Melbourne Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 339 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Awful every single time"

(Australia)

NotVerified | Awful every single time. Terrible lack of toilets, of those few, at least half are always closed for cleaning or repair, and the rest are generally filthy or broken. Layout and design is dated. Lack of good restaurants. Lack of non-junk non-luxury retailers. Easily the worst major airport in Australia.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"has got to be the worst airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Never fails. Melbourne Tullamarine airport continues to suck especially in the arrival section. Can't handle the numbers arriving at once. We gave them 15.5 hours to get organized and they still screw things up. 1.5 hour delay on baggage after a 15.5 hour flight. This has got to be the worst airport. A similar complaint last year. Can't organize staff levels. The airport is congested overcrowded. Once you get off the plane and through duty-free they don't care.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"An absolute disgrace"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Terminal 4 - the worst experience I have ever had an airport and we are frequent travellers. Finding where you must check in is hard enough but this followed by a long and slightly confusing walk (about 20 minutes) until you come to your gate. The doors open up onto the runway itself. The gate area is very cold and unwelcoming. The vending machines charged me 7 times for what was 2 bottles of water. Nowhere to get a hot drink to warm you in a very cold area. Obviously the staff are aware of how cold it will be and all have big coats on all the time. The toilets must not have been cleaned for a long time. The sanitary bins were - in all toilets (I looked for one that was clean) jammed open and overflowing. The smell was terrible. There was toilet roll on the floor of all the cubicles. Just disgusting. I expect because it is so far away from anything that they just get missed and are cleaned infrequently. There was a iPad to record how you found the toilets but it didn’t work. I will actually now look at flying to Sydney from Avalon and then make all journeys from there rather than travel from terminal 4 again. An absolute disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disgrace"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Wanted to send a guest off with a meal. Previously slightly below average selection (without sending guest through departure gates). Arrived today with options of sushi made this morning, McDonald’s, and a dingy noodle shop at the corner. Melbourne Airport: a disgrace. Can I give less than 1 star?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"just not good enough"

(Australia)

Not Verified | No toilets at this airport. There are lines for men and women and flights are always delayed so there should be enough toilets here. So uncomfortable and just not good enough especially for a new terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"staff are rude and pushy"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The new security at international departures is great - for security, and efficiency, I guess - except they forgot one thing - the people subjected to it. Some staff are rude and pushy, acting like customers are supposed to know how their new process works without being told. There is little information posted so people can know what is expected of them and security staff are not up front and clear about this - some don't even seem to know themselves! Also get ready for security to rub their hands all over you, regardless of personal space or how your screening went. I feel sorry for any elderly people going through this - they typically like to be clearly informed what is going on - and they are not likely to get it here.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"one of the simplest check in and check out experiences"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne airport gives one of the simplest check in and check out experiences. It is easy and smooth with nicely laid out terminals and facilities. Where it gets jarring is the departures. Despite the warning announcement about illegally scouting cab drivers, I usually have 1-2 faces asking me if I need a cab in my way out. To my surprise and disappointment, I have been asked by more than 7 cabbies on my departure gate if I needed a cab. If I had to experience this cabbie rush, I was better off in Delhi than in Melbourne - a 2nd best city in the whole entire world. Can the airport authorities be a bit less nice and arrest this problem of illegal cab hawking? Or do you want to wait till a next big incident?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"too much space given to duty free"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Agree with other review about too much space given to duty free! Ridiculous that one almost can not walk through to departure lounge/immigration without walking thro duty free shops! Check in is chaotic! Even after online check in paxs are made to queue in the 'standard' queue, making it unnecessary queueing time! Not a nice experience! A departure cabin bag check staff was rude - very loud and aggressive, even other locals quietly mutter under their breath. There is a feeling that you do not want to 'aggravate' the situation by speaking up about the staff being rude. Overall airport staff are unfriendly and not particularly helpful. Cost of food is absolutely ridiculously expensive. Not a good impression/welcome especially for overseas visitors!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"profiling needs a serious overhaul"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The profiling of your security staff needs a serious overhaul. I get you require your “quota” for your days work but in the last 2 weeks I’ve been through the airport both internationally and domestically 4 times and twice early last year with my very ill son visiting the children’s hospital and each and every time I have been pulled aside and swabbed! I’m a white, 42 year old female travelling with luggage and 2 small children. The attitude of the security staff is farcical and beyond rude/aggressive. I’m a gainfully employed professional in the health care industry. To have to load all our luggage up when we are running for a flight and undo all the security locks we have set to protect US from YOU is time consuming, frustrating and beyond ridiculous. We do not fit any profile and I am aware it is merely a quota filling exercise designed to not offend those who will potentially cry foul if the same thing happened to them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

(Saudi Arabia)

Not Verified | When is Melbourne Airport going to get expanded? It’s desperately crowded & as someone has previously said get rid of that duty free area before getting to immigration as its a disaster as you’ve already filled up your landing card on what you can bring in. As for the e-gates they should be like you have at Heathrow which is just one e-gate process than you have here which slows everything down. Also the readers are seemingly too sensitive & dirt gets on the screen quickly where you insert your passport that it doesn’t read it properly. I had two goes & nothing so got fed up & went to the manual passport control which actually was quicker!! Maybe do that next time I arrive rather than chancing this e-gate. Customs is messy when it gets busy again with huge queues going through only one entry point! How ludicrous is that in a major airport! When you hand the landing card the officer says a number 2 or 3 which is bewildering until you find out 3 is to exit without any inspection & 2 is for full inspection by customs, this could be signed posted allot better for passengers who just want to exit as quickly as they can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no