China Eastern Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 637 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"They said I needed a visa"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kathmandu to Seattle via Kunming / Shanghai. I flew to Kathmandu, Nepal with China Eastern without any problems. When it was time to fly home I was denied access to my return trip home. They said I needed a visa before I can leave Nepal since my layovers in China would put me over 2hrs in China. Instead I had to rebook a one way flight home some other way. I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKathmandu to Seattle via Kunming / Shanghai
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very good experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Nanjing, very good experience. During the flight. I got sleepy and I cannot find my glasses. Cabin crew help me for finding. The cabin crew never give up when I all ready dropped. At last they find it. I quite appreciated about this. Thanks a lot for their help.
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChengdu to Nanjing
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"airline is 100% frustrating"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Francisco to Shanghai. Every aspect of my experience with this airline is 100% frustrating. I completely regret everything about this flight. Even before my flight I could see that it was a mistake to choose this horrible airline. Booking has been difficult, the website is broken. Trying to fix my ticket requires a call to customer service - which means losing hours out of your life on hold. Once I finally got through to a customer service representative, they were useless to the point of idiocy. Thanks to their broken website and miserable CSR's, I was unable to select my own seat, resulting in my entire family being spread around the aircraft, my children sitting alone in center seats between two strangers. My family checked four bags. One of which was lost and another was broken. I haven't filled out a claim form yet for the lost bag, but I already know that the customer service team is staffed by subhuman, uncaring scumbags. Judging from other people's comments, I will never see my luggage again. This lost bag has had a pretty bad effect on my vacation. My children are crying. Thank you for nothing, China Eastern Airlines, you pile of garbage.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Shanghai
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"very pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Male via Shanghai. I was a bit skeptical of flying China Eastern but I will have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. The crews on all four flights where great. While their English wasn't top notch it was better than my Chinese so have to give them points for that. Service was decent if a bit more subtle than say CX or SG. Food was on par with US international long haul in business, but did notice the crew tended to not give the non-Chinese passengers the Chinese snack option. After the second flight I realized this and ordered the Wonton Soup as my snack on the remaining two. The seats where fine, again on par with standard long haul business even if the cabin was a bit warm. Couldn't figure out how to get the WiFi to work and yes we did register prior to boarding with their app. We did the 144-hour transit Visa and spent a couple days in Shanghai before heading to Male. Was laid out in easy to follow signage. On the return we did a longer layover and the Lounge in the new terminal was good. It did tend to get crowded in waves over the course of our 6 hours there. My only gripe was none of the showers where operational because “new and water no good yet”. But all in all, have to say it was certainly worth the money and would fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 777 / A330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Male via Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"absolutely no customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shanghai to London. Awful experience. Rude staff with absolutely no customer service. Food inedible. Poor choice of films for such a long flight. Only saving grace there was adequate leg room. It would seem that there is no customer service training given or the staff simple do not care. I would not recommend this airline
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to London
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Service was excellent"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Shanghai. Check in was efficient. Nice new plane. Welcome on board was standard for business class travel. Seats and beds were very good. Service was excellent throughout, as was the food. I ordered fillet steak - a good test, it was delicious, pink in the middle. No issues at all, so I am surprised by negative reviews. IFE was a disappointment for a UK passenger.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGatwick to Shanghai
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Rude staff. Poor service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Vancouver via Shanghai. Ever get that feeling when you realize that you are a fool for making a certain purchase? That's China Eastern Airlines. Horrible food. Rude staff. Poor service. Uncomfortable Seats. It's like they take pride in giving awful service. The only good thing I can say is the seats were cheap but having said that, you will get much better value paying more for any other airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Vancouver via Shanghai
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight delayed due to weather"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shenyang to Shanghai. I was scheduled to fly to Shanghai on 9.6 at 1:15pm. The airline informed us that our flight was delayed due to weather (typhoon Lingling). We didn’t get on board until 2:30pm. After getting on board, the captain announced that we didn’t get permission to take off from PVG due to weather issue. However, there were 4 other flights to PVG scheduled to take off between 12:00pm and 3:00pm, all of which were able to take off before 4pm, including one flight with Shanghai airline, which is owned by China eastern. I would have no problem with being delayed. However, flights scheduled to take off before and after our flight were able to take off, and some even took off right after the announcement from the captain. I am questioning the real reason that we are getting delayed. Also the in flight meal is plain as usual.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShenyang to Shanghai
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airline ever"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Shanghai. The worst airline ever, the customer service is very, very bad, they cancel flights as they like, and often they sell your seat in the plane to someone else and they tell you that you are late for the flight and the plane is then at the airport, the worst thing I've ever met was Shanghai Airport. Neither respect the mother nor the child. They keep us in China for five days with my twin children without apologizing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Shanghai
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"not that good"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Wuhan to Taiyuan. The experience was not that good. It is a mid-night red eye flight, however, the cabin is so noisy and none of cabin crew come out to maintain the order. The snack means just a pack of peanuts.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWuhan to Taiyuan
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no