Volotea

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 210 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"disposing of your time and plans as they wish"

(France)

Not Verified | Brest to Nice. At the moment of buying my ticket online, Volotea automatically (and silently) booked me a yearly subscription for this so-called "Megavolotea" service without any clear indication that I had to pay an extra fee additionally from my concrete flight. As avid scammers that they are, they don't highlight this fact clearly for you to realize on time and they also don't generate any cost breakdown nor any receipt for you with a global total of your transaction after you pay. You only realize that you were tricked until days later, when they book 49.99Eur from your account and then you may realize what goes on (because they don't actually send you any message about this, you have to check your banking history and start to wonder): they concealed that they deceivingly hooked a trial for a yearly subscription on your name at the moment of booking your flight so you cannot cancel it on time. Added to this, two hours before my fight departed, I find out at the check-in stand that my seat was given to someone else deliberately and that the flight is full (I had already paid for my seat several days before!). Other 5 people in that plane were in the same situation as me. I had tried to check-in online several hours before but I couldn't get my boarding pass for some reason: probably they already knew what they had done but decided to give me no notice in advance but wait that I was waiting at the airport. I had to cross the fingers that there was a non-present passenger to be able to take my flight. This is the kind of treatment after I had to pay for their special "Megavolotea" plan. How is it legal that they can decide to steal at any point the seat that you already paid them? you then have to bear alone the risk of being forced to travel on another day, on another plane, or to remain in a given city for an unknown time lapse? All because they want to make more money at your expenses, disposing of your time and plans as they wish. Sneaky scammers with no respect for their clients, only caring about profit. Never again!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrest to Nice
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"asked us to pay an extra €50 per luggage"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | The worst experience ever, we bought our tickets and have included a carry on luggage of 10kg for each person 4 of us. When arriving at the gate after the flight was delayed for over an hour and a half they asked us to pay an extra €50 per luggage even though We already had paid at the initial purchase saying it had to be checked in and that it was now too late to check in since the counter was now closed. Many passengers was asked to pay pay this amount it was a real scam.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMykonos to Athens
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"extremely dissatisfied with this company"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline you could fly. I had the worst experience of my entire flying experience and I work for an airline! They have no space for your bags in the cabin forget about a carry on a small backpack barely fits. The customer service is nearly non existent and when you do get help they are rude and unhelpful. Honestly didn’t help with a single issue I had and was extremely rude. I spoke over the phone with someone who was rude and then left me on hold for over 30min as a punishment they would pick up I heard someone in the background and was put on hold again. I think on their end the phone beeps after being on hold to long so she would pick up and just put me n Hold again and never ended up helping me. The customer service at bag check in was rude and didn’t help either. I am extremely dissatisfied with this company will go out of my way to tell people not to take them that’s how trash they are. Save your money and travel literally any other way possible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSantorini to Athena
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"worst airline I have ever used"

(Russian Federation)

Not Verified | The worst airline I have ever used. Slow at check in (because everyone pays for something extra), they charge extra for boarding pass at airport €30, luggage to cabin-€60. If you want to save money, use another airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMykonos to Athens
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Their customer service is pretty much non-existent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I travel a lot and this airline is the worst one I have ever dealt with. If I could go back, I would spend twice as much to go on a different airline. They lost our luggage on literally a 30 minute flight, when we had paid a lot of extra money to check in a suitcase in the first place. Their customer service is pretty much non-existent. It is impossible to reach an actual human and everything on their website gives you errors, including the lost luggage claim form and the luggage tracking reference number. When you call their customer service number, there is an automated message telling you to go to the FAQ on their website then it disconnects. So on top of losing our valuables, we won't even get compensated for their mistake. The most ridiculous scam of a company I have ever dealt with.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteAthens to Santorini
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"never had a problem with them"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | It is a low cost, but I never had a problem with them. Mostly on time, staff were kind and I got a refund and/or voucher when flights were cancelled. Congratulations
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlghero to Venice
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Very satisfied overall"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Tenerife Sur to Asturias. Punctual both on the outbound flight and on the return flight. Comfortable seats (good distance between rows). Friendly check-in staff and flight attendants attentive to the needs of passengers. Very satisfied overall. We will repeat the flight with this company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTenerife Sur to Asturias
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"does not abide by its own bag policy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My husband and I were on our honeymoon returning from Santorini to Athens with the same luggage we carried when we flew into Santorini. When we booked our flights, we paid for extra baggage and weight, just to get to the boarding gate and be told that my carry-on suitcase was too big. (I have a universal standard size carry-on). Although these fees were paid upfront when booking, we had to pay an additional 50 euros to check in a carry-on at the boarding gate. The gate agent was very rude and had no sympathy or tried looking at our reservation to see everything we initially paid for. This company does not abide by its own bag policy and some people were let on the plane with the same size carry-on that I had. It’s very contradicting that I was able to fly into Santorini without being charged for my carryon but returning, hit with a baggage fee. Literally almost everyone boarding the flight ended up paying the extra fees. There has to be some type of commission these gate agents are getting because I’ve never experienced anything like this from all airlines I’ve flown on.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSantorini to Athens
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the customer service is terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The policies aren’t respected and neither are the customers flying Volotea. My wife and I flew from Santorini the morning of 20 May 2022. We purchased extra weight for our luggages and everything. The carry on luggage policy completely changed from when we first flew out to Santorini. Also the customer service is terrible. The way that staff at the gate speaks to priority customers is distasteful. Furthermore, if you’re reading this, I strongly recommend not flying this airline and to pass the word. Volotea and Delta Airlines service has given me nothing but problems for my first trip out of the country. My rating is not for the flight service, its for the customer service and breach of policy.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSantorini to Athens
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Will never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Will never fly this airline again. Turned what was supposed to be a 2hr travel day into a 13hr one. Had landing gear issues so we turned around and to land in Athens instead of Mykonos for what I have to assumed was reasons of technician and resource availability. What I had a problem with was the complete lack of communication from flight staff about why we had turned around and had to attempt multiple landings before getting on the ground. Flight attendants also proceeded to RUN to the exit windows to look outside, causing unnecessary panic to all of us and again didn’t disclose why they did that. After we were safely back in Athens, no information was given to the airport staff and no one was able to tell us when we would be flying again. Ended up getting our bags and going to the island via a ferry but we’re now having trouble getting our refund with little to no phone numbers allowing us to speak to agents. All this after they charged us €30 for not checking in on their app and wanting to do it at the airport. I guess it’s a budget airline for a reason.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Mykonos
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no