Luton Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 760 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"unprofessional and unqualified to deal with the public"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The security in this airport is shocking! As we were queuing a man yelled about items we should have separate from our bags. I couldn't hear him so I presumed liquids, laptops etc.. the usual items. Unfortunately it was a hair straightener that should have been separated (Surely then anything with a cord). They said this is now law (no other airport has this 'law') however, if they chose to implement this then that's fine but have a sign with the prohibited items and not have security shouting in coherently at people. Instead of my bag being checked by the one security staff member (the other five were sitting down) my bag was sent through the conveyor belt again. This happened with every single bag stopped, complete mayhem. My bag was put aside again, this time... talc powder is apparently liquid! I was so close to missing my flight and pleaded with security to just take the item rather than put the bag through again. They allowed me through but stressed that I should be there 3 hours before, I was there 2 hours before my flight as advised by my airline. I do believe some people my have missed their flight, everyone was so stressed out but the security seemed to be laughing. Completely unprofessional and unqualified to deal with the public, while they are busy taking swabs of people's sunscreen (this was happening also) I fear real threats could be overlooked in this airport. Avoid Luton or show up 5 hours early! Unfortunately, I can't give zero marks.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"airport has become a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrible airport. Such a long cold walk from the drop off area to the terminal. Even the walk from the new multi story car park is shameful. Long unheated corridors - freezing and dirty. The security area is an absolute joke. We were passing through at 7.30pm on a Sunday evening and the place was heaving with only 2 out of a possible 10 open. The scanners seemed to be picking up so many bags for inspection, even my daughters case was set aside and after waiting 10 minutes for it to be checked the staff said there was no reason to look inside and that we could proceed without it being checked. This was happening to many people and I am sure passengers missed their flight due to this awful unnecessary hold up. The departure hall was so full with no seats left. There are not enough toilets for the amount of passengers in the terminal. The shops are ridiculously priced, so expensive. You are called to the gate for your flight before the inbound plane has even landed meaning that you are usually left standing in a dirty corridor or even on the stairs for up to 30 minutes before you can begin boarding the plane. This airport has become a disgrace, from the extortionate parking charges to the miserable staff and the rip off prices. Take a leaf out of Heathrow, Gatwick and many other airports. Shame on you Luton!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"seating areas cramped and congested"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very little positive about this airport. Drop off quite a long walk to terminal buildings without cover for much of it. Many people smoking outside right next to no smoking signs. Departure boards side on to seating areas so you cannot read them from the majority of seating positions. Woefully inadequate toilet facilities with both women and men constantly queuing. Bags of space in the duty free areas but seating areas cramped and congested. I have visited many airports but this has to be one of the worst. Would have given 0 out of 10 if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an embarrassment to the UK"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is a disgrace and an embarrassment to the UK, poor service from arrival to departure. It's fine to put nice shops in but what about the rest, got to be the worst airport I have ever used. Wanted to give a zero score.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever visited. In the process of modernisation outside so entry via a narrow, dirty path. Automated bag drop not busy mid morning. Security ok. Departure area women's toilets very dirty. On arrival back from an internal UK flight checked-in hold luggage not on usual carousels and no information with regards to finding it. Milled around with other passengers waiting for luggage 30 mins. Was told by unhelpful and aggressive staff the luggage was in another part. Avoid this airport if possible
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"awful from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Normally fly from Stansted as this airport is slightly closer. My experience of Luton was awful from start to finish including horrendous queues at the e-passport fast lanes at 11pm and the bus driver going 2 minutes after we arrived at the stop for the long-term car park despite seeing us and having an empty bus. Will not be going from Luton again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst airport experience ever. Took over an hour to drop a bag, queues filled the hall. Desks understaffed which caused the delay. The situation exacerbated by travellers having to queue jump as they were about to miss their flight. We arrived two and a half hours early to allow for breakfast, which we did not have time to do. I asked a member of staff if it was always this bad, to be told "today was not busy". On our return queued in the walkway for passport control which took nearly an hour to get through. I understand they have spent a significant amount on "improvements". This has clearly not been spent with its prime purpose of getting passengers through the airport. Never again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"has been a big improvement in the departure area"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton is by far the most convenient airport for us, a half hour drive or taxi ride. It would be so nice if the endless improvements and additions would be completed - I believe the latest estimate is 2021. There has been a big improvement in the departure area which now offers a great range of restaurants and cafes. On the other hand, it is at present a long uphill walk from the drop off area to the terminal building. The improvements in the concourse do not extend to the departure gates. We still have to walk down long, narrow corridors and sometimes have to stand and queue in the corridors as well. If you find seating at all it is likely to be inadequate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"still waiting for the luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | 40 mins after landing, am still waiting for the luggage together with desperate people from 3 flights. The belt isn't moving, the only vending machine where people could buy water is out of order. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful, awful, awful"

(Finland)

Awful, awful, awful. Took 2 hours to clear arrivals. I know the airport is council-owned – so by default it is badly operated with minimum customer care – but as competition will hot up for passengers, I seriously recommend Luton gets its act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no