Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 718 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"No signage at all"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton used to be my favourite London airport. Not as nasty as Thiefrow, not as far away as Gatwick. No longer. All is being changed – for the worse. Coming by car, the signposting is dreadful. At at least three points I had to stop my car, because it was unclear where I should go to leave it at Valet Parking. Nobody at the 'Passenger Help' kiosk, of course. So I had to wait until a service engineer happened by to fix one of the barrier mechanisms, and he told me where I needed to go. I cannot comment on the queues for Security on Departure, as I'd paid for Priority Security, so didn't have to wait too long. Bur, once through, you are confronted by - literally - a maze of airport concession shops with a serpentine path between them, meandering in an almost complete circle [and with no short cut]. So bad, that they had had to put up a small sign to explain the the actual passenger path to the departure gates was - half-hidden - between one of these shops and its neighbour. Then at least a quarter mile of corridors and passages, to get to Gate 1. Returning was just as bad. No signage at all to indicate that the only way to the multi-story car park was to take the elevated bridge. At ground level, signs to "Pick-up" lead you past the multi-story to a wasteland of fenced-off construction sites. And once you finally get out of the airport, you find four lanes of traffic [Airport Terminal, Airport Service Area, Local traffic, Luton Town Centre] all merging into one. The resulting jams have to be seen to be believed. For a so-called "International Airport" it is a disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"added stress to the trip"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were going through departures with a 3 year old child in one hand and 10kg hand luggage in the other. One member of the staff rudely asked us to move to a further the lane, although my luggage was already on the lane and other bits as well and I was struggling with the child. The guy clearly seemed like he wished he wasn’t there and instead of giving a good customer service, was really grumpy, unhelpful and added stress to the trip!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"still discriminate smokers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I am so glad that Luton airport is changing! I am so happy that it will have a new face, and I guess there is a lot of money going into the improvements. I am very very unhappy that you still discriminate smokers! Why cant we smokers have a place, just a tiny little place to smoke? Why is it so hard?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the cheaper flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I could not believe the lack of effort and respect from most of the staff. I got very lost in the airport which yes, I understand that happened and it isnt their fault. But when I am asking what to do when my luggage claim was shut, I got passed from pillar to post. A women actually lifted her arm shrugged with a turned down smile as if you say "I don't know I don't care". Finally found someone who actively helped. On the way back I asked three different staff members what bus to get on and showed then my receipt. Again not one of them had an answer. I called the number on the receipt, and of course I get sent the the other side of the airport then call again and get a different person and 2 hours later I am on the way to the correct place! Never again will I fly from Luton airport not worth the cheaper flight!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Disappointed with the unprofessionalism"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Woman at security scanning bags etc was extremely extremely slow. Not taking her job seriously at all. I had forgotten to take my 100ml bag out of my small handbag so it had to be reviewed. First of all she was no where to be seen and I was waiting for a good 3/4 minutes for her to come and check it. When she did, she looked at it and pouted realising the issue, then extremely slowly walked so casually back to the start of the security line to scan the bag casually talking and laughing to her colleagues on the way. The entire process could have been done in a quarter of the time. Disappointed with the unprofessionalism of this one lady.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Truly an awful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Truly an awful airport. Luton has been allowed to exceed their capacity and it shows. The on-site medium term car park we used was almost full and when we finally found a space we had to wait an age for the transit bus to arrive. There's no electronic signage to indicate when the bus will arrive, you just have to take it on faith. It would have been quicker to walk to the terminal if it had been adequately signed. Going through security was the only positive experience I had - short queues and minimum fuss. However, once through the departure lounge is tiny compared with how many passengers they cram in there. Rare to find free seats, even if you have tired children with you. Upon return we got off the plane at just before 2pm only to be confronted with a huge queue in the EU/UK line to get through passport control. We finally cleared passport control at just 3.30pm - that's right 1 hour 30 minutes in a queue with 2 tired young children with us. The e-passport queue went much quicker but doesn't allow children under 12 so the 'slow' queue was full of families and understandably upset children. There were no seats, no sign of toilets, and no sign of any staff. I saw one mother trying to comfort a young baby who obviously needed feeding or changing but what could they do? I've been through countless different passport controls before in many different countries but this has been that absolute worst! There should be no excuses for this; the airport knows precisely how many passengers are arriving and when, even what nationalities they are. The airport should have a duty to ensure there are enough border patrol staff there to process everybody in a set time limit. If the airport can't make this happen then the CAA should revoke some of the landing slots from the airport as they are obviously operating beyond their capacity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very large queues"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Large check-in queues, poor signage compounded by building works, very large queues at security and insufficient customer seating and catering airside. Poor car parking experience, my car was hit by another and the airport refused to release cctv footage and tried to charge me twice. Miserable experience, easily the worst airport in the UK and Europe and I travel extensively. Avoid unless you hate yourself and want to be miserable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will never use Luton airport again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Queued at border control for over one hour. I will never use Luton airport again, they did not even prioritise families with babies. Only three officers on the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"baggage queues are mortifying"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Mostly poor airport. The baggage queues are mortifying and the air traffic control mess up left us waiting to get off the plane for 2 hours. When we did get off we were greeted by another hour and a half passport control queue. The toilets are disgusting as I found a mouldy orange inside the toilet paper dispenser. The staff are horrible and there is nothing to do when departing except for expensive duty free. Can't understand why this airport isn't closed yet!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"seriously short of staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | They are seriously short of staff at passport control. I think they had three members of staff and only three booths open. The whole of the area was crowded and an awful introduction to tourists. The passports members of staff can be more welcoming but fed up I can imagine as apparently a different member of staff said they are 'always short of staff'. Beside the grungy looks and the sad pictures of English people in flat chaps this needs to be seriously freshened up in to modern looking Britain. There was also only one bay open for long term car park today. There were more buses entering for people on car hires. Shoddy, information, too long to wait for car parks and generally poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no