Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 358 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never use Sun Country again"

(United States)

Not Verified |  Horrible service. Will never use Sun Country again. Long lines to wait to check in our luggage. Instead of checking luggage in, staff was messing around ignoring the long line in front of them. One counter open to check in luggage during the busy time when 6 counters were available but unstaffed. Security was so unorganized and took forever to get through.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Minneapolis
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“I was sorely let down”

(United States)

Not Verified | I decided to give Sun Country a chance as an airline when visiting a friend with my daughter, however I was sorely let down by the whole experience. Our initial flight had a one hour delay before even taking off. This delay then forced us to miss our connecting flight, also by Sun Country. When I asked for help with getting to our destination due to this missed flight, which was their fault, 6 months pregnant and with a 9-yr-old in tow, they said the best they could do was book me a flight in 24hrs and we could sleep in the airport. Seeing as my trip was a 3 day visit and I was in a city for a layover where we knew nobody, this did not seem like a reasonable choice. When I asked for a refund of my original flight they would not even give me that, saying they were not liable for any delays. I then proceeded to book with another airline to get to my final destination, but when I arrived, my luggage from my original Sun Country flight was NOT at my destination. They then called me about my lost luggage a week later after I had already returned home, after me having to make due without my daughter's car seat while in our destination city. When I called them to discuss this horrible experience, I was on hold for >30mins and when I requested a call back I never received one. Finally when they called about my luggage I was able to talk to someone in customer service, yet no apologies, refunds, or compensation of any kind were offered.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCincinnati to Portland
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible experience. Lost our luggage. No one from the airline was at the airport when we landed. Walked around for 2 hours at the airport taking to everyone and finally someone was able to give us the customer service phone number. We called at 10pm and no one answered, cake back at 8am. They said we have to report lost luggage within 4 hours. How is it possible when no one answers the phone or is at the airport? Rude all around for the next month.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilwaukee to Las Vegas
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"said nothing about the extra cost"

(United States)

Trip Verified |   The flight for my wife and me was pretty standard for a budget carrier. My complaint comes from the fact that my wife had to make changes to her itinerary due to a funeral in Minnesota. She called them to change her flight from one date to the next, which was fine. However, our son was on the same flight and his ticket was canceled and reissued for the same flight. It cost us $278 for him to get a 1 way flight that he already had. The person on the line said nothing about the extra cost until after the changes were made. Then there was nothing we could do about it. This low-cost carrier will do whatever it can to get you to pay extra. There is no grace for a death in the family extending a stay.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Orlando
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Everything is the opposite of customer friendly"

(United States)

Not Verified | We went to Niagara Falls for our anniversary from October 1st through October 8 of 2023. I had booked Sun Country for a previous trip that got canceled. We had a voucher to use so we used it for this trip. Booked it several mos. in advanced. When we booked it I was told the Voucher would cover bags, seats, and everything. When I went to check in online the night before only to find out that it did not cover any of that and had to spend an additional $270.00 for seats and bags. They had a rental car option pop up so I thought I would check and see if their rate was any better. They quoted me a rate that I thought was about $75.00 better than the one that I had on my own. However, when I got the total after putting my card in it actually came out to $40.00 more than I had on my own. I immediately tried to cancel it. I was then told I had to call customer service to do that it could not be done online but customer service would not be open till 8:00 am. I called at 8:02 am and again tried to cancel the reservation. I was then told by customer service that there are no refunds on rental cars that I could only receive a voucher that would do me no good then I would be paying for two cars and didn't need theirs since it was more expensive than what I could get on my own. So I still took there's even though it cost more. So the bottom line with this airline is this first you better read all the small print or they will take advantage of you every way they can. If they get their hands on your money you will never see it back period the only thing you will get is a voucher so that they still keep you locked into using them. In addition to all the above their in flight WIFI entertainment is not worth downloading or connecting too. I quit mid flight and never worked again. They have no app to manage your fight or check-ins or anything. In addition to the above if you misplace your receipts you can not simply log into your booking and redownload it. You have to send an email to customer service and request they send it to you. Everything with this airline is the opposite of customer friendly. They make everything difficult and un customer friendly. My wife and I have only flown this airline one time and it will be the last time. In my book they are not a low cost airline they are a pretend low cost airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas Fort-Worth to Buffalo
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"get home 24 hours later then scheduled"

(United States)

