Wizz Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 548 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst experience ever"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Warsaw to Tel Aviv. This was the worst experience ever. I fly with low cost airlines but this was the worst ever. First the line for check in was never ending and reason was due to their policy to try and charge everyone with every possible extra. It also resulted in a delay in departure. No matter what you do they will find a way to charge you. On the plane itself the chairs cannot be reclined at all. You want a glass of water, forget about it , you must buy a bottle. I wrote to WIzzair customer service and received an answer that is defending their policy. If possible I would not fly with this terrible company in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWarsaw to Tel Aviv
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Budapest to Barcelona. This was the worst experience. At check in i paid for the express service called Wizz Express priority pass, at that point i was told the luggage i have can be taken with me on the plane. At boarding we were greeted by staff which seemed to inspect each and every travelers carry on luggage by having them put it in a compartment to measure and if it doesn't fit they force you to pay 70 euro to have it checked in. My luggage did fit and i continued to hand over by boarding pass & head outside to the plane. A moment later he tells the guy at the counter not to take my pass & calls me back and says go pay 70 euro to check in your luggage. I explained look how it fits, after 5 minutes trying to get an understanding he pulls out a tape measure and claims that the height is almost a half of centimeter too tall. To sum it all up after explaining him what i paid for he told me to dispute the charge i have paid for in the airport. He sent me to pay the 70 euro.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Barcelona
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"pay for any seat on the plane"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Budapest to Bucharest. Our difficulties started long before we went to the airport. I noticed at home when I reviewed our ticketing information was that no seats were assigned. So I went online and discovered that to select seats you had to pay for any seat on the plane. Since it was only a bit over an hour flight we decided to let them randomly select our seats even if the three of us, including our 12 year old daughter, were not seated together. A few days before the flight I again went online and attempted to check in. The first section of check-in covered two items: the need to pay to have even one bag checked in (at the rate of $50 per bag) and their rule that there was no guarantee that you could even take one carry-on unless you were willing to pay $6 Euros per passenger for a pass - which supposedly also allowed you to board early. Since we had three bags to check-in and three bags to carry-on I paid over $170 online in order to avoid paying a higher price (as noted in the online check out info) at the airport. The next section of the online check in asked me to select our seats - again at a price. Already upset at the outrageous check-in bag cost I opted not to select a seat and the web site booted me out. I assumed I would just check-in at the airport counter and find out what seats were assigned to us by the airlines. Imagine our surprise when we were informed by the clerk at the counter that we had failed to complete the check-in process and therefore he could not issue tickets. He directed us to another Wizz Air counter down the hall where we were told that our failure to complete the online check-in process would cost us 40 Euro per passenger (120 Euros total) - we had no other option but to pay the 120 Euros. We then returned to the ticket counter and finished checking in. When we arrived at the gate we discovered that the $6 Euro pass we had purchased for each of us allowed us to board early - ya, right, on the bus which then took us to the plane. We stood in the bus for over 30 minutes waiting to be taken to the plane. Once the bus arrived it was a mad house getting off the bus and trying to board the plane. We noticed that most of the other passengers had brought not one but two carry-ons with them. We could have avoided paying the $50/bag cost of checking in our three bags. Nothing but scams on the Wizz Air website. When we arrived in Bucharest we discovered that our large checked-in bag had one of its four wheels removed. We filed a damage claim and are waiting for the results of that request.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Bucharest
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Please do better than this"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Copenhagen. I am travelling light with no luggage as i prefer not to wait at the luggage belt after landing. I have been trying to check in 5-6 times online from different devices and got an error every time meeting a 404 page/ page does not exist. When checking in in the airport I was charged because of this which is totally wizz air problem. Moreover, when waiting to get on the plane a blue tag was put on my hand luggage with a comment about that this was required. When entering the plane the the bag was taken away and put in the luggage compartment in the back of the plane. This is unacceptable as laptop electronic devices etc was in this back. I had to take these out to bring them into the plane without any protection. Please do better than this and follow your own set of rules
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Copenhagen
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"technical problem in software"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Brussels to Skopje. Printing boarding passes without seat reservation for outbound flight is not possible. This is due to a technical problem in the Wizz Air software for “check-in” (clicking on the button “check-in”, my display gets darkened without any message and nothing happens anymore). I created a complaint because I had to pay 75€ fee at the Brussels Charleroi. Wizz Air answered "that the page www.wizzair.com works properly and is constantly monitored by Wizz Air IT department and we have not recently made a note of irregularities and they did not accept my complaint. I think there is indeed no problem with printing boarding passes when you take a seat reservation and you when you pay for it (but this is not possible).
