Naples Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 57 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"people were so angry I feared it would get ugly"

(Croatia)

Not Verified | Arrival was rather bad. Took an hour to check passengers passports even though it was a baby plane holding around 100 people. I don't know what happens when a serious plane lands here, but if there's only a 100 people to check, they put two of their most incompetent policemen on it, then hoard everybody in a hallway so small not everybody can even fit, so the automatic door keeps opening and closing to the scorching summer heat (energy efficiency at its most embarrassing). During this time, nobody thought to unload the luggage, so we waited extra for that as well (thankfully only 10ish minutes, but inexplicable in an airport of this size). It was the start of our vacation though, so seeing friendly faces waiting for us was a relief and all trouble was quickly forgotten. The departure, though, oh boy. We were at the airport at 1pm (taking one Italian friend with us back home to Croatia, myself and my significant other), our flight was at 4.15 pm. Enough time? You would think so. Alas, we took off at 5.35, even though the plane itself was on time. It is purely because of the incapability for intelligent thought - firstly in the management of the airport, secondly of its employees. The trick was in the gate passport control. Imagine 3 of the slowest policemen checking passports for 8 different gates, completely indiscriminately, with no care as to which plane departs first, which one is already late, and which passengers have time for leisure (if any). Imagine them chatting with everybody and/or leaving their posts or being called away for not properly checking people's documents when they were rejected at boarding (I've seen 3 instances of this: one woman had an ID invalid for international travel, and two unconnected people invalid/old passports). We were at the gate the moment it was announced, and were met by a line so long it was apparent at first glance we were not going to make it to our plane on time. None of the planes at gates B8-B15 were boarded in time (5 active that I could discern). The staff was so unbelievably unhelpful and uninterested in efficiency that I couldn't help but agree when I heard a fellow passenger speak into his phone that "conversing with monkeys would be easier" (certainly rude, but so close to truth it's frightening). It was already ten minutes after our flight should have departed when we asked one of the service ladies if they could put us to the front of the line. Their reply was "we're deciding". They kept deciding for another 10 minutes, then pulled all 80ish people going to Split to the side (practically nobody was processed at this point) and merged us with the beginning of the line leading to just one policeman who was then pulled away due to incompetence (the invalid passport issue). And then - when asked if they would assign another policeman to our passport check, we were told again that they were deciding. I don't know the process behind this decision making, but I've seen babies more accomplished at it. At this point people were so angry I feared it would get ugly. When we finally got to the plane, we weren't allowed to bring our cabin baggage on board, we had to leave it right in front the plane staircase. Then the pilot had to keep apologizing because we were not moving - unfortunately the airport staff weren't ready to remove the stairs. I'm writing this on the plane, regretting every valuable I left in my baggage, because I'm pretty sure I'm never seeing it again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst chaos I think I've ever witnessed"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I've been to third world countries and their passport control was a thousand times more efficient than at Naples. We landed at 10pm and were herded into a room where I went through the European Union passport gates but my Kiwi girlfriend had to go through the Other Passports section. She was bundled into a pile of people and I stood and watched the worst chaos I think I've ever witnessed in my life unfold in front of me. From where I was stood, I could see entire other flights arriving and being let in to a faster moving queue and get through before the flight we were on. After forty-five minutes, I wanted to see if I could see her because I had told our host we would be at the hotel to check-in by 11pm at the latest and we still had to go and get our car from the car hire place yet. To my absolute dismay, I saw that they only had one staff member working - and she had been going nuts at some people for, as far as I could tell, absolutely no reason. I think if someone had been annoyed she could surely have seen it was justified, rather than going ballistic at people. And still they filtered people through - my girlfriend was still at the back. They had herded her group into one corner, then opened up the queue leading straight to the single staff member. Luckily we didn't have luggage to collect because the carousel wasn't even displayed when she finally got out - EIGHTY MINUTES after landing. I went to their website to complain, but it won't shock you to hear their website doesn't work properly. At one point, the host was texting us saying that it would be impossible to check-in after 11pm, so I asked a staff member to let my girlfriend out. She made some vague effort to ask me where she was, and when I pointed her out - still almost at the very back of the crowd because of the way they'd opened it up at the side - the staff member said to me "I can't let her out - everyone here has reservations too." There were even some people in the crowd pointing out to me that they didn't mind because I was saying we'd been there over an hour and they clearly hadn't been as they had landed later. So many people could see what was going on but they wouldn't listen when I was telling them that an entire flight, who I could see landed at 11pm because of the time on the luggage carousel they went to get their bags from, all got out before my girlfriend. I've never seen such an absolute shambles of a situation in my life. Naples Airport should be ashamed. We got to our hotel - ten minutes by car from the airport - at 1am. Three hours after landing. It took less time to fly from Dublin.