Sofia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 44 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Rude staff, very old fashioned"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rude staff, very old fashioned, not much to do while waiting. Tried to use the toilet, the staff was shouting at me ad cleaning was in process, the other toilet was closed as well. Worst airport I have ever been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"not much to occupy your time"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Very utilitarian airport, with not much to occupy your time. Terminal 2 definitely the better terminal to arrive/depart - the other terminal is old and shabby. Terminal 2: A couple of places to eat land-side, then once through there are a couple more places to sit and eat airside, but there are not many shops, nowhere really to sit except in the vast hall area or the gates, and nothing really to occupy your time. Airport staff generally fairly pleasant, check-in, customs and security checks can be fast or very slow, depending on crowds. When arriving at Terminal 2, the metro station into the city is close, and the ride in is very cheap.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"happy with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have been using Sofia probably every other year for the past 10 years and am generally happy with the service, the main point being the check in, security etc is relatively painless and I get delivered to and from the airplane fine. However the reason I felt the need to write this review is because this year we flew from T2 (BA) rather than T1 (EasyJet), and the state of the check in area was absolutely disgusting. We arrived early and sat in the café to wait for the check in desk to open, while waiting for coffee I saw something drop from above into a table, when I looked up I was horrified to see that the entire café area was covered in bird droppings! Unfortunately it seems there are numerous small birds living in the terminal roof and hence there are droppings everywhere, this wouldn’t be the end of the world in the check in area (although being ‘dropped on’ while queuing wouldn’t be an ideal start to the flight) but the fact they have done nothing to stop droppings I the food/drinks area is unacceptable, especially in an established international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Awful, rude and aggressive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Awful, rude and aggressive people claiming to be 'security' closed a part of the terminal including bar and shop, told us to move with all luggage. When told we had just bought a drink was told 'don’t care, get out now' and threw our luggage out of the area. Then manhandled us out shouting abuse and laughing. Disgraceful. My wife had her drink spilt over her when being moved. Last visit to Bulgaria. Europe you are welcome to it. Nice to see airport is proudly EU funded.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"fix the water fountains"

(Bulgaria)

Not Verified | Please fix the water fountains so airport users can have a drink of free water. Even if we disregard the very high prices of mineral water bottles at the airport cafes and bars the issue of having to drink mineral water from plastic bottle to keep oneself hydrated remains. I personally avoid plastic bottles and now I have to board my flight thirsty.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"no one to ask"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Landed at Sofia Airport - July 2017 (took a while till I found this site to post a review) with my wife and two children. Four suitcases, 3 carry ons, 2 car seats. Landed around 1.30pm - zero (yes zero) trolleys at the Luggage belt area - no one to ask, those we found shrugged shoulders (my wife is Bulgarian national - so language not an issue). Cannot go out to bring trolleys back in, so basically locked into baggage claim until someone brings trolleys into area. We pushed, cajoled, begged but literally were met with a wall of apathy - didn't give a monkeys. Took 20-30 minutes to eventually get someone with an airside pass to take pity on us go and get us a couple of trolleys. What kind of management operates an aiport in this manner? My judgement is they must be truly and utterly incompetent and have no clue on how real airports operate.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"still needs some improvement"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Sofia has changed a lot and you even feel welcome in the city. The airport however still needs some improvement. Small terminal with long queues for check in. Even as you only need to make a bagdrop, it takes forever. Security check is slow and unfriendly. Passportcontrol reminded me that the old days are not over in SOF. Careless and miserable staff, not much welcome here. Airside terminal has a few kitch eateries, bad food served with loud techno music. Shopping area reminds you of a marketplace and service is slow. No smoking terrace or lounge. The wifi was free!? I was not able to get a connection. Unpleasant experience. Travelling Air Serbia, SOF-BEG, JU123 Sept. 24th 2018.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"total lack of dining places"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | I have traveled from Sofia Airport both terminal 2 and 1 several times. Terminal 2 is a good airport, service have improved and the airport is clean and logical. The biggest minus is the total lack of dining places prior to security and after. The available places for eating serves poor sandwiches, frozen pizzas, beer and drinks. This is if they have the food available. It is completely hopeless considering that Bulgaria actually has a good cuisine. Not sure if it is a monopoly which allows the quality to be that bad? But I travel to Bulgaria 2-4 times a year and I am strongly considering to change to an alternative airport such as Thessaloniki and drive up to get some service in the airport. This would improve the whole airport dramatically and and make it move into another league.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"relatively modern and clean"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport was relatively modern and clean. Check in queues werent too bad, queues at security also not too bad. Not a lot once you are through a handful of shops and cafes but no real food. Just kept warm pizza slices, wedges and sandwiches. Prices werent too bad. Duty free was basic but they had some great cheap vodka. Plenty of seating, toilets cleaner than other countries ive visited and the UK at times. Overall not too bad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"plenty of seating in a very airy terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My experience of Sofia was generally positive. Arriving was very good, maybe a little longer than I would like for passport check (5-10 minutes) but otherwise no complaints. The metro connection to the city is easy (about 30 minutes) and an absolute bargain at about €1. Leaving was also good: 5 minutes to check-in and about the same through security. There is plenty of seating in a very airy terminal building. My only complaint is the price of the cafes, a large coffee and chocolate bar cost more than lunch in the city; admittedly food and drink in Sofia is very good value and airports are notoriously expensive, but this seemed excessive - and the coffee was not good.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 44 Reviews