Flair Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 638 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst flying/customer service experience I’ve ever had"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This was the worst flying/customer service experience I’ve ever had. Our return flight was supposed to be August 16th, Calgary to Ottawa, but was cancelled well after the flight was supposed to take off. They rescheduled us for the next available Flair flight which is August 30th. Literally two weeks after our canceled flight. We have a child at home so obviously this wasn’t going to work. We had to call customer service four times to get anything sorted. They ended up putting us on a Flair flight to Toronto the next day (August 17th) at our suggestion. They then refused to reimburse us for a flight from Toronto to Ottawa, a rental car to get from Toronto to Ottawa, or gas to cover our trip. We’re still not back home in Ottawa and are scrambling to find a way to get home that we can afford. I will absolutely never fly with them again and you shouldn’t either, it’s not worth it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Calgary
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"still have not received my bag"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Worst carrier ever Flair lost my bag flying Tor-Van. It still hadn't been located by the time I was scheduled to catch an international flight 2 days later. Customer Service at Van Airport assured me they would forward it to me once it had been found. It was found on the 3rd day. It is now almost 3 months later and I still have not received my bag which Flair told me (in early July) is sitting in Edmonton. They have offered no explanation why it cant be couriered to me. They have offered no compensation and I cant claim on travel insurance as the bag is not official lost. Communication with Flair has been, at best, sporadic, unclear and unhelpful. Under no circumstances should you fly with Flair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTotonto to Vancouver
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I am very disappointed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My 15 year old daughter and her friend were flying from Edmonton to Kelowna with us last week. She has a cleft and had surgery on her palate (bone graft) plus some wisdom teeth pulled the week prior. She’s had a dozen surgeries but last minute had a set back and needed fluids. She couldn’t fly with us on August 9th. I contacted flair and the following day was going to book her on the flight on the 11th. I was told to contact the medical area to see what they could do for a refund on the initial flight. Originally the flight was $139 when I started calling on the 10th at noon. I was on hold, then spoke to someone who after putting me on hold told me to call another area and the same thing happened there. By the end no one could help me, said I couldn’t get a refund but to try emailing the medical area. I went to book my daughter and after wasting 2 hours calling Flair the flight price has gone up to $359 a person. I had to spend $720 to fly them both up. I sent the medical area an email and got a response that they couldn’t do anything and wrote “we’re sorry your daughter had a tooth issue”. I wish I hadn’t wasted my time contacting Flair - which I was told to do by the check-in area and just paid the $139. Flair, this was my first time flying with you and I am very disappointed.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Kelowna
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ignoring their responsibility"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flair has been ignoring their responsibility and obligation for cancelling our flight. Our Flair flight was canceled July 31 and they re-booked us 6 days (150 hours) longer than our initial departure. This change of itinerary was not acceptable. I am writing this letter to bring to the attention of the public the complete lack of assistance and co-operation from Flair representatives: 1st representative on July 31st by phone and 2nd representative by email correspondence from the Compensation Escalation Team. After several correspondences back and forth, it was clear that your representatives were not responding in good faith and was trying to avoid your responsibility and obligation to air passengers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will avoid Flair in the future"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flight was canceled (canceled 07 July22, Flight originally for 12 July22). Flair Airlines' cancelation email included a ticket for a departure (2-days later) and an option for reimbursement for alternative travel arrangements (up to $600). I rebooked with United to leave on my original date. This ticket cost $300 more than the Flair flight. I sent a reimbursement request immediately via email (07July22). After six follow up emails and a month and three days (which goes beyond the 30-day response time set by the Canadian Transportation Agency), Flair provided me only with a ticket refund and $125 small airline compensation rate. I asked multiple times via email why I won't get reimbursed. They ignore the question, simply restating that the compensation rate is $125 and that they'll need either a canceled cheque or a "direct deposit slip" (a direct deposit slip is typically what you would provide your employer so they directly deposit your salary into your bank account. I provided a "Deposit Ticket" from my checkbook. They then said that they need a Voided cheque. I provided this and restated my question: why was I promised reimbursement for the alt. travel arrangements in the initial cancelation email and why am I being denied that reimbursement now? Again, ignored the question and said they don't have to give me anything and that this is the final communication. It's beyond frustrating to rely on someone's promise only to be lied to. Flair consistently communicated poorly throughout and violated their own Tariff Agreement and CTA regulations, albeit minor ones controlling communication. I know this isn't a situation where I was stranded on a tarmac for days but it is nevertheless frustrating. I will avoid Flair in the future and I hope you do, too.