Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 230 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Customer service is poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Myers to Minneapolis. Do not fly this operation unless you are in a pinch or financially strapped. They are by far the worst! I wouldn’t even call them an airline. It’s a charter operation. Customer service is poor, they are habitually late, they nickel and dime you for everything. There is a reason that after almost 40 years in business they only have 25 airplanes and 350 pilots. I will hopefully never have to fly Sun Country again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Myers to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Sun Country ever again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Minneapolis. Decided to fly Sun Country despite being three hours away from the nearest airport because the rate was so much less expensive. We were supposed to depart at 7:30 PM on February 9th. Throughout the day I received delay notifications via email, the final one stating the flight would leave at 11:30. Around 7 PM we were notified the flight was being canceled and rescheduled for the next morning at 10:30 AM. Food vouchers were offered. The next morning the 10:30 AM flight was again delayed with no explanation or updated time. Given I was going to miss my 1 PM meeting in Minneapolis I canceled my ticket and drove the three hours home. I wasted a lot of time, gas, and expenses for nothing. I will never fly Sun Country ever again. The Sun Country employees in Dallas did not make the situation any better. There was little to no communication and they seemed to be entertained by our frustrations. One employee said to another she was very happy to get the extra overtime pay.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I then decided not to embark"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I went to gate h1 at Minneapolis airport to take a flight to Orlando! At the time of boarding I was approached by a Sun Country employee, saying that my carry-on luggage could not board unless I paid an extra fee. They called the manager, who after checking my check-in ticket and that my hand luggage was included, it prevented my boarding and was still making fun of the situation, a moment that I then decided not to embark and look for a way to report the disrespect and lack of consideration of this which is the worst company area I already met!
AircraftB747-4
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Orlando
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Semi par customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Mazatlan to Minneapolis. Never would I use this airline again. Our plaen left late from Mexico even though it was there in plenty of time. We arrived late at MSP which made us miss our connecting flight to Wausau which made us rent a car. We lost money for our connecting flight and had to pay to rent a car on top of that! Yes the flights may be cheaper but there is a reason for that. Semi par customer service, flight attendants were not the friendliest.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMazatlan to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Sun Country was pretty much flawless"

(United States)

Trip Verified | St. Louis, MO to Tampa, FL. First, when flying a budget airline, you have to understand that’s exactly what you’re paying for. That being said, my experience with Sun Country was pretty much flawless. Check in was quick and easy, flight crew was friendly, food was just like any other “high end” airline flying economy, and the price was a fraction of the price as some of the bigger names. In all honesty, I did not see any difference between this flight and any flight I’ve taken with Southwest or American. You do pay for baggage, but the flight still ends up much cheaper overall. I even paid for an exit row with extra leg space and still paid about $200 less than any other airline. Flights left and arrived exactly on time and I would definitely recommend Sun Country to anyone and gladly fly with them again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt. Louis, MO to Tampa, FL
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Not worth all the hassle"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airline I have ever flown with. I missed my first flight and bought another ticket the same exact day because I didn’t want to miss so many days on my trip and the next “stand by trip” was in 2 days and it was not a guaranteed flight! I am now currently sitting at the airport in another state with no one from Sun Country to give me my bags. They are hard to locate and access and have the worst support team. I came to the airport yesterday and today, wasted on parking just to find no one here. I’m on my “vacation” and have no luggage and have been wearing the same clothes for 2 days! And now I “maybe” have my luggage for tomorrow so that will be 3 days with nothing on my trip. Every other airline is here and laughs at my face when I say I asked for with Sun Country because everyone knows how bad the service is. I bought my tickets 2 times to end up in some state with nothing on me. Never again will I fly with this company. I have never had such a stressful and struggled so much on a “vacation.” They guaranteed me my bag was here but if there is no one from Sun Country I will not get my bag till they feel like coming into work. Not worth all the hassle just go to another airline. The flight feels cheap and the planes are super crowded as well!! Not worth what you pay for in any way. You can barely walk through the isles and the “food” is the worst, no one ever orders anything. I have never been so I unpleased with a company this is ridiculous! Just go to any other airline please!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Miami
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no value with this farce of an airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is a clueless airline, you will get zero communication that is correct. You will be delayed going and coming back, you will wait over 45 minutes for your bags at St Louis, and they will send you to incorrect area to pick up oversize bags, and they have no relationship with the St Louis airport which means you will get no information or cooperation. Because they have no status in St Louis, you will be the last plane de-iced which is why they left us on the tarmac for over 1.5 hours before taking off. Those flight specials aren't even close to special after the add-ons hit you. Absolutely no value with this farce of an airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt. Louis to Tampa
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Las Vegas. I understand its a cheap airline, but seriously everything that could go wrong did go wrong! Outrageous baggage prices, rude customer service, delayed flights both coming and going, and not just an hour delay, but a 7 hour delay going and a 4 hour delay coming back. Ridiculous! No explanation or apology, we just had to sit and wait while they flew a different plane in for us from Minneapolis which was 5 hours away! Then when we arrived in Madison, Wisconsin 5 hours late, at 4am it took 45 minutes for us to get out bags. I will never fly this airline again and if you were smart you wont either.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Las Vegas
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not even a tiny bag of pretzels"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Liberia to Minneapolis. Flew with Sun Country over the holidays to Costa Rica. Started off the trip with there system crashing and waiting over two hours in line to check in. Flight attendants were rude and unenjoyable to me. I felt uncomfortable asking them for assistance or service due to short responses. I understand SunCountry is a budget airline but for a 5 and a half hour flight they only had two rounds of beverage service not even a tiny bag of pretzels as a snack. The cherry on top was after arriving back to Minneapolis I was in the global entry line as was the flight attendants and an older couple. The older couple was waiting to be called and were fumbling with their paper and was called which they didn’t see. Instead of telling the older couple they were up the flight attendant completely walked around them to the customs agent rudely. So much for hometown airline kindness from the staff.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLiberia to Minneapolis
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flying experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Seattle to Minneapolis. Worst flying experience in my life. Rude flight attendants that hit me in the shoulder no less than 15 times. Hard enough to knock me into the person sitting in the middle seat. No gates for boarding or getting off the plane. Had to pack onto a shuttle bus and stand to get a ride from the terminal out to the plane on the tarmac. Paid $40 extra for priority boarding but everyone else was packed on the same shuttle. There’s a waisted $40. Another passenger started yelling profanities at another passenger. Another passenger sitting behind us was displaying his karaoke skills at midnight. Then his earbuds disconnected and his music was on loud for all passengers to hear. No flight attendants around. We had to tell him to turn it down. Seats were tiny, hard and no head rest.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Minneapolis
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no