Air New Zealand

Seat Reviews


4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"seats narrower than your shoulders"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | My sore back lasted more than 3 days after my flight. I'm a big guy, 6'8" and built to match, though not overweight. When the seats are narrower than your shoulders you know you've made a mistake. I did the normal dance people of my height have to go through and paid the $150 fee to get myself an emergency row seat for the extra legroom. My complaint about Air New Zealand seating boils down to how narrow they are and that the headrests dig into my back even at maximum extension to the point where I cannot sit back in any kind of comfortable position without hurting my back because of it.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
4/10

"one of the worst business class"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Boeing 787-9 Seat was soft, good leg room, entertainment was good. But the shape of the foot rest made sleeping uncomfortable was i couldnt keep my feet in a good position (im 184cm) Privacy was poor. Air NZ business class seat is possibly one of the worst business class products around.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout1X2X1
Date FlownMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Sleep Comfort 12345
Sitting Comfort 12345
Seat/bed Width 12345
Seat/bed Length 12345
Seat Privacy 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"appallingly bad seat"

(Australia)

Not Verified | We flew MEL/CHC on 07 September, emergency exit seat 11E, NZ898. Without a doubt the most uncomfortable, appallingly bad seat I've had to sit on in an aircraft for as long as I can remember. The seat back seemed to angle slightly forward, the seat base slightly back and so I felt as if I was being sandwiched. I had to get up and walk during the flight and on landing all I could think was "get me off this aircraft, now!" I was in extreme lower back pain and it took me some days to recover. The return flight NZ 883 to SYD on 12 September was only minimally better, I was able to secure a small pillow but the seat again had no recline. At least I wasn't in as much pain at the end of that flight. These two experiences ensure I sadly won't be back on an NZ aircraft again in the foreseeable future in spite of their awesome crew.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"Legroom less than Singapore Airlines"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Bit disappointed but otherwise just ok. Legroom was less than Singapore Airlines but as a tall man I was able to be comfortable. Not overly happy with the food but was ok. Singapore Airlines food was better. The crew were very nice except for 1 lady who I thought was a little crabby. Entertainment was good and the electric window shade I thought was brilliant. Sometime it is too bright to look out the window but don’t want the shade down where these electronic shading was great.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"served on china plates"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | My flight in the Premium Economy cabin (seats 25A and 25B) from Hong Kong to Auckland was one of the best I have experienced. The legroom was better than the equivalent seat on Cathay Pacific the day before. The cabin crew were extremely friendly and efficient. The food was good served on china plates with metal cutlery. Lots of wines on offer, with generous top-ups. The AVOD was superb. We could use the toilets at the back of the Business Premier cabin, instead of having to go back through economy. I would fly Air New Zealand premium economy again.
Seat TypePremium Economy
Aircraft Type777-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"this worked very well for us"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This review is for the Sky Couch, which is 3 standard economy seats where the footrests are independently adjustable up to a fully horizontal level. After reading reviews on the sky couch, we were concerned that it was only appropriate for children. However, due to my wife's back issues, she needs to lay flat or on her side for any extended periods. That left us with either business or trying out the sky couch. So we risked it and flew RT SFO to Auckland and found that this worked very well for us. She was able to curl up on the two seats with footrests up while I sat in the aisle seat. We didn't attempt to both lie down. It seemed pretty tight for that. But it was good for her and a much more economical alternative to business. For complete details - she is 5'4" and I am 6'.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
3/10

"discomfort and frustration"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Been wanting to try the economy sky couch on Air New Zealand for a while now, and on this trip from San Francisco to Auckland we chose to pay an extra $600 to reserve one. Sky Couch sounds great in theory - you get special seats in a row of 3 that have fold up footrests that fill the space between your seat and the next row up. And maybe if you an an adult traveling with a child it would be a really good system. However, for two adults it is an exercise in discomfort and frustration. My partner and I are both 5' 7" and average weight, but we really struggled to find a position that was comfortable for more than a few minutes. I gave up after an hour and just sat up for the rest of the flight--between the seat belts digging into my back and the lack of leg space I was not going to get any sleep anyway. I was not happy. Bottom line: Absolutely not worth the money unless you are a very tiny couple or a single person traveling with a child.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"pure discomfort and rude staff"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Terrible seating, not much space and very cramped. Could not fit head on the backrest and every time I moved my seat back, I was told to put it back upright. No clear view of screen so could not watch movies in comfort. 12 hour flight in pure discomfort and rude staff.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3×4×3
Date FlownAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"Most uncomfortable flight ever"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Most uncomfortable flight ever, in over 50 years of travelling. I had an aisle seat. However the person next to me was so large that he was unable to fit into his own seat so spilled across the arm rest into mine. Furthermore, he was unable to put his feet under the seat in front so one of his legs was in the space in front of me. I had to endure this for over 12 hours, Providing sears not big enough and then expecting me to give up part of mine is simply unacceptable.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was very comfortable"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Flying from Hong Kong to Auckland on a 777-200 featuring Air NZ's new interior, the flight was very comfortable. Recline is enough with generous legroom. The skycouch seats also have a legrest which is fantastic. The headrest was very comfortable. Being a 3-4-3 configuration the seat width is just ample. However this means aisle space is reduced. The monitor was clear with a good selection of everything. It also included USB power.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews