Houston IAH

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 277 reviews
2/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"everywhere was electronic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | You can not simply order a meal and a beer everywhere was electronic, so if your phone decides not to work prepare to be hungry and thirsty. They should have a back up, but the staff has no choice but to apologize and are helpless.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"inconsistent experience depending where you are"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Somewhat messy, with inconsistent experience depending where you are. Flew 4 times through IAH in the last few weeks and I have not been impressed. In addition, access to the airport is somewhat messy and we had to wait in line to get on a shuttle bus from and to car rental. Not sure why it was so busy. I think the experience can vary wildly depending on which gates you fly from.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"bathroom looks like it has never been cleaned"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Landed at IAH for a connecting flight to Phoenix and the first thing you get hit with is the smell of disgust, awful smells. Walk into the bathroom and it looks like it has never been cleaned or maybe not since the beginning of the year. Sit at the bar the prices are the worst I have seen at an airport and there is no customer service - what the heck? Hello bartender are you here? Would never come back here ever. Never been to Houston and never even want to based off the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"always find it confusing"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have traveled to and from this airport several times. I always find it confusing where to go next. I find the easiest way is to follow the other passengers. We had been asked to check our carry on luggage as the flight was very full. There was no information where the luggage would show up. Each carousel we went to did not have our flight information. So as one carousel started up, Travellers scurried over hoping their luggage would appear. We should have had the theme music from Benny Hill playing overhead. The restrooms could use a face-lift. They are not only very well used but usually gross. New toilet seats at least, and more frequently cleaning would help a great deal.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The signage is terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What matters is whether it’s easy to get in and out of the airport, find my gate, and whether bathrooms are clean. IAH fails across the board. The signage is terrible. If you’re parking in a garage on site, good luck finding it based on the signs and once you do find the garages, you better have a reservation otherwise you’ll be directed to a parking lot offsite. That’ll add a solid 45 minutes. Once in the airport, I hope your not in terminal E because if you are, prepare for more very confusing signage and a long walk through other terminals to get to E. The employees here are friendly and helpful, and thank goodness because you’ll be searching for one after the signage frustrates you. IAH, this is beneath you. Clean up the signs (I suggest going digital so you can update things for construction). Improve the parking. Invest in the infrastructure, not the shopping
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"turmoil going from one gate to another"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | We are Kiwis in transit through this hellish airport. Never in my life have we seen such turmoil going from one gate to another and hard to follow instructions..we were diverted to Dallas and return to Houston to find only small customs staff on . Only 6 gates open on 10 gates closed, 2 to 3 thousand people waited for around 3 hours to clear customs. Shocking...my fingerprints taken again. Stupid little train trundles around shifting people between gates, totally inadequate its a joke. Trying to find help or taxis a joke. Do not fly here and do expect Air New Zealand help at the airport, they won't be there. Departure gate D has 1 small coffee shop, that's it, people Q for gates and you can hardly get past them. Why on earth it this airport rated so well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Long lines to get through customs"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was so embarrassed that this was our home airport. Flew home from Istanbul to Houston on August 1, 2022 terminal E. Long lines to get through customs, only a few windows open and officers obviously did not want to be there, most were moving very slow and rude. Got to baggage and our belt broke after only a few suitcases were gotten, had to wait 30 minutes while they fixed it instead of using one of the others. Then out to mass chaos to wait to be picked up, only one officer trying to keep things moving. Took our ride over an hour to get to us. After landing we didn’t get home until 3 1/2 hours later. This is totally unacceptable for an airport that is rated so high. I told my husband we would drive to another city before using this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this connection in the future"

(United States)

Not Verified | I flew in from Buenos Aires and arrived at 5:30 a.m. on 7/29. Fantastic flight crew on United. Customs agents were upbeat and friendly even at the early hour. Those working the baggage recheck for connecting flights and security check to gates were extremely rude. I’m embarrassed that this might be someone’s first impression of our country. A woman literally yelling at people to move faster, on the top of her lungs. Over and over. Several young ladies being pushy in the security line - treating people like they were stupid. I’ve traveled quite a bit out of the country. I don’t know any other languages and I have never had anyone act like that ever. If you work in the international terminal there should be an understanding of a language barrier. And honestly just be kind and informative - not a bully. Not a good look Houston. Will avoid this connection in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"failure at Terminal E"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I'm having a hard time to find words about the failure at Terminal E/Intl Arrivals. For the second time I had to go through the misery. Once I left the building there was no way turning back. Officers yelling keep going, BUT there was no way to 'go'. Carts blocking the whole walkway and people are getting angry. This will destroy the IAH reputation for years to come. After long 10 hours plus flights people have to go through the failure of planning the construction. Nobody there to clear the luggage carts, nobody handing out water in the heat and everybody involved seemed to be overwhelmed or resigned since this is going on for so long. This crisis and chaos needs manpower and some brain to get some ease. Clear carts, water, support - all non existence for weeks and month now. Why not have shuttle buses to the whatever lot to clear out and ease the failure mess. I said it and will do again: "How can this have been so poorly been planned?" Who is responsible for the canned reputation of IAH? It took 2 hours in the heat to get picked up and I was lucky.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"This airport really is an embarrassment"

(United States)

Not Verified | Someone please fire the airport director. This airport really is an embarrassment. I’ve travelled the world and never seen such an amateur show. The current construction works have been so poorly thought through that passengers arriving at multiple terminals are all funnelled into one passenger pick up area. Hundreds of tired and fed up people squeezing along between temporary barriers trying to get close to the road for their pick-up, all in the Texas summer heat. Cars arriving to pick up passengers are also squeezed into 1 then 2 lanes meaning there’s constant chaos at the pick up point. The police have zero effect. They just blow their whistles and aggressively wave at cars that are already moving the way they’re waving. TSA and immigration staff are also unnecessarily rude. Today I watched an immigration officer tell a traveler “take your ugly damn hat off” - utterly unprofessional and surely not the image the USA wants to portray to the world. Avoid this airport if you possibly can.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no