American Airlines

Seat Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 92 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"Wider seats, ample leg room"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew Dallas to Rome in Premium Economy. Huge difference compare to main cabin. Wider seats, ample leg room, foot rest. Meals were served 3 times, on real plates with silverware, alcohol included. Nice Cole Haan pack with toothpaste, toothbrush, socks, eye mask, lotion, lip balm and ear plugs. Good earphones. Nice size tv screen, with nice selection. Food was def better than main cabin. Seat reclined nicely, pillow was bigger (first time ever i fell asleep on the plane).toilets are in the main cabin, no toilets for premium. Overall, very good experience.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2018
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Android devices stuck with no options"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew from Portland Oregon to Dallas Texas on May 15th, 2018. The airline offered free entertainment if I used my own electronic device (cell phone or tablet). However, I was not able to download American Airlines in-flight Entertainment app on the airplane, and I was left with no option for entertainment on a 4-Hour flight. The stewardess also was unable to access the entertainment option on her device. I was very frustrated and American Airlines needs to fix this for all passengers. It seems those with iPhones have an easy ride, but those Android devices are stuck with no options. Also, I was disgusted to see the stewardess serve the three ladies seated in front of me 2 full bottles of wine (750 ml each) They were able to purchase each large bottle of wine for $8 each, and they got pretty drunk on the plane. They were loud and obnoxious. I don't understand how they can sell individual size bottles of wine for $8, and yet these ladies were able to purchase 2 entire bottles for the same price. The stewardess should be reprimanded for this, as it was very irresponsible on her part and unfair to all the other passengers who paid a fair price for individual drinks.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2018
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Seats were the worst"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Sat all the way in the back. Seats were the worst I have ever sat in on any flight. They didn’t recline back but rather leaned your body uncomfortably forward. Never will fly with American again.
Aircraft TypeCRJ900
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownMay 2018
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

American Airlines customer review

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sat in row 22 seat A. Luckily there was only two seats taken on our row because it would have been unbearable for 8 hours flying from LHR to ORD with 3 people in a row that cramped! I can honestly say that it is the most cramped economy class I’ve flown in to date (and I fly a lot) The food was ok, cabin crew were rude and officious on that particular flight, I think some cabin crew forget they are just waitresses and waiters and develop a heightened sense of self importance and they seem to forget that the passengers on that plane have paid a contribution into their pay packets. The 787 is a beautiful plane though, you do notice the difference when you land, as there is more humidity in the cabin you don’t dry out, and it’s pressurised to a lower altitude. It’s the quietist plane I’ve been on (quieter than an A380) we had very strong turbulence over Greenland but the flex in the wings soak up most of the upwards and downward shift in air flow. I’ve flown with AA about 8 times now and I’ve not had a bad landing. All in it was a good flight and I would recommend them but try the 787 by all means but be prepared for a smaller amount of leg space than all the other long haul planes in the AA fleet.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2018
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"no way to be comfortable"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was seated in 9B, a premium economy seat on the Boeing 757. Fortunately, I did not pay extra for the premium economy seat because I'm a permanent platinum frequent flyer on American. Had I actually paid extra, I would be really mad. The flight was overnight from Kona, HI to Phoenix, AZ, a six hour flight. Even though the seat was premium economy, it was pure torture all the way. I'm 5'7" tall, but I had no more than 6" legroom in front of my knees, probably less. There was absolutely no way to be comfortable for the entire six hours. And now I read American is reducing the economy class seat pitch even further. American's coach seating should be considered an international human rights violation.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 757
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownDecember 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"seat was extremely uncomfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew on this A321 on a 4 hour flight from Seattle to Dallas fort Worth. New A321 with sharklets and the refurbished cabin (non transcon version). IFE forced you to watch two 30 second ads before starting your movie or tv show, good selection of movies but limited selection of tv shows and they only had 4 episodes each. Spent most of my time on the moving map, service was average at best, Biscoff cookies and pretzels and a soft drink, if you want food you have to pay. AC ports and USB ports at each seat was definitely a huge plus. Recline was ok but since I was in 21A in front of a lavatory my seat would hit the wall. When fully upright seat was extremely uncomfortable, legroom was very dismal and the person in front reclined the whole flight. Flight Attendants didn't seem very interested and were just going through the motions, they didn't seem to genuinely enjoy what they were doing. Landing in Dallas Fort Worth almost killed me because there was a giant thunderstorm going on outside which tossed the plane around and made for a very hard landing.
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJuly 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"horrible small tiny seat"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Never ever again American Airlines for me. Flight from Philadelphia to Amsterdam, a horrible small tiny seat on the Boeing 757. 7 hour flight with 1 hour wait before taking off. That's 8 hours with my knees all locked up against the seat in front of me. Absolutely no room to move. I am 190cm tall. (6 feet 2 inches). Very small isle in middle. Plane is old and very loud. No entertainment system. just small screens in the ceiling which I could not see because the screen was too far away and 30% of the screen was blocked by overhead compartments. Temperature was one minute cold, next minute way too hot. The food was terrible. It was dry, had no taste and it had way too much salt in it. The table in front of me was broken but luckily the spot was so tiny that the table rested on my knees so it didn't really matter (lol) I will never fly with American Airlines again unless they replace these old planes with something modern.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 757
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"uncomfortable airline seat"

(United States)

Verified Review | A most uncomfortable airline seat in this Boeing 757-200 for international flight. Very thin seats with no reclining pitch when in reclining position. Pretty non-existant. No Outlets, no TVs, antiquated video monitors very far away, couldn't even see what was being shown. Terrible third-rate food and the attitude of the flight attendants was pretty much dismissive. Inadequate toilet facilities for hundreds of people, one toilet wouldn't flush properly due to too much use. Will never fly American again if possible
Aircraft TypeBoeing 757-200
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"overlapped my seat by 6"

(United States)

Verified Review | In a row that has seats that barely fit the average person I was seated next to a 6'5", 230lbs man. He was a nice person but overlapped my seat by 6", I was forced to sit sideways for 12 hours. I had an aisle seat and every time a cart passed it bumped me.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJuly 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"experience has been horrific"

(United States)

Verified Review | My partner and I booked a flight through Orbitz with American Airlines, including the long flight Dallas Ft Worth to Madrid. After purchasing the flights for $3500, we contacted American Airlines to make sure that we were sitting together on the flight. When we called American Airlines, the lady stated she could not help us and that we needed to log into the American Airlines and gave us a "record locater" number. We logged into this site to realize that American Airlines had every single aisle and window seat blocked off as a paid seat - meaning there was no way for us to sit with each other without paying several hundred per each leg of the trip. American Airlines is trying to force us to pay $600 extra just to set next to each other on the $3500 trip we already purchased. Our experience has been horrific before even showing up! What a scam!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJuly 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
no
1 to 10 of 92 Reviews