China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1801 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"service on board fine"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | New York to Bangkok via Wuhan. Both flights pretty full, very strict hand luggage check at JFK, service on board fine, no complaints. Transfer in Wuhan annoying as there are no transfer facilities at that airport. Which means passengers have to “enter” China via Immigration (transit visa) go through customs, retrieve luggage, re-check luggage, go through Immigration again and of course security. Only had 10 minutes spare to catch my flight to BKK (all this took almost two hours!), I hope that standard transfer facilities are introduced at Wuhan airport soon!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Bangkok via Wuhan
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"amazing, super efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to London. First class service, excellent hospitality. I am a loyal customer of China Southern Airlines, flew 5 domestic and 4 international flights with business class in 4 weeks. So impressed with its 5 star services from the business cabin crew from Guangzhou to London. A big thank you to Chief of crew, flight attendants are amazing, super efficient and very helpful.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to London
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"flight attendant were helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to New York via Guangzhou. The flight attendant were helpful and attentive. As I booked wheelchair, a crew made sure I wasn’t worried, and took me to the staff who’s pushing a wheelchair. Guangzhou to JFK, I had some pretty good vegan food, and the seat was more comfortable. It was a nice flight. Thanks to all the great crew and staff.
AircraftA330 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it’s a good flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to New York via Guangzhou. It’s a quite long journey, but the staff made it very pleasant. I flew to Guangzhou on an old A330. The seat was not so comfy, it didn’t have much leg room. I used inflight WiFi, so that helped me to kill some time. Food and drinks free, lots of options available. The transit was pretty smooth. My second flight was on a Boeing 777. New aircraft, but the seat was also small. Crew onboard was great. Overall, it’s a good flight.
AircraftA330 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"hotel they provide was terrible"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Kuala Lumpur and transit at Guangzhou. The first half journey is fine until we transit at Guangzhou. The hotel they provide us was terrible and took 1hr drive from the airport. Only one king bed was provided for the whole family. The check-in guy in the hotel said that what the airline arrange for us for 2 people. We arrived at the airport on next day to check in the 1 luggage we took out for our night in Guangzhou, the counter had difficulty check it back in, saying our luggage allowance is already reached and requested us to pay for it. However, this was the one luggage we got out at Guangzhou airport and the rest going to Malaysia straight away. I have to say your system make our journey very difficult, since we are travelling with infant and and young child.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"enjoyed flying with China Southern"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to London. I enjoyed flying with China Southern Airlines until landing. It was very cloudy in London and suddenly the plane went for a second round. There were no information from pilot. After few minutes, flight attendant informed us about something out of control but her accent was so weird that, there were still more questions in the air than answers. They should informed passengers better, that pilot would say few words in English.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to London
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"kind flight attendant service"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Guangzhou. Perfect flight. Boarding and take off on time. Comfortable seats. Very kind flight attendant service. Food & beverages were very good. Landing a bit hard but on time.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"high-level customer service"

(China)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Shanghai. An excellent experience. The variety of choices in the meal and high-level customer service highlight the air experience. The cabin crew were polite and caring. The only thing that need to be improved is the softness and comfort of seats.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"trip was very pleasant"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to Changzhou via Guangzhou. The trip was very pleasant. At the time of check-in, I was allowed to checked 46kg, and the staff arranged baggage check-in for me as I have half luggage collected in Guangzhou and half collected at the final destination. The entertainment on board was updated, cabin service was fantastic. They were all careful and offered a kids activity bag for my boy. The food could be improved as the rice was a little bit dry. Fantastic service was provided by the Transfer staff in Guangzhou. We were glad to be offered a complementary accommodation when transferring in Guangzhou.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Changzhou via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Service is very consistent"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Sydney return via Guangzhou. I had been a little anxious but I ended up very impressed. The website is truly dreadful and we battled with it. However we were able to preselect seats. This is free for some seats and many of the other seats are available for a nominal fee. Online checkin was a bit glitchy but there is a dedicated online checkin line at the airport and because people don't seem to use online checkin, on each occasion it allowed us to completely avoided queuing. The baggage allowance in Economy is 2 x 23kg bags. All four flights left on time. The flight schedules were great and far better on the kangaroo route than BA or QF. I chose daylight flights on all sectors (except London - Guangzhou). China Southern give you a free transit hotel if your flight involves a transit stop of more than eight hours. This worked well and broke up the return flight when we weren't actually staying in Guangzhou, although it's worth noting that it's not a particularly quick process. You first need to get a transit visa (which involves plenty of hanging around) and then go to a desk in the arrivals hall where you can choose your hotel. You then wait to be escorted to a bus which will take you to the hotel. It took more than two hours from arrival to get to my room and the hotel wanted to put me on a return bus 3.5 hrs before the flight left. I pushed that back by half an hour but still, given my transit was 16 hrs it was fine. An 8 hr transit wouldn't give you much time in the hotel! As for the flights, there was plenty of legroom, particularly on the 787. Service was a little robotic (few smiles) but very efficient and consistent. Two hot meals were served on each sector and the crew had (uninspiring) snacks if you asked for them between meals. Drinks options were limited (few people seemed to be drinking alcohol and they kept running out of Diet Coke). The IFE system was the best I have seen and there was enough content, albeit not as much in English as, say, on BA. A minor gripe - they insist on closing the windows on daylight flights. It didn't matter on the 787 as you can still see out and unlike other airlines they don't lock the windows in the dark position, but on the A330 it was a pain. My conclusion? I worked for BA for many years, latterly working with their inflight product. CZ was in general far, far better in economy than BA. Service is very consistent, relatively generous and at £400 cheaper than BA, it was a complete no brainer.
AircraftB787 and A330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Sydney via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review