WestJet Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 817 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"online service is temporarily unavailable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My sister and I were flying from Boston, MA to Toronto, ON and then onward to Gatwick, UK. It all started when we got to the airport as suggested 3 hours early. They are open for 2 hours only per day. We waited for an hour to check our luggage. Finally when the one staff member did show, the gentleman checked our luggage all the way through to Gatwick. Well, needless to say it never got there. My sister and I went to submit a claim. Claim number should be emailed to us so we can check the status. Never got that. Here we are in Gatwick with a friend we haven't seen in 8 years and we have to spend our time buying clothes and toiletries and then drive an hour to the airport to see if we can at least see if it was there. We get to the airport to check. We spoke with a woman who at first seemed helpful. Said she would walk us through security to check the luggage so we could see if it was there but first had to bring someone else through. We wait, wait and continue to wait. We see her, making eye contact, trying to keep ourselves in check. My sister went over and she forgot about us. Then she tells us that she doesn't have that clearance. I was so confused, she just did this for someone else! They tell us to come back in 2 hours. We have already spent 2 hours here and this is our vacation! So, we ended up getting a number to the baggage area and the woman on the phone regrettably gave us our claim numbers. I was an inconvenience to her. My sister had a 2 week trip. London first then to Cardiff, Wales. We did not get our luggage for 7 days. When we did, my new large piece of luggage was broken. It would no longer roll and the top handle was coming out. So, I kept all my receipts and am finally home. I went online to submit my reimbursement claim and their online service is "temporarily unavailable" since yesterday. I sent them a contact email regarding this. No confirmation, no email back. I am now on hold for the last 2 hours trying to find out an alternate way to submit for reimbursement.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Gatwick via Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"an avoidance of responsibility"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Return flight from Vancouver to Halifax. Left late due to awaiting a co-pilot. Landed in Calgary about same time as the plane to Halifax left. They would not hold back that flight to allow us to transfer. About 20 or so of us stranded in Calgary 24 hours to take next day flight. Despite their promise to pay $1000.00 to passengers delayed 9 hours or more, that denied our claim saying it was not their fault. If they cannot staff their company to meet their own schedules, pray tell who is to blame then? If our business failed to meet schedules due to short staffing, that would be on us. What an avoidance of responsibility. Not impressed Westjet!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Halifax via Calgary
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"canceled our connecting flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | While on our first flight, WestJet canceled our connecting flight saying we would never make it when we still had 1 and a half hours to board our connection. They informed us they sold our seats and our next available flight would be the next day 7/30/2022 with a 4.5 hour layover. They told us to leave because it “is not our problem”. Our first plane landed at 5:00pm. The connection they canceled our tickets in left at 8:52pm. Plenty of time. We were supposed to land in LAX, our final destination on 7/29/2022 @ 8:07pm We now will land at our final destination 7/30/2022 @ 4:13pm.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Los Angeles via Calgary
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Will not fly with them again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Every flight time was changed, food was terrible. Were told that we would make our connection but didn't due to our prior WestJet flight being delayed. Will not fly with them again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Ottawa
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will not fly with them again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | On my flight home from my vacation, it was noticed that my licence and health card had expired. I was told to stand aside and I was not able to board the plane. I was distraught, as I had flown in on the same ID and did not have access to my passport, as I was trying to return home. The crew would not help me and told me I needed to wait for a manager. They left me standing, distraught, in a corner while they boarded the other passengers and then left. The manager came 15 minutes later and told me I could try to update my licence on-line and then he left as well. It took me 5 minutes to update my licence. I take responsibility for arriving with an expired licence. That was my fault. However, with some help and compassion, I could have renewed my licence while I was waiting, and did not need to miss my flight. I was treated like a piece of garbage in everyone’s way instead of a paying customer who made a simple mistake and who was very upset. I had to pay for another ticket and it took an extra 20 hours for me to get home. I did not book the return trip with Westjet and will not fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Edmonton
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Never travelling this airline again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Came in on a long-haul flight from Mumbai (India) to Boston via Dubai on Emirates. We had booked a flight from Mumbai-Toronto and WestJet was their codeshare partner for the leg from Boston-Toronto. Our 5.30pm flight from Boston (13th July 2022) was delayed by over 4.5 hrs and took off only after 10pm - no apologies or explanations, just a curt 'The flight from Toronto is delayed'. The shocker started after we landed at Toronto airport past midnight on 14th July. We had a long wait at immigration and we finally came to collect our 5 checked-in baggage. We found 4 of them scattered all across the baggage collection room near different belts. After running around to put them together, there was no sign of our 5th bag. On asking at the WestJet counter, we are told that sometimes bags are just not loaded since the WestJet flights are 'small'. We filed a delayed baggage claim and were told it would be delivered home to us within 24 hours. Once home, we discovered that our 4 bags had been damaged. Long story short - WestJet delivered the missing bag after 5 days, no apology or communication on how to claim delayed baggage reimbursement, etc. We have sent the claim - no response so far. Never travelling this airline again!
