Kahului Maui Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"this airport is a super spreader event in progress"

(Australia)

Not Verified | During covid pandemic huge lines - no distancing in lines or seating or on flight. No mask enforcement. Basically this airport is a super spreader event in progress. Shame on the state of Hawaii, shame on the county of Maui, shame on Maui airport and shame on Southwest Airlines. Understaffed, impatient and rude at all levels Maybe this review should be titled - there’s a pandemic but what the heck we can still milk profits. 600,000 dead - what’s a few more.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Disorganized, slow, unnecessarily aggressive"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very old and out of date but TSA security was insane. One line for everyone. One agent interrogating a 3yr old and 5 yr old as to their birthdates, their siblings birthdates, their parents birthdates, where their parents worked, etc. Have they never met a child that age? Kids were scared to death to answer and the agents were very rough and separated kids from the parents. They did this to at least 4 families I witnessed. Disorganized, slow, unnecessarily aggressive, and despite having at least 3 screening machines, only ran one. I hear the residents are mad so many tourists are coming to the island at this time as it’s a burden on all their water and food supply. Keep treating visitors like this and you won’t have to worry about it. The rest of the world will open up and, like me, we will go elsewhere and Maui can figure out another income industry.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very unpleasant staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very unpleasant staff at shuttle for car rentals. Demeaning and condescending young female worker, 0 percent Aloha. Sending people off with a bad taste in their mouth.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"3hrs in line for agriculture inspection and TSA"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flight was at 12:25pm from Maui to Oakland, CA. Waited 3hrs in line for agriculture inspection and TSA. Almost missed our flight. Lines were 3-4 blocks long at snail pace. Very stressful. Employees working there were very helpful and friendly, but over worked.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one enforced any rules"

(United States)

Not Verified | One of the employees stood at the men's bathroom door, unmasked and chewing for an hour. People eating with masks off everywhere in waiting area. Another man was coughing everywhere with no mask on and no one enforced any rules. No wonder Maui's cases have been going up. I understand the laid back vibe of Hawaii, but there are times when things need to be tightened up so you don't end up killing others with a virus. This was worst case scenario for me. I won't be traveling any time soon after this loose ended experience. Be careful. They don't enforce anything in Maui.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is literally the worst airport ever! I mean 3rd world country level and lower! There is no proper air conditioning. Rest rooms are extremely dirty! Long TSA lines without adequate lines for the number of passengers! Just horrible for a place which makes lots of money from tourism!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff were very pleasant"

(United States)

Trip Verified | All of the staff were very pleasant, please give them better facilities to work in! The bathrooms are very small and outdated, one of the three sinks was broken and there were only four small and old stalls. The gate area was air conditioned, which was nice, but was very cramped and not in the best condition.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Departure was better than Arrival"

(United States)

Not Verified | Departure was better than Arrival. Arrival wasn't marked very well leading some passengers off in the wrong directions. The rental car terminal at the arrival gate is closed and you need to go behind it to get a bus to the real rental car terminals. If you don't ask around it is difficult to find. Departure rental buses take you right to the ticketing area. There are several restaurant options and some reasonably prices places to buy gifts.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no basic human kindness whatsoever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I love visiting Maui but I don’t know if I want to deal with Hawaii airports anymore. This time, I was with my young daughter. The counter attendants literally walked away as we were checking in and didn’t come back! Then the machine printing baggage tags malfunctioned and since they had left, there was no one to help us. Finally the guy directing our places in line felt bad for us and asked one of the other attendants to help, and she made a really big deal about coming to the other side of the counter to help us! At the gate—no stores. I had bad heartburn at this point so I wandered back to shop for an antacid or something and left my daughter with our stuff at the gate. No luck, only jewelry, souvenirs and a restaurant, so I approached a security guard to ask—and lo and behold I crossed the “magic line” (that’s what he said!) and was out of the security zone. Many tears ensued as my petrified daughter had to find me and schlep all our stuff along to give me my boarding pass so I could go back through the TSA screening and then they forgot to tell her I needed my ID so we went through it all again, now we are getting really close to being late for our plane and my poor daughter is alone up there as I frantically try to get back to her (of course no one could help me get through the now-huge line any faster to get back to her). It’s just such an awful feeling to be surrounded by so many people that have no basic human kindness whatsoever.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shout at passengers continually"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have travelled out of many airports in my life and have never been so ill treated as I was at OGG airport in Maui. TSA agents shout at passengers continually, they are so verbally abusive to all. They pull your bagage apart in a rough manner and shove things back in in a very messy way. Nowhere to sit to tie your laces after taking your shoes off. No Nexus line. No smile from anyone and certainly no please or thank you.You wouldn't know you're in a US airport. Things would move much more swiftly if passengers were not so intimidated. Never going back to Maui.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews