KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1582 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"crew was great and very helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The first leg of this trip was in a 737 with the usual awful European standard Business Class. That is an economy seat with the middle of three left vacant. A boxed meal was provided and two drinks on this 1-hour journey. The main flight was on a 787-10. On both legs, the crew was great and very helpful and the Jamco “Venture” business class seats are arranged in a 1-2-1 reverse herringbone layout. Roomy with good privacy, and direct aisle access. In bed mode, they are roomy as you can lower the armrest on the aisle side. The blanket is a bit thin, to be honest and the one pillow is too soft and pretty small. The food on board on our return flight took me by surprise. Airlines have a big problem as far as catering is concerned. The first is that at altitude, our taste buds change and almost everything is bland. The second is that airline meals are prepared in huge factories and reheated in the galley before service. Often the result is either hard and overdone or overdone and mushy. I was therefore amazed to be given my breakfast choice of Shakshuka with a poached egg and find the white perfectly set and first-class runny yolk! Wow! That egg had been cooked, speed chilled, packed into a trolley, stored for over seven hours, and reheated before service. On long haul, KLM offers passengers in business a Delpht Pottery house filled with Dutch Gin. There are over a hundred of these to choose from and each cottage is numbered. Very collectible. All the houses are based on real buildings in the Netherlands.
AircraftB787-10
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Los Angeles via Amsterdam
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Never any honest smile"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew Amsterdam to Bangkok 5th Feb. 2024 as a partial result of a rerouting by Kenya Airways. Ticket issued by KLM and paid by Kenya Airways. Came from Nairobi by Kenya Airways. Transfer in Amsterdam was in a narrow timeslot, but bearable and fairly fast: no immigration checks transiting as both destinations are non-Schengen. Only security consumed time. Boarding effective. Huge, spacious, B777-300, fully loaded with passengers. Lounge 52 in non-Schengen terminal is spacious and good as always. Noisy aircraft. Got an acceptable seat. On time. The issue with KLM is the poor onboard catering and drink service. And, the surly, patronising, despotic, and arrogant staff. Passengers are de facto humiliated and treated like pigs in a pigstall. Nothing is allowed, seatbelts always on as to minimise their work. Nothing extra given or special provided for anybody. There is no recognition of frequent flyer status, even elite passengers. KLM need to up their game and renew the ageing stewardesses, though it seems too late. Hardly any drink rounds and always disallowed to order two drinks while finally being addressed. On a 10 hours flight we were offered meals only 2 times. First drink round was after 3 hours since take-off, way after the first meal service elapsed. Food of low quality and without any true options. Breakfast inedible. IFE OK, WiFi must be paid for; internet works with some hiccups, though. Call bells not answered and even if so, you are getting a rude, cold attitude slammed in your face so you regret to have called them, as anything appears to be too much of a trouble. The crew despise their clients and elite fliers are not getting any premium. The staff appear consistently to be Dutch and and respect for passengers is far, far away. Never any honest smile, no charm, no joy, no jokes to break the ice. KLM has a long way to go compared with its colleagues on Kenya Airways and Air France.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bangkok
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

“excellent from start till finish”

(Luxembourg)

Trip Verified | What to say, just excellent from start till finish. We enjoyed every minute, not a single complaint. Staff welcoming always courteous and listening. Seats comfortable, menu well balanced + choice between 3 different dishes, aperitif, wine and digestif. Ice cream, sweet or salty bits during the flight, drinks. Entertainement system modern, large selection of programs & movies. Wifi was available but we did not try it. Thank you KLM, we'll be back.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLuxembourg to Cancun via Amsterdam
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

“uncooperative, incompetent and rude agent”