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"he was kicked off the plane"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My brother was supposed to fly from Calgary to Abbotsford BC and he was removed from the plane because of his walking. He was actually sitting in his assigned seat and he was kicked off the plane. My brother is a stage 4 alcoholic who is in the process of dying due to liver and kidney issues but there was no threat that he would die on the plane as he still has several more months of suffering before that happens. His walking is impacted by severe arthritis in his spine that he is not being treated for and, among other complications, he has shortness of breath as a complication of alcoholism. He had a few drinks before boarding the plane because he is a severe alcoholic and without those drinks he would be at risk of dying on the plane. He flew in the exact same condition 2 weeks prior with Flair Air from BC to Calgary - and he required a wheelchair to board and disembark. He did not cause any problems during any interactions with any Flair Air staff when he was asked to leave the plane or at any time while waiting to get on the plane. He is a calm, docile man who would have happily sat in his seat, followed all rules and instructions and disembarked without any problems except the use of a wheelchair. Instead, he is denied his flight home, taken off the plane in a wheelchair and wheeled directly to 2 police officers who he once again had to explain his health to. They promptly wished him a good day. I feel that my brother was discriminated against because he is simply an end-stage alcoholic. The flight attendants said "you smell like alcohol, have you been drinking?" He explained his health conditions to them three times, but this did not matter as he had to leave the plane. He was at no time disruptive, out of line or inappropriate - he was even wearing his mask. As a consumer and frequent flyer I am fully aware that people who have been drinking are still allowed to fly. As a matter of fact, airports and airlines serve liquor/booze to people knowing they are going to fly and while in the air flying. I have also had the opportunity to observe disabled people, who could not walk at all, board and fly without difficulties. So, what's up? In speaking with a man from Flair Air's customer service, I found out the following. First, there are no notes explaining why he was kicked off the plane. Their notes report that he was a "no-show" when they actually had him boarded and sitting in his seat. Then the agent tells me that no-one who boards their planes are allowed to have any alcohol. I point out that airports have lounges in departure areas that serve travelers alcohol and airline flight attendants push carts down the aisles of planes selling passengers alcohol. No response from the agent. The agent reported my brother must have been drunk! I asked him if anyone bothered to test him to see if he was drunk as he has numerous health issues. Nope, just the assumption that the quiet man, who smells of alcohol is drunk. They are refusing to reimburse his ticket cost, but really, that's the least of it as my brother was supposed to be at the hospital in BC today for more medical tests but instead he is still in Alberta without a way home.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Toronto via Abbotsford
Date FlownAugust 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"brutally poor customer service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We had our flight cancelled after a 2.5 hour delay due to lack of staff. The flight was full and the confusion that followed when it was cancelled was atrocious. The Flair staff had no idea what to do nor where to send the passengers. We were offered a refund or to spend the next 72 hours in a hotel in Vancouver to fly with Flair on their next flight out ... wonder if it actually flew out? We were supposed to be at work the next day and a lot of other passengers had child care issues and work commitments also. We were not offered help to get on other flights, which the majority ended up doing as people needed to get home. We have since been trying to get compensation (10 months now!) for Flair's controllable issue of staffing but to no avail. The brutally poor customer service and run-around by this company is unacceptable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Saskatoon
