China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1724 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"satisfied with the service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Melbourne via Guangzhou. I paid an additional RMB 150 on their official App to book an aisle seat when I bought the tickets. 4 hours before the departure, I found out it became free then. It really seems unfair to passengers like me who paid more to get a free service after all. I asked the ground staff by the check-in, and they had no idea why. It also cost me 3,000 mileage to have a onboard WiFi access, which used to be free to apply on the App. For the service onboard, I'm impressed. Flight attendants were friendly and helpful. They explained different kinds of food and type of wines along the meal service. Overall I was really satisfied with the service from both the ground staff and the cabin crew. I do recommend it, but I hope they can do something about those doubt I had.
AircraftA320 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"staff are just fantastic!"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Sydney via Guangzhou. Check-in at Bangkok airport was dismal, unpleasant staff not answering very reasonable questions. Supervisor was the same. But the crew on the flight to Guangzhou were excellent and extremely helpful. Due to late arrival of the aircraft from Guangzhou (big storms in China), I was about to miss the flight to Sydney. One of the flight attendants run with me to the gate to make sure staff at the gate did what they could for me to catch the Sydney flight. Unfortunately, I did miss the connection but their efforts were very much appreciated. China Southern put me up in a hotel and 12 hours later, I was on the next flight to Sydney. Also a very pleasant flight, China Southern staff are just fantastic!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Sydney via Guangzhou
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service is worth recommending"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Singapore, the overall service is worth recommending. Especially the flight attendant service makes me very satisfied, and service is in place. They ask if we need blankets. Secondly, add drinks several times while distributing meals.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangZhou to Singapore
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"it was an excellent flight"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to New Zealand. The aircraft is Boeing 787-9, equipped with 1-2-1 configuration in business class, which provided excellent privacy. On board WiFi was free and had pretty good connectivity. Cabin crew was professional, friendly and helpful. Two meals were served and also a night snack in between. Both Chinese and western style, I chose the Chinese style, I enjoyed the two meals, the beef meatball soup and Chinese dim sum were pretty good. Overall, I would say it was an excellent flight.
AircraftBOEING 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Auckland
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very cheap price tempted me"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This was the second time I flew with China Southern Airlines. After the last time, when flights departed late and arrived late, and when my flight was cancelled without informing me and getting back home was a disaster taking 2 frustrating days, I swore I would never fly with them again. However, the very cheap price tempted me, knowing that inflight service was good. Guangzhou to Melbourne staff were extremely polite and responsive. Delhi to Guangzhou staff seemed to be unusually stressed and curt. On both flights, seating was comfortable with a generous recline (though you have to work out the trick to getting it back), food was fine and toilets clean. Inflight entertainment a little limited.
AircraftA330-300 / A330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service they offered are excellent"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | During the past year, I had flown with China Southern Airlines around 7 times for different destinations, including this time that I fly from Singapore to Guangzhou on April 28, 2019. The food and beverage are severed very frequently, during the 4 hours flight they served beverage two times and food one time. Meanwhile, both ground and cabin service they offered are excellent. The ticket prices are very worth the money!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Guangzhou
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were kind and polite!

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Jakarta. The boarding was on time, but take off a little late. The plane was A321neo. I sat in seat 49J which was beside the emergency exit. The leg room was enough. The lavatory was clean. The crew were kind and polite. I'm not satisfied of the meal, because the chicken rice taste terrible.
AircraftA321neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Jakarta
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"should replace the cup"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Melbourne, connecting in Guangzhou. Their service is good as is their food provided on board, and many choices of wine and beverages. As an airline representing Chinese culture, they should replace the cup to be more user-friendly. The Chinese style teacup lid is very small, tea is over the lid. Or it can only be just a small amount of tea in cup in case of leaking.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"friendly, helpful, and considerate"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Perth. The service from this flight was very impressive to me. The crew members were friendly, helpful, and considerate. In all, many thanks to them, and i really enjoyed that.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Perth
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"they serve very well"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Qingdao to Guangzhou. I asked them to change my seat and they politely tell me they will ask cabin manager and they will let me know and they changed and than I have special meal they bring me my new seat and they serve very well. Especially one of the cabin staff who really speak english very well, this is not really common in domestic flight. This time i had 4 flights with them Round trip to usa and also 2 domestic flights.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteQingdao to Guangzhou
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review