China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1697 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"I have no complaints"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Phu Quoc via Guangzhou. Definitely a budget price for the ticket. For that you get poor leg room and a lumpy seat. The food is adequate but the choice of new movies is very limited. The cabin crew were very nice and helpful if required. Oddly, the seating for the shorter 3hr flight from Guangzhou to Phu Quoc had more comfortable seats with more leg room then the London to Guangzhou route. No seat back videos though. Check in online for the outward flight was ok except that there were only 2 seats left to choose from. Check in online is not available for Phu Quoc and the desk is only open from 2.5 hrs before the flight. It is possible to check in online for Guangzhou to UK. I had problems trying to choose a seat so I contacted the airline offices in London (by email) and they were very helpful. Booked my seat for me. The boarding card for the Guangzhou to UK is given to you as you pass through passport control at Guangzhou airport. ( assuming you are transiting) On the outward leg, if transiting, you do not need to fill in the landing form. Go straight to immigration and get a 30 day visa. Do not join the queue for having your photograph for a visa. If you are requiring a visa then join the queue. They take your passport, take a photo and then hand back your passport with the visa. (you pay first). If your flight arrives in the early hours of the morning the airport is very cold so keep hold of a jacket. Also, there is very little open and some food outlets only take Chinese currency. I have no complaints regarding China Southern, you get what you pay for. If you want more leg room, a better quality of food and a larger selection of movies then pay double the price for a better known airline.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Phu Quoc via Guangzhou
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"friendly and helpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Vancouver. The cabin crew were extremely friendly and helpful. There was ample leg room and seats were spacious. The bathrooms were clean and well-stocked. Great selection of in-flight entertainment. I was pleasantly surprised by how tasty the food was, with a nice mix of Asian and Western cuisines. There was a great beverage selection (including free cooled alcoholic drinks) with many services during the flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Vancouver
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"thanks to those helpful staff"

(China)

Trip Verified | Changsha to Manila via Guangzhou. I ran into a traffic jam on my way to Changsha Airport and got there only 25 minutes before the plane took off, and thought I would miss the flight. Fortunately, the staff printed my boarding pass, attached a tag "Urgent Special Guest", and took me to the green channel of security. Everything was done really quickly. Many thanks to those helpful staff.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChangsha to Manila via Guangzhou
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"entertainment system was old"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Vientiane. The inflight service was nice. The food was served with soft drinks and alcohol in economy class. But the Boeing 737 entertainment system was old, there was only one TV set for 4 rows passengers. Basically a nice trip, wondering if I could take a better plane next time.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Vientiane
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"9 seats in each row"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Toronto. Seat 42J, which is located at the middle part of the cabin, and there were 9 seats in each row. After takeoff the cabin crew started the meal service, and provided 2 selections: chicken rice and beef noodle, the rice is delicious. The cabin crew gave me slippers and also a pouch when I asked her I want to brush my teeth. At 3 hours before landing I went to the mid galley to ask for some snack, and the previous flight attendant took out some cup noodle soup and sandwiches.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Toronto
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"obviously I was satisfied"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Haikou to Adelaide via Guangzhou. I was not feeling well on that day, so decided to upgrade to business class. The cabin staff brought headphone, slipper as soon as I sat down, and orange juice and warm water. After a while I dropped my phone under the seat by accident, the one in charge of the security on the airplane he helped me, he nearly spent 30 minutes. After I woke up, staff checked if I need anything else and asked if I have any suggestions, obviously I was satisfied with the customer service, food, seat and so on. Thank you for everyone’s help!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHaikou to Adelaide via Guangzhou
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Good to meet this airline"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh city to Wuhan via Guangzhou. Boeing 737-800 was used for my two trips, which was comfortable and smooth. I received an email from China southern airlines 24 hours before the flight took off to confirm my reservation of Asian vegetarian food. Cabin crew confirmed my reservation as soon as I was settled in. I have to say that the reservation and confirmation process of special meal is very simple and easy to operate than before. Good to meet this airline and their team.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHo Chi Minh city to Wuhan via Guangzhou
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"comfortable and enjoyable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to New York. It is a pleasure to provide a strong positive feedback on my experience with China Southern on 3/5/19 Flight CZ 399 from CAN to JFK. The attendant provided very professional and effective service with great courtesy, and made the trip so comfortable and enjoyable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to New York
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"no WiFi on board"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Paris in business class.t was an A330 was a really old plane except the seat could lay down make me sleep flat. A bag fell on the other customer's head when a passenger carried his luggage. The stewards on the flight were pretty patient and efficient on resolving problems. Surprised that there was no WiFi on board, I could only spend time on watching on board entertainment system.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Paris
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service is excellent"

(France)

Trip Verified | I had a very pleasant experience, from Bangkok to Paris via Guangzhou. The flight was delayed due to the heavy rain in Guangzhou. Flight attendants were professional, warm and friendly smiles on face, one of them double confirmed my booked dinner when I sit down. I found my cell phone slipped inside the chair after landing in Paris, cabin crew called mechanics helped get it out and returned it to me. Though facilities may not the best among airlines, the service is excellent. I will consider this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 737 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Paris via Guangzhou
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review