Toronto Pearson Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 422 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"horrendous, unorganized airport"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I had connecting flights. On the way to Manchester I had the unfortunate opportunity to experience this horrendous, unorganized airport. The positive note, I didn't need to go to a gym to get a good workout. Speed walking through the many, mile long corridors was stressful and discouraging. All I wanted was to get a bite to eat and have a drink, and find my gate. There was a few gate changes and every time it sent me into a panicking game of hide and seek. The gates are not always clear from the signs and are hidden behind stores and the food court. The lounge was cramped and crowded, hard to maneuver around people's feet. On the way back to Winnipeg, we were herded around to line after line, and did the miles of walking. I was extremely tired to the point I could've collapsed on the floor, and very dehydrated from the flight. It felt like the herding around wouldn't end. This was also the first time I got to talk to a security agent who could see I wasn't alright but she said that it's allowable to sleep in the lounge. We were herded onto a bus, then shuttled to the next terminal, then I had to go back upstairs. The corridor was vast and when I found the lounge I thought closest to my gate I found the seats are designed to prevent people laying down on them. I tried to find a way around that but I got uncomfortable and moved to the low, metal window sill. I was desperate to sleep. I thought airports provided something for passengers on several hour layovers to kick back and have a rest. I got up with ample time before my flight and found my gate was elsewhere. It was actually in an area under renovations. Literally, people were still there at night working on the renovations with the hammering and drilling and the beeping of machines backing up. The washrooms are not as nice as Winnipeg's Richardson airport. Maybe it's an airport size issue with me. It was my first international flight. But seeing other reviews this doesn't seem the norm.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"woefully lacking in outlets"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Signage fairly clear and when you could find an employee they were helpful with directions. For an airport of this size it is woefully lacking in outlets to charge your phones etc. Gates had 1 receptacle and few and far between walking around to find one. When you have a four hour layover (which extended to 5.5) you definitely need access to charge. Most annoying issue was changing of gates, we had been warned in Vancouver that this occurred but the true hassle needs to be experienced. On our flight to Dublin, not only was craft delayed 1.5 hours but we changed gates, this consisted of a 20 minute walk, difficult with a 75 year old carrying carry-on baggage and purse. On our return flight another 4 hour layover jockeying for plug-in space, yet another gate change, gathered our sleep deprived bodies, carryons, duty free purchases and tromped with the mob to our new gate, I actually woke a poor gentleman as he had not heard the overhead, this trek was about 10 minute, but felt longer due to an already 12 hour day, only to hear the overhead, just as we arrived at the gate, tell us to return to the original gate. Much grumbling and frustration amongst all, especially all the over 65’s. Shuttle cars zipped by us repeatedly, empty with driver only and seemingly no interest in assisting people with transport. Seriously worst airport experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"more delays for travellers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The airport web site tells you that you need to get to the airport at least 3 hours prior to international flights. For 6am flights this is a total joke! United Terminal 1 kiosks and airline gates do not open until at least 3:45 and some of the kiosks cannot scan Passports - so more delays for travellers. One cannot check in for United flights via the web an more as they say for security reasons they need to scan your passport and Green card. So you have to line up at check in and cannot go straight to security. The Security line does not open until 4:30! (3:30 at terminal 3!) - and then the carry on baggage handler broke down. I have global entry so getting through US customs was easy at 4:45- But the regular line was already very long this opens at 4am. If you bring a 35mm SLR camera you will be picked out for extra screening. There is no place to sit and wait while awaiting the opening of the check in gates or the security lines. Ability to get food or drink is minimal and surprisingly hard to find. Signage is not very good and if the Airport staff see you looking around lost they don't offer to help. The most frustrating part was finding the correct times for Check in - TSA opening and CBP opening- all at disparate times it turns out
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"arrival at Toronto is chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | If your arrival at Toronto airport is as chaotic as mine, then I wish you all great luck. They've automated passport control and it all started when we were herded into the first hall where you zigzag like sardines to the automated machines. At the machines, you are taken through an exhausting list of questions before the machine spits out a piece of paper. Remember to hang onto the slip of paper it is your ticket to freedom. Now you're lulled into this false sense that you are going to go collect your luggage. Oh no. After following endless signs down long corridors you go down an elevator into a massive hall where folk who haven't had their passports processed upstairs are lined up in zigzag lines like sardines. So I ask, "where do I go?" (because I've already processed my passport upstairs in the first hall). She says line 1. So everyone whose been processed lines up like sardines (again) and zigzags through to a couple of officials who put a small mark on that bit of paper the machine spat out at you. And then you shuffle along with thousands of others to another check point where someone looks at that bit of paper and the mark which is on the