Houston IAH

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 231 reviews
2/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"We were ignored by staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport for customer service. We were ignored by staff too busy gossiping to acknowledge our existence. I witnessed an employee sleeping in a massage chair outside our gate. YAnother was seen belittling a traveler, telling him “well it’s always on the boarding pass. You could pay attention sometimes.”
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very stressful experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Weather issues shut down the IAH airport shortly after arrival. No problem - completely understand. We came in on a 10.5 hour international flight and were trapped between customs and security points waiting on luggage. Very little seating. 150+ passengers. The airport personnel were not unloading luggage so we sat for over an hour. We were told not to worry about connecting flights, since the airport was shut down. Well luggage came and we heard the boarding call for our connection. We dashed to the security point. We had pre-TSA tickets but there was no pre-TSA line. TSA personnel just shrugged and told us we had to get in line. We made it through and heard our final boarding call. Our carry-ons went thru the scanner, were sitting in sight but we could not reach them. We very politely asked 2 different TSA staff just to please push our carry-ons about 3 feet where we could grab them - both shook their heads "no" and would not help us. So, when we could reach our stuff, we grabbed it and ran like the wind. I didn't even get my shoes on. Had to race 10 gates to get to our flight. Mind you, we are 60-something old and running through the airport is not something we need to be doing. Glad we still do some jogging or we would not have made it. We have a profoundly disabled son at home and we needed to get home to relieve our staff before the shift ended. We made it home by the skin of our teeth! We had given ourselves 5 extra hours just in case. Very stressful experience. I hope passengers from other countries don't think this is the way Americans are.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport award goes here"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport award goes here. The most unorganized security lines I have experienced. I have traveled all over the world. Slow and nothing but slow. These folks need efficiency training in moving folks through and not create back up lines. Not enough lanes opened for sure.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Directions to terminals not clear"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. Directions to terminals not clear. Attendant gave me wrong directions. Bathrooms in terminal A were all out of order. Tried asking security personnel directions to a working restroom. Given a snippy response. Totally unprofessional.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling introduction into the US"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Don't go to this airport unless you want to queue up for at least 1.5 hrs whilst 3 officers check your passports and onward travel. There was in excess of 300 people behind us and as people became vitriolic about the wait a female agent approached the queue and threatened to remove them to the back of the queue if they continued to complain. By the time we got to the carousel to collect our cases, they had been taken off and put to one side. This has to be the worst airport in the US and the rest of the country's I've visited. I've given it 1 star but really dose not deserve any. Appalling introduction into the US.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"so slow and nobody cares"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airports security check in process has to be one of the worst in the world. So, so, so slow and nobody cares! It is all about the money and purchasing TSA pre. This is one of the ugliest airports in so many ways and I wish I had other choices in getting out of Houston. Fly into another State if you can!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"where is common sense?"

(United States)

