KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 485 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"KLIA is a disappointment"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | On arrival, one must walk a long way to board a hot shuttle bus to go to the main terminal. The shuttle bus bay has a strong whiff of toxic diesel fumes, and the bus is uncomfortable, not enough seats, and no space for passengers with big luggage. Upon arrival at the main terminal, passengers may have to wait a long time to go through Malaysian immigration. Departure procedures are as inefficient, with long lines to clear immigration. Once one clears the security checkpoint, one is confined in the gate area until departure, with no access to washrooms or food/water. There wasn't even a water cooler to refill water bottles. The wifi signal was very weak and kept disconnecting. There was also a significant lack of seating for passengers, in both the main terminal and the satellite terminal. Overall, KLIA is a disappointment, and I would suggest travelling elsewhere if possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“structure is chaotic”

(Denmark)

Not Verified | The worst airport I’ve ever been in. The structure is chaotic and everyone is angry, because you have to hurry through the airport because immigrations takes over an over. We arrived 3 hours before our flight, and didn’t have time to do anything because of this. Also there is second security at the gate, so the water you just bought for the flight, you can throw out.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"immigration still takes 1 hour"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Everything is good except the immigration that still takes 1 hour to go through. If the immigration team knows the status of flight arrivals they should be better prepared to manage the load. Apart from the lack of immigration windows the officers were also taking frequent break delaying the immigration time. Of all the airports that I have been to this is the longest wait time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is a nightmare"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | This airport is a nightmare for travellers. You can’t find immigration or customs without walking kilometres and then try finding your way out of the airport. The signage is virtually non existent in terms of being helpful. One sign says 3 different gates, the bus terminal and immigration all in the same font and that order. It’s very clear that some politicians brother has the contaract for advancement or this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very bad structure"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Very bad structure. At KLIA 2 Need to get on a bus for immigration and then a train for departure. Wasted a lot of time due to poor design. Would not recommend.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Please clean your airport!"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur Airport is dirty. The carpets have stains all over and the floors, escalators and lifts have black things sticking to it. Everywhere is so dirty and gross. Ambience is also not welcoming. Very dark and gloomy inside. Please clean your airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

“nowhere to sit”

(Australia)

Not Verified | There is nowhere to sit. It's dirty and food quality isn't great. Even with the upgrade I doubt it will be much better. A decent massage place would be good. Those massage chairs are useless if you don't have their money. The worst Airport I have been to! Never again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"dark, dirty and nowhere to sit"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I found this airport to be overwhelming. I had to transit to another flight, I had one and a half hrs to do this which was tight and I tried to explain my situation many times but found the staff very rude, totally unhelpful. I flew from Ngurahrai to Kuala Lumpur, then on to Phuket and back again the same way. Last on my flight to Phuket and missed connecting flight to Bali going home, simply because the staff did not seem to understand my situation even after many times I asked them for directions. I was almost in tears, tired, and really angry. I then had to wait a further 6 hrs to take next flight, how an elderly person can navigate this airport is beyond me. It was dark, dirty and nowhere to sit unless I sat in a eatery, it's really turned me off ever wanting to visit KL. The staff really need to be a little bit more compassionate and helpful, they just sent me in circles..
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic and shambolic"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This airport is a total disaster and a shameful embarrassment for both Malaysia and Malaysia Airlines. I arrived at 4:30pm for an overnight stay and then a departure at 9:00am the next day at an airport that claims to be a great stopover/transfer point. Ha! It took 1 hour and 40 minutes to clear immigration thanks to the hopelessly inefficient, rude, arrogant and disrespectful staff and officials. Despite the counters being arranged into zones, it transpired there was only one counter open for my entire zone whereas there were 5 counters open for the next zone. When this was pointed out to an official by a frustrated passenger, he smiled, shrugged and walked off. Welcome to KLIA. The following morning was no better. Rude officials, a sky train that is closed until at least mid 2024 forcing everyone onto crowded buses (with ushering conducted by yet more arrogant and disinterested officials) followed by at gate security checks which were chaotic and shambolic. How Malaysia Airlines puts up with this tragedy of an airport is beyond me. Why the Malaysian Government allows this to be the first impression made of their country for international visitors is a mystery. Avoid this airport at all costs. It is pure misery.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport in SE Asia"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Possibly the worst airport in SE Asia. The amenities are woeful, if departing from G or H and you'd like a beer or a smoke you have to take the train to C, of course in typical KLIA style it isn't working so we were required to take a bus. I feel sorry for Malaysian Airlines having to suffer this place as their hub airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no