Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 243 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"a terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was a terrible experience. At the time that I made our reservations, Sun Country said that they would leave all center seats empty, that there would be no drink/food service, the planes would be sanitized and passengers were required to wear masks “for the safety of the passengers.” When we boarded the plane, on May 17th, 2020, we found out that Sun Country filled every single seat, only about half of the passengers wore masks, and the planes were not sanitized between flights. Passengers would come off the plane and immediately new passengers were loaded on the plane. The only truth spoken by Sun Country was that there was no beverage or food service and that was yo save Sun Country money—it had nothing to do with passenger safety.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Myers to Minneapolis
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"misled paying customers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They misled paying customers by saying they would block all middle seats! Sun Country apparently believes they do not have to follow CDC recommendations for social distancing because they sold every seat on the plane. They suspended in flight service, but they then sold every seat on the plane?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Phoenix
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"doesn't do business fairly"

(United States)

Not Verified | Sun Country lost my business for good. I bought airline tickets through them to go to LA in April and of course had to cancel because of the pandemic. I asked an agent and 2 managers to refund my money and they stated their policy was to give airline credits only. I accepted an airline credit and purchased a return ticket home to MSP from PDX on May 17th. Sun Country cancelled my 1 way flight, had no others flying to MSP, then refused to refund my money stating since the ticket was purchased with a flight credit, they cannot refund it. I asked if they could have refunded my money from the LA tickets. The supervisor said yes they could have but she could not refund me since this ticket (for a flight they cancelled) was purchased with the airline credit (that I didn't want in the first place). So now I have to spend more money on airline tickets because Sun Country doesn't do business fairly. I am so disheartened that they didn't do the right thing and refund my money so I could purchase a ticket to get home.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst flight experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Palm Springs to San Francisco. Sun Country cancelled our flight and their onsite customer service (who said they were contractors, not employees) was unable to help and told us to call the airline. Of course, none of the passengers could get through, were hung up on by the automated system or left callback numbers and then were never called. After several days of trying to get through to the airlines and get rebooked ultimately had to do it ourselves at the beginning of this pandemic at a much higher cost. We have been trying to get reimbursed ever since and they've continuously lied saying their onsite staff could have helped us and that they called us back. After flying for business and pleasure for the last 30+ years this is by far the worst flight experience and I've flown WOW, Ryanair, and easyJet. That's really saying something.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePalm Springs to San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"forfeiting my voucher and losing that money"

(United States)

Not Verified | Minneapolis to Orlando. I booked a trip for the family over spring break to Florida to spend a day at Disney World, and a cruise and both have been canceled so we have no need for the airfare until we are able to reschedule our trip. I have talked to an agent 4 times and 1 manager. The first agent that canceled our flight told me everything was put back on my voucher the part I used and the rest of the money was placed on an electronic credit. He told me they would both be good until March 20th 2021 because I booked the trip last year and I would get an email with the information within 48 hours. I waited and got no information so not wanting to lose the money I called back and the new agent told me I would lose the voucher on April 9th this year and the credit is only good until November this year, I explained to her I would be unable to use the voucher by April 9th with everything going on. She told me to fill out a complaint form and call back the next day and they would forward my call to team that could help me. I filled out the form right away and called back today, the agent that was helping me said he could fix the voucher and more the experience date out, as I was on hold the phone was disconnected so I called back again and explained to the agent what happened and what he told me he could do. This agent went on and told me there is nothing they can do and I would be forfeiting my voucher and losing that money. I asked to talk to a manager and after asking multiple times they had a manager call me back. the manager said they reviewed the call and the agent gave me bad information and I would be forfeiting my voucher if not used by April 9th per their upper manager. I asked to get a copy of the audio recording and he said I could not get it and there is no one else I can talk to about this. As of right now Sun Country Airlines is stealing my money. If I know what was going to happen with this Coronavirus I would of booked a trip before my kids spring break, but being able to use this voucher I was able to afford a trip for the many this spring break. I would recommend not to use Sun Country Airlines for any travel they just want money and don't care of their customer not to mention they take advantage of this Coronavirus to take money without giving services. FYI I tried using the option 8 to call back and never got a call back so I have sent right around 12 hours to get this information
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Orlando
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This airline was horrible!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Chicago O'Hare. This airline was horrible! We were delayed 1.5hrs on the tarmac for mechanical issues on the first flight. Next, on our flight back, we had a boarding gate set as M1 and 30min before we were to depart, they changed the gate all the way across the airport on the opposite side at M20. Then, we all sat and waited for updates on our flight that was to depart 'on time' and we never received any updates that this flight was now delayed. Wouldn't inform anybody about what was going on and even lied to my face and told me the flight was 15min out. Completely incompetent at their jobs!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Chicago O'Hare
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff was very rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Orlando to Minneapolis. Flight SY342, 2 hour delay at departure Orlando, staff was very rude. On the way to Florida we have the front seats no problem fitst isle, and on the way back seats 31 all the way in the back. I Asked the staff if these seats recline and she says, do they look like it.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Minneapolis
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Miami. Extremely disappointed with the customer service we received. We ended up missing our flight due to the staff and process being unorganized. On top of this, the employees were rude and lacked any empathy. We waited for 2 hours in line to check in while they were pulling people from a different line who had waited way less than us.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Miami
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"uncaring and incompetence"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Minneapolis. Hometown Airline - not. These folks are unbelievable. They took our plane from our low margin route (ORD-MSP) to use on a more profitable route. Then they blamed it on weather even though ORD and MSP were operating normally 7 hours before takeoff. First they updated flight status to delayed. Then delayed + cancelled. Then they sent an email with no instructions on what to do next. 4 phone calls and 4 hours later, finally got a human being who said we were on our own to get home. No alternate flight offered. Absolutely no empathy or compassion. We rented a car and drove 8 hours to get home to take care of our child with medical needs (because we had only arranged care through Sunday night). Literally the only thing Sun Country said was "we sent you an email". Not even Spirit Airlines has that level of uncaring and incompetence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"well trained compassionate staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A special thank you to the cabin crew Flight SY106 on 2/26/2020. My husband caught the flu while we were on vacation. Needless to say we had no real vacation. He had been feeling Ok. We were in the air maybe 40 min and he lost consciousness that lasted a minute which seemed longer to me! He was dehydrated and on top of that spiked a high fever. The crew was right there with me asking him pertinent questions and had ice packs to cool him down and several cups of beverages and water. The cabin crew stopped in on us frequently the remainder of the flight at least every 10-13 min!! Sun-country you have well trained compassionate staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes