Vote Now  

Malindo Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 115 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"really horrible experience"

(India)

Verified Review | Denpasar to Mumbai via Kuala Lumpur. The worst experience ever. The food and service were not good, quality of food was below average. There was no inflight entertainment, how could you spend the time of 5 hours? I asked for blanket to crew and they said there was no blanket. I think it was due to cheap air ticket, but it is not fair to adjust it with cuts of such facilities. It was a really horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Mumbai via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst budget airline I flew"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew from Brisbane to Bali return. It's the worst budget airline I flew. Bad food, Bad entertainment and poor time management. Very poor quality of food compared to other budget airlines. The Hollywood section only had 8 movies to select from on a 6 hour flight. Even jetstar does a better selection of movies. The flight was delayed both times during departure and it was disorganised and chaotic. The cleanliness of the airplane was questionable. The blankets were not wrapped on the return flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Denpasar
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"no solution was available"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Langkawi to Singapore via Kuala Lumpur. I was flying with my wife and two kids. Arriving at the airport, the staff informed us that the flight had 1h 30 delays. I immediately told them that it will mean that we will miss our connection. After checking they told that we will take then a next day flight from Kuala Lumpur. As many options were available from alternative company to go to Singapore, I told them that it was not possible for our family to go to Singapore the next day as I will have missed a business flight that I had to take on the monday and the kids had some exam at school. After discussing 30 minutes, they came back telling us that the plane will wait for us in KL. Guess what, arriving at the plane was gone and they proposed us the original option which was to stay 20KM away from the airport in a small hotel and take the next day flight. I again complained and ask them to book us on flight from KL to singapore as 5 flights were still available. They told me to wait for their manager which I did, but this busy person only came after one hour to inform me that no solution was available. This waiting time has prevented me to take a flight on my own and then claim it via insurance. So if you have the opportunity to take this company and you have a transfer, run away.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLangkawi to Singapore via KL
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will cost me way more than I saved"

(United States)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur. I fly tomorrow, but already this has been the worst experience flying to date. Malindo Air changed my flight from the 18th to the 16th with a two day layover in KL. After spending an hour on the phone (which I paid for) they changed my flight to a one day layover and offered to book a hotel room for me near the airport. I never recieved the hotel confirmation. When I call back they say they have no record of me calling. (I have called over 7 times to date). When I ask to speak to a supervisor I am told he is in a meeting. One girl forgot to mute herself and I could hear her talking to the supervisor and him telling her today he was in a meeting. The other thing they do is promise to resolve the problem but they say they have to call you back - and then they never do. That has happened four times now. It's madness. Also since changing my flight the first and second time, they have continued to change it more times - 2 or 3 now. I can't keep track. I am supposed to be flying tomorrow but I keep constantly checking my email to see of it has changed. I had to cut my holiday short and come back to Chiang Mai a day early because the change to the 16th but now that I'm here they have moved it to the 18th. I cannot book a hotel room in advance for KL or Bali bacause I don't actually know what day I will be there. It's really horrible and to top it off they are so rude on the phone. Horrible. I do not recommend this airline. It was the cheapest flight, but now because I cannot pre book my rooms and also leaving my friends to travel back two days early has and will cost me way more than I saved. Not to mention all the sim cards to call them over and over.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"if you can handle uncertainty"

(India)

Verified Review | So we took the flight on 1st April from Mumbai to Denpasar via Kuala Lumpur return. On both days the flight was late by 3 hours. Cannot be a coincidence! On our way to Denpasar the staff at the airport was even unable to confirm if we can make it to the connecting flight since the layover was just 2.5 hours and the flight was late by 3 hours so your travel with this uncertainty. They just send send the passenger an email that the flight is late but they do not inform the airport. This happened both the times. Best part is that in Denpasar, inspite of the flight being late, it constantly shows on time on the information boards. The food is just basic and average but at least hot. On our way from Mumbai when the flight was last for 3 hours, and we finally take off, they took more than an hour to give water and food. No blankets. Night flight and they kept the lights on the whole night. Take this flight only if you can handle uncertainty.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Mumbai via Kuala lumpur
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never fly with Malindo again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Very disappointed and will never fly with Malindo again. My luggage was severely broken and reported to Malindo office at Jakarta Airport on 5 March and was issued a Property Irregularity Report. Until today (28 March) there is no telephone call to discuss about the report. The customer service is hopeless, tried to call the KL office and Jakarta office but they are all dead. I spent all my prepaid phone card only to call their office and ended into the voice mail.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Jakarta
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"disappointment in business class"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Kuala Lumpur was a real disappointment in business class. During check in, even though 40kg was given to business class passengers they only allowed to check in 2 pieces per pax. if you have extra baggage then you have to hand carry. Once boarded, found out that the business class seat does not have any charging port and no inflight entertainment. Stewardess offered menu selection and when my companion have selected the food and I wanted the same food I was informed that only 1 is available and I have no choice to select others. And the most intriguing part is only 2 passengers on the business class section!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Great offer, patchy execution"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Kathmandu. Great offer, patchy execution. For the price they are the best I've seen. Full service essentially, with good IFE offering nice movies, TV, docos, games. But super late arrival, then sitting, waiting for ground crew who were slow. Boarding is slow, due perhaps to high proportion of inexperienced travellers. Flight good, cabin crew reasonable, food pleasant, but serving was disjointed with some rows forgotten for drinks, mains etc. Again, they've chosen an offer that is pleasantly surprising - very good. From that point, they can get the quality and staffing levels right if they choose. I've rebooked and will observe with interest!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Kathmandu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I'm very impressed!"

(China)

Verified Review | I always thought Malindo Air was a budget airline and it was not until I boarded the aircraft that I realized it's a full service airline offering premium experience. In flight entertainment system for 1 hour flight; snacks and drinks offered as well; flight attendant nice and smiling - all in all I'm very impressed! Plus, their ticket was cheaper than some of the budget airlines even. I will definitely choose Malindo Air to fly to Malaysia in the future if the price is right.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"surprised how good this airline was"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hanoi to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur. Very surprised how good this airline was; from check in at Hanoi (sure a bit of a delay due to long queue/not enough staff at check in), newer aircraft, very pleasant and polite cabin crew, well presented, good and tasty food, entertainment and smooth landing. Sadly, great experience was ruined by their ground staff at check in in Hanoi and transit boarding gate in Kuala Lumpur. Firstly, check in staff did not informed us that we will be seated separately between KUL-JKT, how strange. Secondly, when we found out upon arrival in KL, we tried to look for your staff, it wasn't easy, they are nowhere to be found. Upon finding this the staff brushed us off, "full flight" to add insult to injury, "why didn't you check at Hanoi?" and walked off. Well, we are husband and wife travelling together on a single booking PNR, is it part of their duty of care/customer service as Low Cost Carrier to tell us that you are going to separate our seats? Or they don't teach you at Malindo Air or more importantly life, be kind, pleasant, helpful and do your job well, furthermore your job is to assist your client who directly provided you with your employment as your action reflects on the company you work for.
Aircraft737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Jakarta via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes