American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2531 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"our bags did not arrive"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Baltimore with my 6 month old baby and my mother in law for an event. Had a good flight. Plane left in time and we got there on time. Sadly enough our bags did not arrive. My baby’s food (which at the airport they won’t let me carry in my hand luggage), diapers, bath, clothes etc I was mad frustrated because the attendants were not help matters. They asked me to buy and mail receipts for refund. My bag only came next day at noon. When I mail the receipts it took forever. I started calling to find out it was from one excuse to another. Some customer service said the file has been closed. Thank God for one staff who took my case personal and helped out. She is the best specialist for central baggage.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Baltimore
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed by ground service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nashville to New York. I’m highly disappointed by the ground service of American Airlines. I had to check in and drop luggage at the front. I waited in line for 15 min then agent asked to go to the kiosk and print boarding passes and bag tags. (Isn’t that suppose to be their only job in first place to get us checked in?). Anyways I went to kiosk (another line), waited there for another 15-20 min. Finally I started to check in and it didn’t allow me. I asked for help and guess what I had to go to the another counter, and another queue. Those two old ladies were the slowest people on earth, didn’t had any clue how to handle computer, they had to ask for help for every customer and took them at least 5 mins to address each customer. I had to wait for another 15-20 min. I was very anxious by now as I had a flight in less than 45 min and had to go through security and all. Finally I managed to get my bags checked in, she didn’t make it any easy, I had to take off few items as I my bags were overweight by 1 freaking pound. She started to give me lecture on how it can make flight imbalance and all. I was gonna ask what do you do about 400 pounds people? Do you ask them to distribute their weight across flight? Anyway god bless bna security people, I cleared security check in less than 15 min and was able to make to the flight in time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNashville to New York
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no more American Airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Miami seat 13A. Premium Economy Seats on the Boeing 777 are located in a very small area about 21/24 seats next to the business class. Seats are great, service is excellent except for the lavatories. PE passengers are not allowed to use the business class bathroom in any circumstances. The flight attendants treat the 21/24 premium passengers like they were not human beings that have spent much more money to have the comfort they need and make them to walk about 60 rows in a very narrow aisle completely packed of people and stay in a endless line to use a very dirt and super small lavatory which is really a challenge and return to their seats at PE that means walk back 60 rows in a very narrow aisle with a lot of people standing. I have been traveling in a PE at Virgin Atlantic and also in Air France where PE passengers are treated as a priority class. Next time no more American Airlines, there is better service out there!
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMadrid to Miami
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"leave you hanging dry"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Norfolk to Dallas Ft Worth. Overall experience as far as customer service at the counter, flight attendants, comfort, and flight was good. But when something goes wrong they go to their little policies and leave you hanging dry. My flight got canceled due to weather no obviously that’s out of their control which I completely understand, but then they book me to another flight in less then 24 hours to the same city where it currently is snowing at the time and where the weather channel is reporting heavy snow for the next few days. When they basically say that this is the only next available flight we obviously take it, but it also gets canceled. I’ve traveled with Allegiant and have had flights canceled due to weather, but they provided a hotel and even vouchers for our next flight. So we got stuck for two days paid hotel, food, and also missed work for two days. I guess every airline has a different policy, just some are better than others.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNorfolk to Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"closed the door as I walked up"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Springfield to Albuquerque via Dallas Ft Worth. Flew American today and I am so happy that I regularly fly Southwest!! My flight was delayed because of a ground hold, arrived late into Dallas, was told to ‘run’ to the gate to get my connection and they closed the door as I walked up. I’m then put on another flight, in a coach seat, even though I paid for extra legroom and get to board last. Thanks for your attention to detail American and for taking great care of your customers. Like they even care?
AircraftE175
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSpringfield to Albuquerque via Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"how unimportant the customer is"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Lauderdale to Philadelphia. The plane turned around very quickly to accommodate connections in PHL. I appreciate the captains concern. To make this turnaround happen, no food was put on the plane and minimum clean up was done. I paid full fare first class. Nothing but 2,000 points offered. I should have been refunded my fare down to a full coach fare. I will do my best to not fly American and to let the world know how unimportant the customer is to AA.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Philadelphia
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"luggage left at a previous airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Salt Lake City to Morelia. Very disappointed in our recent flight with my family. The flight never told us we might not get our luggage due to the passenger weight. When we arrived at our destination after a very long 23hours of traveling we go get our luggage and they tell us and about 10 more passengers from the same flight that our luggage had been left at a previous airport! Very frustrating we have been on our trip for 4 days now and our luggage is still not here. I have been calling our landing airport to see if they have them yet and they tell me we need to call our airline. We have had to spend more money now buying clothes since we don't have our luggage. I can’t get through to them and it seems as they don’t care about making their flight passengers happy. This is definitely the last time we fly this Airline. Let’s see how long it takes to get our luggage.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Morelia
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"pleasant customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Wayne to Charlotte. What helpful and pleasant customer service associates. I purchased a non refundable ticket 10 days before the hurricane hit North Carolina in September. American Airlines was kind enough to offer me a travel voucher. I booked for November and then my grandfather died and yet again American Airlines gave me a travel voucher. Above and beyond I love the direct flight from FWA to CLT! And now on will purchase travel insurance
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteFt Wayne to Charlotte
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer be damned philosophy"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Salt Lake City. My wife and I were to catch AA flt 6036 to LAX leaving at 11:59. Before 8:00 AM we got an E-Mail from AA saying the flight was on time. At 9:00 AM the baggage agent told us the flight was 20 minutes delayed. The inbound aircraft never left the ground! We were told at about 12:00 that the flight had been canceled but there was plenty of room on flt 3401 leaving at 2:30 PM (too late to catch the ship). The gate attendant knew that the flight had been canceled but waited until all competitive flights had left before the announcement. This was a clear case of canceling a lightly booked flight and consolidating it with a later flight to save money. A classic case of AA's "customer be damned" business philosophy. Never again with AA
AircraftCRJ700
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Salt Lake City
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they did not have my meal"

(United States)

Not Verified | I paid for and flew first class from Cedar Rapids to Las Vegas on American Airlines on November 23 2018. On the DFW leg of the flight I had reserved a meal for this flight. Everyone in first class was served drinks and a meal before me. I thought it was rather strange, but I didn't say anything. After everyone had eaten the attendant told me that they did not have my meal. The meal that I had pre ordered! I was then given a snack box. They told me that there was no record of me ordering the meal. Even if I had not ordered a meal I think I should have been served with the other passengers. I received 5,000 frequent Flyer miles for my trouble, wow!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteCedar Rapids to Las Vegas
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no