China Eastern Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 693 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“lack of flexibility and understanding”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I'm deeply disappointed by the lack of assistance and understanding from China Eastern Airlines regarding my recent booking for flights to Turkey. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, I was unable to obtain a visa for my trip. Despite my efforts to cancel the flights in a timely manner, I have encountered significant obstacles in obtaining a refund from China Eastern Airlines. The lack of flexibility and understanding during this difficult situation has been extremely frustrating. As a loyal customer, I expected better customer service and support from China Eastern Airlines. It's disheartening to see a lack of empathy and willingness to accommodate customers facing genuine issues. I urge China Eastern Airlines to reconsider their refund policies and provide better support to customers facing unforeseen circumstances beyond their control. I hope that in the future, they will prioritise customer satisfaction and provide more flexible solutions in similar situations.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“no responsibility for they own mistakes”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I purchased a ticket premium economy, they swap the aircraft from Shanghai to Rome and no premium economy available anymore. No communication to advise that no premium economy available, no effort was made to upgrade to business, no responsibility for they own mistakes and poor communication.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSydney to Rome via Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst Business Class"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The worst Business Class I have ever taken. Lack of space for leg just like Economy Class. Without clean enough. The table was broke (and caused a glass of cola was poured on my clothes). Food was also bad (vegetables were too salty and fried chicken were really tasteless but not crispy). 去上海辦點事,沒想到刷新了我對公務艙的認知下限,WUH天河-PVG浦東-HKG赤臘角,武漢MU國內出發休息室都比較小,麵也沒有以前的好吃了,機上居然沒有歡迎飲品和毛巾(跟後面比都是小問題)?MU在PVG的國際休息室也沒有那麼高品質,食物都不太行,就麵還算行?飛香港的飛機同樣是737-800,公務艙只有小臂那麼長的地方放腿,而且飛機保養根本沒做吧,衛生方面也很不乾淨,小桌板一拉就歪,可樂直接潑身上了,只能說飛機維護了,但只維護了一點點。。屬於是花公務的錢去坐了超經?毫不客氣的說,超經除了寬度比不上,其它樣樣爆打。而且PVG不是MU基地嘛,機餐只能用慘烈來形容,一餐中最好吃的是水果⋯⋯主菜的炸雞和配菜幾乎沒味道,炸雞外皮還是軟的,冷菜卻齁鹹,米飯是硬邦邦的,加熱好的蒜香法棍卻是軟塌塌的⋯⋯以敝人淺薄的旅行經驗來說,這次的公務艙是所有國內國際航線最差的,無論是MU自己,還是國內外其它航司,前一程WUH-PVG相同的機型737-800都比它好太多太多。。
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWuhan to Hong Kong via Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely shameless"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Lanzhou airport is an absolute disaster for non Chinese speaking international Traveller as nobody speaks English. China Eastern is suppose to depart from terminal 2, but my check in counter could not be found as my flight did not appear on the flight departure screens. Information counter staff unable to help. I found the counter finally in a remote corner of terminal 1. Check in had to be done via Google translate, no Lounge available. I received one cup of water throughout this almost 4h flight. No food, nothing! Budget carrier are offering food for sale, but China Eastern offers nothing on a 4h international flight; absolutely shameless. Never again!
AircraftA320 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLanzhou to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"staff with very limited command of English"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Check in at Bangkok airport swift and friendly. Boarding well organised. Seats on the rather worn aircraft not very comfy, but ok legroom. Food not very good. Service was decent, but staff with very limited command of English. Flight departed on time, and arrived 20 minutes early.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Lanzhou
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

“This is the worst airline I have flown”

(Australia)

Not Verified | This is the worst airline I have flown with. They cram everyone in the back section and there is a whole middle section empty but they won't let you move. The food is inedible and you can't even get a glass of wine on a 12 hour flight. The movies are very old.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Shanghai
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"food and beverage very bad quality"

(China)

Trip Verified | No inflight entertainment updated, food and beverage very bad quality and no fresh products. Plane got redirected to a different airport per 4 hours, not much help or extra food from the airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Shanghai
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Attendants wasn't quite helpful"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The Flight Attendants wasn't quite helpful. The ticket is quite acceptable for RMB $4114 for 4 People including 1 children. The food is good, it includes snacks, main course, dessert and juice. The seats is comfortable although the seat haven't include a TV and the seats headphone jack is broken.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Shenzhen
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

“New aircraft both ways”

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | New aircraft both ways, meal service - cold box. Pretty bad on incoming leg, very good Japanese bento on incoming. No additional drinks but bottle of water, no IFE.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Fukuoka
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

“It was quite disappointing”

(Singapore)

Not Verified | It was not a very good flight. I flew MU 543 from Shanghai Pudong to Singapore Changi on the overnight flight. It was quite disappointing. First the aircraft arrived from Singapore was late which was still ok. But the product is very old. The touch-screens are not functioning and had to use the console to control it. There was no headphones given and the service was very limited. The departure time was delayed and even the flight next to us pushed back first even though our departure time is earlier. This is quite a disappointing for a full service airline to provide such a service.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Pudong to Singapore Changi
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no