Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 978 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"so depressing and dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I flew from Manchester to Venice on 6th October, and returned on 11th October. I've flown in and out of Manchester Airport many times over the years. The experience has never been a pleasant one, but it has got continually worse. The security staff at Departures were reasonably polite and efficient and this wasn't the horror I've experienced before. The shop area is bright and glossy, but then you come to the seating and refreshment areas. These are so depressing and dirty. Manchester Airport has gone for the numbers, both in terms of passengers and income, and drossed over (no gloss I'm afraid!) capacity issues. The whole area needs brightening up, and staff employed to clear rubbish away and keep the place clean. But that then needs money. You'd think they were short of money. Think again. I'll come back to that later. Despite all of this, I can easily say that departure was infinitely better than arrivals! The flight from Venice on 11th October left virtually ontime, and before take off the captain announced that we should be landing in Manchester just after 23.00. We actually landed at 23.01. He knew, we knew and apparently Manchester Airport knew as a relative looked on the Airport website where the expected time was shown as 23.01. Why then did it take around 15 minutes after the plane came to a halt at Manchester for the steps to arrive? Had news not got through to the groundstaff, or did they just not care how long the passengers on the plane had to wait? Next, you have to climb up several flights of stairs to the arrivals corridor. We got to the end of the corridor and found that the door was locked. Again was this bad communications or someone not caring. We were eventually released and headed to immigration. There were quite a few passport reading machines "open", but half of these didn't work properly. We were shouted at for not putting the passports in the "right way". People were directed to more machines, and half of those weren't working properly either. Eventually some staff were moved onto immigration desks, and we all got through very quickly. Are the machines there for added security, or to save money. I think the latter. It wouldn't take a great deal of money to iron out these problems. You'd think the Airport was short of money! Well, in 2016 Manchester Airport Group paid out dividends totalling £115.8 million, and in 2017 these rose to £140.9 million. 64.5% of this was paid to Manchester City Council and the other 9 Greater Manchester Councils. They are the principal shareholders Instead of us all moaning on this site, a better option to improve things might be to bombard councillors of these local authorities with complaints. They might then get fed up with the hassle and try and bring pressure to bear to improve things. I imagine most of them have experienced these problems themselves or know friends or relatives who have.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Totally confusing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This must be the worst UK airport. Totally confusing and movement between terminals can take you outside in the rain and through enclosed walkways where very few of the moving walkways are working. Going through security was as bad in two of the terminals I used. Down in the bowels of the airport - low ceilings with piping. It was hot and I felt sick queuing. The lounge areas are vast and noisy and hard to distinguish between each cafe. I felt vulnerable because it was so overwhelming. I will never go through this airport again if I can help it!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the place is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | There really is no excuse for an airport of this size to be in the condition or to be treating passengers in the way it does. The place is so far behind other airports that it is an embarrassment to the region. Passengers are treated as an inconvenience to be fleeced; the place is dirty, noisy and disorganized; security is understaffed, toilets are terrible. As a frequent user of this airport my opinion is that it is time the relevant authorities intervened and removed the incompetence that calls itself management - the place is a disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"amazed how helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I arrived at Manchester Airport to pick up my daughter. Was a bit confused at the parking and pick up points. Met a member of the staff who walked me to where my daughter was and brought me back to my vehicle. Then showed me were to pay. I was amazed as to how helpful this lady was even though her shift had finished. Delighted to have met her.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"rudeness, inefficiency and dirtiness"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I'm a frequent user of this airport (live in Manchester) and I'm regularly appalled by the rudeness, inefficiency and dirtiness on display. Imagine my surprise, however, when I turned up to fly to Dublin a few days ago and actually had a reasonable experience. Instead of insulting, hostile behaviour, the security staff were almost decent (everything's relative: you have very low expectations when you fly from Manchester) and the flight left on time. Reassuringly, on my return Manchester was back to its typical hostility. First came the mandatory fifteen minute wait on the plane while they found the steps for embarkation -it seems always to take them by surprise that planes arrive on time and then came an additional burden, a trip round the airport on a bus, which also got stuck because, as the driver informed us, road works meant that only one bus could disembark passengers at a time. And then the disheartening walk through the filthy, chaotic terminal. What a disgrace to Manchester this place is. If you get the chance, use any other airport and not this one.