KLIA Kuala Lumpur Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 400 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"had me throw out the bottle"

(Pakistan)

Trip Verified | Probably one of the worst airport experiences in my life. The staff is unwelcoming and downright rude. They often face a hard time in understanding english and are uncooperative. I had a liquid less than 100ml but the container was old and mentioned 150 ml capacity and they had me throw out the bottle even though it was 25% filled. The guy then mentioned that they were out to teach us foreigners a lesson.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no announcements were made"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Flight was 4.10pm, reached the airport at 2.15pm and start queueing, by 3.30pm there were at least 80 people in front of me. I knew I could miss my flight. Approaches one of the staff for help and managed to check in. Flight was delayed for 40 min but no announcements were made.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a disgrace for Malaysia"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Repeated bad experience at immigration. I was frustrated several times already about the poor immigration services at KLIA 2. Since passenger volume is known in advance, it should be possible to open a sufficient number of counters. It is also embarrassing to see the staff chitchatting in groups of 2-3 people while passengers have to wait for more than one hour to pass immigration. Yesterday evening staff at counters for Malaysian passports was not busy at all, but they let the guys sit at their counters, doing nothing but yawning. As a foreign passport holder it took me 90 minutes yesterday to pass. Whoever is responsible for managing this, should be held accountable and should get fired if the situation is not improving significantly. Further complaint is about the long ways to the gates. This airport is neither modern nor state-of-the-art but a disgrace for Malaysia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Horrid waiting for baggage"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Horrid waiting for baggage. More than 30 minutes. Everyone from Istanbul flight TK60, was waiting for an extremely long time. Even people at information counters were not sure of what's happening.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Plenty of disgruntled tourists"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Immigration was so slow. Counters had their green lights on, but no officers. People queued up unknowingly only to start bunching up at one queue point when they realised the other queues weren’t open. Total wait from disembarkation to clearing customs approximately 2hr 30mins. Plenty of disgruntled tourists. Inefficient system, poorly managed, bad signages. A frustrating experience every time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Immigration is the worst"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Since I missed my flight, hence have time to explore klia restaurant, thus I can only recommend broad choice of restaurants. Immigration is the worst: at klia 1, only 2 open and maximum 4 to deal with foreign passport. Have a baby, flying in 15 minutes, old people, forget about treat as special circumstances or to be prioritized. Worst, be prepare for comments: you should book earlier flight. Direction signs are everywhere, but is it helpful? Not really, some even make it more confusing. Personal opinion, this is not international airport kind of services. Suggestion for traveler. Know where you're going in advance (klia 1 or 2 and which gate), know what are you going to do while transit (e.g. buy sim card). Google it and save the location or direction. Even with well prepared direction, add extra 20 minutes (if you re lucky) for non necessary finding actual way in, use transit train and immigration.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Not a good experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Not a good experience when departing from KILA. Was about 1 hr early. But start queue around 45 min. Still missed my flight. There was an announcement asking all passengers to clear immigration, hence contributing to the long queue. There should be segregation for those flying in under 1 or 2 hrs. Also instructions to get your baggage should be informed in advance if you need to reregister a new flight. Hence a lot of unnecessary queuing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it is an embarrassment"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | There are two terminals in KL (KUL) and most of the negative feedback is actually about T2, which is the hub of AirAsia. Today I flew from the notorious T2 to Bangkok, and yes, it is an embarrassment. The immigration clearance took about an hour, and there were only a half of counters open, a quarter of whose staff are busy chitchatting to each other. Indeed this was not my first time I have encountered this scene, and there has not been any improvements for over a year. No autogate for foreigners either. I have been flying biweekly in and out of everywhere for a year and this is the poorest performance I have ever seen.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"2 hours for 50 people queuing"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Really the slowest and lazy immigration staff. Needed to wait for about 2 hours for 50 people queuing. The immigration staff move in slow motion mode. Like turtles, like snails.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Well kept and clean"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | A lot of greenery inside and outside. Well kept and clean. Could be better in keeping up with modern interior decoration and many shops are under renovation. Fast immigration and security clearance.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes