Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 757 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"an embarrassment to the UK"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is a disgrace and an embarrassment to the UK, poor service from arrival to departure. It's fine to put nice shops in but what about the rest, got to be the worst airport I have ever used. Wanted to give a zero score.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever visited. In the process of modernisation outside so entry via a narrow, dirty path. Automated bag drop not busy mid morning. Security ok. Departure area women's toilets very dirty. On arrival back from an internal UK flight checked-in hold luggage not on usual carousels and no information with regards to finding it. Milled around with other passengers waiting for luggage 30 mins. Was told by unhelpful and aggressive staff the luggage was in another part. Avoid this airport if possible
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"awful from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Normally fly from Stansted as this airport is slightly closer. My experience of Luton was awful from start to finish including horrendous queues at the e-passport fast lanes at 11pm and the bus driver going 2 minutes after we arrived at the stop for the long-term car park despite seeing us and having an empty bus. Will not be going from Luton again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst airport experience ever. Took over an hour to drop a bag, queues filled the hall. Desks understaffed which caused the delay. The situation exacerbated by travellers having to queue jump as they were about to miss their flight. We arrived two and a half hours early to allow for breakfast, which we did not have time to do. I asked a member of staff if it was always this bad, to be told "today was not busy". On our return queued in the walkway for passport control which took nearly an hour to get through. I understand they have spent a significant amount on "improvements". This has clearly not been spent with its prime purpose of getting passengers through the airport. Never again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"has been a big improvement in the departure area"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton is by far the most convenient airport for us, a half hour drive or taxi ride. It would be so nice if the endless improvements and additions would be completed - I believe the latest estimate is 2021. There has been a big improvement in the departure area which now offers a great range of restaurants and cafes. On the other hand, it is at present a long uphill walk from the drop off area to the terminal building. The improvements in the concourse do not extend to the departure gates. We still have to walk down long, narrow corridors and sometimes have to stand and queue in the corridors as well. If you find seating at all it is likely to be inadequate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"still waiting for the luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | 40 mins after landing, am still waiting for the luggage together with desperate people from 3 flights. The belt isn't moving, the only vending machine where people could buy water is out of order. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful, awful, awful"

(Finland)

Awful, awful, awful. Took 2 hours to clear arrivals. I know the airport is council-owned – so by default it is badly operated with minimum customer care – but as competition will hot up for passengers, I seriously recommend Luton gets its act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What an awful experience, I travel the world on business most weeks and this was the worst experience ever. 1 hour 15 to clear security at Luton, 9 min at Zurich on the return. Luton doesn't employ enough staff and they seem to be poorly trained. My luggage was flagged for extra inspection, the problem? The shaving gel that was sealed in a plastic bag they needed to check despite the fact its cleared 10 other International airports so far this year. After another wait I was then begrudgingly told its OK. Avoid Luton airport if at all possible
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The place is filthy and unwelcoming"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Our Easyjet flight was cancelled at 21.00 from Gatwick to Inverness. It would have meant we would have to stay at Gatwick from Fri 19th July for a further 3 nights at Gatwick. We eventually got a taxi to Luton from Gatwick and were got to fly on the 20th July to Glasgow. We went to the airport on the Sat morning to the most unhelpful airport staff we have ever met. My husband is disabled and has restricted walking mobility. We went to Assistance to be told we would need our boarding pass before we would get assistance. We went to check in and were told we would have to join the huge queue that was there, until one caring young woman took us through the tensa barrier and checked us in. In a matter of minutes. We could then go and get assistance booked prior to our flight. We got assistance and were hurried to the departure lounge with my husband, asked if he could not stop to take a coffee with him and the answer was no. The place is filthy and unwelcoming. I think it needs a serious shake up and clean up. Hopefully I will not have to use this airport again anytime soon.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Luton airport should be closed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton airport should be closed. The way they are treating people is discraceful. On the 13th August 2019 I arrived at the airport 2.5 hours before my flight departure time. On arriving at the airport I noticed thousands of people waiting to go through security so I decided not to have a coffee and try to get through security. It was obvious that there were too many flights leaving at the same time for the small amount of security points they have at the airport to cope. To make things worse security were double checking every other bag, I have travelled extensively and been through at least 50 airports and I have never seen anything like it. The security staff clearly had no training and had no idea what they were doing. The boarding pass scanning machines were not working properly and the staff were panicking. Consequently I missed my flight along with hundreds of other people. It then took another 75 minutes to get back out of the departure area because no staff were available to deal with anything. Obviously I was furious because I had missed my flight due to the airport and I wanted answers. There one person at the airport information handing out business cards with the address of the airport on and no phone number. I said I would like to speak to someone on and he told me that was not possible and I would have to write a letter to the address on the card. The Chief Executive of the airport should be held accountable and loose his job for not taking any responsibility. I would never use Luton airport again and I wound strongly advise anyone who is considering flying from Luton to think again. If you have no choice other than to use Luton the you would be advised to arrive at least 4 hours before your flight departure time or there is a very good chance you will miss your flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no