AircraftDash 8-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Awful experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience from the start! At Montreal, only Sunwing agents were taking care of the people. When WestJet finally opened up their counters, nobody was there because they were all waiting elsewhere! Seats were hard, no reclining, no beverage distributed in the flight from Montreal to Calgary. They sent my luggage at Toronto instead of Calgary and their flight from there were cancelled. I waited more than two hours at the security for a WestJet agent to come with the paperwork to let me in the international zone. Awful experience.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Maui via Calgary / Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a wonderful flight experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We flew with Westjet and everything went smoothly. We want to point out how Rose Streete a flight attendant who took care of us during this flight was just a pleasure to be around. She made everyone around her comfortable. She had an amazing sense of humour and she made us laugh a lot. She went above and beyond what most agents do. She took care of babies, young teenagers etc and she had a way with them that reassured everyone. We thought it was important to point out that there are some employees who make the world a better place and being in an airplane with kind flight attendants just makes the entire experience much more enjoyable. She took her time with the passengers and always had a smile for everyone. We even witnessed the wonderful complicity between her and the other employees on the aircraft. Thank you Rose for a wonderful flight experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Ottawa
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"miss my connection to London"

(United States)

Not Verified | WestJet's flight out of Boston was an hour late, which caused me to miss my connection to London and be stuck in Toronto. I waited in WestJet's extensive Toronto line for an hour, during which I also called their customer service, naively hoping to save time. The customer service rep put me on an Air Transat line as it was boarding, and when I left my spot in line to approach the gate, the Air Transat desk folk told me I wasn't in their system and WestJet shouldn't have done that. So I went back to the WestJet line and waited at the end for another hour until they could serve me. It was a foregone conclusion by then that I would have to spend the night in Toronto. They booked me on a British Airways flight out of Toronto to Heathrow the next day, but I never received a confirmation or a booking reference from British Airways. The WestJet staff, who just wanted to go home, told me that it was all fine, I would receive a booking reference later. I didn't believe them. I asked for a hotel room voucher and they said they wouldn't give me one because the fact that the Boston flight was 65 minutes late was not their fault; it was Delta's, apparently. So I forked out money for my own hotel and arrived early at the airport the next day, even though the British Airways flight was in the evening, because I knew that I would have to deal with WestJet's incompetence more. When I still hadn't received a confirmation from British Airways, I waited in their extensive line again, while calling British Airways on the phone. In line, the British Airways person told me that I didn't have a confirmation; they saw that someone had attempted to make a booking, but that it didn't go through. So I continue arguing with this poor British Airways lady over the phone, which is futile, until she transfers me to her supervisor who hangs up on me within five minutes. Whatever. By this time, I'm at the front of the line of WestJet for a third time and I tell them what British Airways told me (no ticket). They tell me that I do have a ticket, but that they can't give me a booking reference because I'll have to get that from British Airways. Which I just did. And it goes back and forth. I finally ask them to just re-book the same WestJet Gatwick flight, the same one I had missed 24 hours earlier, and the supervisor at the desk says, "Sir, we can't do that, British Airways has your ticket." Luckily, her subordinate corrected her. I'm texting my sister, who's also flying WestJet to London, and she's telling me how WestJet lost her checked luggage even though it's in the airport.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to London via Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Very disappointed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I was traveling with a person with a physical disability who required the use of an aisle chair. When we arrived in Vancouver, it was evident that the 2 individuals who were assisting with the aisle chair had absolutely zero experience using this device. They found it very difficult to maneuver the chair and when we exited the plane they attempted to unbuckle her on a downward incline. If I hadn’t of said anything she would have slid right off the chair and fallen. There was no communication whatsoever. Very disappointed!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no