China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1591 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"meal service is great"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Jieyang To Vancouver via Guangzhou. Guangzhou to Vancouver was a new Boeing 787-9 which is more space and more smooth on Business Class. To compare with the old 787-8 they use before, passenger could have a mini locker behind their shoulder. It could help me to put my cell phone and charger inside and not let these to slide down inside the seats. The business seats is more roomy than the old 787-8, when I put the bed 180 degree flat, I could deeply sleep. The cabin attendant could speak a fluent English on my flight , but the business only have two cabin attendants and one purser for this long overseas flight, so I recommend China southern to add one more business class cabin attendant to make the service more efficient. The inflight meal service is great, cabin attendant could show me a lot selection of wine and other drinks to make decision.
AircraftB787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJieyang To Vancouver via Guangzhou
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"impressed with quality of service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Busan via Guangzhou. I was impressed with the quality of service, comfort of the seat, and the quality of the food. Entertainment was not bad either. The slipper given in premium economy was a nice touch.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNew York to Busan via Guangzhou
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nice journey in general"

(China)

Trip Verified | Nha Trang to New York via Guangzhou. Transfer at Guangzhou simple and clear. Boeing 777 from Guangzhou to NYC was very nice with spacious seats in business class, meanwhile children were very happy to enjoy the IFE, and had good rest too. I liked the food, such as beef soup noodle and hot pot rice. Patient and efficient flight attendants. Just a pity no WiFi was provided during the trip. A nice journey in general.
AircraftBoeing 737 / 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNha Trang to New York via Guangzhou
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"no WiFi service yet "

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Brisbane via Guangzhou business class trip. I would like to express my gratitude appreciation to the wonderful cabin crew for their great service during the flight. I travelled with my 5 years old son and both of us have been looked after very well. My biggest complaint about this flight is that there is no WiFi service yet the entertainment program is limited compared with some airlines so it is a bit boring to kill the time.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBeijing to Brisbane via Guangzhou
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"clean and comfortable enough"

(China)

Trip Verified | Flight from Chongqing to Phuket was fine, left fairly on time, decent leg room. Only problem was the plane was freezing! Good selection of meal and drinks available. Normal airline prices. Staff were friendly and got to work serving drinks etc quickly. Plane was clean and comfortable enough for my flight. Anymore and the padding on my seat wouldn't of supported me much longer. It was a bit hard.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChongqing to Phuket
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"It was still a good trip"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Melbourne via Guangzhou. Boeing 737 from Bangkok to Guangzhou, not a big plane but my children were very happy with the company of fly attendants. We were in a rush during transfer, finally caught up thanks to the help from ground team, they carried my luggage. Night flight for the second route, the hostess prepared one more pillow and blanket for my children, truly appreciated. I don’t like the hard seat in economy class or the food provided, hope they could provide more choices of food in future. It was still a good trip in brief, thanks again to all the crew who gave me help.
AircraftBoeing 737 / A330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Melbourne via Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"attendants are courteous"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Xi'an to Guangzhou. Queues at check in counter was modest. A321-200 Neo is relatively new. The cabin has been configured into 3 class layout, ie Business, Economy Premium and Economy Class. The cabin was not equipped with CS mobile app, thus in flight entertainment is only from the drop down LED screen. The attendants are courteous and friendly. I requested for a seat at the emergency row, a briefing was done prior to the doors being closed. Beverages was served approximately half an hour after departure which was followed by dinner. Two choices of meal are available - rice and noodles. The cabin crew returned for another round of beverages while dining. Snack boxes were collected after that. Thanks to the professionalism of the cabin crew.
AircraftA321-200 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteXi'an to Guangzhou
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"experience pleasant and smooth"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Kota Kinabalu. I arrived at Guangzhou Airport early and was informed that check in only commenced approximately 3.5 hours before departure. I re-approached the check in counter again at around 17:00, seat request on the emergency row was similarly granted. China Southern Airlines is one of the major operator of the new Terminal 2. Boarding call for this flight was made approximately 50 minutes prior to the schedule departure. The Boeing 737-800 is not equipped with CS mobile apps, in flight entertainment is only possible from the drop down LCD. Cabin crew are well trained. Flight departed 15 minutes behind schedule. Cabin service commenced approximately 20 minutes after take off, beverages followed by meals. The standard of in flight meal is slightly higher than domestic flight I previously flown. Overall experience is pleasant and smooth.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"n flight meal is moderate"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Urumqi to Xi'an. I arrived at Urumqi airport at 730 am early in the morning but found out that there was already long queue for all check in counter which handled China Southern Airlines and Xiamen Airlines flight. I attempted to check in from the kiosk but unsuccessful. There were ground representative assisting passengers with the check in process. Today I am flying to Guangzhou transit at Xi an. The ground staff informed me to queued up at the row which handles Guangzhou flight but was later found out that I ended up at the wrong queue upon reaching the check in counter. As a result of that, I have to re queue at a different row which was assigned for Xian flight. Upon checking in, the ground staff told me that I would have to collect my luggage at the luggage carousel in Xian and walked up to the departure hall to issue my boarding pass to Guangzhou. A similar luggage check in process is required. In short, check in counter is a mess in Urumqi Airport. Boarding commenced approximately 40 minutes before flight departure. I was transferred to the aircraft via an airport shuttle bus. This flight was operated by Boeing 737-800 NG, the cabin is relatively new and equipped with in flight entertainment apps. By connecting to the aircraft WIFI, it automatically re assigned the website for CS apps downloading. The choice of movies, music etc is rather limited, though suffice for short flight. Every seat is assigned with socket which makes charging convenient. Cabin crew are kind and helpful. In flight beverages were served after departure which was followed up by lunch. The standard of the in flight meal is moderate, typically Chinese local dish considering that this is a domestic flight. I believe there are still room of improvement on the in flight catering.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUrumqi to Xi'an
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"high quality of service"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Urumqi operated by Boeing 787-8. I was greeted by the ground staff upon arrival from my earlier flight from Guangzhou who re issued my boarding pass and lead me to my boarding gate. Boarding call for this flight was made an earlier prior to the original flight departure. A shuttle which transferred me to the aircraft as it was parked outside without aero bridges. The boarding was smooth and quick. I was greeted warmly by the cabin crew upon boarding. Towel, blanket were distributed to passenger while awaiting for clearance for departure. I wish to comment on the personal touch rendered by the flight attendant who came to approached the passenger if we had enjoyed our flight and check if there are any area that they can improve. While we were being updated with the estimated weather in Urumqi, I was reminded to have my jacket ready in order to stay warm upon arrival. I would like acknowledge the high quality of service provided by cabin crew on board. Nonetheless, there are still room for improvement with regards to in flight catering. No question raised on the choice of beverages. Similarly, the in flight entertainment can further be enhanced by adding the number of movies, music and games into the system.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Urumqi
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review