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One word. Chaos. Extremely rude staff at World Duty Free shop. No sense of service but happy to take your money. Ruined the end of my holiday with their attitude.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it was hot, confusing and chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having had a wonderful holiday in Sorrento we vowed to return, sadly the awful experience of Naples Airport means we will never travel into or out of there again. It took 3.5 hours to get to the airport the worst part being the small single lane slip road that leads off the busy motorway being wholly inadequate for the volume of traffic arriving. Once we’d edged through the chaos we had to wait over 30 minutes in 34 degrees of heat on the coach as they only allow one bus in at a time. Finally getting to arrivals we were met with one huge check in queue for all TUI flights and after standing for nearly an hour and getting nowhere fast we were pulled from the line, fast tracked and directed to a small lift big enough for about 6 to get upstairs to departures. We used the one staircase instead and my heart sunk as everywhere upstairs was rammed with people sitting and standing wherever they could find space. Having made our way to the departure gates it was obvious that there were many flights waiting to get through passport control, hundreds of people all jammed in together, it was hot, confusing and chaotic. The passport desk couldn’t operate because there were no space on the other side for any more people, all the time more and more passengers funnelling in behind us. The check in desk kept constantly changing and people were getting panicky about the crush, the heat and possible missed flights. Our flight was eventually allowed through and we bussed over to the aircraft, the doors were closed and we prepared for takeoff only to sit on the tarmac for over 2 hours with the captain apologising but saying he had no idea what was going on. It was obvious they had wanted us out of the airport and onto the plane to free up space. The TUI cabin manager said it was like it every time they flew in there, they have to wait to land, wait to be allowed to park up and wait generally 20 minutes for steps to arrive, maybe they shouldn’t be going there. Had there been an incident at the airport I dread to think of what might happen in that dangerously overcrowded space. I have never experienced anything like it and I hope I never do again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"bring your patience and your sense of humor"

(United States)

Not Verified | There should be a sign above the entrance to this airport that reads “Abandon all hope ye who enter here”. Pay the 8 euros for priority security but be prepared for perhaps the biggest disaster in customs/passport control on earth. I have visited airports with absolutely no system in place (Cambodia, Myanmar) and they somehow where 10 x’s more efficient. Italy has been home to some of the finest minds in history but the Naples airport reminds us that they are all dead. Passport control is located right outside the gates (awful design) and the agents working there seem to almost revel in the opportunity to make a terrible situation even worse with no sense of urgency. If it weren’t for the efforts of the only motivated employee in the entire airport who herded people as best he could, I have no doubt that I would be spending the next 5 days of vacation discovering the various levels of Dante’s hell. The only advice I can give is you is that you need to take an “every man for yourself” approach to the whole process. Do not just wait in line hoping that God will provide for God has forsaken this place. Do not be a “sheep” for your travel plans will surely be slaughtered. All things considered, Italy is still one of the most beautiful places on Earth and so are it’s people. No matter how bad the Naples airport may be, nothing can change the fact that this Country needs to be at the top of your list of places to visit. Just bring your patience and your sense of humor if you are flying through the Naples airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"we waited 90 mins for our luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We used Naples airport for our arrival and departure to begin and end a cruise in Naples. On arrival it took about 15 minutes to locate steps so we could disembark our aircraft and during this time no one had began to empty the luggage from the aircraft. On arrival at the luggage carousel we waited 90 mins for our luggage, several flights had landed and the passengers were gone with their luggage before we had ours. There was no communication regarding the delay. Departure, we were dropped at the