Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 713 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Truly an awful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Truly an awful airport. Luton has been allowed to exceed their capacity and it shows. The on-site medium term car park we used was almost full and when we finally found a space we had to wait an age for the transit bus to arrive. There's no electronic signage to indicate when the bus will arrive, you just have to take it on faith. It would have been quicker to walk to the terminal if it had been adequately signed. Going through security was the only positive experience I had - short queues and minimum fuss. However, once through the departure lounge is tiny compared with how many passengers they cram in there. Rare to find free seats, even if you have tired children with you. Upon return we got off the plane at just before 2pm only to be confronted with a huge queue in the EU/UK line to get through passport control. We finally cleared passport control at just 3.30pm - that's right 1 hour 30 minutes in a queue with 2 tired young children with us. The e-passport queue went much quicker but doesn't allow children under 12 so the 'slow' queue was full of families and understandably upset children. There were no seats, no sign of toilets, and no sign of any staff. I saw one mother trying to comfort a young baby who obviously needed feeding or changing but what could they do? I've been through countless different passport controls before in many different countries but this has been that absolute worst! There should be no excuses for this; the airport knows precisely how many passengers are arriving and when, even what nationalities they are. The airport should have a duty to ensure there are enough border patrol staff there to process everybody in a set time limit. If the airport can't make this happen then the CAA should revoke some of the landing slots from the airport as they are obviously operating beyond their capacity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very large queues"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Large check-in queues, poor signage compounded by building works, very large queues at security and insufficient customer seating and catering airside. Poor car parking experience, my car was hit by another and the airport refused to release cctv footage and tried to charge me twice. Miserable experience, easily the worst airport in the UK and Europe and I travel extensively. Avoid unless you hate yourself and want to be miserable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will never use Luton airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Queued at border control for over one hour. I will never use Luton airport again, they did not even prioritise families with babies. Only three officers on the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"baggage queues are mortifying"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Mostly poor airport. The baggage queues are mortifying and the air traffic control mess up left us waiting to get off the plane for 2 hours. When we did get off we were greeted by another hour and a half passport control queue. The toilets are disgusting as I found a mouldy orange inside the toilet paper dispenser. The staff are horrible and there is nothing to do when departing except for expensive duty free. Can't understand why this airport isn't closed yet!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"seriously short of staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | They are seriously short of staff at passport control. I think they had three members of staff and only three booths open. The whole of the area was crowded and an awful introduction to tourists. The passports members of staff can be more welcoming but fed up I can imagine as apparently a different member of staff said they are 'always short of staff'. Beside the grungy looks and the sad pictures of English people in flat chaps this needs to be seriously freshened up in to modern looking Britain. There was also only one bay open for long term car park today. There were more buses entering for people on car hires. Shoddy, information, too long to wait for car parks and generally poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"it never disappoints"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Luton is one of the best airports I've used! Never disapoints, despite construction works it is very thoughtfully planned! It's always quick check in and security checks! And this is what you want when you are travelling with family! I am using this airport aroind 4-5 times per year and it never disappoints! Well done Luton Airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"An insult to London"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | An insult to London. This airport should not be allowed to call itself London Luton as it is an appalling introduction for overseas visitors to all that London has to offer. Departed easyjet flight to Mahon last week - returned 6th October. Minicab drop off £3. Trolley an unreturnable £2. Minicab pickup £8. So on a return flight Luton is £10 more expensive than Heathrow. On top of that you have a long walk in the rain to and from the terminal. On return you have to wait an hour in an off peak period to collect your baggage. Little Mahon airport has extendable walkways to the plane. At Luton you have to use rickety old steps. One airport employee told me that the airport authorities only concentrate on the retail side and do not care about the passengers. My wife has said that she would not go on holiday if Luton was the only available airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"15 e-pass gates and 5 open"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Departure - well this was smooth and well organised until push back and take off. We arrived in good time as we had allowed for the normal delays in central London and on the M1 to the airport has we had used the coach from Baker Street. The departure and check in areas are well signed and easy to find. We did pay for Priority just in case of delays. But there was no queues at security. The staff were professional and polite with a greeting of enjoy your holiday. The prices in the cafes and food outlets are reasonable and there is a good selection to chose from. Once at the gate boarding was slick and we were given a chance has the flight was full to having our cabin bags placed in the hold has priority bags which we did, however not enough people took up the offer and were given no choice at the aircraft steps. Once we were pushed back and on the way to the runway the Captain was informed of a 30 minute delay and we were parked on a remote stand. Arrival - again we had a delay due to the aircraft which was been used been late from its morning trip however we were only 15 minutes late on to a remote stand. But it took 30 minutes for the steps and coach to arrive at the aircraft. A full A320 has at a guess maybe 140 passengers. However the Ground handlers appeared with one set of steps and a bendy bus to disembark the aircraft. So it took twice as long for us to get to the terminal. Passport Control - well 15 e-pass gates at the airport and 5 open! This meant that there was a queue at the Non EU, EU and Epass desks. The epass queue was compounded by families who do not understand the children have to go via the normal desks. Apart from the queues we were out within 30 minutes an hour after landing. We did hear that it took over 2 hours to get though the non EU control point. Terminal - there was overnight building work been undertaken but there were plenty of signs warning of the work. However, staff were at hand to help people. The cleaners had decided to close both sets of toilets at the same time due a builder using their wet floor sign but when an old lady spoke a member of the staff they soon reopened the other one and recovered the missing wet floor signs. The bus station is well sign and there are staff who you can ask for directions. Once all the building work and refurbishment is complete no doubt the bad press will cease.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Security totally diabolical"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Pre booked parking in mid stay. After 20 minutes driving around verified that there were no spaces. Told by customer service to go to multi storey and they would honour my booking. Check in bad but that wasn't airports fault. Security was then totally diabolical. Only 10 per cent of scanners working and they seemed to be temporary. Limited packing space and 20 minute wait. Utter rubbish.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever used"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Quite simply the worst airport I have ever used. Have travelled extensively and never have I seen an airport less fit for purpose than this. Disorganised, dirty, badly laid out, under resourced and over crowded. I would pay double to fly from anywhere else.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no