China Eastern Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 699 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“staff are unpleasant”

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Without a doubt, the worst company I have ever seen in my life, the staff are unpleasant and with no willingness to help you. I don't know how they can continue working with the terrible service they offer, in my case was with an airline official at the Bangkok airport. If they are not willing to serve their customers, customers who have paid a lot of money for their tickets, let them go do something else. The company moves at the pace of the type of client it has. My opinion for them is 0. I will never fly with this company again, before flying with them again, I will walk.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Madrid via Shanghai
Date FlownJuly 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I have ever flown"

(China)

Trip Verified | This is my review of China Eastern Airlines. I was late for the first stop of my three-day vacation, causing me to miss my connecting flight. The offer was to stay in the hotel until the next day and then fly to another city, arriving at the destination at 11:30pm. This way I would lose 2 out of 3 days. I had to book another flight to my destination and they also canceled my return ticket. I had to buy another ticket to go home. Basically, I had to buy 3 tickets to stay in the city of my choice for 3 days. It cost me 3 times the money. China Eastern Airlines is required to refund the last leg and round-trip air tickets. They will refund a small portion of the tickets. Worst airline I have ever flown. Be careful with their connecting flights 这是我对中国东方航空公司的评论。为期三天的假期,第一站迟到,导致我错过了转机航班。报价是在酒店住到第二天,然后飞往另一个城市,晚上11:30飞往目的地。这样我就会失去3天中的2天。我不得不预订另一班飞往目的地的航班,他们也取消了我的回程机票。我必须再买一张票才能回家。基本上,我必须买3张票,在我选择的城市呆3天。它花了我3倍的钱。要求中国东方航空公司退还最后一站和往返机票。他们会退还一小部分门票。我坐过的最烂的航空公司。小心他们的转机航班
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHangzhou to Phnom Penh via Kunming
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Be careful of their connecting flights”

(China)

