China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1821 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"the seat was too narrow"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Moscow, via Guangzhou. Flights were full during the Chinese New Year holiday season, and flight attendants onboard were friendly and patient. Lots of passengers blocking the transit section in Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, it was a little insufficient, hope they can have more paths available during busy hours. Overall it's a pretty good, love the food but the seat was too narrow.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Moscow via Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"consider less transit next time"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Perth via Guangzhou. It's a long journey this time, since I got one more stop in Wuhan between London and Guangzhou. The transit was very smooth. The food was good on the flight from Guangzhou, but from London had great afternoon tea refreshments. Free accommodation and shuttle service in Guangzhou while transiting, which was nice. Great experience, but I would more likely to consider less transit next time.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Perth via Wuhan & Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service was excellent"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Beijing to London via Sanya. At Check-in at Beijing the staff did their best to comply with your request. Everything was dealt with in a orderly way, keeping the customers informed of boarding progress. This was my first time flying from Beijing to London with a transit at Sanya Airport. At Sanya the Domestic and International terminals are within walking distance of each other. The flight from Sanya to London was not full, but service was excellent and cabin crew had nice smiles.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to London via Sanya
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"team leader was wonderful"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Beijing via Guangzhou in May 2019. The connecting flight from Beijing to Guangzhou was delayed which has caused me missed my flight from Guangzhou back to Melbourne. The team leader on the Beijing to GuangZhou flight was wonderful and made sure that everything worked well for me. She talked to the ground staff at GuangZhou airport and ensure that I stayed at the nearby hotel for my early morning connection flight. Ground staff at Baiyun airport, please treat your long term Business Class passengers with respect. Hopefully, next time if I need to have another unexpected overnight stay due delayed flight, please arrange a nice room at Pullman hotel rather than trying push me to a 3-star hotel and 30 minutes away from the airport.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Beijing via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Staff was helpful and efficient"

(China)

Trip Verified | Wuhan to Rome on 11th Jan. The seat was with pillow and blanket, a TV so can enjoy the movies and so on. After take-off we got a meal and before landing another one. For me it's totally fine as we also brought lots of snack with us. My husband had some red wine and said it's good. There was no WIFI onboard which was a little pity. Staff was helpful and efficient. Thanks to them for helping me to find my AirPods. After this long flight we finally landed at Rome to start our holiday in Rome and it's a really good start.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWuhan to Rome
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"experience wasn't good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dalian to Los Angeles via Guangzhou on 1st January. My experience wasn't good. Check-in was fine, the cabin service, selection of movies and seats were so so. No English subtitles for Chinese films and crew speak excellent English for an Asian carrier. I ordered a special low fat meal and received an icicle salad, unrecognizable jello, earthy tomatoes and bland vegetable meal. I know airline meals aren't meant to be the best, but there was no creativity to the meals. The positive to this airline is that it got me to my destination in one piece, but for the price I paid and being a 4 star airline, it was unfortunately a let down.
AircraftA320 / A380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDalian to Los Angeles via Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a delightful travel"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Wuhan. This flight was a delightful travel. The flight was long especial with a child. However, the crew was professional and made me comfortable. I think they are a little understaffed, they managed the situation in well condition.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Wuhan
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"asked me to open my luggage"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Kathmandu to Melbourne via Guangzhou on 29 December. First off all they tend to help as I was holding my baby girl (8 months) and was traveling alone, they asked me to open my luggage to take out camera and battery and at the same time they notice that I was carrying my neck less (chadke tilarhi in Nepali) in same luggage. I thought would be easy to travel not carrying any hand carry bag with small baby. But unfortunately, they broke the lock, teared the luggage and removed the neck les . I came to know it only after reaching home in Melbourne. T
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKathmandu to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"experience is very good"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Sydney. First experience of First Class with China Southern Airlines which is still available on the A380. The experience is very good, seats are comfortable and spacious. The broadcast reminders are also very clear. The meal was great and highly recommended.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteGuangzhou to Sydney
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"A330 was more comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Perth via Guangzhou in business class. The Boeing 787 from London to Guangzhou, had a narrow cabin, but the seats lie flat, which was fine. The service of the flight attendants were friendly. Transfer in Guangzhou was smooth, the luggage didn’t have to be picked up in transit. The flight from Guangzhou to Perth was an A330. The cabin was more comfortable with spacious seating and wifi. China Southern is expected to provide a consistent international flight experience.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Perth via Guangzhou
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review