American Airlines

Seat Reviews


3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 100 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"at check in we were separated"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am unhappy that despite speaking to a rep twice to ensure my family would be seated together, at check in we were separated. The worker at the gate could not have cared less. The airline does kit know anyone’s medical or immune status. Given Covid they should make lite if an effort to respect requests and if not, there is no need to be rude.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"about average performance"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew many times with American Airline and majority of the time I flew Business or First Class. So I sort of knew what kind of service I will get. I also had flown other major airlines and American Airline Business Class in general is about average performance I don't recall any unfavorable experiences. What I experienced with AA Flight 700 from SFO-PHL on March 7th 2020 was absolutely deserve recognition due to Flight attendant Suzy. She showed warmth, customer service with focus on solution. After I settled down I first switched seat with fellow passenger in order to be seated in the center Isle with my husband. A while later Suzy came to take the food choice and she apologize for only oatmeal left. Suzy saw my hesitation, quickly said she will try to see what she can do, she eventually found a ham and egg tray with a lot of fruits. After I finish the meal I decide to lay flat for a while and realized the seat will not move or recline. She came to apologize and offer me some miles compensation without me asking for it. My experience with Suzy had a direct comparison with my husband's flight attendant. It was night and day. My husband also got an oatmeal breakfast, but it was coldly announced to him without apology and no other interaction during the 5 hours flight. In contrast Suzy walk along the isle to fill my hot water, very attentive. Suzy needs to be recognized.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"seat is one of the smallest"

(United States)

Not Verified | The pitch of the Boeing 777-300 seat is one of the smallest in the industry. I am 6 feet tall, 190 lbs. and both my shoulders exceeded the width of the seat. Outrageous given the average size of US passengers.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"horrible seats for a long haul flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | The Boeing 787 has horrible seats for a long haul flight. I'm six feet tall and the headrest didn't come up beyond my upper back. 9 hours with no place to rest my head. I've never had that probably on a Delta flight.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"a poor all around design"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The seat shapes do not work well with the average body. It forces you into a semi-hunched position that really hurts your back. The height of the seat back is way too short; I’m 5-8” and my head is above the seat. The head back doesn’t raise enough to meet my head. I’ve had to put a coat behind my back to sit me upright correctly. The seat is also so high, you can’t see out of the windows. The only saving grace is the padding is nice. Just a poor all around design.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"very comfortable and wide"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The First Class seat on American Airlines Boeing 777-300 is unique in that it swivels and has a device for maneuvering the seat with pre-set setting or you can choose. The armrests can be lowered which makes the seat in the lie flat position (prepared by the flight attendants) very comfortable and wide - easy for sleeping. A very good and comfortable design.
Seat TypeFirst Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"fully upright, little padding"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible, fully upright, little padding. Plan to rub elbows with your neighbors, literally. And if the back row is open, but occupied by flight attendants, do not expect that they will be willing to share their own little piece of breathing space - they won’t.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"seat family members apart "

(United States)

Trip Verified | The photo speaks for itself. That is seat 31A. To add insult upon injury when American Airlines sells a ticket to a family unit that a single reservation they say the rule is “we will assign seats at check in” but they actually mean (but do not tell you before you buy the fare) “we will intentionally seat family members as apart from each other as we can on for no reason other than to create an artificial demand for extra cost seats to sit with your husband or elderly parent at the gate and we may but do not really have to make an exception for kids.” My husband was assigned 20B. Appalling that they can get away with that. Service mediocre as usual otherwise.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 738-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible seats. Middle and window seats have a metal panel under the seats that is about the width of a shoe and thus reduces foot space by that amount. Passengers are forced to cram their feet into the remaining tiny space, which is difficult or impossible, depending on the size of your personal item. I could not fit my small bag under the seat unless it was on my feet or my feet were on it. I strongly recommend against American whenever another option is available unless there is a very large price difference.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Wider seats, ample leg room"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew Dallas to Rome in Premium Economy. Huge difference compare to main cabin. Wider seats, ample leg room, foot rest. Meals were served 3 times, on real plates with silverware, alcohol included. Nice Cole Haan pack with toothpaste, toothbrush, socks, eye mask, lotion, lip balm and ear plugs. Good earphones. Nice size tv screen, with nice selection. Food was def better than main cabin. Seat reclined nicely, pillow was bigger (first time ever i fell asleep on the plane).toilets are in the main cabin, no toilets for premium. Overall, very good experience.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 100 Reviews