Not Verified | After a lovely visit to the United States, our New Zealand family had the worst experience ever at the Houston International Airport. Their flight was cancelled on Friday night and was not rescheduled until Sunday evening. After going through TSA and having a humiliating experience only to find out they were not going to be able to fly out until Sunday evening. The people at TSA were rude and had my sister-in-law go through a horrible screening. She has had 2 knee surgeries and told the TSA about it. They didn't care, they put this sweet lady through a humiliating screening. We understand safety, but where is common sense? After their flight was cancelled, Air New Zealand gave them accommodations for 1 night. They had to reclaim their baggage. That took until 1 am because a belt on the baggage claim was broken. They had an extra 48 hours in Houston at their expense. Sunday arrives and they finally believe that they will be able to board the plane for a 13 hour trip to return home. My sister-in-law was very nervous because of the previous experience with TSA. Again she explained that she had metal in her knees due to surgeries. The TSA agents were again rude and disrespectful. They put her through the humiliation again! Many people dislike Americans. They find us rude. It is unfortunate that some make a name for us all. This is not the America we want the world to see.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"arrival is amongst the worst ever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My arrival experience was very similar to that described by the previous reviewer. It was utterly shambolic and I have spent much time over the years arriving into US airports. This particular arrival is up there amongst one of the worst ever. The passport machines rejected over 90% of all applicants and help (though not needed by myself) was not readily forthcoming at all to other passengers; when another passenger asked for assistance she was told, "no, not my problem. You should read it properly" by a staff member. I was in another lengthy line for just over an hour after receiving a cross on the paper from the passport machine. Out of the many desks available for use only two were open that particular evening and there were no other officers around. What never helped matters either was having the airport greeters walk up and down the line with various accoutrements attached to them like clipboards and radio handsets (to show how important they are no doubt) telling passengers that it is not their fault and not the fault of the officers either!. At least the immigration officer I saw was friendly particularly when he realised that I shared the same birthday as he. Departures through Terminal D back to LHR has nothing much to write home about in terms of restaurants. Would suggest that you eat elsewhere before arriving here. Not many seats around the gate area of D7 either.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"inconsiderate, inept system"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | George Bush Airport management need to try travelling through their airport to experience the hell we passengers have to contend with. We arrived on a surprisingly sparsely populated flight from London, a ten hour flight on which we were able to lie across three seats each - we thought we were lucky! (In retrospect, it seems other travellers have, perhaps, learned the lesson from experiencing what we were were just about to endure - and they found alternative routes). Plodding the long route to ‘Immigration’ brought us to a large hall where we were confronted with, probably, 20 modern, state-of-the-art, passport-reading, data-collection machines. It is apparent from 95% of all the passengers being directed to the snake-queue (with a cross on the machines’ print-outs) illustrate that these state-of-the-art machine were as much use as a chocolate tea pot! I estimate that there were 300 passengers in the queue (line) for immigration and only two of the immigration desks were open. 2 hours later we emerged from this inefficient, utterly farcical process, to rush on to Baggage Reclaim to retrieve our luggage for onward travel. All the carousels were stopped, little in the way of a clue which group of off-loaded bags might contain ours. 10 more minutes wasted. With just less than an hour left we rushed off to check-in our bags. Scanning the labels affixed in London we were then told that our flight to Pensacola (21:30) was ‘delayed’ until the next morning. (This is not any definition of delay with which I have been previously aware: the flight was cancelled, cynically categorise as ‘delayed’, without any regard for the inconvenience to us, United Airlines customers, or for those who were travelling to meet us.) As with others’ reviews, finding a member of staff to provide any help, reassurance or information was nigh on impossible as we passed through to this point. The staff directing us just were’t interested in our concerns at the speed of the queue/processing: indeed they said that we should complain to the immigration officer - see how we got on! We did: it’s all because of the reallocation of staff to the Mexican border, we were told. Seems to me that the technology employed to replace the immigration officers is unfit for purpose, the immigration management team are not fit for purpose. Please don’t think that this inconvenient, inconsiderate, inept system is only foisted on aliens (from outside the US) there were US citizens with us in this queue as a result of the ineffective, technologically defective equipment. In conclusion, reviews on this website of the Houston Airport’s customers seem to indicate that our flight was only 30% populated because those in the know have found another airline/hub airport to use in preference to this shambolic shower. It is fair to point out that after queuing for another 40 minutes, we spent a further 40 minutes being processed - we were provided accommodation at the local Holiday Inn and food vouchers - and a flight ticket to continue our journey the next morning. Interestingly, our onward flight was completely full - accommodating passengers who’s earlier flight had been cancelled. After this trip, we will not fly by United Airlines to George Bush Airport again. George Bush Airport management need to recognise and address these problems before they lose their rest of their passengers to others.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this was really ridiculous"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | This is truly the worst connection airport ever. We had 1h25 minutes for our connecting flight to Frankfurt, but after 4! security checks we had to run to make it to our flight, if we were 1 minute later we would have missed our plane. Why isn’t there a separate queue for connections? We had a digital and manual passport control, a security dog check and when we thought that was it, we had to go through the scanner again! Already twice at our departure airport. We weren’t even entering the USA, but still had to go through this? I understand that security is important these days, but this was really ridiculous. Including rude security officers.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no