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disregard for customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | From start to finish the incompetence and disregard for customer service & experience from Flair has been infuriating. They first moved out 10:50 am flight to 10:50 pm, a 12 hour delay with two weeks notice. As the only airline that flies direct to our specific destination, we could not reschedule our flight because this red-eye was consequentially the only time they were offering for the entire week once we were notified of the change. We lost a whole day of our trip because of this change. Their app does not work. It took 2-3 days to even list our flight and then would never display the details of the booking. Check-in was even worse. It showed that check-in was available, but then when I clicked "check in" it said that it wasn't available and send me on this repeating cycle of reminders and roadblocks. What normally takes 10 minutes with other airlines took an hour and a combination of their website check-in platform with chat support before we could actually get checked in. While at the airport the text message notifications sent us to the wrong gate multiple times. It kept saying that D26 was our gate when it was actually D27 and the gates were far enough a part that no one would have known unless they thought to look at the airport board. The old man who sat next to us on the flight nearly missed it because of this false information continuously being given by Flair. He also shared our frustrations with check-in, having spent 3 hours over the phone with Flair before finally getting checked-in. After the trip I tried to contact flair to complain or receive compensation for this 12 hour delay, and they did not reply within 30 days. I then had to follow up with them via email AND chat before getting a response. At which point the customer service was incompetent and clearly did not actually read a single one of my emails. Despite repeating myself on four different emails (it was even in the subject line) that my complaint was referring to the 12 hour delay, not one person addressed my complaint and instead continued to reiterate that the 1 hour additional delayed that happened on the day of travel doesn't qualify for compensation because it's less than 3 hours. The only thing that did not go wrong was the aircraft itself, although having to take a red-eye flight on an aircraft where the seats can't recline at all is awful. It is also hard to comment on the cain crew because other than the safety announcement and collecting garbage they didn't do anything. If you're flying for any amount of time over an hour, maybe two, never use this airline. If you do, be prepared for poor communication, changing times, cancellations, discomfort, and a lack of any competent assistance. With the extra charges required for baggage and seat selection, the amount saved by using flair was negligible and certainly did not make it worth it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Kitchener
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"mentioned some absurd rules"

(Canada)

Not Verified | They cancelled the flight 24 hours before the scheduled time and said we can either wait another day to get a new flight or can book flight of our own and we will be reimbursed up to 600/passenger. We confirmed this over phone and ended up taking an Air Canada flight for 700+ dollars. We forwarded the Air Canada ticket to them requesting for reimbursement. I had to send a follow up again after 10 days to get a response from them saying that they are giving me 125$ reimbursement per ticket and mentioned some absurd rules. I mentioned that no such conditions was mentioned in the initial email and for which they didn't respond anything. The customer service chat/ phone cannot help you with reimbursement. The wait for phone support is more than 2 hours and you get either a cold or condescending employee who don't care much about service and would just mutter printed answers. If you find it cheap you can book it but don't book hotels and other tickets trusting them, cancelling and denying reimbursement what you might have to face. Also never book them for any time specific, or important meetings. Never Again Flair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Montreal
Date FlownJuly 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Its so messed up"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Having flown with them once and it being ok I decided to give it another go as it is the only airline that does direct to Vancouver from Burbank. When they actually provide the service they aren't bad. Flight Out from Burbank to Vancouver was delayed but the airport staff were very nice. The return flight was a joke. I was due to fly out Thursday 7th July. They Cancelled this Flight Wednesday the 9th and scheduled me for the 10th of July. I spoke to customer service and they guaranteed that this flight would go ahead 100%. So I trusted them. On Thursday the 7th Flight was cancelled again and rescheduled for Thursday 14th of July. I had to get back for work and my only option was to rebook with another airline which might I add with no assistance from Flair. The flights were astronomical in price due to last minute. Flair Offered with the second cancellation via email to reimburse up to $600 CAD id you choose this. No flights on my original route were in this price range and even having to fly to LAX it was just under $600. I also had to figure how to get home from there. Flair refunded what I paid for original ticket with them. They told me I had to submit a claim for reimbursement of the alternative ticket and delay compensation for original flight cancellation - two separate cancellations. Well they will lump it into one claim. Subtract the refund they provided you off the alternative ticket (which I do understand). However you either get the reimbursed for the ticket or the low compensation for the original cancellation. Its so messed up. I thankfully had free accommodation but if I had been paying for a hotel and included this in my claim I would not have been reimbursed as "I choose to fly with an alternative airline" after the second cancellation. All within their control! I will be making a formal complaint against them. I missed work due to the original cancellation and due to the short notice leaves the customer with very few options. Not to mention have to chase them for reimbursement.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Burbank
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no