Sun Country Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 239 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"forfeiting my voucher and losing that money"

(United States)

Not Verified | Minneapolis to Orlando. I booked a trip for the family over spring break to Florida to spend a day at Disney World, and a cruise and both have been canceled so we have no need for the airfare until we are able to reschedule our trip. I have talked to an agent 4 times and 1 manager. The first agent that canceled our flight told me everything was put back on my voucher the part I used and the rest of the money was placed on an electronic credit. He told me they would both be good until March 20th 2021 because I booked the trip last year and I would get an email with the information within 48 hours. I waited and got no information so not wanting to lose the money I called back and the new agent told me I would lose the voucher on April 9th this year and the credit is only good until November this year, I explained to her I would be unable to use the voucher by April 9th with everything going on. She told me to fill out a complaint form and call back the next day and they would forward my call to team that could help me. I filled out the form right away and called back today, the agent that was helping me said he could fix the voucher and more the experience date out, as I was on hold the phone was disconnected so I called back again and explained to the agent what happened and what he told me he could do. This agent went on and told me there is nothing they can do and I would be forfeiting my voucher and losing that money. I asked to talk to a manager and after asking multiple times they had a manager call me back. the manager said they reviewed the call and the agent gave me bad information and I would be forfeiting my voucher if not used by April 9th per their upper manager. I asked to get a copy of the audio recording and he said I could not get it and there is no one else I can talk to about this. As of right now Sun Country Airlines is stealing my money. If I know what was going to happen with this Coronavirus I would of booked a trip before my kids spring break, but being able to use this voucher I was able to afford a trip for the many this spring break. I would recommend not to use Sun Country Airlines for any travel they just want money and don't care of their customer not to mention they take advantage of this Coronavirus to take money without giving services. FYI I tried using the option 8 to call back and never got a call back so I have sent right around 12 hours to get this information
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Orlando
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This airline was horrible!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Chicago O'Hare. This airline was horrible! We were delayed 1.5hrs on the tarmac for mechanical issues on the first flight. Next, on our flight back, we had a boarding gate set as M1 and 30min before we were to depart, they changed the gate all the way across the airport on the opposite side at M20. Then, we all sat and waited for updates on our flight that was to depart 'on time' and we never received any updates that this flight was now delayed. Wouldn't inform anybody about what was going on and even lied to my face and told me the flight was 15min out. Completely incompetent at their jobs!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Chicago O'Hare
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff was very rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Orlando to Minneapolis. Flight SY342, 2 hour delay at departure Orlando, staff was very rude. On the way to Florida we have the front seats no problem fitst isle, and on the way back seats 31 all the way in the back. I Asked the staff if these seats recline and she says, do they look like it.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Minneapolis
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Miami. Extremely disappointed with the customer service we received. We ended up missing our flight due to the staff and process being unorganized. On top of this, the employees were rude and lacked any empathy. We waited for 2 hours in line to check in while they were pulling people from a different line who had waited way less than us.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Miami
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"uncaring and incompetence"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Minneapolis. Hometown Airline - not. These folks are unbelievable. They took our plane from our low margin route (ORD-MSP) to use on a more profitable route. Then they blamed it on weather even though ORD and MSP were operating normally 7 hours before takeoff. First they updated flight status to delayed. Then delayed + cancelled. Then they sent an email with no instructions on what to do next. 4 phone calls and 4 hours later, finally got a human being who said we were on our own to get home. No alternate flight offered. Absolutely no empathy or compassion. We rented a car and drove 8 hours to get home to take care of our child with medical needs (because we had only arranged care through Sunday night). Literally the only thing Sun Country said was "we sent you an email". Not even Spirit Airlines has that level of uncaring and incompetence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"well trained compassionate staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A special thank you to the cabin crew Flight SY106 on 2/26/2020. My husband caught the flu while we were on vacation. Needless to say we had no real vacation. He had been feeling Ok. We were in the air maybe 40 min and he lost consciousness that lasted a minute which seemed longer to me! He was dehydrated and on top of that spiked a high fever. The crew was right there with me asking him pertinent questions and had ice packs to cool him down and several cups of beverages and water. The cabin crew stopped in on us frequently the remainder of the flight at least every 10-13 min!! Sun-country you have well trained compassionate staff.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my baggage never arrived"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On February 14 I flew from Newark to San Diego to visit my husband who has been deployed. Customer service from the get go was terrible, but I was able to overlook the rude employees, and lack of inflight entertainment because, my flights were on time and I arrived in San Diego in one piece. Turns out my baggage never arrived in San Diego, there was not a single Sun Country employee available in the airport to help me or the 6 other passengers who were missing luggage. Nothing was offered up front, a voucher or even a tooth brush. We called the airline and were told the bag would be expedited and would meet me in San Diego TWO days later, I was only in town for three. It is going on day 14 and I have still not received my luggage, which I am told never actually left Newark airport! However, when I called to say I would just pick the bag up I was told, despite emails saying Sun Country has found my bag, that they can not confirm where the bag is! They will also not reimburse me for the items I had to purchase until I am “reunited“ with my luggage or it has been missing 45 days! The worst part is I have had to call the airline every day and not once received a call from them. I have only received emails while on the phone with customer service or after threatening to file a complaint with the DOT. But even those emails have been vague and offer no follow up. I’m giving them until the end of today to get me some information and then I will file my complaint with the Department of Transportation. Think twice before you fly with this airline and if you do I recommend carry on only!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to San Diego
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Denver to Minneapolis. Flight delays are a normal party off travel. That said, how they are handled speaks volumes about the airline. Sun Country may have the worst customer service of any airline I have dealt with. After three phone calls and two promises that a manager would call me back, nothing. They don't care about taking responsibility for problems they create, and their agents have no problem flat out lying to customers.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst airline experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have been a long time user of Sun country and usually have a group of 12 or more when we do go since 2009. This last trip to the Bahamas on 2/15 and back from the Bahamas on 2/22 was the worst airline experience I have ever had! We were late leaving MSP by 1 hour because you lost your log book and YOU didn't have the food stocked on the plane. There was no entertainment. Wish we would have known that before hand. Then we lost another hour because when we got to the Bahamas they didn't have a gate for us since we were an hour late! I paid for a limo for our group and had to pay an extra $100 for him to sit there and wait. Then on our way back you were delayed out of NAS. We were to arrive at MSP 3:45 - we didn't arrive until 4:45 and our luggage didn't come out until 5:45. On the flight back we finally had entertainment but no headphones were offered.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Nassau
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Customer service is poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Myers to Minneapolis. Do not fly this operation unless you are in a pinch or financially strapped. They are by far the worst! I wouldn’t even call them an airline. It’s a charter operation. Customer service is poor, they are habitually late, they nickel and dime you for everything. There is a reason that after almost 40 years in business they only have 25 airplanes and 350 pilots. I will hopefully never have to fly Sun Country again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Myers to Minneapolis
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no