Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 750 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"an awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What an awful experience, I travel the world on business most weeks and this was the worst experience ever. 1 hour 15 to clear security at Luton, 9 min at Zurich on the return. Luton doesn't employ enough staff and they seem to be poorly trained. My luggage was flagged for extra inspection, the problem? The shaving gel that was sealed in a plastic bag they needed to check despite the fact its cleared 10 other International airports so far this year. After another wait I was then begrudgingly told its OK. Avoid Luton airport if at all possible
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The place is filthy and unwelcoming"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Our Easyjet flight was cancelled at 21.00 from Gatwick to Inverness. It would have meant we would have to stay at Gatwick from Fri 19th July for a further 3 nights at Gatwick. We eventually got a taxi to Luton from Gatwick and were got to fly on the 20th July to Glasgow. We went to the airport on the Sat morning to the most unhelpful airport staff we have ever met. My husband is disabled and has restricted walking mobility. We went to Assistance to be told we would need our boarding pass before we would get assistance. We went to check in and were told we would have to join the huge queue that was there, until one caring young woman took us through the tensa barrier and checked us in. In a matter of minutes. We could then go and get assistance booked prior to our flight. We got assistance and were hurried to the departure lounge with my husband, asked if he could not stop to take a coffee with him and the answer was no. The place is filthy and unwelcoming. I think it needs a serious shake up and clean up. Hopefully I will not have to use this airport again anytime soon.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Luton airport should be closed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton airport should be closed. The way they are treating people is discraceful. On the 13th August 2019 I arrived at the airport 2.5 hours before my flight departure time. On arriving at the airport I noticed thousands of people waiting to go through security so I decided not to have a coffee and try to get through security. It was obvious that there were too many flights leaving at the same time for the small amount of security points they have at the airport to cope. To make things worse security were double checking every other bag, I have travelled extensively and been through at least 50 airports and I have never seen anything like it. The security staff clearly had no training and had no idea what they were doing. The boarding pass scanning machines were not working properly and the staff were panicking. Consequently I missed my flight along with hundreds of other people. It then took another 75 minutes to get back out of the departure area because no staff were available to deal with anything. Obviously I was furious because I had missed my flight due to the airport and I wanted answers. There one person at the airport information handing out business cards with the address of the airport on and no phone number. I said I would like to speak to someone on and he told me that was not possible and I would have to write a letter to the address on the card. The Chief Executive of the airport should be held accountable and loose his job for not taking any responsibility. I would never use Luton airport again and I wound strongly advise anyone who is considering flying from Luton to think again. If you have no choice other than to use Luton the you would be advised to arrive at least 4 hours before your flight departure time or there is a very good chance you will miss your flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport security ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport security ever. Almost everyone subjected to random tests. We had all fluids in a plastic bag in the open but they had to do a random cream test. Took an hour to go through security. Almost missed the flight. One other passenger fell ill on the way. Didn't make the flight. Avoid this airport if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No staff to be seen anywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Yesterday Luton Airport was flooded and closed off in places because of unprecedented rainfall. This led to delays for passengers, something that naturally could not be avoided. My complaint is about the way it was handled. My mother and I arrived at the airport on a Wizz Air flight from Budapest about 8.45pm. Many passengers from other flights arrived around the same time. We were all hearded into a room that was basically a queue of people, rammed together, snaking up and down the room. There was no staff to be heard or seen, no explanation as to why we were waiting. Meanwhile people were over heating because we were rammed in like sardines. I saw three fights between young men nearly break out as their frustrations started to get out of hand. Families with young children and babies struggled to keep them calm. To my amazement, once my position in the queue led us to the edge of the sea of heads, I saw a group of airport staff seated there playing on their mobile phones, seemingly oblivious to the risks to passengers caught up in the centre of this crowd for over two hours. I, along with many other passengers, felt that this situation was not safe. There was no staff checking if passengers needed water, or to keep them updated as to what was happening or the cause for the delay. It was hot and passengers were calling for bottles of water to be passed along to a family, where I believe a child was overheating and feeling faint. Had fights broken out, people could easily have panicked and been hurt. People with disabilities, the elderly and young children were especially at risk. As a British woman I felt ashamed and embarrassed about this welcome to the UK. Sometimes things happen, such as flooding, over which we have no control. What we should be able to do though at all times, is to make the best use of the human resources available and direct them accordingly to ensure that at least some efforts are made to keep people informed and cared for. This was definitely not the case at Luton Airport. We finally managed to leave the airport in the early hours of the morning. It was not until hours of waiting that we finally saw some explanation for the delay. Large apologetic signs, in English, displayed at the baggage collection points, explained about the impact of flooding at the airport. No airport customer service staff to be seen anywhere. Only cleaners, immigration staff and sales assistants for food and duty free. My husband had a similar experience on the other side of the barriers, with people becoming frustrated with the lack of information and customer care. I think it's sad and disappointing that the situation was handled in this way.