Bangkok Don Muang Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Very good organisation"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Very good organisation. Quite quick drop-off. Very smooth passport and security control. Terminal clean enough. All directions presented clear. Shopping offer limited.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"extremely rude and not helping at all"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I had an issue with bringing in an so-called prohibited item at Thailand Don Muang airport to board the plane via carry on baggage. Never faced restriction for this item on any other international airports such as Singapore, Penang or even in Hat Yai. The item is Baj used by Sikhs for their Turban. The security staff of the airport asked me to get the airline staff to come and discuss with them if they would allow or able to help me in any way to bring on the item either through check-in baggage or any other way. When approached to the Thai Air Asia staff at the departure Gate 5 for help, they rudely responded that if the security said it is prohibited then we cannot do anything without even trying to talk with the security staff. Then when asked if there was any way to bring in the item maybe through check-in baggage then they further rudely responded that all the baggage had been loaded into the plane and told me to cancel the flight and there will not be any refund. The Thai Air Asia staff at the departure gate 5 were extremely rude and not helping at all especially the male staff who even raised their voice to us instead of truly finding a way to help or politely explain that they are not in position to help us. With such service I'm definitely not going for Thai Air Asia ever again. Happened on November 9 for Flight FD 401 from Thailand, Don Muang airport to Malaysia, Penang airport. Flight pick up time 1.30pm. Date of travel: November 9, 2019.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"impressed with this place"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Very impressed with this place - used to be terrible but now much better than the other local airport. Fast checking security and immigration. Lots of food and drinks outlets. Plenty of seating. All in all a dream.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent baggage handling"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I've been through Don Muang many times. Every time I clear immigration, my check-in bag is already waiting for me. Very impressed, excellent baggage handling.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
7/10

"it was efficient"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I've seen a lot of moaning about this airport, and it doesn't match my experience at all. Yes, it's old and run-down. It could do with a paint and a clean-up. But it's the budget airline terminal: if you want something fancy, pay more for your flight and be disappointed by Suvarnabhumi. I arrived at this airport on Air Asia from KL at about 9pm. We landed 30 minutes early, taxied for two minutes, and were connected almost immediately to an airbridge. We deplaned faster than I've ever seen before. There was no queue for immigration, but there was a slight delay because I had to go to a counter to ask for an immigration form: there were none in the queuing area and they were not handed out on the plane. So getting through immigration took me five minutes, including two minutes to fill out the form. By the time I got to the baggage hall, an official told me that our bags had all been taken off the carousel and were on the floor awaiting collection. Mine was there. There was then no queue for a taxi. I was in a taxi on the motorway before I was actually scheduled to land. Departure was on Scoot to Singapore, a week later, mid-afternoon. The check-in area was very crowded. There was a 5-minute queue for check-in for my flight. I then had a five-minute queue for passport control, and two or three minutes for baggage scans. That was it. I was through. Food options are limited, but there is a McDonald's, which was fine, and which charged normal McDonald's prices. I was able to get a seat there with no problem. The gate area was quite peaceful, with plenty of seats and plenty of recharging stations, and a good view of the apron. We pushed back 5 minutes early. Don Muang is not pretty. But, for me at least, it was efficient. Suvarnabhumi, on the other hand, is grand, but it's too big, it's horrible to get around, and immigration and security are slow and inefficient. And the food options are abysmal. Given the choice, I'd choose Don Muang over Suvarnabhumi every time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"slow immigration"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Be warned of slow immigration. I was stuck at immigration for over 1 hour before my flight. Not enough counters to process the passengers. Would have missed my flight had I not approached an immigration officer to use the ‘fast track’.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"The airport is very run down"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The airport is very run down. It is not equipped to handle the number of travellers using it. The lines are chaotic and unbelievably long. Because of this confusion, I left my iPad in a bin going through security. I hope I can get it when I am there again in a couple of days. However in the future I will avoid this airport. It needs a cleaning and a facelift and overhaul to handle the number of people using it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Queuing times very long"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Queuing times very long when arriving. Over one hour in the queue to get to immigration official. Dilapidated buildings which didn't worry me, however much needs to be done to process passengers efficiently.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport itself is run down and shabby"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The worst airport ever. A literal proletarian hellhole. It takes forever for immigration to process one person. Most of the counters are closed, yet you can see some ground staff walking around leisurely with nothing to do. When someone requested for an extra counter to be opened to deal with the longer lines, we heard the staff rudely asking him to bear with it or get lost. Horrible work ethics displayed, I have never seen such rude behaviour from airport staff in all my years of travelling internationally. The airport itself is run down and shabby with little to offer in terms of facilities. Makes me wonder why I even have to pay the airport tax for this kind of ridiculous service. Food at the airport is overpriced like all other airports. Thailand is a lovely country but this horrible airport experience definitely makes me think twice about coming back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very bad overall experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Security staff has very bad attitude problems. It is chaos everywhere. The staff does not have adequate English skills. There is not enough equipment for security checks. It is a very bad overall experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no