Bangkok Don Muang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 93 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"What a terrible experience"

(Greece)

Not Verified | What a terrible experience! Landed in Don Muang 20 minutes ahead of schedule (domestic flight) and the whole lot of passengers had to wait over 45 minutes for baggage to be delivered. When asked, Thai Lion Air couldn't really be bothered. Then a chap took my bag instead of his, luckily he realised his mistake while jumping in a cab. Was a hassle to get back inside the baggage area to get my bag. I wasted almost 2 hours, not happy.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"if you have the choice go for BKK"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports to fly in and out of, and I fly a lot. Especially international arrival which is always a nightmare. Staff tell people where to queue up for immigration, then promptly closes a desk and yells at people to merge queues. I got moved twice and others who arrived after me go through customs long before me. And then you get to the queue for the taxis, which often takes at least 30 mins of waiting. BKK is a much better experience than DMK, so if you have the choice go for BKK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Nothing ever works smoothly here"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | This is hands down the worst airport to visit (and I visit a lot of them, this one is even worse than KLIA despite that one not allowing solo travellers to bring their luggage to the toilet). At least this time the immigration queues were manageable but they do not even have an ATM in the departure lounge! How are we supposed to know this in advance? I needed to take out US dollars to pay for the visa in the next country and it was impossible without me leaving the departure terminal - which I did not have time to do. Nothing ever works smoothly here (and no this wasn’t convenient to do before departure to Bangkok).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Maybe I was really lucky"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After reading all of the negative reviews about this airport I left my hotel near Hua Lamphong (25 kilometers away) at 3.20am for a 6.40am international flight to Vietnam. Maybe I was really lucky but I was at the boarding gate at 4.15am.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"The place is a mess" ** EDITED - ASKED TICKET

(United States)

Trip Verified | Departing on an international flight from this airport is almost a nightmare come true. Pandemonium, failing air conditioners, not enough seats. The place is a mess. Arriving here is a bit less chaotic and certainly less painful. Smiles seem to have been left out front somewhere. No one seems happy to be here, and that includes the staff and the the flyers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ruined my entire journey"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. Every single time I have come to this airport I had worst experience. Staff are really unprofessional. Full of attitude. Talking so arrogantly. No assistance for people with children. I am never ever ever going to come this country ever again. Staff doesn’t know how to talk to customers. Ruined my entire journey.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Arrival surprisingly good"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Arrival surprisingly good although I did manage to walk fast so entered security ahead of a large bunch of incoming Chinese hence a very fast admission to the country. The airport was generally clean in the main arrivals area and I used some of the excellent services in the nearby domestic arrivals zone. Departure was significantly more disappointing with a good 500 minimum people trying to queue outside of the immigration area. The queue was slightly haphazard and it took one hour to arrive at the passport exit control area (all passport controls were open and the staff were working efficiently and friendly). Another 30 minute queue for security which was not helped by the overtly noisy mannerisms of one staff member who enjoyed shouting out the phrase "one by one" in a very demeaning and unprofessional way. Apart from that and very busy with Chinese queuing for their VAT refund it was generally okay.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"functional airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Functional airport, busy, efficient. Shopping OK enough to get food and drinks. Security scan in domestic is a joke, gel, liquid to be passed. No more smoking rooms in domestic terminal. Shame. | Functionele luchthaven, druk, efficiënt. Shopping OK genoeg eten en drinken te krijgen. Security scan in domestic is een lachertje, gel, vloeistof worden doorgelaten. In domestic terminal geen rookruimtes meer. Schande
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"many unmanned desks available"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bangkok Don Muang is a weird contradiction - huge empty spaces, with the functions of the airport jammed into congested corners. Check-in with Air Asia in early evening was a joke. Huge numbers of passengers in chaotic queues with many unmanned desks available. What is the point of checking in online only to have to queue 1.5 hours to drop your bag? Immigration and Security was a similar shambles with little queue management and not enough staff to manage the volume of passengers. Poor and over priced eating options in the departure area and the place could use a good clean. Arrivals experience was better apart from the lengthy walk. A few minutes wait in Immigration and no delay in the baggage hall - and miraculously no queues for taxis. Reminds me more of a very large, poorly organised bus station, rather than an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Cleanliness much to be desired. Slow Check-in. Baggage check staff busy laughing and chatting rather than processing the queue in an efficient and fast manner. Ventilation in smoking area is broken, it's like entering a furnace chimney. No outlets available anywhere. Good luck if you're low on battery. One of the most visited countries in the world, competing for the worst airport experience possible. They couldn't care less about negative reviews, it won't stop tourists from flowing in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 92 Reviews