TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1165 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"it was the worst experience"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Customer service is non-existent! Tried for two days and a total of 15 hours calling TAP Reservations center, always on hold for minimum 1 hour before someone picks up the phone, once they pick up they can never help and always have to transfer you to some other department which takes another hour before that other department picks up the phone. By the time you finally get lucky to speak to someone, they disconnect you as you’ve been on hold for too long. And you have to start all over again. I’ve tried for a total of 15 hours but never got through to them in the end. Avoid flying with Tap, especially long haul and business class, as it will be a total waste of your money. You won’t get any customer service from them and for sure will be disappointed, even if you have such a basic issue to resolve such as rebooking your flight, they won’t be able to help you. Truly, it was the worst experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMiami to Faro via Lisbon
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"back to pre-covid standards"

(France)

Trip Verified | Business class product on European routes is back to pre-covid standards, at least on E-jets. No neighbor, priority boarding etc. Better even, as for flights departing from LIS, you may chose your meal on a menu emailed previously by TAP. Meal that was good by the way. Crew was extremely efficient and present.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLisbon to Marseille
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"such a downgraded product in Business Class"

(France)

Trip Verified | A lot might be said about travelling during pandemic times. It is hard for passengers, and hard for crews, as well as airlines management. I would like to point out how disappointing was my first trip on the new A330Neo by TAP: Business class cabin is an extremely high density place, much more packed than on their A330-200. There are so many passengers and they are so close each other that is now a noisy place. As a consequence, seats are too narrow. And place for legs and feet were not sufficient for me. I could not move at all (seat 5A). Feeling of a magnetic resonance imaging bed. I started to feel bad. This is a typical profit targeting mistake. It is no use paying for a business class ticket, if you cannot breath. Worse: as (I suppose) a pandemic protection, business class toilet was for crew only. 34 business class pax had to share 2 toilets with 80 Economy Extra pax. I let you guess the result after a 9 hours flight, as crew never cleaned. Which is by the way, a bad decision in Covid times. My opinion is that TAP Portugal, for the first time, is offering such a downgraded product in Business Class that they will lose their most loyal ( 40 years) customers. Do not pay for it, even cheap.
AircraftA330 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRio de Janeiro to Lsbon
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Staff not very welcoming and quite robotic"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | I was a but worried about a transatlantic crossing on an A21neo LR. The business class throne/pod seat was very comfortable, cabin felt new and modern, and the entertainment system was easy to use and had good content. Food was fine but a bit slow to be served - 65 minutes from take off and only 14 business passengers. For a short night flight it would have been nice with an express service (there is no pre dinner drink service anyway. Pillow is very good. Staff not very welcoming and quite robotic (well confused robotic). Flight left 50 min late but arrived on time. No business class bus service on arrival. Luggage arrived very quickly.
AircraftA321LR
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFortaleza to Lisbon
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"can improve in all sides of their product"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | We entered in the last minute, due to a late incoming TAP flight, so we cannot say anything about the boarding process. We sat down in our seats, we had the two middle seats (1-2-1). Felt the seats were a bit narrow. They have put a menu on each table, and a stewardess walk her way down to take our orders. Before they came to our row (9), we heard she said they were out of beef. And when she came to take our order, we could choose between baccalao and spinach pasta. I should have understood that if i wanted beef, i should have ordered it online, before the flight. I told her i did not want any dinner. It took almost 1.5 hours before they cane with the drink trolley. Another stewardess offered me a beef stew that they served in a bowl. The taste was actually good, but looked boring . We had a big tv screen, and enough choices of movies. After dinner they turned of the lights, nice to relax, but do they need to keep the temperature on around 30 degrees ? Its so warm when i tried to lay down and sleep. They served a light meal one and a half hour before arrival, When we came to Punta Cana there was remote parking, and they got us in to two busses, very crowded. I have had trips with 5-stars airlines before the covid-19, and the difference is really big. TAP can improve in all sides of their product, disappointing trip.
AircraftA330-90
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLisbon to Punta Cana
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst travel experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Madrid to New York. Even before the flight it was impossible to speak with customer service about adding additional baggage. This was a problem because it is cheaper to add baggage before going to the airport, however in the end we had to pay the maximum cost because we could never get a hold of customer service over the phone. At check in, we were checked in by a third party company that could not help us with any questions related to TAP Portugal. One flight was delayed and when we arrived to the connecting airport they treated us like we were responsible for the delayed flight. Then when we got to Newark they didn't have our stroller set (which included 3 seat attachments and the bassinet for our son to sleep in). No TAP representative was present in Newark to help locate the stroller or take a report of the lost stroller. Eventually when we arrived to the final destination and there was no stroller. I tried calling them many many times and I was always on hold for at least an hour or longer. When someone picked up the phone, I was transferred and then placed on hold for another hour or longer. When I messaged them on Facebook I was replied to with a generic message and no one was there to help me. I tried messaging on LinkedIn, Facebook, and received absolutely zero assistance. No one has been able to help us with our lost stroller. Even today I am trying to call them and I am on hold for hours, with receiving any help or speaking with anyone. Do not use this company, if you do make sure you have third party flight and baggage insurance, because if they lose something they are not going to be responsible. Literally the worst travel experience we could have imagined.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to New York
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airline ever!"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The worst airline ever! Munich to Lisbon Was the only flight that went ok. I had trouble place finding a place to put my rucksack and the stewardess didn’t care. Lisbon to Newark a horrible flight. They didn’t have any veg or vegan options, apparently you need to order special meals. During boarding, they caught me for additional screening to answer questions and searching our bags and body. After the meal service they forgot to bring drinks to my row. When I asked the stewardess, she said she is busy and didn’t bother to come back. I had to ask another colleague of hers to bring us something to drink. Return flight New York to Lisbon the worst flight ever. The flight was scheduled to depart JFK on the 3/1/22 at 22:00 but due to technical issues or whatever (the staff at the gate didn’t inform passengers about the delay) the flight only took off on the 4/1/22 at 12:46 ish. Due to this, I missed my connecting flight in Lisbon. At JFK, the staff told us to contact staff in Lisbon as soon as we land but unfortunately, there was no staff at all to assist. TAP Portugal rebooked me into another flight leaving to Munich 7 hours later. I was originally going to get to Munich on the 4/1/22 at 16:50 but due to the delay now I would be landing on the 4/1/22 at 23:25. When I asked if they could give me an earlier flight or give me a place to wait at the airport with less crowd, one of the TAP staff said they can’t do anything and I have to wait like a regular passenger for 7 hours. He said “it’s not their fault“. I spoke to another staff and this time after confronting he gave a 16 € food voucher for 7 hour delay. Lisbon to Munich was the only flight that went smooth without any issues.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Newark via Lisbon
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst experiences"

