Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 280 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"I was pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was my first time flying with Sun Country and I was pleasantly surprised. The plane was a bit old (but not to the point of being concerning), just not the bells and whistles you get with a bigger airline. The flight attendants were friendly and made an effort to talk with passengers and were quick to help those with children. Overall, I think Sun Country is a value and will definitely fly with them again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Dallas
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"probably one of the best experiences"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Reading the reviews for this flight before we left on our trip I was a nervous wreck expecting something to go wrong. After my experience with this company I felt it was important to leave a review for those like me that have severe flying anxiety. My first interaction with this company after booking happened when I noticed that I failed to put middle names on my booking so our boarding passes would not match our passports. I called the service number and left my call back number. I had already read that no one answers the phone so I was prepared to be disappointed by not receiving a call back. A couple of hours later a young lady called me back and I explained my mistake. Her response was "Well let's get that corrected so you can be at ease have a great trip." She corrected 4 middle names on my booking and emailed me a new itinerary while staying on the phone with me to make sure everything looked ok. Disaster averted. We then got to the airport on Sunday to find out our flight was delayed. Again, after reading the horror stories of delayed flights being cancelled and people being left to fend for themselves I began to feel very high anxiety. One of my adult children would be flying from a different airport but same airline into Mexico and I was afraid she'd be in Mexico by herself. The flight was an hour late but finally showed up, they very calmly unloaded the passengers coming into Houston and got us all on the plane as quickly and well organized as I've ever seen. The flight attendants personally apologized to the passengers as we boarded for being late explaining that there were severe storms at their last stop and that they had to wait it out. I don't even know where to begin about our experience with our flight home. From Mexico, coming back into America, you must check in at the counter to show your negative covid test. Of all the check in counters, it was the shortest line, the staff was friendly and very patient with everyone, and they went above and beyond to help us get checked in and to our terminal in time. Wonderful service. I have flown on several airlines and take several trips a year and this is probably one of the best experiences I have had flying (that included set backs). There's a lot of bashing this airline for things that anyone could avoid just by doing their research or reading their booking information. The seating is no different than other airlines. The drinks come with a cup of ice just like every other airline. Oh there's phone chargers on the backs of the seat legs which I have never seen before. That was cool. We got free WiFi. Being surprised by carry on and check bag fees baffles me. This isn't uncommon. Check these things BEFORE you book and there will be no surprises with this airline. If you are flying from Houston out to Mexico this is the way to go.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Cancun
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"no enforcement of that policy"

(United States)

Not Verified | We flew round trip to Anchorage from Minneapolis. The airline was good about telling people they need to wear a mask over their nose and mouth at the beginning of each flight, but then there was no enforcement of that policy. On our return home, there was one guy with his mask on his chin, not covering nose and mouth, that chatted with the flight attendants for a long period of time, yet he was not told to use his mask properly. Many, many others not covering nose and mouth. I appreciate that wearing masks was not previously the responsibility of flight attendants. Well, I am sorry, but it is now. All of the flight crew is responsible for the safety of the passengers, including the protection against the spread of Covid 19. I would definitely not use this airline until they carry out their responsibility to keep their passengers safe. In addition, we waited by the luggage carousel for over an hour before the luggage came.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attendants were friendly and helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My flights to and from San Antonio to Cancun were on time. The flight attendants were friendly and helpful. Prices are low and I will be flying Sun Country Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Antonio to Cancun
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refuse to answer your phone calls"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They refuse to answer your phone calls (have been calling for the last three hours). They not only don't have the information from my itinerary, even though they emailed me the itinerary number and confirmation code. This is so embarrassing and such a waste of money to fly this airline. They take your money and don't provide any customer service after taking your money. When we got on the phone, they hung up.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Boston via Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Never again Sun Country"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible, always being delayed. Twice within a month apart our flight was delayed. We are currently sitting on the plane before take off, we've been sitting here for over an hour because of weather. If the flight wouldn't have been delayed we would have beaten the storm and taken off on time. Never again Sun Country!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Las vegas
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Continue doing an amazing job"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Thanks for having staff like Khiry Morgan. Today 7/30 was my first time flying with Sun Country Airlines. Unfortunately I came in contact with multiple agents at Sun Country Airlines that was absolutely rude. Khiry Was not one of them. His energy was amazing and he completely saved the experience. As a customer service manager at the MSP airport I have very high expectations for customer service and Khiry exceeded those expectations. Continue doing an amazing job. It definitely isn’t going unnoticed !
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Los Angeles
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolute worst airline to take. Got split up with my family and had to take a plane by myself or my boyfriend had to pay over $100 to change his flight to my later flight and let the rest of them go without us. They were no help whatsoever at the airlines checking. They said I had to call and they can’t do anything. We are in Mexico and I’m from the US so we weren’t able to call the airline. They couldn’t call them either so we were forced to pay them extra so I didn’t have to take the plane by myself. I will never use this airline again. Next time, I will go with American Airlines and pay a more. This wasn’t worth all the time, stress, and confusion. Worst airline experience and worst customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Dallas
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Staff are absolutely incompetent!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Checked one bag... when we arrived in Seattle, we were delayed maybe 15 minutes before getting to baggage carousel. Nothing on carousel. Called Sun Country. Took several attempts to speak with anyone. They have our bag, but we can't pick it up until the next day, will you deliver it to our hotel? No. Had to make a trip back to airport the next day to get it. Then, similar experience on return flight. No apology whatsoever. Staff are absolutely incompetent! Would not fly Sun Country again even if it was free!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Seattle
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never fly Sun Country again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived hours early enough to get in line. We were met by the apocalypse! There was a huge long line that was never ending. We got in line and were in line for two hours. This was the line to check a bag NOT security. There was such mayhem that they eventually just starting calling out flights and having people jockey to get up to drop bags so that the plane could leave. This turned into one giant cluster. Everyone was pushing and there was no line. To top it off they were not fully staffed to handle the number of flights that were departing. I have never seen such incompetence in my life and I fly often. I will never fly Sun Country again. They knew their flight schedule and number of passengers ahead of time and could have planned accordingly.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Antonio to Minneapolis
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no