interactions at every stage since. Situation was admittedly my fault: that I booked an itinerary (four flights total), and one flight had the wrong starting airport. My booking was for a non-refundable, non-cancellation ticket, which was the cheapest option, and I booked one month in advance. I noticed my mistake the day after booking and immediately called customer service, noting that I'd made an error and was there anything that could be done. Said I was willing to pay an up-charge, would like to stay with them, and was apologetic. Was told absolutely nothing could be done, per the policy. When asked if there was anyone else I might be able to speak to, I was said I could call back and hear the same response if I liked. I did that. The next agent told me there was no option, but that if I bought another ticket ($400), he'd be happy to help me speak with a refund team about getting back an airline tax. Would not tell me an amount but said it was negligible, and when I asked if he could find out, he said the refund team doesn't have a phone number and wouldn't engage until I paid up. Asked where I could submit a complaint and that was that. My complaint was this: by helping out a customer who made a mistake once, they would keep my business and very likely get the added bonus of another customer paying for the seat I gave up. As it stands, they get the certainty of losing my business and my family's business for good. While this exact situation is on me, and hasn't arisen with any other airline, I've received excellent conflict resolutions from other companies (thank you KLM, Lufthansa and Japan Air). Never have I had an experience like this anywhere else, and that's enough to keep me away for good.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Copenhagen via Reykjavek
Date FlownNovember 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"an overall poor experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We booked a RT for two in business class departing on July 23, 2022. The night before our departure we were down graded to economy. Icelandair told us we would receive a refund. Almost 3 months have passed and despite several emails to the contrary we have yet to receive a refund for the service downgrade. Our return flight on September 3 involved a marathon hike through a congested airport, several long lines and a bus ride across the airport. We were seated in business for this leg of the trip, but he food was indifferent and the staff inattentive. It was an overall poor experience.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWashington Dulles to Reykjavik
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Very disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified |  Very disappointed7 with icelandairs baggage handling and resolution. The initial flight was ok but I paid $76 for an extra bag upon returning to the USA. The bag didn't even get loaded on the aircraft. up in finding this out in Seattle I was promised that the bag would be with me the next day via courier since I live 2 hrs from the airport. It was not delivered and it is now day 3 and the bag has only just arrived in Seattle and is sat there (I have a tracker in it) and they consider the "case closed". Very very poor follow up and I will be pursuing this to the fullest extent the regulations allow if they expect me to come and get the bag from them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGlasgow to Seattle via Reykjavik
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"my last time flying this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Traveling with a group that decided to save money by flying Icelandair. This will be my last time flying this airline. There were many annoyances, but maybe the worst was changing my seat that was confirmed, which I know can happen if the plane is changed, but they separated me and my wife by 8 rows. And this happened to many other couples in our group. How hard is it not to do that? The connection in Reykjavík is short so there is no time to do anything in the airport, sometimes not even the restroom. The signs are terrible. On the way home there is no sign for international transfers, or even passport control. If you’ve never transferred in Iceland before you have to guess that you follow the “Departures” sign. Again, how hard is it to have a sign for this like every other airport on the planet? On the way out we arrived at the only gate that had no board for connections. With 10 minutes to get to the next gate and 40 people to keep track of you need every second. Other issues: legroom is bad and there are obstacles under many of the seats so if you need to put anything under there you end up, like me, without the ability to stretch your legs. Flight attendants are a mixed bag of nice and not very nice. The number of bathrooms on the plane was ridiculously small. My seat was in the middle of the plane and had no window. Never experienced that before. The app is horrible - I joined SAGA, but the app could not find my booking. Maybe because it was a group, but I did pay money so I would like some credit. The line at check-in was enormous, mainly because they don’t open very early at all. Again leaving little time to enjoy the airport, or get a bite to eat, even if you arrive 3 hours early. I could go on, but that’s enough. Buyer beware.
AircraftBoeing 767 / 757-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Washington via Reykjavik
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"One of the poorest experiences flying I have had"

(United States)

Trip Verified | One of the poorest experiences flying I have had. The initial flight was late, causing me to miss my flight to BWI. Arrangements were made (finally) to transfer me to Icelandair FI853 to ORD Chicago, then to United Airlines UA2627 to IAD Washington. My ride home was waiting for me in BWI, where I should have arrived. Needless to say, I am still waiting for my luggage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Baltimore via Keflavik
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a bad product"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Surprisingly, a bad product. I agree, that I paid for the cheapest class, but did not realize they are a Low-Cost airline (price comparable to other legacy airlines). There is no complimentary food on the flight, even though it is a transatlantic flight. Our group (2 people) was not seated next to each other (which even SPIRIT airlines do) and the only way to change that - even during check in process is - if you pay for a seat change. When we boarded the plane, there were a plenty of free seats, so my belief is that it is only for taking money out of your pocket for inconveniencing you. Our first leg of journey was delayed, and hence we would not make the transfer. When calling the airline help desk - they said : "Just board the first flight and you will see what happens in Keflavik, we can't rebook you". After an hour from the call, the second leg was thankfully rebooked In flight-entertainment was poorer than competition (no games, not many movies with subtitles, flight show could not be panned / interactive) even had to pay to get your set of "airline quality" headset. The crew was nice, airplanes were new and clean, boarding was fairly fast, since it is a smaller plane. I had the impression that their model of "transatlantic hub in the middle of the route" would work better and they would offer a better quality of service to make up for the layover (compared to many direct Europe - US flights), but after flying with them I do not see why I should choose their option again. Price was very much the same as other airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737 MAX
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to London via Keflavik
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"I won't fly them again"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Pretty garbage airline. $900 for a ticket and it didn't even include food. I won't fly them again. KLM has a better route and service. The only thing I will say, is the service was polite and the plane was very clean.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Boston via Reykavik
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airline I have flown"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Booked this flight which started in Seattle USA (SEATAC). I reside in Canada and work in the airlines industry when booking this flight. Phoned several times with extreme wait times and contract staff was in the Philippines and not of any assistance. The flight was ex SEATAC 7pm. The evening before zero communication. The next morning I check again and zero emails or text which was given to Icelandair. I try to check using chat after once again a very long wait time. Finally used google search and found out the flight time is now 4pm ex SEATAC. Residing in Canada we left without breakfast or even a shower to make the drive and park the car at SEATAC. The employee was more focused on my carry-on than checking for a connecting flight, I told her this carry-on meets regulations and has been used for 10 years with many airline carriers, I gave her the luggage. She was of no assistance to make sure we make the connection as with this earlier departure our wait time would be almost 11 hours in Iceland for a 2 hour flight. There was zero snack for over a 6 hour flight ... not even a cracker! We arrived and I went directly to Customer Service to ask for an earlier flight There were 2 flights and every passenger made that flight except us. We were at the airport for almost 11 hours, The airport was closed for 5 hours plus. When we arrive in Denmark the carry-on was not there. SAS staff looked for it for 2 hours as it was showing it arrived. Early next morning we boarded our Cruise ship without any clothing but was on my back, Only thanks to Roya Caribbean staff my carry-on arrived after being lost for 7 days. We had no luggage so it was just our carry-on. When the carry-on arrived it was damaged. To date the report which was filled out as soon as we returned and a letter to the airline in Iceland have they responded, It is now almost October 2022. This is and will be the worst airline I have flown.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Copenhagen via Keflavik
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no