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Delayed more than 3 hours on a long distance flight (over 3500km). The flight attendants who spoke the local language did not even on one occasion say sorry from the beginning till the end of the flight. Applied for a compensation. Now I’m arguing with a very uncooperative, incompetent and rude agent from their customer service who tries to reduce my compensation by 50%. I am still requesting to quote the legal basis for the reduction. His reaction: “I’m going to give you a 50% compensation, so give me your bank account info. Until then I’ll keep sending you an automatic reminder”. After all this experience I am seriously considering not using Air France - KLM ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Seoul
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

“should be prohibited from separating families”

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | I realised in December 2023 that KLM uses an algorithm that deliberately separates families in seating arrangements in order to charge them at least 50 euros each to sit together. This practice of separating families (even with same surnames) in order to extort money from them is immoral and should be contrary to regulations for the airline industry. We faced this on the trip from Brussels to Port of Spain (POS) and from POS to Amsterdam (AMS). And to my amazement, KLM even charges 50 euros for people to sit next to each other EVEN in row 41 next to the stinky toilets. I have heard about airlines looking for new revenue streams but this is ridiculous. Furthermore, these were tickets that each cost 800 euros more than they did 2 years previously for the same trip, even though they were bought as early as August! Another issue is KLM has no information on the ingredients in the meals that they serve on board. I asked for this and flight attendants did not know; and when I asked them to check with the information supplied by the caterer they said that there was no such information on the flight. When I tackled the Purser about this, he claimed that they have information on all their meals on a database but after several minutes of searching that database, he was embarrassed and had to admit he could not tell me what was in the meal I had which was simply labelled vegetarian. I find this unacceptable because European law is very strict about labelling regulations concerning the ingredients in food sold anywhere in Europe. So, how come European airlines break the law when they are in the air? I found the same thing with Lufthansa on flights from Brussels to Nairobi and return last week. KLM also claims on its site that one can take a carry-on and another small bag (handbag, computer bag, etc.) on board; but it then sends emails to travellers saying that the cabin may be full and you should check your handbag. A very rude Swissport woman insisted that we check in our carry-ons in Brussels but I refused. She then insisted that I check at least 1 bag and made a rude comment in Dutch about me in a sarcastic tone. I would appreciate comments and feedback on these observations, particularly the first. I fundamentally believe that airlines should be prohibited from separating families when a booking is made by 1 person and then charging them extortionate fees to allow families to sit together. And ALL airlines MUST have information about the ingredients in all the meals they serve on all flights. This can be simply done by requesting that caterers provide this with all meals supplied. British Airways has this information on all flights I usually fly. So, I cannot see why other airlines do not have this.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrussels, Belgium to Port of Spain, Trinidad via St Maarten
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"we have rejected your refund request"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Booked premier economy, twice upgraded to business, as the first attempt kept me in the same premier economy seat according to the system. Both times I did receive receive a confirmation I booked business. Arrived at the airport and was told that due to a change of plane I was downgraded from Premier Economy to Economy. Clearly, none of the two paid upgrades was registered in their systems. Money taken though, once through credit card, once through a Dutch bank. So what was supposed to be a relaxed business class flight ended in 12+ hours economy. On the 31st of December. Staff at airport very friendly and understanding, but this was a ‘software glitch’ and nothing they could do as plane fully booked. Ok, software issue, happens. Staff in the plane professional and friendly as well. I received an email from KLM I would get refunded 75% of the value of the ticket coupon in Premium Comfort Class due to the downgrade. I received another email stating I would receive the fare difference between economy and premier economy. So thats not the same. I requested through their website a refund of the double paid business class upgrade. It was rejected ‘we have rejected your refund request, as your document has been fully used, according to our systems. “ Yes, in economy although paid twice for business. So far still no refund, not for the upgrade to business class, not for the downgrade from premier to economy. The staff on the airport and in the plane is great, it’s the systems and online customer service that doesn’t seem to function well. Thanks for a lousy start of the year. Be careful booking upgrades, seems their systems can’t handle it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Aingapore
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“told they don't give credits”

(Canada)

