Manchester Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 1374 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"thoroughly depressing experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Travelling Club World via Terminal three, we arrived early and were told we couldn't check in yet ("computer says no" kind of vibe from the staff). All of the self-service check-in kiosks were out of order; no BA lounge in this terminal, and very limited seating, so people crowded with luggage in a franchise coffee bar with filthy floor and tables, shabby and worn-out fittings, and a poor selection of food. A thoroughly depressing experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“tired, dirty, disorganised”

(Australia)

Not Verified | This has to be the worst airports in the world. On arrival it looks tired, dirty, disorganised and on departure 2 weeks later (back to Australia) it was even worse. Terminal 1 is cramped, totally disorganised, staff yelling instructions at people and then security is ridiculously bad. Again, dirty, depressing, massive queue of confused people, staff yelling, had to take liquids out (nowhere else seems to do this anymore!!) backlog of people waiting for bags to come through. And then the departure area OMG!! Too many people for the space, dirty floors (chewing gum on the floor at the gate) rubbish bins are just plastic bags on a stand!! Horrendous will never fly back to the uk via Manchester again - embarrassing really.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"grateful for his exceptional service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My experience at T1 Manchester Airport on May 2nd was initially marred by a disheartening incident with SunExpress. Despite having proof that my 4-month-old baby was booked on our flight, we were denied boarding, causing us to miss our flight and jeopardizing our carefully planned and saved-for holiday. With all contact lines closed for both SunExpress and OnTheBeach, we found ourselves in a distressing predicament, especially since we were reliant on family for transport and had no means of getting home without resorting to an expensive taxi. Feeling stranded and defeated, we stumbled upon the Manchester Airport help desk as we were preparing to leave. It was there that we met Mortimer, a beacon of hope amidst our turmoil. Mortimer attentively listened to our plight, showing a remarkable level of empathy and understanding. He swiftly assessed our situation, meticulously examining our tickets, bookings, and evidence of the denied boarding. Mortimer's knowledge and professionalism were immediately apparent as he calmly elucidated our rights and the recourse available to us with both the airline and holiday firm. Moreover, he went above and beyond by arranging accommodation for us at a nearby hotel and assisting us in securing a new flight for the following day. The logistical challenges we faced, particularly concerning our luggage and the needs of our baby, were alleviated by his proactive assistance. He liaised with the new airline on our behalf, ensuring that our baby's necessities were accommodated, and even helped us transport our belongings to the hotel—a task that would have been arduous without his aid. Throughout this ordeal, his unwavering support and genuine concern provided us with much-needed reassurance. In a world increasingly dominated by automated systems and impersonal customer service, his human touch was a breath of fresh air. Manchester Airport is fortunate to have someone of his caliber at their help desk. His exemplary attitude and dedication truly set a standard far beyond what one might expect. Thanks to his intervention, what could have been a catastrophic setback evolved into a manageable setback. His remarkable assistance not only salvaged our holiday but also saved us from potentially significant financial loss. I am immensely grateful for his exceptional service and sincerely hope that Manchester Airport recognizes him as the invaluable asset he is.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Another dreadful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified |   Another dreadful experience. I’m ashamed to say that my home city airport seems to actively be living up to its ‘worst airport in the UK’ reputation. Confusion, broken machines and massive queues on the way out. Delays sitting on the runway and one person at the immigration desk for a 500 person flight. 2 hrs from landing to getting in a taxi. Come on, have some city pride and sort it out, it’s embarrassing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“Dire beyond belief”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Dire beyond belief, had to pick my son up from Terminal 3 last night at 23.00, I can honestly say that the terminal was worse than a Third world country that has just suffered 30 years of civil war along with a famine and numerous natural disasters, it was shabby, dated, dirty and utterly not fit for purpose. We parked in the "Terminal 3 pick up car park", not being familiar with terminal 3 you look for the arrivals entrance, after a short walk you are directed down a very dark alley with a skip and building materials blocking most of the path, having decided that can't be the route we retraced our steps and kept to the lit footpaths until we eventually found arrivals where we could get a coffee ...... no we couldn't, despite a quite busy concourse, everywhere was shut, OK I thought, lets go to "Departures" same again everywhere was shut, now determined to get some sort of a coffee, maybe a vending machine can relieve me of £10 for a watered down warm brown substance, off to terminal 1 departures, again loads of people everywhere shut, now desperate, down to arrivals, then a glimmer of hope we saw someone with a carry away drinks cup and there we found it, a small Greggs tucked away in a corner, 1 shining light in the pits of Manchester Airport, now to get back to terminal 3, we realised that you actually had to squeeze past the skip and building materials, that was the correct route after all, wondering if we were going to get mugged, I hadn't realised that stage, we were actually going to get mugged, nervously we made our way into arrivals to meet my son, a short walk back to the car and the dredded "Pay station" No1 out of order, No2 out of order, No3 Working, pop you token in ......... £20 please sir... Mugged.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Security staff extremely rude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport overall looks like a building zone. Signage is poor and confusing. Terminal 2 being renovated and opening next year. In the meantime, walkways are switched off although no visible work being done. Security staff extremely rude. Shouting, abrupt, finger waving and some just speaking to customers in a way that beggars belief. These are my observations and am not writing the review after being on the receiving end of the abuse. Just felt it needed airing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very confusing security process"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Expect extra long waiting lines everywhere, at least 40 minutes long security process, very confusing security process where solid materials are defined as fluids, rude staff shouting at passengers, every bag to be inspected in security. It is even better to take the train and fly through London. That is what I will do for now after several frustrating trips through this airport of horror.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it sure was disappointing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My first time visiting Manchester airport and it sure was disappointing. The first thing I noticed was how dated the airport looked, really felt like it could do with a facelift. Security at the airport was a nightmare. It was fairly quick however was complete chaos with people everywhere and didn't seem as well managed as what I've witnessed at other airports. The duty free and airside areas were more modern and a lot more pleasant. When I arrived back into Manchester airport upon arriving back into the UK. I was shocked at the state of the arrivals baggage reclaim. The room was once again very dated and had a funny smell to it. There was an uncollected case on one of the carousels which had broken open leaving its food related contents everywhere. I used the toilet whilst waiting for my bag and had the unpleasant experience of witnessing the toilets. Some of the urinals were blocked and had overflowed onto the floor, the smell was awful. Not a completely awful experience as the airport served its purpose however there are a lot of things that could change, definitely not up to the same standard as a lot of other airports in the UK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"shops seemed expensive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3 Departures: Primarily BA to LHR and all Ryanair flights. Check-in OK and Security reasonable for the time of day. The departure lounge was very busy with few empty seats, all the food establishments busy and suffering from a lack of table clearing etc to free up space. The shops seemed expensive with a poor selection available. Space at individual gates minimal so passengers were clogging things up, slowing down the boarding process and passengers trying to get to another gate further along. A reasonable selection of departure boards around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"A shocking airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A shocking airport which I will not be using again. Car parks are miles away. Buses are irregular. I have never walked so far at an airport in my life. Badly designed, inefficient and rubbish service. The walk from the plane to passport control was over 700 m. Passport control was poorly organized. The staff shifted us from queue to queue. Signage is misleading and poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no