KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 429 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"forced to throw away the water"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Worst airport in the world for aircraft transit. They have two security checkpoints when transferring to other airlines. After clearing the usual first checkpoint that is present all around the world, they have a second one immediately before the gates. People that had already purchased drinks in the airport after clearing the security were forced to throw away the water (and maybe forced to buy another at a shop after this 2nd checkpoint). There is no drinking water fountain after this 2nd checkpoint, creating problems. And as people head to gates not expecting the 2nd security checkpoint, this creates a problem as people expect a walk to the gate, not another security check. The security also expects people to use plastic bag for liquids, even though the airport does not provide them. All of the security staff seems lazy and not friendly at all. The airport also says they have buggies for people to move around, but the only people being moved around in buggies are local staffs. They do have nice Wifi though, and quite good food selection.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Lovely airport with one exception"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Lovely airport with one exception, I don’t understand how they can leave passengers without any liquids or washroom facilities for so long before boarding. Security check, unlike almost all airports, is done right at the gate. You need to get there quite a bit in advance to make sure you can clear security, but after you clear, you are in a waiting area without any vending or water fountain. This can easily be an hour befor the flight, then depending on any delays in takeoff, this dry spell can stretch to significantly longer. If you need the restroom, you have to go back through security. This cannot be the most efficient nor most convenient solution, I hope they find a better way to manage this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"stuck in custom for over 50 minutes"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | My flight from Hong Kong to KL was scheduled to arrive at almost 1am in the morning. The flight was not delayed and the traveling from gate to custom was smooth, what one would normally expect for arrival after midnight. But, I was so shocked and angry that I was stuck in custom for over 50 minutes! There were sufficient custom officers in the area, they were just not doing anything! Yes, they were sitting behind their desk, and not doing anything! The passengers were separated into three large groups, and each group only had two officers (working officers) to check them through custom! When i told locals about it, they were like "Oh, one hour, that is normal". What made me really mad, is that there were no business/first class passengers obviously, and those three officers sitting there, doing nothing! Just because you are paid for your shift, does not mean that we, the passengers, are obliged to stay there with you!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is an embarrassment"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The airport is an embarrassment to a local like me. I expect much better standards, better cleanliness, better facilities, more professional staff, a much thoughtful arrangement of passenger walkway to gates (Referring to KLIA2 Gate L) where passengers have to manoeuvre through sitting areas just to pass through. Walkalators are installed much as an afterthought. I seriously believe my tax payer’s money was poorly spent. Perhaps another good example of rampant kickbacks? Lastly, can we do without all flight announcements like Changi? It’s downright annoying, especially when phrases like “have a happy journey” are repeated at the end of every flight announcement. Not sure how useful they are. If Changi can do it, why can’t us? Do we have illiterate travelers?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"expecting way better"

(India)

Trip Verified | This is supposed to be an international airport at the capital of the country, so I was expecting way better cleanliness. Flush in the washroom was not working and the water was running continuously. Such a waste! The airport personnel were extremely rude and at times completely unresponsive. There weren't proper signs and directions to transit between the terminals and there weren't any information kiosks. This is by far the worst airport I've ever seen. There's no point in having fancy shops, bright lighting and beautiful aesthetics if you are not going to maintain it properly and give your customers a smooth, peaceful experience. I will not be recommending this airport to anyone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Immigration is slower these days"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Flying from Penang to KLIA to transfer to an international destination is very stressful if you are on 1 to 1.5 hrs transfer. There are only 2 desks open for Immigration and always there is a huge queue that most times snakes far into the general area of the airport. Immigration is slower these days as they want photograph and finger prints and so it is always nail biting time to get your connection. Immigration knows the situation on a daily basis but they never ever do anything to improve the passage through. People go to the desks to explain their plight but no notice is taken. KLIA is a modern easily navigable airport so why have 1 small section bring it down the scale compared to other airports. They seem to be just not bothered and don't have a policy of continual improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"probably try to avoid KLIA"

(Estonia)

Not Verified | First time I visited this airport 4 years ago and I cant belive how much it has changed. Everything is dirty/wore down. Restrooms were very dirty, sanitation fluid for toiletseat were empty. There was cleaning lady but she wiped everything with same cloth (like everything). My husband said that men's bathroom was so bad that he had to search for another one. We planned to stay in lounge but sadly they weren't better than rest of the airport. At the foodcourt something smelled really bad, cleaning-trolleys full of dirty plates and cleaning cloths and mops were left on the side of the tables also floor was so sticky that it even made us laugh. Also, inside of airport really needs repainting. I have been in over 35 different airports but this experience was memorably bad - really bad. In the near future I probably try to avoid KLIA. I will not even start with the layout topic.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most inefficient airport"

(India)

Not Verified | We have travelled to quite a number of countries and by far this is the most inefficient airport. No connectivity between sections and security check were so rude! First we had to cross not 1 but 2 security checks even though we are in transit! Since the smoking zone in section P was closed to renovation we were heading to section Q. The guard was fine with letting me pass but for some reason would not allow my wife to pass along with me! I requested him saying that we both are heading for a smoke but this time he kept repeating NO! P.S they have a drinking water dispenser which has a cone shaped cup, neither cold nor hot water. Nor big enough to hold a 500 ml water bottle! I wonder if the water is pure!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very inefficient"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Boring, difficult to navigate, plus very inefficient - I don’t get why there would be two security checkpoints in the international transfers section with the same process looking for the same items. Does it mean the first checkpoint is ineffective? Passengers are tired and jetlagged from their long-haul flights and to be asked by the hostile security officers will not really leave a positive impression on this airport. Oh and almost all the restaurants and airport lounges, while few, are closed so bad news if your transit is after midnight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Huge improvement"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | One of the airports that I have been to for more than 15 times. Huge improvement from the previous old and shabby LCCT. I have lodged some sugggestion to the KLIA2 authority by email and they were quite responsive at their reply email. I have been to many airports around the world, KLIA2 to be frank is not bad at all. Clean, tidy, and despite of the absence of Aerotrain like the one in KLIA, there are plenty of travelators and the large windows along the pathway where I can take a nice view of the tarmac which make the walking experience not boring.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes