Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 252 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On return flight they lost our luggage. Dealing with the customer service is almost impossible, they say they will have someone call you back and they don't. Spent hours over the last week on hold and no help. Received a call from another airline saying they have my luggage and they can't get in touch with Sun Country. I've called and almost had to beg them to take the contact info that the other airline gave me. Terrible customer service, they just don't care. Still don't have my luggage. Won't ever fly Sun Country again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMinneapolis to Las Vegas
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Customer Service was totally non-existent"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flight on 04 Feb 21, Departs 8:35 P. Flight SY376, Class S. Flight left one hour late getting us back to Minneapolis after midnight. Flight crew verbally abusive. Head Flight Attendant was always and only about control. Customer Service was totally non-existent. It was replaced by loud abrasive threatening intercom demands repeated throughout the whole flight about the masking policy. It made you feel like the gestapo was trying to control a prison camp. The Head Flight Attendant set the abusive tone and all but one of the other staff followed this approach. Just doing this review gives me painful memories. We will not be using Sun Country anytime soon.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Myers to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Sun Country said no"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Covid caused my flight to be cancelled. I happily accepted a $461 flight credit to be used at a later date. I fly to Portland every May. Recently, I tried to book a flight and was told that the airline no longer flies to Portland from Nashville due to the pandemic. Ok, so disappointed, but I called and tried to use my credit to fly to Albuquerque, nope. LA, nope. Boston to Phoenix, nope. Gave it my best effort, but now, under the existing circumstances, their airline has shuttered several destinations that would work. So, given this $461 voucher expires in May 2021 I politely asked for a refund, chalk it up to Covid. Sun Country said no! I was in shock and asked to speak with customer care, again no. Last time I will ever fly this airline and hope you heed the advice not to fly them either. We are all suffering the pandemic, flexibility to customers, esp when you change your policies does not appear to exist with Sun Country, fly anyone else!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Portland
Date FlownMarch 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I will 100% fly this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was nervous about flying with my two-year-old because I knew that she was going to fight keeping her mask on. I was considering flying Delta because they have a wonderful mask policy for kids and don't seem to be booting toddlers and families off of planes for trying (and failing) to keep masks on. However, Sun Country allowed my daughter to do her best to keep it on (but we weren't kicked off the plane if she just couldn't handle wearing it). I appreciate this more than I can express. We desperately want to travel and see our loved ones that live across the country and are really trying to be respectful (in regards to wearing masks) but it is SO Hard for toddlers to keep them on for hours at a time. I appreciate this airline's empathy and for allowing us to be imperfect. I will 100% fly this airline again and I am telling my friends! I also love that they have the only direct flight from Madison, WI to Seattle, WA. Keep it up Sun Country. BIG fan right here.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadison to Seattle
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refused to take any responsibility for the problems they created"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flyer Beware - Do not try to connect with a different airline to a Sun Country Flight. Sun Country is a Hub to a Vacation Destination airline. This requires any customers who live outside of a reasonable driving distance to the Hub to fly other airlines in order to catch a Sun Country flight. Sun Country needs these customers, they cannot sustain their business on the customers who live close to the hub. The problem is that if there is a delay, Sun Country buries their head in the sand and will tell you that they are not responsible for a miss connection on another airline, even if the reason for the missed connection is 100% their fault. This is exactly what happened when my family and I flew Sun Country from Mexico to Minneapolis on December 30th, 2020. We were supposed to connect to a Delta flight, and I had scheduled a generous 2.5 hr layover. Our Sun Country flight had 4 delays, though in fairness one was caused by air traffic control. In any event, we should of had enough layover time to recover, but 4 delays on one flight was too much. Sun Country wouldn't even put us up in a hotel for the night, refusing to take any responsibility. The net cost to me was around $1,200 (I had to rebook our Delta tickets at 5x the original price). I wrote to Sun Country to complain, and they sent me an email stating how they "pride themselves on being a reliable travel partner.....and are dedicated to customer satisfaction". They don't care at all, and refused to take any responsibility for the problems they created. I would recommend to anyone traveling to fly the same, conventional airline to your destination. Sun Country isn't that much cheaper, and if things go wrong the other airlines will take care of you.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIxtapa-Zihuatanejo to Minneapolis
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Sun Country is a pure disappointment"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst airline with truly bad customer service and policies. Sun Country is a pure disappointment, once the pandemic hit, our flight got canceled, and we never saw our money so $1200 is gone. We tried to work with them on the case and they said "we are a very small airline and we also need money" thus they wont be able to give any money back. Pretty ridiculous, it is not a trust worthy airline, it is a scam airline that tries to build business using money from other people.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Honolulu
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the customer service is awful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Do not use Sun Country Airlines. Not only are the seats absolutely uncomfortable but the customer service is awful. I had to purchase new flights to get home from Aruba during the COVID shutdown. Remember when purchasing flights that Sun Country only flies once a week to a lot of countries. Aruba was shutting down borders and restaurants, etc. My flight out wasn't until Saturday so I booked on another airline to leave Thursday. Some airlines had already cancelled flights out and I wasn't sure how reliable Sun Country would be. I called and had credit from the airline for the unused portion however, I wasn't told that the flights expire on the original date of booking, not the date of travel.The agent that also receives the customer complaint forms directly - was extremely rude and unhelpful as well as the woman I spoke to before. It was like they had joy in saying "Sorry I can't help you your credits expired so we won't do anything for you". It is shear madness. I will never use this airline again. The same agent also responds to Facebook complaints so there really isn't any help because he blocks all complaints from moving forward. Never use this airline!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Aruba
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"people with no masks"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Fort Myers. I have never seen a worse airline towards COVID. Full plane with kids and people with no masks. No chance I will ever touch this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMinneapolis to Fort Myers
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"They do not follow any COVID-19 guidelines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible. They do not follow any COVID-19 guidelines. Flight attendant did not wear a mask when walking through aisle. Every seat is booked, you can be sitting by complete stranger. The seats/seatbelts/windows are very obviously not wiped down. Do not fly.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMinneapolis to Chicago
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was a terrible experience. At the time that I made our reservations, Sun Country said that they would leave all center seats empty, that there would be no drink/food service, the planes would be sanitized and passengers were required to wear masks “for the safety of the passengers.” When we boarded the plane, on May 17th, 2020, we found out that Sun Country filled every single seat, only about half of the passengers wore masks, and the planes were not sanitized between flights. Passengers would come off the plane and immediately new passengers were loaded on the plane. The only truth spoken by Sun Country was that there was no beverage or food service and that was yo save Sun Country money—it had nothing to do with passenger safety.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Myers to Minneapolis
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no