Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1313 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"such pathetic and incompetent staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is by far the worst experience at an airport i’ve ever had. I have lived all over the United States, visited countless countries experiencing their airports - however this was a joke. Arriving 3hrs 45min early, narrowly making it to the gate with a 5 minute window after they had already begun boarding. I was in a check-in queue for over 1:30hours and a security line of 2hours 5minutes. I have never experienced such pathetic and incompetent staff members, along with such a disorganized system of movement. Security queues made us wait in check in lines, with a 1:20hour wait before we even saw anything regarding security, where we were made to queue once more for almost an hour. From there, they told me that they were no longer prioritizing flights, leaving many many people to realize how late they were going to be for the flights they were about to miss.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Expensive parking, poor directions and indifferent staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Just picked my brother and his family up from Manchester Airport, Terminal 3. Expensive parking, poor directions and indifferent staff. Added to the fact that my brother's luggage has gone missing (2 Large bags) and everything delayed. I am a proud Mancunian who is thoroughly ashamed of this awful, money grabbing airport. Andy Burnham should hang his head, good talker! Waste of space. 10 out of 10 for Liverpool airport though, a pleasure to use, so why can't Manchester get it right? Avoid it if you can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"2 hours to get through security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I have ever used, an hour to check bags, 2 hours to get through security and now my flights delayed by over 2 hrs due to ground staff shortage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"staff were friendly, polite and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I travelled from Manchester airport on 4 June and despite the huge queues all the security staff were friendly, polite and helpful. I compliment them for their professionalism. In the wake of all the bad publicity, the staff must be praised for their professional, friendly and efficient manner in which they facilitated the flow of passengers through security. From stepping through the airport doorway at 3.30 am and into the lounge took 40 mins. A big thank you to all. Yes, there are large numbers of people and insufficient staff, but let’s not pillory those trying to do the best they can, in the circumstances.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

"complement the airline and airport staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have travelled from Manchester airport today (3rd June) with Jet2 and must complement the airline and airport staff for their exemplary service. In the wake of all the bad publicity they have experienced over the past few days I feel they should be praised for their professional, friendly and efficient manner in which they facilitated the flow of passengers through check-in, security and on-board the flight. From stepping through the airport doorway and onto the departure lounge it took one hour. Our flight was delayed by 15 mins of the original scheduled time and we arrived at our destination 10 mins later than planned. Our passage through Malaga airport was smooth and efficient. A big well done and thank you to all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"lady in terminal 1 wrapping shop was fantastic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was at the Manchester airport yesterday, I needed to wrap up 9 large boxes. The lady in terminal 1 wrapping shop was fantastic as well as the security and the Wizzair staff even helped with my customs issue. I thought I'd miss the flight but they all made sure all ran smoothly and I made it. Fantastic . Also the parking marshal I met whilst waiting for the boxes, so helpful, not just helping me but I watched how he went out of his way to help other.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"not a single saving grace about it"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This place has not a single saving grace about it and is more geared to gouging money out of travellers at every opportunity than to giving customers any sort of good experience. Pay here, pay there, pay everywhere, bad staff who seem hopelessly undertrained, uncomfortable seating areas, poor overpriced franchises, and queues everywhere. A lot of it is owned by the local councils around Manchester who doubtless want their pound of flesh out of it but regardless this is one of if not the worst airport I ever travel through and I've done many. Hang your heads in shame.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An utter shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | An utter shambles. An embarrassment to the City of Manchester. How long before they get their staffing sorted and provide a decent service. Time for heads to roll in the senior management.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Almost 5 hours to get through!"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We stayed locally so that we could be early for 11am. Aer Lingus MCO flight. I had booked special assistance for my wife. Arrival 6.55 - already checked in so went to assistance desk. Told to go and drop off luggage. Went to bag drop. Not available so joined check in queue. Others using bag drop (with help from agent), rejoined bag drop only to be told to go for bag tags away from there. Eventually went back to assistance. Told 2 hours until someone would be available to push wheelchair. Told me that I could do the pushing if I wished. Mentioned FastTrack to agent. Forget it and get in regular (very long) queue. Did so and eventually moved towards the barriers for security. Tannoy called people forward with earlier flights. Airport agent said people were going through whose flights were later and that he had no authority to stop them. No managers around apparently. We then entered a corridor for quite some time. Eventually we arrived at security and hand baggage check. This took some time and we were faced with going through an empty duty free area. Oh, I forgot - we were now at 11.40am. On leaving there, we could see the Aer Lingus aircraft on stand so I started to run - 77 years of age! We were going nicely and then - thank you MAN - my knee collapsed. We made it - me hobbling - to the final stretch where we were met by ground staff. Last two on plane. Left stand 11.54am. Almost 5 hours to get through! Do Airport Assist provide the service? - not in our case, of course. If so, Orlando Airport were 5 star. Listed as Airport Assist also. Absolutely no comparison- arriving or departing. Returning to MAN - wheelchair - I pushed my wife again! Two areas 1) Manchester Airport- reactive not proactive 2) Airport Assist - kind of them to provide a wheelchair and nothing else. I have always urged friends to travel through our "local gateway to the world", I couldn’t do that anymore. A disgrace and embarrassing for the North. 8.15 by now.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"No one at Manchester cares"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flight delayed by 3 hours. No one at Manchester cares. Now missed my connection and stuck in Qatar airport for 24 hours. Thank you Manchester airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no