Melbourne Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 360 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"staff here are not too friendly"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Still a lack of seating waiting for your check in counter to open. There is a change on going through security screening wherby they have installed new conveyor built automatic machine where you grab a tray that pops out underneath so you can put your bag and items like laptops, phones etc.. then it moves on its own through X-ray. It’s efficient but sadly so many passengers are not familiar and it’s ended up more inefficient than doing it by hand as before, if security started being more courteous and educating passengers on this, things would speed up a great deal when going through screening but as others have said staff here are not too friendly and really need to undergo training on being courteous and friendly to departing passengers as they to will become passengers when they fly on holiday etc.. Again forget duty free as prices are cheaper in the city. WiFi was good, fast and a stable connection. Toilets are still pretty grimy when visiting them especially night time when it’s very busy with passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Aussie friendliness has gone"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Just returned from trip involving the Middle East and India. Airport comparisons abounding during the past 3 weeks. Melbourne airport is clean and traversible, mostly. Check in no better or worse than other airports. But The 'g'day mate' Aussie friendliness has gone. We are met by surly, unhappy, impolite staff everywhere else in the terminal. Food outlets are the worst. You've lost your way guys, and its embarrassing to think thats people's first impression coming into Melbourne.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very rude and inefficient"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Staff are very rude and inefficient, especially at the immigration area. Not the first time I've experienced this and will unfortunately not be the last. Not all airport staff seem to understand that following standard protocol does not equate to giving poor treatment to passengers. Almost seems as if they believe that irritating customers is part of the requirement of their job. Every time I leave Melbourne, the only time I feel relieved is when I've reached the gate. Otherwise, the facilities are quite acceptable and there's good wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"completely overcrowded"

(Saudi Arabia)

Not Verified | Arriving here after 7pm is not good with 3-4 other flights having just landed ahead meaning that immigration was crowded even with the e gates & the baggage hall was even worse. But when you exit customs into the arrivals hall your just met with a completely overcrowded area where you can hardly move! This area is in huge need of expansion as it’s like you’re all packed in this area like Sardines & can hardly move - not a nice time to arrive at this airport as it can’t cope efficiently when flights arrive at the same time especially if the aircraft is a A380. I travel light so no check in baggage so can avoid the very long wait for your baggage at this airport as it takes an age to get from the aircraft to baggage hall. This is an airport that badly needs expanding & can’t cope with many flights arriving at the same time as nothing is efficient due to this fact. Lessons can be learned from Hong Kong’s efficiency here.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has been the worst experience"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I’ve got to say this has been the worst experience of an airport ever. Travelling to Europe Asia and the USA never was this bad. To have gone through this in my own country is disgusting! No clear directions, being told different information by 3 different people and not being able to take duty free through (was not told), losing direction from stress! Then to top it off being explosive tested just to tip me over the edge. Unbelievable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a dump"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I have found the worst terminal in the worst airport in the world. Melbourne T4. What a dump. 20 min walk from gate to pickup. What a joke. I thought the Qantas terminal was bad. Avoid T4 like the plague.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"I loathe this airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | So back at Melbourne again. Overloaded check in counters. Rude officious staff, shambolic security (queue was all the way back to Virgin domestic check- in!). New ‘hi-tech’ bag scanning system slower than old system. Foul dirty toilets. Travel store not working. Plane delayed because of ‘gate access issues’. I loathe this airport with a towering passion
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"the ugliest and most dated"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne is my home airport. I am always embarrassed about that. Have been to every Australian capital city airports and this is by far the ugliest and most dated. There is nothing to do here, not even attractive displays to look at. I miss the viewing area. At least it was something to do. The toilets - not enough of them - tend to be grubby. Anyway it was all fine. We got through security with the usual personal scan done, however they were pleasant about it and I’m always compliant. Arriving back was quick and easy. Luggage arrived within 20 mins however my husbands contents were damaged. The hard case was not damaged however.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very disappointed"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The boarding process is now double the time as a direct result of streamlining. The security staff have the social graces of pigs. Never been treated with such derogatory attitudes. The magic of flight has gone. It’s no longer an enjoyment. Now it’s just big business. Very disappointed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport appears disorganised"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | The airport appears disorganised. Staff have oppressive and arrogant attitudes. A cold hard reception made me feel like an unwelcome burden. Please put them on a customer service training course!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no