Not Verified | This is my comment on China Eastern Airlines. During the three-day holiday, I was late for the first stop, causing me to miss the connecting flight. The offer is to stay at the hotel until the next day, then fly to another city, and fly to the destination at 11:30 p.m. In this way, I will lose 2 out of 3 days. I had to book another flight to my destination, and they also cancelled my return ticket. I have to buy another ticket to go home. Basically, I have to buy 3 tickets and stay in the city of my choice for 3 days. It cost me three times as much. China Eastern Airlines is required to refund the last stop and round-trip tickets. They will refund a small part of the tickets. The worst airline I've ever taken. Be careful of their connecting flights.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHangzhou to Phnom Penh via Kunming
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They should be shut down"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Zero customer service. Requesting wheelchair assistance is an absolute nightmare. They promise you it will be provided but then leave you high and dry. All phone numbers provided reach only Chinese speaking staff who play a recorded message which is of zero help. I have travelled the world and have never dealt with so much incompetence in my life. Countless phone calls, emails and online form submissions get left unanswered. Frustrating to say the least. Never will I fly with China Eastern Airlines again. They should be shut down.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Budapest via Shanghai
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"look forward to flying with them again"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Economy return from Hong Kong to London via Shanghai. All flights departed and arrived on time, planes were very clean and comfortable, with plenty of legroom and recline and compared favorably to other airlines I have taken between the UK and HK over the years. The biggest surprise for me was the tasty food, which was plentiful and the excellent, friendly cabin crews on the four flights. The food was above average to good and much better than the last two European carriers I flew with. The cabin crew were polite, impeccably mannered, hardworking, and on the last leg between Shanghai and HK, the kept reminding everyone on the tannoy that the significant turbulence was nothing to worry about. They were so calming for the nervous flyers and it really helped my wife. There aren't many movies on the entertainment system compared to the hundreds that other airlines have, but I enjoyed watching a couple of flicks I had not seen before as well as fabulous episodes of All Creatures Great and Small on the tv section. The airline flies over Russia, so flight time is currently faster than most carriers. Transit in Shanghai is efficient, though it is true that security there is stricter than most transit cities. But it has to be done. I'll look forward to flying with them again.
AircraftA320/A332/A321 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Hong Kong via Shanghai
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"So disorganised in the 21st century"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The plane had mechanical issues and the flight was cancelled. Still spent 3 hours on the plane whilst we watched our luggage being offloaded. Only to be served food so that by the time we got off the plane the airport was closed and all systems were shut off. We finally got out of the airport on a bus at 5am, 8 and a half hours later. Why so long for such a small number of people. So disorganised in the 21st century. The team acted like this was the first time it had ever occurred and had no idea what to do. Would i travel with them again - not willing to take the risk.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to London via Shanghai
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“lack of flexibility and understanding”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I'm deeply disappointed by the lack of assistance and understanding from China Eastern Airlines regarding my recent booking for flights to Turkey. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, I was unable to obtain a visa for my trip. Despite my efforts to cancel the flights in a timely manner, I have encountered significant obstacles in obtaining a refund from China Eastern Airlines. The lack of flexibility and understanding during this difficult situation has been extremely frustrating. As a loyal customer, I expected better customer service and support from China Eastern Airlines. It's disheartening to see a lack of empathy and willingness to accommodate customers facing genuine issues. I urge China Eastern Airlines to reconsider their refund policies and provide better support to customers facing unforeseen circumstances beyond their control. I hope that in the future, they will prioritise customer satisfaction and provide more flexible solutions in similar situations.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAdelaide to Istanbul
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“no responsibility for they own mistakes”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I purchased a ticket premium economy, they swap the aircraft from Shanghai to Rome and no premium economy available anymore. No communication to advise that no premium economy available, no effort was made to upgrade to business, no responsibility for they own mistakes and poor communication.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSydney to Rome via Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst Business Class"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The worst Business Class I have ever taken. Lack of space for leg just like Economy Class. Without clean enough. The table was broke (and caused a glass of cola was poured on my clothes). Food was also bad (vegetables were too salty and fried chicken were really tasteless but not crispy). 去上海辦點事,沒想到刷新了我對公務艙的認知下限,WUH天河-PVG浦東-HKG赤臘角,武漢MU國內出發休息室都比較小,麵也沒有以前的好吃了,機上居然沒有歡迎飲品和毛巾(跟後面比都是小問題)?MU在PVG的國際休息室也沒有那麼高品質,食物都不太行,就麵還算行?飛香港的飛機同樣是737-800,公務艙只有小臂那麼長的地方放腿,而且飛機保養根本沒做吧,衛生方面也很不乾淨,小桌板一拉就歪,可樂直接潑身上了,只能說飛機維護了,但只維護了一點點。。屬於是花公務的錢去坐了超經?毫不客氣的說,超經除了寬度比不上,其它樣樣爆打。而且PVG不是MU基地嘛,機餐只能用慘烈來形容,一餐中最好吃的是水果⋯⋯主菜的炸雞和配菜幾乎沒味道,炸雞外皮還是軟的,冷菜卻齁鹹,米飯是硬邦邦的,加熱好的蒜香法棍卻是軟塌塌的⋯⋯以敝人淺薄的旅行經驗來說,這次的公務艙是所有國內國際航線最差的,無論是MU自己,還是國內外其它航司,前一程WUH-PVG相同的機型737-800都比它好太多太多。。
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWuhan to Hong Kong via Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely shameless"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Lanzhou airport is an absolute disaster for non Chinese speaking international Traveller as nobody speaks English. China Eastern is suppose to depart from terminal 2, but my check in counter could not be found as my flight did not appear on the flight departure screens. Information counter staff unable to help. I found the counter finally in a remote corner of terminal 1. Check in had to be done via Google translate, no Lounge available. I received one cup of water throughout this almost 4h flight. No food, nothing! Budget carrier are offering food for sale, but China Eastern offers nothing on a 4h international flight; absolutely shameless. Never again!
AircraftA320 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLanzhou to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no