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Skopje
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"without info and rude manners"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Barcelona, this was the usual Wizz Air story. First the "print yourself boarding card" or otherwise you pay 30€/person and way! Of course that's not told til you purchase the ticket. They know many people won't have a printer in hand or simply will not know so. Unfortunately for them now they had to offer online checking instead, but they make you regret of it as you have to work feeling endless camps (only left asking where our mothers work for each passenger). I avoided that but then comes the flight. Flight got delayed as when boarding people was unboarded without info and rude manners on some ground personnel. In the end over 2 hours delay due to technical problems (but it could be whatever) When boarding with our baby (9 months) although we carry a Yoyo/Baby Grace babycar and its specifically for flying on cabin (that's why we bought it and even in other lowcost never posed problems) after a long discussion they made us to put it down as usual luggage. The senior cabin crew didn't have any idea of her job about this. Sits can not be bended even 1cm. But I will be fair and say I had other low cost with less space for legs (which doesnt mean here you had more than just enough to survive being 185cm. No Wizz Air if you don't have any other choice (it was our case).
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Barcelona
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"space to spread out"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Poznan to Luton. A 6.30 am flight from Poznan, which was not full. Check and Boarding was good. Plenty of space to spread out. All bags brought on board were stowed quickly. The flight was the usual low cost that lasted less than 2 hours. The cabin crew was efficient and there was no hard selling of services and products. Arrival in Luton was OK and the bags were slow to emerge onto the belt. Spent 30 minutes after passport control waiting for them.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePoznan to Luton
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the normal bus like service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Luton to Katowice. Wizz air check in efficient, priority boarding worked well. However the flight was very full and the usual overhead locker rage happened as to many cabin bags came on board. The gate staff did not enforce airline policy. This delayed the departure by around 20 minutes. Other than that the flight was the normal bus like service. Air hostess were pleasant and professional. Arriving in Poland was straight forward and bags soon appeared.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLuton to Katowice
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"don't remember a flight on time"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Budapest to Luton. While on holiday I got an automated text from Wizz Air saying my flight had been changed and I would have got an email with my new flight details. There was no email, and my account showed I was still on the same flight. Looking on Facebook, a lot of people had this issue and Wizz Air admitted (on Facebook, where not many people would check) that the text was sent in error. This is after lots of people (according to their comments on Facebook) spent lots of money calling their premium number to check what happened to their flight (many waiting upwards of half an hour and many not even getting through!). I do wonder if that text was to encourage people to call the premium number for some extra revenue. My plane was the one I booked, albeit an hour late. As usual, Priority passengers had their passports checked and were allowed down to the shuttle bus to the plane. All other passengers (including me) were next. I was on the same bus as the Priority passengers (who were separated from us with a red cordon on the bus) and there were a few other buses behind us also going from the gate to the plane. We waited, standing, on the bus for over half an hour before it took us to the plane. What's worse (not for me, but for the Priority passengers) is the other buses left before us so ours actually got to the plane second last! Priority were the first to the bus and amongst the last on the plane. Aside from being fast-tracked through security at Budapest (which had no queue anyway), I saw no evidence of Priority adding anything. Once on the plane, staff were nice and obliging, and the plane was clean. Food is expensive but you can bring your own from the airport. Tea is 2.5 Euros but you can ask for extra hot water for free. The pilot gave detailed information on the route and weather. The boarding process is very painful and I don't remember a single Wizz Air flight being on time (and I have flown with them several times). However, their tickets are the cheapest out there, this is the reason I will keep using them.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Luton
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seems as if this is a scam"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was caught by WizzAir's online check-in scam. I was charged 140 euro for my family to check in at the airport. I was not sent an email providing me with a link to check-in online or instructions on how to do it. I showed all of the emails that the airline sent me to the staff at the check-in counter and they confirmed that this was not sent to me. I was told by the staff that I actually needed their app to check in. This was not communicated when I bought the ticket. This wasn't just a problem with my family, as there was at least 17 other passengers on my flight who also had to pay the 35 euro per passenger fee to check-in. It seems as if this is a scam: tell passengers that they need to check-in online but providing them without a way to do so without using their app.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Sofia
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no