Malindo Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 148 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"you get what you pay for"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Perth to Perth via Kuala Lumpur, Colombo and Delhi. It is a budget airline and it does it very well and you get what you pay for. Had 4 international flights in all between 21/10/17 and 9/11/2017, on time every time. To compare business class is like Qantas domestic business class, though Malindo International far cheaper than Qantas Domestic. I have not been to Antarctica but have flown to all other continents BC including 1st Class to UK return and have never been able to sleep on the plane until I flew with Malindo and unfortunately I was awoken on 3 of the 4 flights to be asked if I wanted something to eat - no I didn't, I was asleep because I was tired, please do not wake a sleeping passenger unless it is to adjust seat position for landing/takeoff. Have absolutely no problems with Malindo Air.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePerth to Perth via Kuala Lumpur, Colombo and Delhi
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Service was pretty good"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Trivandrum. Flew Malindo for the first time, from KUL-TRV and then TRZ back to KUL. Check-in was seamless. Both flight legs were smooth and comfortable. Ample legroom in economy class. Service was pretty good as well. Food served was above average. Being a hybrid carrier, you get a pretty decent return for the price.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Trivandrum
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the staff is not empathetic"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Bali via Kuala Lumpur. My flight was late and the staff is not empathetic. They do not care about the consumer and are only worried about passing on the work to someone else. Food is horrendous. Connecting flights a big no no, since original flights gets delayed all the time one tends to miss connecting flight as well. Then one had to pay additional to book another flight. Inflight entertainment is one of the worst I have seen on international planes. No new movies or TV shows.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Bali via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"one of the best in leg room"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I think there are mixed reviews on here because of the various routes, but the Brisbane - Denpasar route with Malindo Air is exceptional. For a low cost: 30kg for bags, free seat allocation (48 hours before departure), free video entertainment, one of the best in leg room, free pillow and blanket, free headphone, free drink, free meal (and you can ask for another if hungry). USB port for charging. Plus good times to fly, not too early, not too late. Nice staff.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Denpasar
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very rude and frustrating"

(United States)

Verified Review | Singapore to Mumbai via Kuala Lumpur. Absolutely horrible experience. At the Singapore check-in, they required us to show proof of payment by showing the credit card the tickets were bought with. Allegedly, this was required as stated on their website (although I afterwards did not find a mention of this on their website, Terms & Conditions, or on our e-tickets). However, my credit card number had changed a few months before. We tried to explain but they did not accept this. I called my bank and let them speak directly to the representative, but they would only accept "paper proof". In any case, we had to buy new tickets, which they said would get refunded. Overall, the staff was very rude and frustrating. Now, after months of emails and calls (with extremely delayed responses on their side), we still have not received a refund for the extra tickets. Customer care does not seem to know what they are doing. They say they are willing to refund the tickets, but we just never get the money. Our flight was delayed without any explanation or notice from Malindo Air in Singapore, and our bags were temporarily lost in transition at Kuala Lumpur. We did get them back after a few days and some confusing calls though.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Mumbai via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"did not inform flight was delayed"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | Dhaka to Bali via Kuala Lumpur. We were supposed to leave at 11pm and ended up leaving at 2am. The ground staff who issued the boarding pass did not inform us flight was delayed. On top of that, the staff changed our connection to 4pm in place of the original connection at 7:45am, without even asking us! There was another 9am connection which they could not give as apparently they had to full book that due to other delayed flights.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Bali via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"warm, attentive crew "

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Penang. A pleasant contrast to flying Malaysia Airlines. Near new Boeing 738 with sky interior and gate to gate PTV entertainment (own earphones). Spacious seats and warm, attentive crew in elegant kebaya uniform. Crew very good despite a packed plane on hari merdeka (independence day) long weekend. Wasn't sure about flying Malindo Air because it's owned by Lion Air of Indonesia (has bad reputation) but glad I did give them a go. I see they fly to Brisbane from one of their hubs (Denpasar). Would fly them more if they continued the Brisbane flight to Auckland.Or flew direct. Like Copa Airlines of Panama they are one of those little carriers that in my experience have carved themselves a niche and really try hard.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Penang
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"no in-flight entertainment"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Hanoi via Kuala Lumpur. No blankets were provided on the flight to Kuala Lumpur. The flight was delayed and on 27th August took off only after another flight of Malindo (also from Delhi-KL) flight that was meant to take off much later than this flight. I shivered and there was no in-flight entertainment. Overall harrowing 5.30 hours on Malindo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Hanoi via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"experience is sheer horror"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Penang to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur. On our way to Bali, Malindo delayed both it's flight so much, we had to stay over night in KL. They booked an airport hotel 30 km distance (!) for us, but only after 3.5 hours waiting and lots of discussing with them - our little son started to cry because he was so tired, but the staff served first the loudest screaming, pushy guys, the last who got served, were us (a family with a little child). We could not even stay 3 hours in this hotel and had to run back to the airport. They also screwed up our return flight so our experience is sheer horror with them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"your unhuman attitude"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Kuala Lumpur. Got up at 6am to be at the airport in-time. Arrived well ahead of time at the gate. At boarding time there was no boarding call. My wife asked at the desk for info. The lady confirmed: 30 minutes delay plus cleaning airplane, boarding in 45 minutes. So we went around the corner to buy some food. After 15 minutes we suddenly hear a loudspeaker: Mr. Schemberger - last call. Quite surprised we immediately ran to the gate. The lady at the desk: sorry - gate closed. "But you said 15 min ago: 45 min delay! The lady: sorry - gate closed. Staff will take 20 minutes to find your luggage and offload it. But if you simply open the door again (nozzle was still attached to the door), we will be out and up in 5 minutes - especially because you gave us false information about the delay / and no time to run back after the last call announcement. Can you re-book us to another flight. Sorry - no. Ticket now worthless. You give me 500€ and then you must bring your luggage through the entire airport, wait 4 hours till ticket office open and buy new ticket. Never got such a cheap, customer last mind-set. We hate your unhuman attitude.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no