Melbourne Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 333 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"one of the simplest check in and check out experiences"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne airport gives one of the simplest check in and check out experiences. It is easy and smooth with nicely laid out terminals and facilities. Where it gets jarring is the departures. Despite the warning announcement about illegally scouting cab drivers, I usually have 1-2 faces asking me if I need a cab in my way out. To my surprise and disappointment, I have been asked by more than 7 cabbies on my departure gate if I needed a cab. If I had to experience this cabbie rush, I was better off in Delhi than in Melbourne - a 2nd best city in the whole entire world. Can the airport authorities be a bit less nice and arrest this problem of illegal cab hawking? Or do you want to wait till a next big incident?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"too much space given to duty free"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Agree with other review about too much space given to duty free! Ridiculous that one almost can not walk through to departure lounge/immigration without walking thro duty free shops! Check in is chaotic! Even after online check in paxs are made to queue in the 'standard' queue, making it unnecessary queueing time! Not a nice experience! A departure cabin bag check staff was rude - very loud and aggressive, even other locals quietly mutter under their breath. There is a feeling that you do not want to 'aggravate' the situation by speaking up about the staff being rude. Overall airport staff are unfriendly and not particularly helpful. Cost of food is absolutely ridiculously expensive. Not a good impression/welcome especially for overseas visitors!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"profiling needs a serious overhaul"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The profiling of your security staff needs a serious overhaul. I get you require your “quota” for your days work but in the last 2 weeks I’ve been through the airport both internationally and domestically 4 times and twice early last year with my very ill son visiting the children’s hospital and each and every time I have been pulled aside and swabbed! I’m a white, 42 year old female travelling with luggage and 2 small children. The attitude of the security staff is farcical and beyond rude/aggressive. I’m a gainfully employed professional in the health care industry. To have to load all our luggage up when we are running for a flight and undo all the security locks we have set to protect US from YOU is time consuming, frustrating and beyond ridiculous. We do not fit any profile and I am aware it is merely a quota filling exercise designed to not offend those who will potentially cry foul if the same thing happened to them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Melbourne Airport customer review

(Saudi Arabia)

Not Verified | When is Melbourne Airport going to get expanded? It’s desperately crowded & as someone has previously said get rid of that duty free area before getting to immigration as its a disaster as you’ve already filled up your landing card on what you can bring in. As for the e-gates they should be like you have at Heathrow which is just one e-gate process than you have here which slows everything down. Also the readers are seemingly too sensitive & dirt gets on the screen quickly where you insert your passport that it doesn’t read it properly. I had two goes & nothing so got fed up & went to the manual passport control which actually was quicker!! Maybe do that next time I arrive rather than chancing this e-gate. Customs is messy when it gets busy again with huge queues going through only one entry point! How ludicrous is that in a major airport! When you hand the landing card the officer says a number 2 or 3 which is bewildering until you find out 3 is to exit without any inspection & 2 is for full inspection by customs, this could be signed posted allot better for passengers who just want to exit as quickly as they can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"arrivals area is quite laughable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Tullamarine International arrivals area is quite laughable and left me both frustrated and embarrassed at what I had just experienced. Who is actually responsible for this mess? Too much of this space is devoted to duty free shopping when it should be devoted to more immigration kiosks to get the crowds through in a streamlined and civilised fashion. Instead there is a ticket required from self serve kiosks before proceeding to an e-gate. Like many other countries, on arrival you should be able to go through e-gates without a ticket. Why is there a 2 step process? This then means that all arriving passengers need to queue twice. Also there are not enough kiosks or e-gates to cater for the volume of arrivals. And the lack of clear and comprehensive signage outlining this process makes for an even more frustrating experience. The terminal is noticeably small and as confusion reigns, particularly amongst first time arrivals, the the added hinderance of a total abscence of staff to assist passengers is deafening. The presence of staff was clearly evident however as you exited the e-gates, all three, standing idle, hands behind their backs and who appeared to be oblivious to the mayhem that was taking place on the other side. I’ve been returning to Melbourne from OS for well over 30 years now and the woefully ineffective and dysfunctional process of the new international arrival process at Tullamarine, is truly a shameful way to welcome me back home and a bad first impression for countless other international arrivals to our country and our city. Shame.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it quickly becomes overcrowded"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The only positive thing about Melbourne Airport is that it’s compact. Domestic is worse than economy with Virgin way too compact. There is not enough space pre airside so it quickly becomes overcrowded. There was a huge lack of foresight building this airport with little space to move or improve. It’s dirty, overcrowded, limited dining options, not much greenery or anything that aesthetically could make it appealing. In fact the airport is quite depressing with the focus on high end retail and little thought to making it a pleasant place for travelers. However if you are transiting between international and domestic, this airport is the easiest.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"what a complete disgrace"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Arrived on TG, no screen info on the baggage carousel, asked the "so called" Customer Service man, which is the carousel for my bags, he said "look at the screen", I politely replied, "the screen has no information about my flight". he replied, "just go over there and look around". So, fellow travelers: "welcome to Melbourne", what a complete disgrace! No train to the city? Government should wake up and stop procrastinating. I avoid Melbourne at all costs these days, and damn it, I was born there! Trains are filthy, trams are filthy, but Government House and surroundings are pristine - go figure!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Immigration is understaffed"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Such an awful airport experience from the very beginning (immigration) to departure screening, considering it's one of the main ports of entry into a country that boasts having some of the best quality of life in the world! I went though the same 1h30m+ immigration queue 3 years ago and came back to the exact same disaster last month. Immigration is understaffed with just 5 personnel, and they're pretty slow with their job. Parking is extremely expensive, and the departure security screening queue is pretty long too! The boarding gate lounges are decent but nothing compared to the 5 star airports in Asia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Thoroughly disappointed"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Thoroughly disappointed with my experience of Melbourne Airport. Melbourne itself is a fabulous city full of great things to do and friendly people. The airport however lets it down dramatically. From the ridiculously snail-like speed at the baggage claim, to the aggressive customs staff. People may not speak much English but that doesn’t give your staff the right to yell at them, roll their eyes and treat them like morons. Duty free was the icing on the cake. Five staff standing at checkouts. Two actually working cash registers. So slow I thought perhaps we were being secretly filmed. On finally getting served, I was informed the product I wanted wasn’t stocked. Mysteriously I’ve never had this problem in Sydney or anywhere else for that matter. Basic manners, respect and efficiency are gravely lacking in this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"need a refresher in customer service"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Staff at Air NZ checkin/bag drop were very rude. I couldn’t activate the screen to check in so asked a member of the group crew. She didn’t even acknowledge me just touched the screen and walked away. Then I was at the conveyor to drop my bag when another ground crew member walked up and said she wanted to put some other customers bags on before me. Air NZ your ground crew staff need a refresher in customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no