China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1621 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Food was great"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Rome via Guangzhou, travelled by A330 for both routes, nice comfort. Food was great, especially Japanese cold noodle during the flight from Osaka to Guangzhou and I got two more noodles when the cabin crew knew I love it. Transfer in Guangzhou T2 went easy and quick, no baggage pick up required there. I slept well on the way to Rome, and enjoyed the meals and drinks. There were many good movies in entertainment system, trip was not so boring. If they could provide the WiFi service during the long journey would be better.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Rome via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin service is satisfactory"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hangzhou to Guangzhou. Check in available as early as 3.5 hours prior to departure. The original schedule for this flight at the time of booking was 16:30 but was retimed to 15:40. Aircraft has been changed to Boeing 737-800 from the original schedule A320-200. The airline did not send any notification for such changes. Boarding call for this flight commenced approximately half and hour before departure. The queue was in systematic order. As usual cabin crew at the door of the aircraft to greet us. This is the first time to notice that the female crew wear trouser instead of the skirts on the previous flight. This aircraft is configured into 3 class cabin, that is Business class, Premium Economy and Economy class. All seats are fitted with charging port for the passengers convenient. Nonetheless, seats are not equipped with personal in flight entertainment (IFE) . Instead drop down LED screen are available. The cabin crew were seen busy preparing food approximately 20 minutes after departure. I am delighted with the efficiency rendered by the crew. One meal cart was utilised for the distribution of mineral water and one for hot meal purpose. On view of short flight time of less than 2 hours, only one hot meal choice was served. Flight attendant returned for the tray and trash collection as soon as the passengers were done with the meal. The standard of the cabin service is satisfactory. In flight catering can be further enhanced in this case.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHangzhou to Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"journey was a pleasant one"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Kota Kinabalu. This is my second leg flight of the day after my previous flight from Hangzhou. Boarding call for CZ 8483 was made half an hour before departure. There were two row of queues one for the sky priority/ sky pearl elite status frequent flyer member and the other for non member. The ground staff conducted final stage of visa verification prior to boarding. The flight load for this flight was average with approximately half capacity. I requested for the emergency exit row upon boarded and was granted by the cabin crew in charge. The flight attendant rostered on this flight are extremely helpful and polite despite that this is a red eye flight. They were seen busy guiding passengers to the assigned seat and helping loading of carry on luggage. An older B737-800 without winglet was deployed this sector. There are numerous sign of ageing on the entire cabin. This flight was delayed by approximately 15 minutes due to air space control, which is normal in China. In flight catering commenced approximately half an hour after take off. Cabin crew are well trained to handle passengers request. Hot and cold beverages are available on board. In addition to that, passengers are offered with 2 choices of meal, that is beef noodles or Omelette with potatoes. Similarly, apart from coffee and tea, red wine and alcoholic beer were also served. The meal distribution is prompt and efficient, thus allowing passengers sufficient time to rest. They returned for another round of beverages prior to landing. Thanks to the cabin crew who ensure that the entire journey was a pleasant one despite of the old cabin. I suggested that the airline management considers a further improvement in the area of in flight entertainment (IFE) as well as the catering
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"I could see their smile"

