KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 98 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"the most uncomfortable seat"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | By far the most uncomfortable seat I have ever experienced on a long haul flight in economy class. After having paid for additional legroom I was hoping the 11 hour flight from Shanghai to Amsterdam was going to be a bearable experience, how wrong I was. Both of my two travelling colleagues all expressed at how uncomfortable the seats where with very little cushioning, the seats on my local commuter train are more comfortable. This was my first long haul flight with KLM and I would definitely not be using them again, the outbound flight with China Eastern was superb and I would highly recommend using them.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"horrible seat cushions"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | As other reviewers have remarked: horrible seat cushions and small seats. Leg room was acceptable for up to average length persons (I have had less leg room once, but that was some 40 years ago). To be fair, the price of the ticket was lowest for a direct Amsterdam - Tokyo flight so you can't expect that much. However, I would gladly pay a little bit more for seats that are not worn out to the bone. My bottom ached after only a few hours in flight, and still is sore one day later. But hey, flying for fun is not sustainable for the planet so this all helps in cutting a bad behaviour. Overall: a positive rating given the ticket price.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Absolutely terrible seat!"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Absolutely terrible seat on the Boeing 787-9! Clearly the quality of seats is the most important benchmark for mid/long haul passengers when comparing between airlines. I'm fine for the narrow seats but the seats are just so hard to sit on! My bottom was in pain only half an hour in, and even with the extra cushion found circulation getting cut off to it and also to my feet. Very disappointing experience - probably the worst seat I've had in my 120+ flights this year, and worse than in Low cost carriers/budget airlines in Asia. I paid extra for exit row (half price for Gold flyers), and that had great leg room at least. Some people complained that it's reduced by the exit door, but this is false, at least on the aircraft I flew. You could stretch way out.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"seats were comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The business class seats were comfortable but the neighbour can see whatever you are doing. I can't seem to figure out where to put my personal items. However entertainment system was pretty good with a very wide selection of movies and series.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout2x2x2
Date FlownApril 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"cushions were absolutely horrible"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The cushioning does very little actual cushioning - after a couple of hours my rear end felt like I'd been sitting on the floor forever and no matter how I positioned myself I could still feel the pain. I will not comment on the pitch or leg space, but the seat cushions were absolutely horrible.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"Smallest seats ever flown"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Smallest seats I have ever flown on an airline, domestic US or international. Seriously, if the passenger in front of you is in recline, the seat will be in your face, and you are unable to get out. If all KLM flights have this pitch, this is a dealbreaker for me in the future. This 747 was apparently not built for this configuration. Seat did not have any power.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"seats were way too cramped"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | For an international flight the Boeing 777-200 seats were way too cramped and the cushions were thin making the seats unbearable after a few hours. On the flight from JHB to Amsterdam, my poor wife spent the entire flight in a awkward sideways position because she was sat next to a large man who unintentionally took over at least 15cm of her already limited seat space. Aside from seat issues. The flight back from Amsterdam to JHB turned into what seemed like a pub party, free for all alcohol. Passengers were walking back and forth carrying wines and beers constantly with three hours remaining on the flight and the entire economy section got progressively louder as the drinks flowed. Why on earth is that allowed ? Did I miss the memo stating that was a party plane ? I strongly feel that passengers allowed to help themselves to free unlimited alcohol thousands of feet above ground is looking for trouble. Not to mention that there were small children on the flight. I was horrified to use the toilet at one stage and smelt that someone had been smoking a cigarette in there.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"impossible to find a good position"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | I have earlier used KLM om Premium Economy on an Airbus with good success, and did again on a flight from NY to AMS. It was terrible. The 747 was old and when I saw the seats I thought it was a joke. Same seats as in economy, and impossible to find a good position. No advantages what so ever on this flight in premium economy.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747
Seat Layout3-4-3
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"miracle of bad ergonomics"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The only reason I fly KLM is because this is the only airline that flies to AMS from my local airport MME. The seats are a miracle of bad ergonomics, the headrest is about 6 inches from supporting the head even in recline position. If you try and sleep with your head resting on it, you are adopting an unnatural reaching posture that eventually is too painful to withstand. KLM has gone downhill fast over the last 3 or 4 years, thank God I only use them from MME to AMS, an hours flight. We used to fly MME, AMS, SIN, DPS, back in the day, about 14 hours on a good day! The seats are pretty much the same as short haul so we binned KLM and now use Emirates. KLM is now a budget airline without budget prices.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeEmbraer 175
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"like sitting on a concrete plinth"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | If you’re thinking of upgrading to economy comfort on KLM’s new Boeing 787-9 think carefully if it’s legroom you’re after then if you want to spend €95 for leg room ok. If it’s comfort you’re after then think again. The seats are the narrow lightweight Recaro seats that they’ve fitted in their 777’s nonpadding, Solid really uncomfortable. It’s like sitting on a concrete plinth. 7 hrs of hell The inflight entertainment is good and cabin mood lighting etc - but the seats are far from being a dream in fact more a nightmare.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 98 Reviews