Toronto Pearson Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 439 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff can be jaw-droppingly dismissive"

(United States)

Not Verified | I googled "Toronto airport awful" to see whether the staff and processes are really as bad as my experience with Pearson has been, and the short answer seems to be yes. The staff can be jaw-droppingly dismissive, rude, and insensitive to travelers. Travelers are pointed to lines without any signage or verbal explanations of what to expect, and the lines can long and slow-moving, with no apparent concern about passengers missing flight connections for no good or even known reason. I was in what apparently is the "immigration rejects" line, though an ordinary tourist simply in transit between a flight in from the U.S. and a separate flight out of Canada. I have a "known traveler" ID in the U.S., and had nothing remotely unusual to declare or explain, but the immigration process (though I was just going from one airport gate to another) took three hours. I saw one woman who apparently took a wrong turn and had discarded her immigration slip being forced to go through immigration again - thereby meaning she would miss her flight connection - beg frantically and repeatedly to be able to talk to a superior instead, but was coldly refused any recourse or consideration, or even a human-to-human dialogue. Forcing the passenger to go through the process again might have been reasonable, but the way the staffer treated the woman was a horrible experience even for standers-by. About an hour later, the guy behind me laughed out loud with gallows humor because about 5 out of 6 of the personnel staffing the processing desks seemed to be having a leisurely huddle together instead. They never even glanced in acknowledgement, much less with reassurance, to all the people they kept waiting that much longer in line.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will never connect through here again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Stuck at the gate on Air Canada and cannot deplane because jetway will not move. Absolutely ridiculous. Need to make next flight. After 45 minutes moving to another gate. Will most likely miss connections due to customs and shoddy airport equipment. I will never connect through here again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Under manning is rife!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Under manning is rife! On arrival there was a queue to get to a machine which asked lots of questions which would have been easier and faster with a person or online when applying for the visa. Rather confusing and slow after an 8 hour flight. Then you get a voucher and after walking miles you get to a huge holding pen in a vast hall full of people where you queue again for a what seems like an eternity. Eventually there is a real person who asks you why you are there and sends you on your way. In this vast hall full of people somebody was having trouble with a machine and called out "Does anybody actually work here" but there was no answer. So presumably there wasn't! On departure there was a big board saying "Step 1. Check in at a kiosk. Step 2 Proceed to bag drop". Unfortunately it didn't say how you identify a 'kiosk', and I queued at the bag drop thinking I was going to a kiosk. The result was it would not accept my bag because I had not got a label (There was nothing to say you need to get a label) so I had to go back to the label printing machine 'kiosk' and then queue again for the bag drop (for 20 mins). The second time round I had to redirect somebody else who had made the same mistake. The end of the queue was at one end of the line of bag drop machines and there was a crowd of people trying to stick their tags onto their luggage in the middle so the next person in the queue could not see the free machines at the far end so stayed in the queue. The result was the machines were heavily under-utilised and the queue was much slower than it needed to be. In fact they only seemed to be used by the few people who lost patience and jumped out of the queue to use them. The kiosk gives you a luggage tag, but there was no explanation of what to do with all the separate peelable parts of the tag so I had to ask one of the 2 very harassed staff members to do it for me. At security there was a woman member of staff heckling the passengers in the queue that they, the staff could process us much more quickly if we weren't so slow and if we didn't do everything wrong. Well there is not much surprise about that. They have the months or years of training and we don't! Perhaps the training is failing if the staff think this is the way to make things work better! Everywhere in the airport all the food was served on disposable plates with disposable cutlery and drinks were served in disposable cups. Conventional reusable china plates and cups seem to be non-existent. It does not need to be like this. This is not sustainable. What happens to all this waste?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"have never experienced anything like this"

(United States)