(France)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Paris. It was a night time flight so I missed the first meal after we took off. In the early morning, I went to the galley asked for some snacks, the cabin attendant introduced the new steamed pork bun with a bit spicy for me and it is really tasty. The second meal was scrambled egg or Chinese Dim Sun and I took the egg. During the flight the cabin attendant could keep cabin looking good and I could see their smile. But the aircraft is old, so I suggest them to update and make the entertainment system works well.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Paris
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"journey was smooth and pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kota Kinabalu to Guangzhou. I arrived at the airport 4 hours prior to departure but the check in process only available 2 1/2 hours before the schedule departure. This load for this flight was low, thus the check in process is quick and efficient. Flight CZ8484 departure 15 minutes earlier as soon as all passengers boarded. Cabin crew are friendly and courteous despite this is a red eye flight. A B737-800 is deployed for this sector. The seat is not equipped with personal in flight entertainment (IFE) but a drop down LED on every subsequent 3 row. The flight attendant commenced in flight meal approximately half an hour after departure. Cold and hot beverages are served. Two choices of alcoholic drinks are provided, that is fine and beer. In view of the low flight load, the cabin service is prompt. The cabin light was dimmed allowing passengers sufficient time to rest. The overall flight journey was smooth and pleasant. There are still plenty of room of improvement when comes into in flight catering.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKota Kinabalu to Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"more than pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Hangzhou. The original schedule for flight CZ3803 was supposed a B787-800 but was replaced by the airline new A321-200 neo. This aircraft was parked at the outer bay whereby transfer was done by airport bus shutter. Upon boarded the aircraft, the cabin crew greeted me warmly and guide me to my seat. I am totally amazed the new A321-200 neo, the cabin is so quiet that I hardly realise that the aircraft taxied off and take off.​ The light breakfast was served approximately half an hour after departure. Two options are available, that is the Cantonese style dim sum and fried noodles. The cabin services was prompt and efficient despite that the entire economy class was near full, ​ Thanks to the hospitality rendered by the cabin crew though out the entire journey. The flight experience was more than pleasant and impressive one despite that the short flight journey of less than 2 hours. ​
AircraftA321-200 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Hangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the journey was comfortable"

(China)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Taipei on A320. T2 in Changsha is being decorated now. It seems there will be more international shops and restaurants in each floor. The ground staff was professional and fulfilled my request of choosing the window seat. The aircraft is old but clean, cabin service and lunch were good. But the leg room was a little bit small, and it was a pity that there is no WiFi inflight. In all, the journey was comfortable.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Taipei
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Staff very helpful and kind"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | vParis to Denpasar via Guangzhou. Would highly recommend China Southern Airlines to anyone looking for a great value for money international flight. Check in was a breeze with friendly ground staff. Our checked in suitcase got pushed all the way through to Denpasar which was a dream. 11.5 hour stopover in Guangzhou is super easy to navigate, we waited about 20-25 minutes to get our 24hour visa which was a very speedy service though this could of been because our flight landed at 7am. You get to pick from at least 8 different trainsit hotels we were in class C hotels to pick from. We got a free shuttle bus from the Airport to our hotel which included free breakfast. Guangzhou’s airport is phenomenal probably one of the cleanest airports ive been to in a while. Would definitely recommend using them. Food was really tasty in economy they had two choices a more Chinese traditional meal and a Westernised version of the meal they provided loads of drinks usually one before a meal and then one shortly after or in the middle of your meal which was great. Inflight Entertainment was surprisingly good, loads of movies to pick from. Staff on all flights were very helpful and kind.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Denpasar via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I am 100 % satisfied"

(France)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Frankfurt. I chose China Southern Airlines because, by all appearance, only two European airports are directly connected to Changsha: London and Frankfurt; and China Southern provides with direct connection to Frankfurt. Unfortunately, I had to board the return flight without my carry-on suitcase, which I left unattended for only a few minutes, only to discover that it was gone when I returned, all of this while boarding was almost complete. A China Southern attendant established contact with me, and kept it all through the process of recovering the suitcase; I finally got it back three days later; Lufthansa also transported it to my final destination airport. All contents inside the suitcase were still there, including the cash. I am 100 % satisfied by the care I received via the China Southern representative. Thank you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Frankfurt
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats were comfortable"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Auckland in economy class. T2 in Guangzhou Airport is convenient, check in to getting to boarding gate, everything went smoothly. Service is efficient. Boeing 787 cabin looked clean, seats were comfortable and there's plenty of leg room. Food fit our appetite, two choices available each meal and there's a sandwich for snack during night time. The crew service is professional and high standard. What impressed me the most was that they kept walking around the cabin while the light was dimmed, to see if someone needed water. The only thing that could be better was the WiFi since the signal was weak. But overall the experience was excellent and I would definitely go with China Southern Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Auckland
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review