American Airlines

Seat Reviews


3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 98 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"seat is one of the smallest"

(United States)

Not Verified | The pitch of the Boeing 777-300 seat is one of the smallest in the industry. I am 6 feet tall, 190 lbs. and both my shoulders exceeded the width of the seat. Outrageous given the average size of US passengers.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"horrible seats for a long haul flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | The Boeing 787 has horrible seats for a long haul flight. I'm six feet tall and the headrest didn't come up beyond my upper back. 9 hours with no place to rest my head. I've never had that probably on a Delta flight.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"a poor all around design"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The seat shapes do not work well with the average body. It forces you into a semi-hunched position that really hurts your back. The height of the seat back is way too short; I’m 5-8” and my head is above the seat. The head back doesn’t raise enough to meet my head. I’ve had to put a coat behind my back to sit me upright correctly. The seat is also so high, you can’t see out of the windows. The only saving grace is the padding is nice. Just a poor all around design.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"very comfortable and wide"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The First Class seat on American Airlines Boeing 777-300 is unique in that it swivels and has a device for maneuvering the seat with pre-set setting or you can choose. The armrests can be lowered which makes the seat in the lie flat position (prepared by the flight attendants) very comfortable and wide - easy for sleeping. A very good and comfortable design.
Seat TypeFirst Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"fully upright, little padding"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible, fully upright, little padding. Plan to rub elbows with your neighbors, literally. And if the back row is open, but occupied by flight attendants, do not expect that they will be willing to share their own little piece of breathing space - they won’t.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"seat family members apart "

(United States)

Trip Verified | The photo speaks for itself. That is seat 31A. To add insult upon injury when American Airlines sells a ticket to a family unit that a single reservation they say the rule is “we will assign seats at check in” but they actually mean (but do not tell you before you buy the fare) “we will intentionally seat family members as apart from each other as we can on for no reason other than to create an artificial demand for extra cost seats to sit with your husband or elderly parent at the gate and we may but do not really have to make an exception for kids.” My husband was assigned 20B. Appalling that they can get away with that. Service mediocre as usual otherwise.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 738-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible seats. Middle and window seats have a metal panel under the seats that is about the width of a shoe and thus reduces foot space by that amount. Passengers are forced to cram their feet into the remaining tiny space, which is difficult or impossible, depending on the size of your personal item. I could not fit my small bag under the seat unless it was on my feet or my feet were on it. I strongly recommend against American whenever another option is available unless there is a very large price difference.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Wider seats, ample leg room"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew Dallas to Rome in Premium Economy. Huge difference compare to main cabin. Wider seats, ample leg room, foot rest. Meals were served 3 times, on real plates with silverware, alcohol included. Nice Cole Haan pack with toothpaste, toothbrush, socks, eye mask, lotion, lip balm and ear plugs. Good earphones. Nice size tv screen, with nice selection. Food was def better than main cabin. Seat reclined nicely, pillow was bigger (first time ever i fell asleep on the plane).toilets are in the main cabin, no toilets for premium. Overall, very good experience.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Android devices stuck with no options"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew from Portland Oregon to Dallas Texas on May 15th, 2018. The airline offered free entertainment if I used my own electronic device (cell phone or tablet). However, I was not able to download American Airlines in-flight Entertainment app on the airplane, and I was left with no option for entertainment on a 4-Hour flight. The stewardess also was unable to access the entertainment option on her device. I was very frustrated and American Airlines needs to fix this for all passengers. It seems those with iPhones have an easy ride, but those Android devices are stuck with no options. Also, I was disgusted to see the stewardess serve the three ladies seated in front of me 2 full bottles of wine (750 ml each) They were able to purchase each large bottle of wine for $8 each, and they got pretty drunk on the plane. They were loud and obnoxious. I don't understand how they can sell individual size bottles of wine for $8, and yet these ladies were able to purchase 2 entire bottles for the same price. The stewardess should be reprimanded for this, as it was very irresponsible on her part and unfair to all the other passengers who paid a fair price for individual drinks.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Seats were the worst"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Sat all the way in the back. Seats were the worst I have ever sat in on any flight. They didn’t recline back but rather leaned your body uncomfortably forward. Never will fly with American again.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeCRJ900
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 98 Reviews