KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 408 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"airport is clean and has enough signage"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | This is my first ever review of an airport, decided to write one because of how impressive KLIA toilets are. I've been travelling a lot in the last year (either going to different countries or repeatedly going to the same one for work purposes). I've been at KLIA airport 4 times since last year, the most recent one was this weekend to transit from DEL to MNL. Pros: The airport is clean and has enough signage in Malay and English to prevent getting lost. Trains are also perfectly clean and arrive/departs on time, only need to wait for a few minutes for the next train to arrive. There is also fast wifi where I didn't have to enter any code which I'm very thankful for since I had 5 hours layover there. It's also really easy and fast to go from the airport and Kuala Lumpur city itself, it only takes 20 minutes. Sometimes there are long queues at the immigration counter but it depends on the time of the day. There are also working water fountains with paper cups all over the airport in case passengers get thirsty. Lastly, I really love their toilets. Clean, dry, has bidet and tissue, and spacious cubicles (big enough to fit in small luggage). They also have this mat in each cubicle so the floor always stays dry and clean. There is a space for washing hands and a space to touch up make up, etc. Some of KLIA's cons: I didn't like that there is no way to bring bottled waters (more than 100ml) inside the plane. In most of the airports I've seen, after passing through immigration, passengers have to go through body scan and scan their carry ons and if you decided to buy water bottles/drinks (more than 100ml) in 1 of the restaurants you can still bring them inside the plane. In KLIA, you'll have to finish your drinks before entering the designated gate. Passengers can still bring liquid bottles (more than 100ml) after passing through immigration, but passengers will have to finish them before entering their gate because that's where they do body scans and carry-on bag scans. On another note, transfer desk officers are also a bit rude, even complained to me that there is not enough staff for them to help me locate my luggage so just ask the transfer desk officer located at another terminal for help.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Very unprofessional immigration staff"

(India)

Not Verified | Pathetic Airport staff at the immigration counters, they are so rude and not at all cooperative to passengers. No arrangement to help the passengers to make queue as per their flight schedules. Passengers with late flights can be be attended first and delaying passengers with ready flights because of mismanagement of airport staff. Very unprofessional immigration staff. It was really a worst experience of such a beautiful trip.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Embarrassing"

(China)

Not Verified | Terrible airport organization at the Gate C4. Nobody checks the boarding pass, but checks the bags and body scan. Then they tell you that actually they cannot let you sit down inside and wait for your flight and they ask you to go out. Where there are no proper seats for waiting. Then few minutes later they announce that passengers for your flight should proceed to gate C4. So you enter - and then they tell you to go out again! Even though your flight is boarding in 30 minutes and there are plenty of proper seats inside to wait. Never had an experience like this in over a decade of flying. Embarrassing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"would transit here again on a cheap enough ticket"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The airport is spacious and clean feeling, with adequate signage in Malay, English, and Japanese. Toilet qualities are a bit hit or miss, with the toilets in the Main Terminal Building being square rimmed, try your luck in the satellite terminal for better toilets. Only frustration is that as security is at the gate, if you forget to buy a security bag for water/drink/liquids purchased in the departures area (The bag is very cheap, 1RM ish, which we remembered on our way back) then say bye-bye to your drinks. Not much to do to kill time over long layovers, a few TV areas which quickly fill up, and the charging stations are not frequent and again easily filled. (The charging stations have USB, and Malaysian plugs). The rainforest in the satellite terminal makes for a novel walk, perhaps great for children! But do go at night, as all I got was a wet back from the humidity of the outside air. Your best bet for longer layovers is the Sama-Sama express lounge, under 40RM for their package which includes buffet, non-alcoholic drinks, and a shower. Immigration can be a bit of a drag if you intend on leaving the terminal (entirely possible, we made it into KL Sentral for dinner on a 6 hour layover on our way back) and has anywhere from a 20min to 1hr long line. Otherwise customs/bio security is a breeze. Overall not the worst airport, would transit here again on a cheap enough ticket.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"No drinking water"

(Australia)

Not Verified | No drinking water. None of the water stations working. And you can’t even buy water after you do your last security check Got two young kids I can’t understand Can’t even buy the water
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most crowded airport"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | This is a review for KLIA 2 the AirAsia Hub. The most crowded airport I have been at. I arrived at 4.30 am but it's like early afternoon with the number of people going here and there. Lots of (unnecessary) security checkpoints and narrow turns and alleys. You can easily get lost there if you are not good with navigation. The arrivals and departures look like a good shopping mall now. The good thing is you can eat whatever you want now. You have to walk like 1km just to reach the outside gate. No smoking lounge. Though with all that security, I could still bring a lighter up to the boarding of the aeroplane. The securities only checked the passport and no luggage checks. I decided to leave my lighter due to my own safety concern. This KLIA 2 airport is like the complete opposite of its next-door KLIA main terminal which I very much prefer. Don't choose to fly in and out of Malaysia with this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it’s been like this for years"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Worst immigration queue of at least 1 hour. This is ridiculous to exit a country With Air Asia terminal, KLIA 2 modern but not done well. So annoying, it’s been like this for years.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"immigration queue issues"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | All this talk about fixing the immigration queue issues and the fact is that it remains awful. Typical of the management here. All talk and no action. Quicker to fly from KL to Phuket than queue at immigration! Useless.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"had me throw out the bottle"

(Pakistan)

Trip Verified | Probably one of the worst airport experiences in my life. The staff is unwelcoming and downright rude. They often face a hard time in understanding english and are uncooperative. I had a liquid less than 100ml but the container was old and mentioned 150 ml capacity and they had me throw out the bottle even though it was 25% filled. The guy then mentioned that they were out to teach us foreigners a lesson.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no announcements were made"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Flight was 4.10pm, reached the airport at 2.15pm and start queueing, by 3.30pm there were at least 80 people in front of me. I knew I could miss my flight. Approaches one of the staff for help and managed to check in. Flight was delayed for 40 min but no announcements were made.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no