paper. And I was informed by a fellow Canadian that depending upon the mark you may be pulled over and put into yet another line which ends in being interrogated. Finally, you made it into the baggage hall and your suitcase that was once on the conveyor belt, but due to the hour, it took to zigzag your way through the whole passport ordeal your luggage has been taken off the conveyor belt by some baggage handlers. But it is hiding in amongst a sea of suitcases with fellow equally seekers trying desperately to find their suitcase and its like searching for a needle in a haystack. And when you do manage to find your luggage it's wedged between dozens of other suitcases. You can't lift it out, because it's too heavy, you have to manoeuvre it like a game of Tetris til finally, I've got it out. It's on the trolley. I can escape this madness. No not so easy, you have to queue again and now you get to hand over that slip of paper you first received when you processed the passport. And then you escape.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An Embarrassment for Toronto"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | An Embarrassment for Toronto - I always hate travelling through Toronto. It is always a bad experience especially as a solo traveller. Your technology looks great but it is slow and not reliable. If you have a problem and you are struggling, the staff yell at you from behind what you should do rather than offering assistance but walking up to you to help. Furthermore, I can never find staff other than the one behind me yelping instructions because they are too lazy to walk over and help a customer. The airport signage is not clearly marked for travellers - that's not a bad thing, so long as the staff are helpful but they are not. Customs, its supposed to be random - I doubt it - solo traveller get the proctological exam - every time. The duty free is not duty free - buy the products outside of the airport - it will be cheaper. My example is with cigarettes - one brand I know only cost $50.00 however at the duty free it was $86.00. Not a good thing to do to customers - very misleading and downright bad business practices. The food was overpriced and not very good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no organisational system"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The worst airport I've ever been to, so shameful for Toronto. Whoever is in the management should be hastily replaced with someone who is there for more than just a fat paycheck. I had to ask for directions because I had no idea what I am supposed to do, I don't travel much and there is no organisational system to properly guide passengers to their gates. It's super confusing and the directional signs are misleading. I asked a young female who works at the airport for some directions and was given the attitude as I wasn't worthy enough to ask, she seemed very annoyed that I even approached her and asked for help. Her response was "You don't know where you are going?" She gave me some vague direction just to get rid of me so I just went my way and find out everything myself. Good thing I have arrived early otherwise I'd miss my flight. Not many food options at terminal 1, subway and Tim Hortons and that's it. After the security check, there are more options but they are there to only look classy and scam people. The staff at these restaurants are extremely rude and unprofessional. I am terribly dissatisfied with the operations in this airport the lack of effort and professionalism is clearly visible. This is the worst airport I've been to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"they barely employ any staff"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Even though one of the most important airports of Canada, they barely employ any staff to make the transit smooth. For the whole terminal three, from where almost all international departures are located, there were only 2 security lanes open, one for priority and other one as regular. They have such expensive machines, but only for show, and this was during rush hour time. They have placed hundreds of ipads near terminal gates, but they are just plain useless. You cant even use it to browse anything. You can only play some games, but only after you watch 30 second ads. Complete waste of money. And if you arrive early and the check in counter is not open, then good luck. Because there not a single seat in whole terminal before security. Connecting an android phone to wi-fi, needs a computer degree. It does not connect automatically.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"An embarrassment to Toronto"

(Canada)

Not Verified | After an extremely long tiring day travelling from Dublin, Ireland, we were treated like cattle being herded and yelled at through customs. There was one woman whose directions were very difficult to understand, directing (yelling) long lines of people to machines that did not work properly. After several attempts and no help from anyone, we gave up and continued the herding process through long, slow moving lines to finally stand in front of a Customs officer. And to add insult to injury, we were required to collect baggage and go through the whole security check before connecting with our flight to Vancouver two and a half hours later! Toronto Pearson Airport is an international airport but the way we were treated as Canadian citizens was disgraceful! An embarrassment to Toronto and to Canada for that matter!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"An unpleasant experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | An unpleasant experience. Personnel are unfriendly for the most part and signage and instructions unclear. The new pre clearance machines are confusing. Better instructions are needed. Staff need to avoid yelling. Fortunately, as always, Westjet staff are a delight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport is clean and spacious"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | The airport is clean and spacious. Border crossing was swift. I waited for a few minutes for my luggage, but nothing too much. But then there was a line to go out, as we need to hand out a piece of paper when exiting. Also, the passenger pick up area is utter chaos.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes