Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 210 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the most disorganized airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Portland. Sun County is by far the most disorganized airline. I went on my trip to Minneapolis, only to have my bag lost through sun country. We waited 3 hours at the Airport and it miraculously showed up ...  now on the flight home, I checked 2 bags, the cheaper one with way less valuables made it, where as my other suitcase filled full of expensive and sentimental items never made it. They have no baggage handlers or customer service agents, no one to talk to to resolve the issue. I will never spend my money on this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Portland
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Very unhappy flyer"

(United States)

Not Verified | Have always had very good luck with Sun Country Airlines. Not this time! Flying out from Savannah GA to Minneapolis Mn. Flight 208 leaving at 10:10 am. Delayed till 2:00 pm. Then 9:00 pm. All this because if a tyre? Will consider other airlines now before using Sun Country. Very unhappy flyer!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSavannah to Minneapolis
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Most horrible service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Portland. Most horrible service I’ve gotten from an air flight. I accidentally booked from the wrong destination. I called from the airport because there was no one at the counter and the lady on the phone said well there’s nothing we can do because your missing your flight. Obviously because I’m in a different state. Would give me a voucher, credit or offer to help
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Portland
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"look forward to our next flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | Macon to Gulfport. Excellent flight, excellent pilots and excellent stewardess. We were an hour late departing but safety comes first. We really enjoyed the flight in both directions and would recommend the airline to others easily. Thank you Sun Country, we look forward to our next flight with you!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMacon to Gulfport
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"so nice and didn't have to be"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to San Diego. Was at the gate 2 hrs early. While I was killing time walking around there was this nice gentleman and I asked him if he could change my seat assignment? At first he said I had to wait for the flight attendants so I sat down and waited. He then, after doing a few things said come over here. I walked over and he said ok I can do it quickly for you! He was so nice and didn't have to be.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to San Diego
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"still won't refund ticket fares"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I find this crazy. My wife and I were planning on taking a vacation when her father passed away a few days before. As I'm sure anyone would understand you deal with the loss above anything else. That being said we still called Sun Country to inform them of our loss and provide a death certificate as soon as possible. Sun Country's response was it was a $90 change fee with another $100 fee for something else (couldn't remember as I was a bit agitated) and had I called sooner they could've provided a credit against my account. The tickets were $200 total. It's unfortuante the compassion most airlines have (we were flying United out and they refunded the tickets no question) is lost on my hometown airline. Either way we felt people should know that Sun Country in the most extreme circumstances still won't refund ticket fares.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSonoma CA to Minneapolis
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"see it falling apart"

(United States)

Not Verified | Minneapolis to Las Vegas. We've flown on this airline frequently the last 20 years and over the last year see it falling apart both in management/employee and plane maintenance. Employees seem unhappy and some we talked to agree things are not right. My wife's plane taking off out of Savannah, Ga. last Nov had taken off and lifted off when it abruptly set back down barely stopping at end of the strip. The plane sat waiting for a part for 6 hours with little communication to passengers. She was very scared when they did take off. This past spring twice in two week period we had a guest who tried flying out of Orlando and had flights canceled but got flights out the next day. On this weeks flight Sept 23rd from Minneapolis to Vegas the one flight attendant we saw made it down the aisle one-time serving liquids, but no snacks at all or smile. Charging for bags, canceled flights, no answer at customer service for hours, flights now scheduled from many smaller cities at $39 is not going to gain a profit or make their coordination of flights and service better. They are failing since the Davis family sold to this hedge fund and a new CEO that thinks backwards. Soon we will read of once a great SunCountry going bankrupt. No longer our "Home town airline".
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMinneapolis to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"make you pay for overhead bag"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Providence to San Francisco via Minneapolis. They make you pay for overhead bag which is the same price as if you were going to check it. They do offer complementary drinks but make you pay anywhere from $4-$8 for snacks. Seriously $4 for a regular size bag of M’ms.... ripoff. They do offer inflight entertainment, however the signal is horrible and was constantly disconnecting. The movie would have long pauses making it difficult to enjoy the movie. Also the selection appeared to have a lot of outdated movies and not a big selection of tv choices. I do not think I would fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteProvidence to San Francisco via Minneapolis
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Too many hidden costs"

(United States)

Not Verified | Minneapolis to Phoenix. Too many hidden costs. Everyone from ticket counter to crew was rude. I was charged 35 bucks for a carry on bag. Carry on! Who does that? I had to pay for any food. No peanuts or free pretzels.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Phoenix
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"The flight was freezing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Minneapolis. Red-eye flight, we paid for the SunCountry version of "First Class" or what they refer to as premium seating. Sat in the first row on the plane. The flight was freezing, the flight attendant told me there were no blankets available but that it should warm up as we get moving. It got colder throughout the flight and many people kept saying how cold it was with zero accomodation made. Bright lights on the entire flight from where the flight attendants sat especially if you are sitting first row. Most immature flight attendants I have experienced, laughing loudly and talking the entire flight, and kept yawning so loud the entire flight could hear. Again this is a red-eye have some courtesy for those trying to get some sleep. No beverage/snack service offered. The worst flight ever. Last resort booking due to family emergency or I gladly would pay for to go Delta.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteLas Vegas to Minneapolis
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no