China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1681 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Very helpful staff"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very helpful staff, the flight attendants are doing great jobs. The aircraft is on the smaller side of size compared to A350 operated by Singapore Airlines Wifi has limited connections to connect, drops off often may be due to the type of aircraft. Could do better with online shopping.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteYangzhou to Brisbane via Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"was a nice flight"

(China)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Lanzhou via Guangzhou. The staff in Amsterdam was nice and helpful. From Amsterdam to Guangzhou airplane was A330, cabin crew was friendly. The food tasted not so good. Transfer was smooth in Guangzhou. Boeing 737 for the second route,the seat was not as comfortable. But the food was local. In general, that was a nice flight.
AircraftA330 / Boeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Lanzhou via Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seat space was large"

(China)

Trip Verified | Sanya to Beijing with a Boeing 777. The seat space was large, and the cabin was clean and comfortable. The flight attendants were nice, the food was tasty. In both Sanya and Beijing we don’t have the airbridge service, hope the airport could improve their ground service. Generally speaking, that was a nice flight.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSanya to Beijing
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Cabin crew were helpful"

(China)

Trip Verified | Dhaka to Guangzhou. The staff at Dhaka Airport failed to recognize me as a silver member through the system. After I showed the electronic silver member card, they put a priority baggage label on the suitcase and gave me an invitation card to the lounge. The boarding was ontime, and the cabin crew wished Happy Chinese New Year to passengers. I sat in seat 48A, the legroom was huge and seat was comfortable. The plane was A330-300, but it didn't supply WiFi. The chicken rice onboard was delicious. Cabin crew were helpful with a smile.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Guangzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a quite nice experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Beijing via Guangzhou. From Melbourne it was A330. The food came with drink service, Chinese and Western options and the beverage selection was pretty decent. The entertainment was also quite good. Cabin crew was super nice. The seat was too firm, not very comfy as usual plane seats. Transit in Guangzhou is pleasant, the procedure is simple and the ground service saves transit passengers a lot of time. My second flight was on a Boeing 777, the seat was wider and comfortable. I was really tired and slept through the whole flight. Overall, it's a quite nice experience.
AircraftA330 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Beijing via Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it's a great experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Amsterdam via Guangzhou. Ground staff in Melbourne was nice and helpful. She told me everything about the transfer procedures I should know of and tagged my luggage straight to Amsterdam. A330 from Melbourne to Guangzhou. Flight attendants were warm and attentive. Food came in generous portion, and it was tasty. As I finished my first flight, I was surprised by the Chinese Lunar New Year atmosphere. Great decoration all around the terminal. The procedure to get into my next flight was pretty simple, but they got huge queues piling up by the border control. I think they probably should open more passages due to this special occasion. To Amsterdam, I was on a brand new A330, more comfortable and they got more advanced entertainment system. They even had in-flight WiFi, but I didn't apply on their App before the flight. The food in business class was tasty and came with the alcohol service. Overall it's a great experience, it would be greater if the price were more reasonable.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Amsterdam via Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a very pleasant journey"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Wuhan to Sydney via Guangzhou. During the connection between two flights, one of the ground staff accompanied me to the gate, due to my previous flight arrived later than expected. During the flight, the cabin crew are extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to other people. The only thing that could possibly be improved is the wifi connection, considering many planes have already been capable of wifi equipment. Overall, this is a very pleasant journey.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWuhan to Sydney via Guangzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Flights comfortable and clean"

(China)

Trip Verified | Dalian to Kansai. Flights were comfortable and clean; hassle-free; arrived and departed on time. The mini meals given were nourishing and the service was good. A gripe I would have if I had to have one was that English skills were subpar.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalian to Kansai
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Shenzhen is much worse"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Shenzhen to Singapore. The ground service of China Southern at Shenzhen is much worse than it is at Guangzhou or other regional hubs. I transferred from a domestic flight, both sectors were purchased in one ticket and were operated by the same carrier, but I was not entitled for through check-in at origin airport if transferring at Shenzhen. I had to retrieve my luggage and check-in again. What made it worse was there were many counters open but they told me I could not check-in until 2 hours before the departure. Even for transfer passengers. So I had to carry my check-in luggage wherever I went to and wait for hours before I could finally get hands-free for my second flight. The ground service at Shenzhen definitely needs improvement.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteShenzhen to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the service is good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to New York. In general the service is good. The flight attendants were trying their best to work everything out. Even though my tv screen was froze for a long time, they were trying to help me with the problem and luckily fixed it. I’ve been flying with China Southern for a long time and would love to keep flying with it in the future. Maybe notify the travelers earlier if the flight is delayed though.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to New York
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review