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"struggled to find the entrance to the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I came to pick up my sister, her husband and one year old son on Sunday the 14th of July at 16.35. I first drove into the area where you can wait for 15 minutes and paid £4. I stayed in this section for around 3 minutes. I needed to go to the toilet and I know you cant leave the car unattended so I then went into the parking area and parked. I struggled to find the entrance to the airport and needed to take two lifts and walk in different directions. It is not clearly marked. It took me 10 minutes to find the entrance. Then I went into the main airport and found the first toilet next to Burger King and opposite M&S. The only one available was a disabled one, it was extremely dirty with urine all over the seat and no toilet paper. I went next to the toilet and got some baby changing roll to clean the seat and used a tissue I had. I found my sister and her family and we started to make our way back to the parking lot. We followed the signs to the parking lot which took us to the 15 minute stay for £4! I then found someone who works for Luton and asked him the way back to the parking lot, ground 0, and he said that the signs were incorrect and pointed us back towards the right way and so we took another 10 minutes to find our way back to the car. All of this took under an hour and was very stressful and in total I was charged £14 for parking and used a dirty toilet with no toilet paper.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is not fit for purpose"

(France)

Trip Verified | This airport is not fit for purpose. There are too many flights scheduled for the available space. We arrived there soon after 4.30am, it was raining, and our taxi was forced to drop us a long distance from the departure building because of building works. Along with several hundred other people, we had a long enforced trek to find some cover from the weather. Some elderly passengers found the walk very difficult. Ryanair were checking in on 4 desks, but the queue, several deep, extended way out past the snaked area and halfway along the length of the building. There were long queues at both the toilet areas along our route, even the gents' toilets, and people panicking because they were afraid of losing their flight as a result. The check in staff were working well - they were quick and efficient, but didn't have time to be polite or friendly. The worst experience was going through Security. I am a woman in my 70s, travelling with my husband and two friends, thin, and wearing just 5 lightweight pieces of clothing. Why I should have been subjected to a body search, I have no idea. The search was intrusive, I felt violated. And I couldn't find my shoes, which had been taken from me. I didn't complain at the time - the long wait meant that we had to run to our gate even though we'd arrived 2 hours before take-off, so I had no time to lodge a complaint. Luton airport was a most unpleasant experience from start to finish. Never, ever again, shall I fly from Luton.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"not enough seating"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I am at the moment inside the airport. There is not enough seating, corridors are packed, very noisy, all factors contributing to a very unpleasant stay here. Why is not there a smoking area? Do you prefer passengers having to go against the law and smoke in the bathrooms?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"today's experience has been horrific"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have flown from Luton many times but today's experience has been horrific, as a matter of a fact it has never been great. Arrived to the airport 2.45am as I had to take a bus (usually drive) and my flight was at 6.50am which is, lets be honest, more than enough time, there was no later bus service unfortunately. Once arriving, the place was relatively quiet. I have noticed that before, but there is only one big display showing departing flights and the area gets very crowded, people are pushing through etc. I was flying with Wizz Air and their check in desks were from 12-30 however for my flight it was displayed only at 4.30. I could have just chanced it and queued as soon as they opened them but did not want to risk being turned away to the back of the queue due to drop off not being open for my flight. I was in the line over 1 hr, it was tiring, the automtic drop off was going a bit faster but if I was to decide to chose that option, there was a massive queue already formed. Staff-no comment, rude, but more importatntly not enough of them. Check in staff were shouting out destinations that were closer to their departure times, people were pushing through so they dont miss their flights, I guess thats fair enough, would have done the same probably. Finally, luggage checked in, now security, at this time the airport was absolutely packed, obviously schools broke up for summer holidays as it was full of parents with kids, cannot imagine the up coming next 2 weeks though. Security went relatively fast, I thought I would be queueing forever again. Body scan all ok, did not have to take my shoes off, which would not have bothered me. I never ever pack any lotions, creams, lipgloss or any other make up or liquids in my hand laguagge however my bags went on the other side of the roller conveyor for a further review. This is now 5.30am, flying at 6.50am. There was a family of 4 in front of me being checked out, all of them had creams, liquids etc packed in their hand lagguage rather than having them in the trays. The security officer was just as "enthusiastic" as the queueing passangers, and to be fair very slow but I guess they have to do a thorough check, she did not seem to be in a rush though. Finally, got to my bag, she has not even opened it, looked at the scanner and I was ok to go! Why on this holy earth did they have to pass it through another check if she did not even bother to flipping open it? At this point, dying for a tolilet break, again the queues were long as my arm. I have to say, I was cheeky and used the disabled toilets as I was not prepared to wait again. Mamaged to grab a meal deal from WHSmith and the gate for my flight was soon open (again bare in mind I was there from 2.45am). Did not have much time to browse through shops, which, in a hind sight, was good for my wallet. Obviously, no spaces to sit down let alone stand. Unfortunately, I will have to fly from here again, but this airport is way too small for its capacity with not very helpful staff and if you can, please avoid especially when travelling with kids. I know it may sound a bit exaggerated, but this is a honest review and I don't ever bother with them regardless of being good/bad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"hard to find the bus stop"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I found it very hard to find the bus stop outside this airport. It isn't user friendly. Arrival was fine as it was at night and the airport was deserted. Many passengers arriving at 4 to 5 am didn't make my quest a lot easier either.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no