Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 980 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"security is a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Everytime I visit this airport the standards get worse. This time it was T3 on Sunday 14th early afternoon. Huge queues for immigration in the cattle pens and stretching well down the corridor, only 4 E lanes open. Plenty of staff bawling instructions as usual. Thankfully I have only another 2 flights booked out of this third world airport. Looks like it will be KLM to AMS and beyond from MME in future unless Carlisle actually opens and serves LCE. Outbound from T1. Once again security is a joke and nothing more than a self perpectuating industry that serves itself rather than passengers. Bag was rescanned due to a AAA battery not being in my electrical bag. The body scanners are either not operating or operatives do not know how to use them or why would there be a need to give each passenger a pat down as well. NAIA or BKK are a dream compared to this airport. The mess outside is even worse. The entire management team needs to be fired for incompetence.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is a disgrace. Not enough staff on security. The woman on passport control on the way back was filing her nails as I stood at the kiosk. The pick up area is unbelievable. We waited outside for the taxi (nowhere to shelter). The taxi driver then had to go and get a token which took him 5mins. We went from T1 its filthy. Could go on and on. Manchester airport you should be ashamed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"so depressing and dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I flew from Manchester to Venice on 6th October, and returned on 11th October. I've flown in and out of Manchester Airport many times over the years. The experience has never been a pleasant one, but it has got continually worse. The security staff at Departures were reasonably polite and efficient and this wasn't the horror I've experienced before. The shop area is bright and glossy, but then you come to the seating and refreshment areas. These are so depressing and dirty. Manchester Airport has gone for the numbers, both in terms of passengers and income, and drossed over (no gloss I'm afraid!) capacity issues. The whole area needs brightening up, and staff employed to clear rubbish away and keep the place clean. But that then needs money. You'd think they were short of money. Think again. I'll come back to that later. Despite all of this, I can easily say that departure was infinitely better than arrivals! The flight from Venice on 11th October left virtually ontime, and before take off the captain announced that we should be landing in Manchester just after 23.00. We actually landed at 23.01. He knew, we knew and apparently Manchester Airport knew as a relative looked on the Airport website where the expected time was shown as 23.01. Why then did it take around 15 minutes after the plane came to a halt at Manchester for the steps to arrive? Had news not got through to the groundstaff, or did they just not care how long the passengers on the plane had to wait? Next, you have to climb up several flights of stairs to the arrivals corridor. We got to the end of the corridor and found that the door was locked. Again was this bad communications or someone not caring. We were eventually released and headed to immigration. There were quite a few passport reading machines "open", but half of these didn't work properly. We were shouted at for not putting the passports in the "right way". People were directed to more machines, and half of those weren't working properly either. Eventually some staff were moved onto immigration desks, and we all got through very quickly. Are the machines there for added security, or to save money. I think the latter. It wouldn't take a great deal of money to iron out these problems. You'd think the Airport was short of money! Well, in 2016 Manchester Airport Group paid out dividends totalling £115.8 million, and in 2017 these rose to £140.9 million. 64.5% of this was paid to Manchester City Council and the other 9 Greater Manchester Councils. They are the principal shareholders Instead of us all moaning on this site, a better option to improve things might be to bombard councillors of these local authorities with complaints. They might then get fed up with the hassle and try and bring pressure to bear to improve things. I imagine most of them have experienced these problems themselves or know friends or relatives who have.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Totally confusing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This must be the worst UK airport. Totally confusing and movement between terminals can take you outside in the rain and through enclosed walkways where very few of the moving walkways are working. Going through security was as bad in two of the terminals I used. Down in the bowels of the airport - low ceilings with piping. It was hot and I felt sick queuing. The lounge areas are vast and noisy and hard to distinguish between each cafe. I felt vulnerable because it was so overwhelming. I will never go through this airport again if I can help it!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the place is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | There really is no excuse for an airport of this size to be in the condition or to be treating passengers in the way it does. The place is so far behind other airports that it is an embarrassment to the region. Passengers are treated as an inconvenience to be fleeced; the place is dirty, noisy and disorganized; security is understaffed, toilets are terrible. As a frequent user of this airport my opinion is that it is time the relevant authorities intervened and removed the incompetence that calls itself management - the place is a disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"amazed how helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I arrived at Manchester Airport to pick up my daughter. Was a bit confused at the parking and pick up points. Met a member of the staff who walked me to where my daughter was and brought me back to my vehicle. Then showed me were to pay. I was amazed as to how helpful this lady was even though her shift had finished. Delighted to have met her.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"rudeness, inefficiency and dirtiness"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I'm a frequent user of this airport (live in Manchester) and I'm regularly appalled by the rudeness, inefficiency and dirtiness on display. Imagine my surprise, however, when I turned up to fly to Dublin a few days ago and actually had a reasonable experience. Instead of insulting, hostile behaviour, the security staff were almost decent (everything's relative: you have very low expectations when you fly from Manchester) and the flight left on time. Reassuringly, on my return Manchester was back to its typical hostility. First came the mandatory fifteen minute wait on the plane while they found the steps for embarkation -it seems always to take them by surprise that planes arrive on time and then came an additional burden, a trip round the airport on a bus, which also got stuck because, as the driver informed us, road works meant that only one bus could disembark passengers at a time. And then the disheartening walk through the filthy, chaotic terminal. What a disgrace to Manchester this place is. If you get the chance, use any other airport and not this one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, disorganised, claustrophobic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It quite honestly is the worst airport I have ever had the displeasure of using. I would have normally used Gatwick, Heathrow or Stansted, however, as this was a markedly cheaper option, I thought I would give Manchester a try. Biggest mistake I have ever made. Dirty, disorganised, claustrophobic and extremely grim, like a run down derelict shopping centre. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful too. A shame, as the flight was not too bad with Thomas Cook. I will never set foot into this hovel of a place again. Utterly embarrassing to any visitors coming into the UK, especially if it may be their first time. Actually makes me feel ashamed! Use any other UK airport and avoid Manchester at all costs. Be warned!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"overcrowded, shabby, and very expensive"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | A long time ago Manchester (ringway) airport was one of the best airports in Europe, sadly it no longer is, today it is overcrowded, shabby, and very expensive and flying in and out is not a nice experience at all. Yesterday's queue for security in T3 was unbelievable, people were missing flights yet when asked why there were long delays/queues the totally unconcerned reply was 'too many flights and not enough staff'. Long queues, poor facilities (walkways not working for days, terrible toilets, buckets on the floor to catch leaks!) and over priced and terrible restaurants/bars. Sad to see and even though there is major long term investment going on, avoid Manchester airport if you possibly can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff lacking any human qualities"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After having recently used Manchester airport we have concluded it is under a foreign occupation. Airport staff behaving like Orwellian henchmen / women. Is this a test bed to see how far the Brits can be pushed into becoming compliant sheep to an occupying force? We would like to know where these staff were trained and who trained them. We witnessed elderly passengers being berated for no reason. Who are these nasty people? Would they treat their own Grandparents like this? Do they even have Grandparents or are they cyborgs as given they are uncaring, unfeeling and completely lacking any human qualities they certainly fit the profile.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no