Not Verified | My experience going through customs at Toronto Pearson airport was crazy. Many others complain that the agents were rude but the people I encountered were just plain cruel which was surprising. We arrived three hours before our departing flight and I was traveling with my mom who was in a wheelchair. I escorted her all the way through the airport up to customs. When I tried to go with her through customs an agent began to yell at me stating that if I didn’t share a physical address with my mother I would have to go to the end of the line by myself while she was escorted through the handicap line on her own. This wouldn’t have been such an issue if I hadn’t spent a huge amount of time navigating the airport with my mother in the wheelchair. Additionally, the fact that this agent berated me in public with my wheelchair bound mother right there watching just seemed hateful and hurtful. I missed my flight but my mother made it. As a result she had to wait at the airport in our home town for my flight to get in so I could give her a ride home. I’m not sure what the deal is with this airport or the customs there. I have traveled internationally to almost every continent and have never experienced anything like this in my life. I hope this airport and it’s local municipality work to make the experience for traveler maybe a bit more compassionate if not quicker or easier. Until then, I will avoid this airport and it’s disgruntled employees like the plague.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very little staff availability"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Returning from a family holiday. My main complaint is the fact that on arrival there was utter chaos with very little staff availability. Still my luggage did not get stuck in the system as it did the last time we were there. Last March we visited Singapore and it might be a good idea if some Pearson executives visited Changi to see what an airport can be like.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"left me speechless"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Canada has a well-deserved reputation for being very friendly. As a citizen of the USA (but have moved to Mexico) I am quite accustomed to rude TSA airport security folks. But today's interaction with the group who were running the scanner area at about 6am at Toronto Pearson left me speechless. They berated customers, yelled at folks who I'm pretty sure didn't speak English, and basically made us all feel like idiots because we did not immediately grasp your particular airport's system. We were earlier on the same trip in two different airports and everything was different. We had never been to Toronto before and it might have taken just a few seconds to explain what was expected but they spent the same amount of time trying to belittle us. The place was not crowded (maybe eight people in line) and I don't care if they had a long night or a bad day - we might have had the same problems. I bit my tongue because I didn't want to be further humiliated by a search or be subjected to more abusive questioning by calling them out on their boorish behavior. I know this complaint will go nowhere but if you look online, there seem to be quite a few similar complaints. These few employees don't serve your goals at the airport or the reputation of Canada. Please don't turn into the USA. One of those is enough!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"show my passport a total of eight times"

(United States)

Not Verified | The idea of security demands that you have a "sterile corridor" once you have passed security. Toronto Pearson does not do this. Instead of needing to show my passport once or at most twice as in modern airports, I had to show my passport a total of eight times within one fifty minute period, in one instance to get into a room and another to get our of the same room. The personnel are petty an officious but that is only to be expected. Standing on line is never fun but it is tolerable if you think that you will be treated equitably. Instead, lines were created, opened and closed for no reason, allowing those who had not waited to be routed ahead of those who had. I was told they were "special." That is surprising because some were members of my own party. The USA has transplanted customs to be done at Toronto instead of at people's destination (in this case ATL). That part worked well but came as a surprise since it conservatively added thirty minutes to a 90 minute layover. Probably the worse part was the ground operation for Delta, my connection. We arrived barely in time to get in line only to discover after having stood in line for long minutes, that we had to have our passports "verified" (that sterile corridor thing again). That took another ten minutes of standing in a long and slowly moving line to rectify. Al in all we got on as the door was closing and were treated to a steward whose primary interest was getting off on time. he was "shoveling manure" not dealing with humans. Do not go to Toronto Pearson without at least three hours to play around with the petty bureaucrats and feckless regulations before hand or on layover.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues were unbelievable"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very aggressive and unhelpful staff from beginning to end. The queues were unbelievable. Thank goodness we weren’t connecting. Awful. Avoid Pearson if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this airport is getting worse every time I come"

(United States)

Not Verified | Don’t kid yourself this is the worst dirty airport, rude security officers. No help for disabled people they actually ran away. People sit in disabled seats and don’t even bother getting up. The carpets are filthy there’s garbage all around. The restaurants looked pretty bad, I will not eat at them. All of the workers have the worst attitude. I live in New York City and this has to be the worst. I’ve been to many airports around the world and this airport is getting worse every time I come.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an embarrassing mess of chaos"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My arrival experience at Pearson was, similar to many reported here, an embarrassing mess of chaos from mass disorganization by YYZ staff and management. From the time I arrived after an 8.5 hour flight via Air France (which was excellent BTW) my mood quickly changed from relaxed to tense as the entire 777 cabin (260+ passengers!) was remanded into a single line to endure the new 'express' check in kiosks. Useless time waster as staff were unable to handle the capacity of arrivals. Absolutely agitating and embarrassing. Shame on YYZ. The epitome of chaos was a crowd of 70 tired travelers squeezed improperly-and unsafely-at the top of an escalator in a corridor while waiting to process us down to the customs holding area. our YYZ "handler" was literally yelling at everyone that customs below "is too overcrowded and you have to wait a few minutes" to allow descent. I was humiliated for all the international travelers there, as this is my home city and it showed a complete amateurism in processing us all to a simple customs check out. I could go on again, but safe to say, as a sole business proprietor, I would fire all of the GTAA management and start again- this time with professionals who are respectful to human beings, not cattle herding.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no