airport 3 hours prior to our flight by TUI despite luggage being bonded from our ship and checking in online. The main restaurant/shopping area was very busy but we managed to get a seat and a sandwich. The toilets here were very clean and modern. There are very few information screens. We took the escalator to the lower floor and were met with a sea of people and no obvious information screens regarding gates. When we found one we realised we were to be at gate B15 which was through automated passport gates, we used the gates which were very busy and there was nowhere to go. We were in a tight crowd in a fairly narrow area which was overflowing from the gate areas. We found a space near the wall and I went to use the toilet, I immediately left as they were disgusting. We soon realised that those in the right side of this crowd who were trying to get into gate B15 were a combination of flights to Dublin and Glasgow. The lack of screens and tannoy information meant no one knew who was to actually be at the gate and who was to be boarding and there wasn’t enough room to comfortably accommodate 1 flight of passengers anyway, let alone 2. Once the Dublin flight had boarded the Glasgow fight boarding passes and passports were checked, but with no call and still an Aer Lingus logo on the gate, not TUi. Were were put in a hot, glass fronted and non-air conditioned room with perhaps 20 seats. Some of the older passengers were feeling faint and unwell. There was no information screen, no information from staff and no water. The departure time came and went and still no information. On checking my phone the online information was still for 2pm take off as scheduled, we were eventually put on buses after more than an hour wait and take off was at approx 2:50. The crew told us that there were no steps to disembark the previous passengers and no buses available, hence the delay. On landing we received an sms and email from tui that had been sent at 12.45 informing us of our flight delay, but Naples airport hadn’t informed us. I understand that tourism has increased the demand on the airport and that the Wednesday chage over days for the cruise is a huge strain on the airport and that it takes time to implement plans etc but extra information screens, better communication, more staff, more seating and general respect for passengers can all be done fairly quickly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is completely unorganized"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airport is completely unorganized. I got there 3 hours before my flight. Went to the ticket counter shown in the terminal (see picture). Nobody knew anything about the flight. I must have asked 5 airport employees and ticket agents. None of them knew anything except after my flight left. I missed my flight had to re-book for the next day. One thing that really added insult to injury was the statement that the customer service rep said to me; "this isn't Miami" (insinuating that they do things different in Naples). If I had said something rude I could understand but I didn't! I've flown all over the world and never saw this level of ignorance and rudeness. If I was acting badly I might understand. But they seemed to be defensive and rude. This will be my first and last visit to the Naples Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Shambolic at best. Dangerous at worst"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shambolic at best. Dangerous at worst. Arrival: Time for luggage to arrive at carousel unacceptable. Having to collect luggage when booked on a cruise unacceptable. Having to drag said luggage to a coach approx. 1/4 mile (estimate, maybe further) away unacceptable. Departure: Calling three (minimum) flights to departure gates at the same time causing confusion and chaos unacceptable. Passengers requiring assistance unable to negotiate the sea of people in front of them unacceptable. Closing passport control due to said sea of people blocking any further progress, causing some to almost miss their flights pathetic. Consequently making flight departures late - unacceptable. This was the first time I had flown to this airport and I will never ever go there again. I will also complain strongly to Marella / TUI. I have been to airports with chickens on the runway which were better organised and took better care of their passengers. This debacle was a disgrace. Changing the departure date to B7 from B14 at the last moment didn't help either. I could go on I am so angry and disgusted.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport experience put me off"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Massive queue for check in, boarding passes and toilets. Seems shops more important than amenities. Called to boarding gate and left to stand there for about 1hr 15mins with no info, when I approached a member if staff I was waved away and she walked off. Airport experience put me off travelling to that part of Italy again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling treatment by the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Do not get a taxi from this airport without first knowing the prices are supposed to be fixed. The local drivers will charge you 2 to 3 times the proper costs. If you arrive between 12.30 am and 3.30am for an early flight you will be removed from the airport by armed security and put outside like dogs regardless of the weather. I have just witnessed over 100 people being asked to sit out side. Appalling treatment by the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews