Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 171 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"horrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Can't give zero stars but that is my rating. Was scheduled to fly to Minneapolis from Dulles last night on SunCountry Airlines flight 236 at 6pm. I had checked in online the night before to save time. I had one carryon bag which I paid for, as well as my seat assignment I paid for. I had my e-ticket on my phone and did not plan to go to the ticket desk. No gate was listed on my e-ticket. Storms were in the area and I received notification from my flight tracker app on my phone that the flight was delayed until 7:45pm. I decided to go ahead to the airport at approximately 4pm as traffic in our area is awful anyway. Upon arriving at the airport, I checked the departure board for my flight and it indeed showed it was delayed until 7:45pm with no gate assigned. I went ahead through security and proceeded to an information desk just past security to ask what gate Sun Country flies out of. The gentleman informed me Z gate. Upon arriving at Z gate, I found no food and was hungry (it was about 4:45/5pm by this time). Figuring I had time to go find something to eat, I proceeded to go to B gate. As I finished my meal, my flight tracker on my phone notified me that my flight was leaving right then at 6pm. I paid for my meal and proceeded back to Z gate. The departure boards still said 7:45pm departure with no gate listed. I asked around until I found the gate and was told by the Sun Country reps that the flight was indeed gone. They gave me a customer service number to call and said no more flights until Sunday (this was Friday). I proceeded back out to ticketing to find no one at the Sun Country desk to assist. My husband then called the customer service number. He was told they will not refund my fare and will charge me $125 to cancel the return flight. They will only refund my bag and seat fee of $59 by a voucher with the airline. I am now unable to make my trip to see my friend for the weekend. All because I checked in online and they did not update the Departure board at the airport. No fault of my own. I am furious. This is horrible business practice and horrible customer service. I want others to know they should never fly this airline so they won't be taken advantage of. I will never fly Sun Country ever again. Since this airline is new to our area, the people of the DMV should know that Sun Country does not care about its customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington Dulles to Minneapolis
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Sun Country again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I fly budget airlines all the time. I'm very pro-Spirit airlines and pro-Ryanair. I'm in high support of any no-frills budget airline that can get you to where you need to go. That being said, I will never fly Sun Country airlines again, no matter the price. Here was my experience: I get to the airport at 6am for my 8:30am flight. Since it's an international flight, Sun Country makes you check-in in person (not sure why). There were 2 people manning the check-in station for over 1000 people waiting in line. The line wrapped around the entire airport and out the door- this is not an exaggeration. I saw at least 20 people in front of me miss their flight due to the long line. I waited in line for 3 hours, finally checking in at 9:30. I was one of the first people checked in for my 8:30AM flight. The flight was 6 hours delayed, so my 3PM arrival time was actually changed to 9PM. That wasn't even the bad flight. On the way back, the flight was delayed first one hour, then two hours, then eventually 8 hours. It turns out there was a malfunction on the place preventing us from flying. We were in Punta Cana, and the two people manning the check in station spoke only Spanish and wouldn't tell us what happened. Then, after waiting 8 hours, the staff told us to get on a bus. I am a 23 year old woman by myself, getting loaded onto a bus with no explanation in a foreign country not knowing where the bus was headed, with no one who spoke English to ask. I was truly terrified. It was around midnight when we finally checked into the Hotel the staff supplied for us. They told us to come back to the bus at 4AM for our outbound flight. I purchased an international calling plan so I could call my mom in the case of an emergency. My sister paid $500 for the same flight on Southwest (I paid $300), and every day I regret not paying the extra $200 for my peace of mind and hours of my waiting time back.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Punta Cana
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't recommend or fly them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Portland to Phoenix. After buying your ticket, you then have to to buy your seat at varying rates. Only 1 (!) small carry-on allowed, so they increase their profitably immensely when you are surprised to learn your 2nd, small carry-on which is free at every other airline now costs $40 to bring it aboard or $35 if I check it. My ticket and then purchasing my seat: $77, my bag and surprise fee for my 2nd small carry on is $75, essentially doubling the ticket price. Sun Country is charging passengers such as myself twice the original ticket price in accumulated and unexpected tariffs. Everyone knows airlines profit nicely with baggage fees, with Sun Country deliberately limiting carry-on to increase baggage fees and charging for a seat, these are exactly the business practices that Spirit Airlines got nailed for several years ago. Transparency is important and Sun Country has hidden, parasitic pricing where you would never expect it. I won't recommend or fly them again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Phoenix
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Flight was great"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miami to Minneapolis. Flight was great. I’m a simple person and they satisfied me completely. Smooth flight and friendly and funny staff. I would definitely recommend Sun Country if you are not looking for first class seats. We were ahead of schedule and all bags arrived with us. I encourage everyone to try this airline and decide for yourself if you would fly it again. I would.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Minneapolis