Not Verified | Sun Country left me hanging for the second time in a year and a half. As a airline transportation corporation they do not care about you and me. They will always have travelers to fill the seats. At the end of the day, sun country will get theirs, and that's all that matters. I did get home 24 hours later then scheduled. Let's not forget about the family of five that are so special that kept us at the gate for another hour and a half to board the plan through customs. Best part of this flight, Uber was there on time to get me home.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I am so very grateful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My daughter and I did a landline/air the day before our cruise. We left Fargo, ND on the landline bus which was to drop us off at MSP for our 3:15 pm departure flight. The bus broke down half way to MSP, which made us miss our flight. I do not remember the names of the two ladies I spoke with but they were both amazing and made a stressful situation less stressful. I was given two options. They offered us a hotel and food vouchers for the night we would have to stay in Minneapolis and could get us on a flight the next morning out of MSP at 0700 and land in Orlando at 11:12 AM. 2Once we arrived at MSP on 06AUG2023 they would check with other airlines to see if there were 2 available seats flying to MCO that evening and Sun Country would pay for those tickets. We were flying to Orlando for a cruise on 07AUG2023, and were scheduled to check in to the ship at 12;00 noon. Beings we did not know when we would arrive at the airport we took option #1. There was no extra fee and my daughter and I were provided transportation (from airport to hotel and back to airport the next AM) that Sun Country provided (Hilton) and we were given meal vouchers. I cannot say enough good about the wonderful assistance I was provided, they worked very hard to get us to Orlando so we could board our cruise. I am so very grateful! Thank you.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFargo to Orlando
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I had absolutely no issues"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flight from North Carolina to anchorage Alaska: after reading 9 pages of bad reviews all from June and July of this year with the exception of 2 good/alright reviews to say I was a little worried was an understatement. As you read your reviews you will see a lot of terrible customer service and cancelled flights (which what I most nervous about especially flying with a 3 and 6 year old.) Our first flight was from North Carolina to Minneapolis was on time. The customer service at the gate and ticketing counter was very friendly..it was the same person at both! No snacks are offered but it was a shorter flight at around 2 hours and 45 mins. But we did get a beverage! There were charging ports located at the bottom of the seat in front of you. Mine worked my husbands did not but no big deal! The flight attendants were not overly nice. But more acted like they have had worked so much and we’re tired but they weren’t rude. Our flight got in on time and out of Minneapolis our flight left on time to Alaska. This flight from Minneapolis to Alaska was a bit longer at 5 hours and 48 minutes. The airline did not provide any sort of snack but did give us 2 drinks throughout! I do have to mention you can buy snacks from them. From my experience this is a very budget friendly airline. There is no inflight wifi to purchase and no screens on the back of the seats but with tickets being much less and total flying time less it’s a good airline to use! Thus far I have had no problems and want to thank Sun Country for a good experience flying to Alaska! Now our return flight from Anchorage to North Carolina. The flights were about the same no delays and a great flight staff from anchorage to Minneapolis! Overall I had absolutely no issues flying with Sun Country and as a “budget” airline they completely meet expectations!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWilmington North Carolina to Anchorage Alaska
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Don't make the same mistake I did"

(United States)

Not Verified | Don't ever make your rental car reservation with your plane reservation from Sun Country! Instead, make your car reservation directly with the car company. I made the mistake of reserving my rental car as part of my Sun Country flight reservation. As a result I ended up having to pay for 2 rental cars even though I used only one, costing me an extra $600. Here's what happened. I flew to my destination and went to the rental car counter (Budget), but the line was 25 people long and after waiting an hour, the line advanced only 4 people. At this rate, it was going to take another 4-5 hours before I got my car. I had a meeting I needed to attend in 2 hours, so I decided to cancel my reservation with Budget and instead reserve a car with a different car company. But Budget wouldn't refund me my money because Sun Country had not yet given the money to Budget, and Sun Country would not refund me my money because they said you have to cancel at least 2 days in advance! So I lost the money I gave Sun Country for the car rental. Don't make the same mistake I did!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Minneapolis
Date FlownJuly 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"choosing not the fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I previously flew with Sun Country for a nonstop to Minnesota, no problems whatsoever, back in 2021. This time around, I am choosing not the fly with them again. Although the flights are reasonable (that’s what you would think), you make up for that in other fees. If you’re a solo traveler with no carry-on on checked luggage needed, you may have no issues. But if that is not the case I’d advise paying just a bit more for another airline. Included with the flight ticket is one personal item, a carry on or checked bag is $45, and every other bag is $35 after the first. Keep in minds that if this a round trip that’s $90 both ways. In addition, they will have you pay extra for seating near your group or other travel persons, and if you can’t afford that cost starting at around $9 extra per seat, you will be seated at random. Does not matter if you purchased the tickets together, they do not observe that, whereas other flights will. Even with age, doesn’t matter how the child they will split you up and you would have to take your chances requesting seats together once you get to the airport. Another little hiccup is that they don’t have an assigned gate when you check in early for tickets, and you have to go to the flight board to check that, this may not be an inconvenience for most, but for me I just didn’t take that too well, when other airlines provide you a gate , more often than not when you do early check in 24 hours within departure. Needless to say, I should have paid the extra $40 per flight (with personal item and carry on included) instead of choosing this cheaper flight, because I more than made up for it in the long run. Won’t be flying anymore, but thank you for getting to my destinations safely.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Minnesota
Date FlownJuly 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no