Not Verified | After calling to confirm I could take my dog on a flight. I booked the flight 2 weeks later online. Then to register my dog for the flight I was then told the flight doesn't take dogs. Business class ticket totally unusable now. Asked for credit, was told they don't give credits since covid. Then asked for refund or to be able to transfer to family member told not possible. I'm now out 1700$ for a mistake made by a klm agent with no recourse other than to sue in small claims. Will never ever book or use klm again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCalgary to Faro via Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

“Service by FA's was impeccable”

(United States)

Not Verified | Ground experience was good. Although the "Sky Priority" security check was not yet opened BC our flight was very early in the morning. The Lounge was the most inviting and unique in its environment. GREAT Business class layout. Although not an ‘enclosed' space but the layout keeps your space very much hidden from others in vicinity. Service by FA's was impeccable. Food quality excellent and frequency of meals was very adequate. Perhaps the most outstanding feature was the tableware such as plates, silverware, cups, etc. They were the most unique part of the meal and food presentation. IMO it's the business class offering in the European Flag carriers.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"flight attendants were very kind"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This review will be a little long because there is a story to tell to get the full experience. I went to italy after finally settling my divorce after 2 years. I went to be with a friend who after 4 of the 7 days ditched me. Mind you she was my translator and lived in italy and my guide around the city. So when she left on day 4 I was left to figure things out on my own. Mean less to say things only got worse. I tripped and fell on day 5, smashed my glasses into my eye cut my face up around my eye bled really bad and walked 2.5 km back to apartment with no help. Few days later i get on this flight back home.. i was so ready to go home, bruised and battered literally by life and my vacation and was expecting nothing but the worse of a flight back home. To my surprise i got on flight DL9418 on January 18th @ 06:30 am local time and it was very pleasant. The plane was nicer than the one i arrived in. I sat in my seat and it was very spacious and the pilot got us in the air quickly. Then here is where i think KLM stepped up from other flights i have been on. Including over delta. The two flight attendants were very kind. Most people avoided me with a cut up eye and bruised eye. I am 6'3 and about 280 lbs. So i am sure i am little intimidating and with a cut and bruised eye i understand. But these ladies were very concerned about my well being and if i had a good trip. Keep in mind i am not anything special. I am below average guy so it was genuine concern and care these ladies had. The brunette was very sweet and came back with a special meal and said i brought this for you. Also made sure i had drinks throughout the flight and wanted to make sure at least one thing went well on my trip. And i must say, she succeeded. Even as i left she wished me well as i left. In a week of failures, i at least felt good for few hours in the one day and i would suggest to anyone flying from BLQ to AMS to try to give KLM a try as the service I had that day was exceptional. If they provide this service across the board, they will continue to have great success and I will be glad to tell me story to others. For the money i spent that week and the bad week i had, the 2 hour flight made everything seem not as bad as it once was. Thank you KLM and thank you to the two flight attendants that day.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBologna to Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

“my last time taking KLM”

(United States)

Not Verified | KLM is one of the worst experiences I have ever had. 1) Staff very unfriendly, I was running a lot to catch a flight at a change over and got it at the last minute. When I got onboard I asked for some water as I am getting a cough, but the flight attendant simply said, they cant provide any service until the flight takes off. I was surprised to hear that and told them my situation, he refused again, I had to get out of my seat to ask another attendant and he gave me the water. 2) Very old planes: all flights are very old and no new technology. Old seats, old screen. I felt like I was sitting on rock on these seats and was very uncomfortable. All old movies and they don't even work, if it stuck while playing you can’t do anything. 3) Bad food: there is no second option for food. You have to eat what they give you. No selection. 4) Seat reclining: Even after you complete your meals and everyone is ready to sleep, I had to request the passenger sitting behind me to check if he is okay to recline my seat. He simply refused and said he was watching a movie. I called the flight attendant again to let him know, again, he simply said I have to resolve that with the other passenger and he cant do anything. This is my last time taking KLM, don't use this airline unless you get a real good deal, pay few more dollars and take any other flight but not KLM.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Houston via Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no