China Southern Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1642 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Cabin crew were friendly"

(China)

Trip Verified | I flew Sydney to Guangzhou with China Southern Airlines on 9th December 2018. As a silver member of Sky Pearl Club, I could use the departure express card to pass the security check quickly. The boarding was delayed by 20 minutes. I sat in seat 49K which was beside the emergency exit. The lavatory was clean. The inflight entertainment contain the latest films. The plane was A330-300 and it supplied free WiFi, but the speed was very slow. Cabin crew were friendly and helpful with a smile.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Guangzhou
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"attendants were quite helpful"

(China)

Trip Verified | Dalian to Beijing. Flight was good and on time, but ended with a really long shuttle bus airport tour around 25 mins before we arrived to terminal. The 50 mins trip was ok and the attendants were quite helpful. Food and drinks could be improved by a lot.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalian to Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"trip was enjoyable"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Changchun to Seoul. Seat 31H is directly after Business class and provide enough leg room. Pillows and blankets were provided on the seats. The flight attendants were friendly and helpful. They offered two main dishes, beef or fish with rice. I choose beef with rice and it was tasty. All in all, the trip was enjoyable and I will fly with them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChangchun to Seoul
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service was also excellent"

(China)

Trip Verified | Comfy seat, good food and very friendly staff from Wuhan to London on 11 Hour flight. I was not expecting much for economy class. But It turned out to be a very positive experience. The plane has comfy and clean seat and delicious food (especially braised pork rice). On board entertainment was very good, containing many films I like. The service was also excellent. All in all, if Southern Airline keeps this outstanding level of service, they will be very competitive.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWuhan to London
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a good experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Changchun. Better service since moved to T2 for both airport. First time to take a flight from Guangzhou after China Southern moved to T2, faster check-in and security check, better experience for boarding. However, it was really a long way out to the boarding gate, for anyone needs to have more time reserved. For arriving, China Southern remains in T1 in Changchun, so that the flights may have more chance to stop at the corridor bridge, really a good experience for customers. No long waiting for the baggage, almost the same time getting to the conveyor belt.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGuangzhou to Changchun
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Service friendly and very good"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Toronto via Guangzhou with a 95 minute transit time in Guangzhou. Return trip with a 3.5 hour transit time. I am very pleased with them overall. Service was friendly and very good. Food was good especially the Asian main courses. Will fly with them again for sure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Toronto via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"This flight was cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh to Paris via Guangzhou. The most terrible trip that we’ve travelled. We bought the ticket from Paris to Ho Chi Minh city in November 2018. On the depart trip from Paris to Ho Chi Minh: we lost 1 baggage and received it at home after that. On the return from Ho Chi Minh to Paris: When we arrived at the airport in Vietnam for check-in at counter, the employee of China Southern informed us that the flight from Guangzhou to Paris was cancelled, we had to stay at Guangzhou one day for the next flight. We already purchased the air ticket from Paris to Québec with Air Canada, we couldn’t not stay at Guangzhou one day. We asked them why the flight was cancelled without advance notice. They’d just explained us that: ‘’Because the flight from Guanzhou to Paris was cancelled on Oct 16th, 2018 and the system changed you into next flight on next day automatically’’. We required them to find another flight for us. We showed them our ticket with Air Canada to tell them that we couldn’t miss the flight from Paris to Québec. Finally, they found another flight for us to Paris with more connecting flight, 3 flights totally instead of 2 flights. We had no choice and accepted this option. They couldn’t print the boarding pass for us from Amsterdam – Paris since they cooperated with KLM, we had to print it at Amsterdam. When we arrived at Amsterdam airport, the next flight was after only 45 – 60 mins before boarding time. We had to run quickly in the airport with a baby to pass the customs airport/ security and find the place to print the boarding pass. Fortunately, we had arrived at the port to the airline on time. When we arrived at Paris airport, we didn’t found our 3 baggage and we come back to Canada without them. We received them at our house in Canada after 1 day. We was really disappointed why our flight from Guangzhou to Paris was cancelled without advance notice by email/ telephone? This flight was cancelled on Oct 16th, 2018, our flight was on Nov 28th, 2018; they had enough time to inform to us in advance for the solution.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Paris via Guangzhou
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"pretty good service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Shenyang to Guangzhou. Since I am a sky team elite member (China Southern will no longer be part of sky team starting in 2019), I took advantage of the perks and went to the VIP check in. Customer service checked all of my hefty luggage with no trouble at all. I was also able to rest a bit at the VIP Lounge. There’s snacks, warm food (two dishes), assorted drinks, and hot water for tea. Surprisingly there were also six massage chairs. However, everything is a big old and overused, including the toilet. This place could use a renovation. Similarly for the plane I took to Guangzhou the seats were outdated and the armrests look like they’ve been scratched for a while. There was no in-flight entertainment on this short connecting flight, which is in accordance to other shorter flights I’ve taken with China Southern. Also, no WiFi. There’s a few spelling errors in the safety instruction video. I think what the video wanted to say instead of ditching was “water-landing”. However, the customer service was amazing on this flight. There was an old couple sitting in front of me, and the air stewardesses was super attentive. They asked multiple times if the couple was warm enough, comfortable enough, had hot water, etc. The longer flight (CAN to LAX) was carried out on an Airbus, which I prefer. There was an entertainment system for each passenger, but since it is an older model, the systems did not have USB ports. Again, no WiFi. The service on this flight was a bit lackluster. Although the stewardesses were kind and polite, they failed to retrieve hot towels in time (the tables are super small), didn’t hand out refreshments timely. Lastly, I would like to comment on the meals. I am an ovo-lacto vegetarian (can eat eggs and dairy), so I ordered special meals. I had heard that China Southern upped their flight meals, and from my dad’s meals, it really did seem so. However, my special veg meals were so bland I had to splay salt and pepper all over the food. There’s a lack of variety as well. In conclusion, cheap flights, pretty good service, but still some things to improve!
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteShenyang to Los Angeles via Guangzhou
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"fantastic service and experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Sydney via Guangzhou. The experience was fantastic. Check in was smooth and quick. The flights were on time. On board the cabin crew were friendly, and helped find my seat. The seat was very comfortable, and there was plenty of leg room. The IFE was fantastic, with a great selection of movies. The meals on both flights were delicious. Overall fantastic service and experience, and will fly with China Southern again
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Guangzhou via Sydney
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"better in terms of service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Dalian to Seoul Incheon. It was a barely an hour flight and they serve a tuna sandwich, a bottle of water, yogurt and a small cup of cut fruits to everyone. China Southern is better in terms of service than other government owned airlines in China.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDalian to Seoul Incheon
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

China Southern Airlines Photos

China Southern Airlines is a state-owned airline and a member of SkyTeam alliance. Its main hub airport is Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, the airline operates more than 600 passenger aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. China Southern Airlines fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

ONBOARD DINING

First Class entrée dish

Business Class beef noodle soup

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review