American Airlines

Seat Reviews


3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 105 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Limited legroom for economy seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | Seat 19C. Limited legroom for the economy seats. Wifi was ok but kicked me off more than once. The amount of recline seems to be about 10-15 degrees. Person in from of me reclined and almost caught my iPad. Width was normal for an economy seat. The seat was clean.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeCRJ-900
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

American Airlines customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | The seats are confusing. They do not match the outside row. 22 window seats match to 21 center row. Several people sat in the wrong seat — me too. Also center row seats E & G straddle a bar supporting the seat in front. So my underseat bag was placed weirdly, partly on my neighbors feet. The seats are narrower than the seats in my first leg of this trip. Otherwise its airy and as is customary - a half pinky finger biscuit with a beverage. Service is excellent!
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJune 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"smallest width seats possible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Literally the smallest width seats possible. Sitting in the seat and the arm rest can't even go fully down. I'm 6'2", 220lbs. The oppression next to me weighs more and has an even wider hip span. We are sitting on top of each other to fit in the seats.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeEmbraer RJ145
Seat Layout1x2
Date FlownJune 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid AA at all costs"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miserable staff, poor customer service, and constant delays without communication to customers. No one seems to know anything. The plane was clean, but old. The wifi did not work. Avoid AA at all costs.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"just not a very good seat!"

(United States)

Not Verified | On my flight from PHL to BOS, I got a seat that was old. It was uncomfortable, with hard armrest, small tables, no IFE or power, fixed headrest, and minimal recline. It was just not a very good seat! At least the legroom was decent!
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-700
Seat Layout3-3
Date FlownJune 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
3/10

"at check in we were separated"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am unhappy that despite speaking to a rep twice to ensure my family would be seated together, at check in we were separated. The worker at the gate could not have cared less. The airline does kit know anyone’s medical or immune status. Given Covid they should make lite if an effort to respect requests and if not, there is no need to be rude.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"about average performance"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew many times with American Airline and majority of the time I flew Business or First Class. So I sort of knew what kind of service I will get. I also had flown other major airlines and American Airline Business Class in general is about average performance I don't recall any unfavorable experiences. What I experienced with AA Flight 700 from SFO-PHL on March 7th 2020 was absolutely deserve recognition due to Flight attendant Suzy. She showed warmth, customer service with focus on solution. After I settled down I first switched seat with fellow passenger in order to be seated in the center Isle with my husband. A while later Suzy came to take the food choice and she apologize for only oatmeal left. Suzy saw my hesitation, quickly said she will try to see what she can do, she eventually found a ham and egg tray with a lot of fruits. After I finish the meal I decide to lay flat for a while and realized the seat will not move or recline. She came to apologize and offer me some miles compensation without me asking for it. My experience with Suzy had a direct comparison with my husband's flight attendant. It was night and day. My husband also got an oatmeal breakfast, but it was coldly announced to him without apology and no other interaction during the 5 hours flight. In contrast Suzy walk along the isle to fill my hot water, very attentive. Suzy needs to be recognized.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout1x2x1
Date FlownMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerLeisure
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"seat is one of the smallest"

(United States)

Not Verified | The pitch of the Boeing 777-300 seat is one of the smallest in the industry. I am 6 feet tall, 190 lbs. and both my shoulders exceeded the width of the seat. Outrageous given the average size of US passengers.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"horrible seats for a long haul flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | The Boeing 787 has horrible seats for a long haul flight. I'm six feet tall and the headrest didn't come up beyond my upper back. 9 hours with no place to rest my head. I've never had that probably on a Delta flight.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"a poor all around design"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The seat shapes do not work well with the average body. It forces you into a semi-hunched position that really hurts your back. The height of the seat back is way too short; I’m 5-8” and my head is above the seat. The head back doesn’t raise enough to meet my head. I’ve had to put a coat behind my back to sit me upright correctly. The seat is also so high, you can’t see out of the windows. The only saving grace is the padding is nice. Just a poor all around design.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no