Sofia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"still needs some improvement"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Sofia has changed a lot and you even feel welcome in the city. The airport however still needs some improvement. Small terminal with long queues for check in. Even as you only need to make a bagdrop, it takes forever. Security check is slow and unfriendly. Passportcontrol reminded me that the old days are not over in SOF. Careless and miserable staff, not much welcome here. Airside terminal has a few kitch eateries, bad food served with loud techno music. Shopping area reminds you of a marketplace and service is slow. No smoking terrace or lounge. The wifi was free!? I was not able to get a connection. Unpleasant experience. Travelling Air Serbia, SOF-BEG, JU123 Sept. 24th 2018.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"total lack of dining places"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | I have traveled from Sofia Airport both terminal 2 and 1 several times. Terminal 2 is a good airport, service have improved and the airport is clean and logical. The biggest minus is the total lack of dining places prior to security and after. The available places for eating serves poor sandwiches, frozen pizzas, beer and drinks. This is if they have the food available. It is completely hopeless considering that Bulgaria actually has a good cuisine. Not sure if it is a monopoly which allows the quality to be that bad? But I travel to Bulgaria 2-4 times a year and I am strongly considering to change to an alternative airport such as Thessaloniki and drive up to get some service in the airport. This would improve the whole airport dramatically and and make it move into another league.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"relatively modern and clean"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport was relatively modern and clean. Check in queues werent too bad, queues at security also not too bad. Not a lot once you are through a handful of shops and cafes but no real food. Just kept warm pizza slices, wedges and sandwiches. Prices werent too bad. Duty free was basic but they had some great cheap vodka. Plenty of seating, toilets cleaner than other countries ive visited and the UK at times. Overall not too bad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"plenty of seating in a very airy terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My experience of Sofia was generally positive. Arriving was very good, maybe a little longer than I would like for passport check (5-10 minutes) but otherwise no complaints. The metro connection to the city is easy (about 30 minutes) and an absolute bargain at about €1. Leaving was also good: 5 minutes to check-in and about the same through security. There is plenty of seating in a very airy terminal building. My only complaint is the price of the cafes, a large coffee and chocolate bar cost more than lunch in the city; admittedly food and drink in Sofia is very good value and airports are notoriously expensive, but this seemed excessive - and the coffee was not good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"most aggressive inspector of my bags"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had the rudest and the most aggressive inspector of my bags in my life, and I have travelled hundreds of thousands of miles. Everything turned on the definition of "electronic device." Apparently, this fellow thought that a battery pack/emergency charge was "electronic," as was a camera. Finally, I asked to speak to a supervisor because this fellow's demeanor was extremely aggressive. That only slightly moderated his behavior. His supervisor was fine.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible organisation"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | Terrible organisation. The airport is unable to handle the negligible amount of passengers that pass through it (there are only 2 security checkpoints for all passengers). Waiting times are ridiculous. I arrived two hours before my flight with a single carry-on bag and no luggage to check-in and I barely made to my flight. If there is more than 1 flight leaving within the same hour, I would suggest you get there 3 hours early. International Airport? No way.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"they made fun of my picture"

(Greece)

Verified Review | The airport is ok with good connections to the city. I am writing this review just to point out how rude the custom officers were bearing in mind I am travelling from an EU to another EU country using an EU ID. Both on arrival and departure they made fun of my picture and when I handled my European driving licence in order to prove it was me they didn't even check and told me to not come again with these documents. Note: I have travelled with the same ID to: Turkey, Italy, Germany, UK, Hungary, Slovakia, Austria and Czech Republic without any kind of a problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"the airport is decent enough"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew into Sofia using Ryanair, so that's Terminal 2. Ryanair tend to use the remote stands for its aircraft so not surprised as we were on a bus. The bus was old and didn't feature air-conditioning. Collecting luggage was swift and passport control was swift too, a simple visual check of my passport. Landside, there is an ATM that dispenses Bulgarian Lev and WiFi which is free to use and I found it to be quite useful as my roaming wouldn't work. There's a taxi rank, which I'd avoid as taxi drivers aren't usually the most trustworthy. There's a direct connection to the metro, which is cheap as chips as well as a connection to T1 although this stops in the early evening. Arriving was a pleasant surprise. Departing is the same affair, lots of check in desks although I didn't need to use them. I had about 10 hours to kill before my flight so went airside. Security was good and swift and immigration was quick too. I even got a stamp in my passport when I asked. Airside, there isn't much apart from duty free with cheap cigarettes, a hand made cigar shop with cigars made to order and a few bars with overpriced beer. A pint of Kamenitza about 8lv, which I find a little pricey. There's a few mobile charging points in the terminal too. Be advised that the toilets can be untidy sometimes and smell a bit. There's 3 lounges and all are equally as mediocre as each other although, the Swissport lounge is the nicest. Another lounge has a smoking room too. Boarding was swift, although it can be busy in the evening when about 5 flights depart in quick succession so seating can be an issue at the gate. The terminal can get a little stuffy too as aircon isn't great. If you have a long wait in Terminal 2, you won't have much to do although it is a clean, pleasant experience. Travelling into Sofia, you haven't got a choice but the airport is decent enough.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is usually quite fast"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | The airport is usually quite fast, has enough seating and free wifi. Recently Ryanair have started using the main terminal (2), which has started to create longer lines at security and passport control. There are no priority lines for either security or passport control. The lounges at the airport are okay, though the downstairs lounge often smells of smoke from the adjacent smoking lounge.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"plenty of seating and adequate amenities"

(United Kingdom)

Clean, modern airport with plenty of seating and adequate amenities, less than twenty minutes from the centre of Sofia on the metro train. Signage slightly confusing, going through security was a breeze though, staff polite and efficient. Recommended.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 38 Reviews