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Completely unsatisfied!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Tampa. Nothing but problems with Sun Country. Previously 3 weeks ago, our checked bag was destroyed. We had to tape it together to leave the airport. We were told we would be reimbursed for it then received an email saying Sun Country would cover the repairs up to 25.00. What a complete joke! The zippers and fabric were busted. Our bag was not jammed packed either and emailing back and forth with Sun Country has been a nightmare. Now March 25th we flew again and were charged an extra $40.00 for a carry on bag we didn’t even have. If I hadn’t checked my bank account we would of never know because they didn’t have us sign anything but I did sign the receipt for the one checked bag we had. What a scam, now we had to make a complaint again and play their email back and forth game. We will not be flying or purchasing tickets again with Sun Country. Always make sure to check your accounts for unauthorized charges or pay cash. What a pain in the butt. Completely unsatisfied! Don’t make the mistake of flying with them!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Tampa
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This ruined our honeymoon"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We had a package with the airline, hotel, and a rental car for our honeymoon in Las Vegas. We were at the DFW airport waiting on our flight that was scheduled at 2:30pm. The board showed our flight was delayed till 5:45pm. Another 3 hours. (While waiting we over heard a woman complaining that their flight to Phoenix got canceled.) When that time got closer we approached the gate to board the plane only to he told our flight was cancelled. The board was never changed to cancelled so this was a big shock to us. They were in process of boarding the flight "Phoenix" when we were asking why our flight was cancelled. So it was obvious they cancelled our flight to let the Phoenix flight go out. We were told we could wait till 3 more days to get us a flight there or vouchers. This ruined our honeymoon. They refused to give us a better offer and refused to make another flight out after taking the Phoenix flight. They said that was the only flight they were making for the day. We had to make many phone calls to find a way to our honeymoon trip.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas Fort-Worth to Las Vegas
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"charges for carry on bags"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Only airline I have ever flown that charges for carry on bags, added an additional $80 to my trip. Had a connecting flight from Fort Myers, FL to New Orleans, LA. The layover was in Nashville, TN. Upon landing the pilot informed the passengers that he would be finishing the route to New Orleans and it would be in the same terminal. The pilot stated that passengers would have plenty of time to use the restroom and get food, so my girlfriend and I did just that. After being gone for no more than 15 minuets, the flight left without us and Sun Country was far less than helpful in helping us find a new flight. The original boarding in Fort Myers was late, and despite the pilots claim that passengers during the layover would have time to relieve themselves, this was not the case. Ground service claimed they told passengers exiting the plane to stay in the terminal, but we were some of the first passengers to exit and received no such notice. Our flight was SY 638 on 3/18/19 and will be the last time either of us ever fly Sun Country.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Myers to Nashville via New Orleans
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"A very enjoyable experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | First experience with Sun Country Airlines. Travelled to Tampa and returned to Nashville 2 weeks later. Utilized wheelchair assistance both trips from counter to gate and to baggage claim. Great experience for two senior adults. Able to carryon my CPAP machine free with no difficulty. Total ticket cost including two checked bags both trips much less cost than other carriers. Limited flight trips but so what. A very enjoyable experience for both of us. They are not perfect but who is?
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Tampa
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"you get what you pay for"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tampa to Minneapolis. No announcements for delayed flights. They do not have an app or wifi on the flight. I am on the plane right now and the flight attendant is complaining to all the passengers that she does not get paid unless in the air and our flight was supposed to depart at noon yet here we are 1.00 and still waiting for the door to close. I would blame it on the airport/ground crew but it was the exact same fiasco on Monday when I flew out. Two hours late appears to be their standard business model. I will never fly this airline again. No wonder their fare is cheap - you get what you pay for.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seats were uncomfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Mazatlan. The seats were uncomfortable and small. The plane was delayed both ways. On the way back we were delayed about an hour and then had to wait for paperwork because we had to take a different route and it was faster then any other time. So why wouldn’t we take that route every other time. There was horrible turbulence on the way there and one of the flight attendants yelled at a person who was already up and on their way to bathroom before the seatbelt light was on. Delta flight that was suppose to leave an hour or so after us ended up leaving before us which resulted in waiting longer. The flight attendants on the way home were awesome.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Mazatlan
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no