Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 158 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Absolutely the worst service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was putting my 2 underage children on the plane on 1/7/19 and we arrived over 2 hours prior to a 6:20 flight. Other flights were being pulled out of line (MANY BEHIND US) and were allowed to go to the front as their flights left first. CanCun, Puerto Vallarta, and Orlando to name some. Ft Myers was called and told if we were in the front two lanes to stay) which we were, but once again people who came in after us got put into a separate line and made it through faster. We had to wait through TSA even though Tampa was pushed ahead there (flight left 20 minutes after ours) By the time we made it through TSA final boarding had been called, we had to run and my kids were whisked onto the plane before I could say Goodbye. I talked to the Suntrust manager and he smirked at me and said ”they made the plane I don’t know what your problem is”. Absolutely the worst service I've ever had.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Ft Mysers
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"grossly customer-unfriendly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Las Vegas. What a pity that the new Sun Country management has turned a once great airline, one that was admired and preferred by its customers, into the grossly customer-unfriendly, uncaring and manipulative organization that it is today. It is not really a surprise, although it is terribly disappointing, that Sun Country is turning out to be another Allegiant - or worse - and soon to be worse than Spirit. It takes a lot of bad decisions and questionable practices to make that happen. Sun Country used to differentiate itself in the market - sensible pricing and customer-friendly - a great middle of the road winning strategy when implemented properly. Unfortunately, the customer-friendly aspect at Sun Country is history. They truly do not care about their customers. They do care about their customers' money - and they implement every trick in the book to extract more of it from them. And, it keeps getting worse. Part of Sun Country's problem is that they no longer have any leadership positions. They are followers of the industry it total and of the industry's most hated companies. When I buy an airline ticket, I expect to be provided a seat. Paying twice for seats has become an unsavory practice of some carriers, Sun Country included. But Sun Country goes even further. They intentionally punish their customers who refuse to pay extra for their seat. Now, you cannot check in online if you refuse to pay extra to choose a seat. Spirit does the same thing (Shame!) but at least they let you check in at a kiosk at the airport. On our 1/1/2019 Sun Country flight, they provided no kiosk at the airport, so we had to stand in line (30 minutes) to check in - even though we had no luggage. That punishment is obviously so people will pay the seat extortion in the future. Today I had the misfortune of making a mistake in the booking of a Sun Country ticket for my grandaughter. Easy to correct on customer- friendly airlines. But, Sun Country had no way to cancel the ticket online. You had to call Reservations. I did, and was told the wait might be up to 60 minutes. Actually, the wait was a little over one hour. I had to rebook her flight, but I gladly paid more on another carrier so I could avoid further abuse from Sun Country. I was not abused as badly as all those people who were stranded when Sun Country cancelled scores of flights - and then said they would refund the fares, but the people "were on their own". That kind of arrogance and contempt for customers is what will eventually bring Sun Country down. Maybe not too late to fix it, but all indications are that it is going the other way. Sad. Too bad. It once was a classy company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Las Vegas
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"would never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Minneapolis. Sun Country is a fraud. It offers "low cost" air fares but adds charges for your seats and, almost unbelievably, charges $40 for a carry-on which fits under a seat. This is outrageous and clearly a scam to make you think the cost of the flight is reasonable. Everything, except one small cup of a non-alcoholic beverage, costs more money. If this company had any business ethics, it would include the cost seat selections and for one carry-on in the price of the ticket so customers know the actual cost of a trip. I would never fly this scam airline again, no matter how convenient flights might be.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Minneapolis
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"started delaying the flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Everything was fine until they started delaying the flight, first it started with 30min then an hour it went on and on until a 5hrs delay and they dont know the reason or dont want to tell us, worst experience ever, been in the airport since 7am because I came from another airline but it was only a 3hrs layover not a 10hrs one. If I could I will give a 0 but this won't let me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Nashville
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"tiny uncomfortable seats"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Fort Myers. Used to be very good, now new ownership, tiny uncomfortable seats, crew seems to follow the take the money and run attitude by doing bare minimum, Don't fly this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Fort Myers
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Sun Country again!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Miami. I will never fly Sun Country again! It started by purchasing our tickets, only to find out that we would be charged a $30 fee per carry on and that we would need to pay for our seats! We never received any email for check in. We went online and paid all of these fees only to find out we couldn’t check in online and that we would have to stand in line at the airport even though we weren’t checking any bags. This extra line nearly caused us to miss our flight as Sun Country booked 26 flights within a 3 hour span! Pure chaos! After we got our boarding pass we learned that the seats we paid $25 a piece for were double booked and someone was already sitting in them. By the time we made it to our gate to take off, the flight was 50 minutes late! Do not fly Sun Country.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Miami
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It was terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Honolulu. It was terrible and we haven’t even left to go home. We leave tomorrow and I’m terrified to get to the Airport and deal with these people! When we went to check in, the line was 3 hours long. We were able to move up because of our flight time but that made no difference because we stood at the check in counter for 1.5 hours with boarding passes that were invalid. When they finally figured that out, our seats were placed all over (2 adults and 5 kids) even though I originally paid for seats. They basically said too bad. I called today to make sure things were in check to go home tomorrow and see if they would assign us seats for free since we didn’t get the ones we paid for last weekend and she said no and told me to call customer service which isn’t even open today. Did I mention they lost one of our car seats? Not sure how that happen considering our connecting flight was on the same plane. Horrible airline. Will pay extra next time and fly an airline who has their stuff together.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Honolulu
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Not a happy camper"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Juan to Minneapolis. First off our flight was scheduled to leave at 2:55. We boarded at 3:55 and then sat on the plane for an hour before we took off. They didnt announce why we were just sitting there either. Then the flight was 5 hours long and a couple who bought 2 plane tickets sat next to me... with their baby. The baby screamed most of the plane ride. I had noise cancelling headphones on and could still hear the baby since it was right next to me. After that we got off the plane and went to get out luggage at the baggage claim. They took a whole hour just to put our bags out. We were waiting for another hour. Sun Country was not only 2 hours, but 3 hours late including everything. Not a happy camper.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Juan to Minneapolis
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nickeled and dimed throughout"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Minneapolis. Will never fly again. Was nickeled and dimed throughout the whole process. You think you’re buying an affordable flight, but then they make you pick a seat, then charge you for picking a seat. Then they make you pay $40 for one carry-on bag. Very disappointing. My first time flying Sun Country, and it will certainly be my last.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Minneapolis
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"They don’t care about you"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Portland to Phoenix. By far the most unsophisticated crew from start to end. Flight change last minute notice, can’t check in online and nobody knows why, after spending 4 hours of our last day of vacation trying to reach the rude people on other end of the line who had not one answer as to why we couldn’t check in. Get to airport to learn our carry ons cost $25 each. Not our problem we got flights booked in third rate airline. Spent all day at airport and nobody was staffed. They don’t care about you or your money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Phoenix
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no