(United States)

Not Verified | One of the worst experiences I have ever had. Stay away from this company especially during COVID-19, they do not offer any refund nor allow you to reschedule your flight. As many others unaware passengers, I was fooled by the claim that rescheduling was free of charge. Unfortunately, this is not only false, but TAP does not allow you to reschedule your flight either, regardless of additional fees. This means that any booking is lost. Since TAP does not have a working online service and the operators never reply to the phone, refund is not possible even if you have flight insurance. I spent over 8 hours at the phone and it is the same story: the operators do not pick up the phone or redirect you to a loop of other operators putting you on hold for hours. The outcome of this process is the charge on your phone (unless you are using a Portuguese number). You will soon notice a pattern: in the remote event that an operator replies, you are redirected to another one and so on for hours. Be aware of this and do not be accommodating, leave negative feedbacks and let them hear your voice. The scam machine does not stop to that, with very high fees (hundreds of euros) for extra-sized/weighted baggage and shady requirements, the extra fees are around the corner. Although they claim a classic 55x40x20 bag requirement, intentional random contestations are frequent and it will be difficult to prove your case unless you bring a ruler with you. Before booking with them, really consider the chance of being targeted by one of their scam loops and ending up paying more than a high-yield ticket with any other company. Seats are less comfortable when compared to other competitors in the same price range, do not have phone chargers, are very old and quite dirty. The food was plain, but it still gave me an upset stomach. Overall, this is a disastrous company without passenger assistance at any level (online, on the ground, at the phone). Do not book with them in any form: not on their website and absolutely not by agency (this would double the time you need to waste on the phone with no results). Try to skip TAP and jump to other companies when you're searching for a flight: price differences, if any, are illusory. Instead you will get disservice, lose a lot of your time and possibly several hidden fees.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Rome via Lisbon
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely dissatisfied with this company"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Extremely dissatisfied with this company. Stay away from TAP at any cost, the price is not worth the disservice. Do not fly with this company during the COVID-19 pandemic since they do not offer any refund for lost flights due to covid positivity. They consider any missed flight a no-show and deny any reimbursement. To do this, they rely on a loop created by the 24h requirement for most COVID tests. They will ask you to send documentation to their email address and they will not provide any reply. When the flight has passed, they will claim it as a no-show and deny refund according to their policy. Be aware and avoid this company, near-bankruptcy does not justify such embarrassing behavior. Flights are very uncomfortable, missing basic elements including phone chargers. The equipment is very old and poorly maintained. Food is poor quality, although not the worst I've had on an aircraft. On-board WI-FI does not work. The staff are unhelpful. The operators often hung up on you in order not to reply or to delay your assistance. As practical example, I spent nearly 3 hours on hold with no useful assistance. The ground staff at the airport is useless: they do not have access to any modification/change of your reservation. The online system is worthless, it does not allow modifications when they are needed, probably due to a precise intent to deny reimbursement. Fees and charges are far above average for extra baggage. A fee is charged for extra size and weight which can potentially add up to hundreds of euros per baggage. Although this information is not clearly accessible on TAP website, it can be found online from other sources. In summary, avoid this company at any cost. There are many other companies with similar prices that offer a better service. Do not book with this company during the COVID-19 pandemic since they do not offer any refund on tickets. Due to general disservice it may also be unsafe and dangerous to travel with them. In the unfortunate event that you have already booked a flight with them, basic survival tips include: do not check-in your bags at the airport to minimize the contact with the staff. Instead, check every bag online and go directly to the gate: due to the poor service, no scales or meters are available at the gate and it's more likely to avoid tricks on the baggage. For COVID-related refunds there is almost nothing to do, be careful not to get it so that they cannot capitalize on your sickness. In any case, communicate with them by certified email with confirmation receipt and never leave a phone call without any email confirmation. As a final note, do not leave any positive feedback on the phone surveys until you have your issue completely resolved (which will most likely never happen). This is a final trick they use to deny you proper treatment and make it result as a positive feedback: when they bounce you around between operators or ask you to call back, leave no feedback or a negative feedback after the call.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Rome via Lisbon
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't refund my tickets"

(United States)

Not Verified | They changed my flight which wouldn't work for me and won't refund my tickets. I have been on the phone with them for 11 months and every time they say a refund is being processed. Now every time I call its a new excuse. Last excuse was too much time has passed even though I started the refund process or ROR as they call it. Every time being on hold for well over an hour.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownNovember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no