Sofia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 52 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"it is extremely basic"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | The surroundings area beautiful, neat and tidy but the airport looks already dated. In terms of facilities, shopping and ways to spend your time waiting it is extremely basic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"said you can’t leave the airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They hold me hostage even after I told them I’m from USA I have documents to travel here. They won’t look at the paperwork and 13 people total lock us out said you can’t leave the airport you must go back. Very mean people no human rights I have no words. They won’t talk to you specially if English.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport seemed clean, and well organised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We went skiing in Borovets and flew in and out of Sofia airport. The airport seemed clean, and well organised. The duty free shopping was quite expensive (buy before if you can). My main problem was the lack of variety of food outlets within departures. It appears that 'Sky Restaurants' have the monopoly on the food in there. Little to no variety unless you like pizza or sandwiches. Overpriced, and poor quality. Staff were rude and appeared bored at the larger restaurant version, but one of the smaller outlets the staff were fine. Sofia Airport - why have you just let one company have four different premises? We heard one guy who was vegan come in for something to eat, but there was nothing suitable on the menu. They advised, he tried one of the duty free shops. Eat beforehand, your money is better spent elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the worst airports in Europe"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports in Europe. No smoking area, border police super unfriendly, security check like in jail. T1 looks like after a bombing, T2 looks like new but dirty.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely rude, arrogant and ignorant"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | The worst passport control staff ever. Extremely rude, arrogant and ignorant. They don't speak English or they don't want to. They kept talking Bulgarian to me telling me what to do while I told them I don't speak Bulgarian. I had a Dutch travel document but they did not allow me to enter, they didn't tell me what the problem is, when I asked them they shouted at me very rudly saying "no problem!" and I had to wait so long my mother and I without knowing what was the matter. All the staff were very rude, very aggressive disrespectful tone of speaking. Can't understand how these guys are even employed in an airport and treat passengers like this. After like more than an hour of waiting they searched our bags piece by piece, it was ridiculous, can't believe in the airport of the capital of Bulgaria and they use their hands to search our things, our bags were already checked in the airport of Eindhoven in the Netherlands, don't know why they had to check again. After they were finished with searching they brought us two meaningless papers to sign which said that these were our stuff and things like that. It was really very offensive and bad experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Priority boarding is a waste of money"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Low service level, usual delays, 0 customer care, long lines for security check, due to saving in personnel. Priority boarding is a waste of money in this airport. 30 minutes on the bus, waiting to go to the aircraft, with closed doors. The main issue is that they don't care. Regular delays, minimum 30 minutes, usually around 1 hour. If not for work, would avoid it!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Airport was clean"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Airport was clean, passport control didn't take long at all. I did not shop there nor did I sit. The wi-fi was a bit slow and the signal wasn't ideal. If you decide to take a taxi, agree on a price to go to your hotel. It should not be more than 30 BGL. Agree on a price before you get it, the metres run like crazy. Someone from the taxi company may greet you. The ride from downtown Athens to the airport is a flat 38 Euros and is 3 times as far to put things into perspective.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Security staff are very rude"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I found the airport to be clean, less congested than most in Europe, spacious and with sufficient seating areas. Unfortunately there is no smoking area. Security staff are very rude which makes me wonder why they do feel they should act like that, wifi connection non-existent or very slow in some areas and most things on shops way more expensive than outside. Bring your own food. My bag was completely emptied by security staff which made me had to pack everything again in front of everyone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Rude staff, very old fashioned"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rude staff, very old fashioned, not much to do while waiting. Tried to use the toilet, the staff was shouting at me ad cleaning was in process, the other toilet was closed as well. Worst airport I have ever been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"not much to occupy your time"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Very utilitarian airport, with not much to occupy your time. Terminal 2 definitely the better terminal to arrive/depart - the other terminal is old and shabby. Terminal 2: A couple of places to eat land-side, then once through there are a couple more places to sit and eat airside, but there are not many shops, nowhere really to sit except in the vast hall area or the gates, and nothing really to occupy your time. Airport staff generally fairly pleasant, check-in, customs and security checks can be fast or very slow, depending on crowds. When arriving at Terminal 2, the metro station into the city is close, and the ride in is very cheap.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 52 Reviews