Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 770 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"beyond ridiculous"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Almost did a withdrawal of €200 on a Danish Visa card and noticed their markup is a whopping 17,45% not including the standard transaction fee which is just beyond ridiculous. I’ve been to Eastern Europe cities like Prague where this is a real problem and that is not even half the markup of the Luton Airport lobby ATM. This should be considered a scam as it would be in many other cities and should be stopped by the airport administration. The ATM machine is the first one you meet when you enter the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"3rd world airport and mentality"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport. Security very rude and harsh to a mother and a babe. No patience. Gates are a disaster to reach, without lifts, steep stairs. Staff let us wait 2 hrs at the Gate without being able to sit with a crying baby! 3rd world airport and mentality.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport genuinely makes me ashamed to be British"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely shameful 3rd world airport. This airport genuinely makes me ashamed to be British. Embarrassing facilities and poor up keep. Clear to see there is no proper re-investment of profits. Avoid at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"All the wrong priorities"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shiny shops, dirty old and few toilets. All the wrong priorities. At least security improved after recent renovation. Still no child's play area. Not good enough.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"we had to stand for over 20 minutes"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. Huge queues on baggage drop, Ryanair had only 4 counters for approximately 350 people no automatic bag drop. When we reached the gate 10 it was literally a box without even seats and we had to stand for over 20 minutes until the busses arrive.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Rip-off airport parking"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rip-off airport parking. Short stay Car park C1 charging £9 for 30 minutes. Awful direction signs to the car park and inside the car park. Awful directions to the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"terribly crowded layout"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton airport staff are very friendly and helpful. Luton parkway bus people are great too. However, I find it utterly annoying they don't give gate details until 10 minutes before your gate is due to close. Being as the airport has a terribly crowded layout. Often you have to run through the airport. Because the departure gate is miles away from the departure lounge. Would it kill you to get some travelators, would it kill you to announce gates at least 30 mins before the gate closes so you don't have a mad dash to the gates which are miles away from the departure lounge? The airport layout and signs are confusing when driving into the airport and dropping off at the car parks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"my worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Easily my worst airport experience. WH SMITH before security. 15 mins stood at a self service machine awaiting staff to authorise the purchase of an energy drink. 2 members of staff advised us to go to till to sort out, a large line of people in front of us. The same staff stood and watched us (arms folded and very uninterested). Next up, security. I get there is a job to be done and safety is paramount. However, the organisation was terrible ... there wasnt any really. The trays were all over the place and people were having to stack them whilst getting shouted at to "HURRY UP". The woman at point 12 at around 1030, Sunday 8th December was shocking. Zero personality and rude beyond belief. The attitude was disgusting and she couldn't even get her head around what was left and what was right. Constant head shaking and dramatic sighs and clearly in a foul mood. Through security (45 mins later) and time for some food. Walking through the departure lounge and almost every shop had members of staff leaning or arms folded. We decided to head to Frankie & Benny's. Oh wow. The "hostess" should have been an instant deterrent. The staff congregated around a till talking, joking around, leaning, swearing, on mobile phones and with arms folded. A very unprofessional setup for a franchised restaurant. Food sent back for being raw and a very poor attempt at an apology. The young woman that served us was brilliant, she is the ideal employee and is what the rest of the rabble should aspire to be. She ran around and never stopped, excellent service. Dominika was her name. Very little seating for such a busy airport and we found ourselves walking around just to pass the time as we awaited the arrival of our delayed flight. I rarely review things and find people are just out to cause problems. That is not the case here and I'm genuinely angered with the whole experience. This is just pure honesty of our visit. I figured it was just a series of unfortunate events but after looking at previous reviews it is clear that isn't the case. I hope this reaches those mentioned and thanks for a bad finish to a great weekend in London.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"like no other I have ever experienced"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Luton Airport is like no other I have ever experienced, especially regarding the security. The staff all seem to be verging on a nervous breakdown, shouting and screaming and generally being rude to the travelling public. Good manners, businesslike behavior etc are absent. A training in this is needed. Further, the waiting time indicated at the beginning of the queue should be multiplied by 5 to give a better estimate. Ignore the extra time to be at the airport on the website, one needs 3 hrs minimum. The huge tax-free shop still does not sell sherry.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"missed my flight because of security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I missed my flight because of security. They were kind of over-controlling, some of them was shouting about make-up stuff but never really telling us what should we do and there were no bags to put them on. Only one person was working at xray even though it was rush hour and the airport was overcrowded. People were just putting bags on trail and instead that security look at all our bags at the same time, they were checking others in between, making us wait even more. When they were sending them back for scan no one was at the other end so everything would go smoother and faster. We missed our flight. they dont care about passengers
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no