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, disorganised, claustrophobic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It quite honestly is the worst airport I have ever had the displeasure of using. I would have normally used Gatwick, Heathrow or Stansted, however, as this was a markedly cheaper option, I thought I would give Manchester a try. Biggest mistake I have ever made. Dirty, disorganised, claustrophobic and extremely grim, like a run down derelict shopping centre. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful too. A shame, as the flight was not too bad with Thomas Cook. I will never set foot into this hovel of a place again. Utterly embarrassing to any visitors coming into the UK, especially if it may be their first time. Actually makes me feel ashamed! Use any other UK airport and avoid Manchester at all costs. Be warned!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"overcrowded, shabby, and very expensive"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | A long time ago Manchester (ringway) airport was one of the best airports in Europe, sadly it no longer is, today it is overcrowded, shabby, and very expensive and flying in and out is not a nice experience at all. Yesterday's queue for security in T3 was unbelievable, people were missing flights yet when asked why there were long delays/queues the totally unconcerned reply was 'too many flights and not enough staff'. Long queues, poor facilities (walkways not working for days, terrible toilets, buckets on the floor to catch leaks!) and over priced and terrible restaurants/bars. Sad to see and even though there is major long term investment going on, avoid Manchester airport if you possibly can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"staff lacking any human qualities"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After having recently used Manchester airport we have concluded it is under a foreign occupation. Airport staff behaving like Orwellian henchmen / women. Is this a test bed to see how far the Brits can be pushed into becoming compliant sheep to an occupying force? We would like to know where these staff were trained and who trained them. We witnessed elderly passengers being berated for no reason. Who are these nasty people? Would they treat their own Grandparents like this? Do they even have Grandparents or are they cyborgs as given they are uncaring, unfeeling and completely lacking any human qualities they certainly fit the profile.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues at passport control ridiculous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We arrived at Manchester after a week away in Corsica I was traveling with an 83yr old lady on the 30th September we were ushered like a herd of cows by a member of staff screeching at us as if we had no brains walking down lanes to just have to walk back up. The queues at passport control were ridiculous! 3 hours families with small children and elderly people having to wait while airport staff just stood around. My traveling companion by this time was absolutely tired out we had been up since 5.30am and at 83yrs old she just could not stand anymore I shouted over to a member of staff to ask if they could get her through and they did. They did not let me through or even ask me or the lady if she was with anyone so she ended up going through on her own and still had to wait for me to get through for almost another hour. Thank goodness she was able to sit and wait for me to finally join her. I realize that there is some waiting around but staff should have allowed the elderly and families with young children through first instead they just stood around chatting to each other not taking any notice of anyone who may have needed any help. Manchester Airport was always a great place to depart and arrive from sadly this is not the case anymore, it is staffed by uncaring staff that are more interested in chatting to each other when they are not screeching at poor people who just want to get home. Please sort your priorities out, show some consideration to the older customers that need a little bit of help and to those young families that have small children and babies that are tired and hungry.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Just a big scam"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We have just arrived back in Manchester flying in from Girona, Spain. Very long queues for security although those in the non British queue seemed to sail through. Eye scan machines still not working properly, people having to leave machine and be scanned manually. Then the car park. Our taxi was late because it took him 20 minutes to find a space and then he had to pay £4 to park just for a few minutes. Just a big scam to get you to spend as much time as possible at the airport and spend as much money as possible. I have always said that I would not use the low cost carriers including Ryanair but I am so fed up with Manchester that I will now travel the extra few miles and fly from Liverpool.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no