Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 799 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"delayed for over two hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Sacramento to Houston via Los Angeles. This airline had me and 50+ passengers delayed for over two hours due to mechanical issues. Don't you think you should get all of us paying passengers to a different, safe and working airplane? The fact that I have waiting over 2 hours because this unorganized airline either doesn't have enough working planes or don't care enough to get us moving.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to Houston via Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Southwest can do better than this"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Charlotte to Minneapolis. Our flight was delayed due to other issues than weather leaving Charlotte this evening. In trying to determine whether to book a new flight in Charlotte we asked the staff. We were told that we had ten to fifteen minutes and should sit up front and run to the next concourse. We did not know it was on the other side of the airport. So we upgraded sat up front and ran to B22 in Chicago Midway to make our connection home to Minneapolis. Even though we made it to the gate and saw the plane sitting there, we were told that it was gone and we had to book a flight 3 hours later. And we needed to go back to where we were told to run from. There was no communication to the gate that passengers were running across the airport. This airport is the worst Southwest hub in the world and this was the second and last experience there. Southwest can do better than this.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCharlotte to Minneapolis
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flight attendants were great"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Louisville to Baltimore via Portland. Best flight ever. We did have a slight delay in initial take off due to a light being on but the flight attendants were great, funny, kind and made the experience excellent.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLouisville to Baltimore via Portland
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no heart or care in the world"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Norfolk via Baltimore. I flew out of Houston, TX to Norfolk, VA on 5Oct and was to return on 12Oct. My Daughter's 2nd Birthday was on the 7th of Oct. I went to the gate on the 5th for my departure, nothing was said about having to pay for my daughter's return flight because she was "2" now. I go to the airport to depart and was rudely told I need to pay for her ticket, and that the information is on the website - and that she is "Sorry I didn't read it". I would assume being in customer service and knowing the regulations that it would have still been told to me when looking at my daughter's Birth Certificate and seeing she turns two within the time of my stay in VA. I called the airline and they told me that I have no choice but to pay $243.80 for my daughter to fly back. I didn't anticipate the money and didn't have it. I had to miss my flight, and go back to a friends house that I stayed with. I didn't have a rental car anymore because I had to turn it in, so I had to wait for someone to come & get my daughter and I. After I got to my friends house I called and spoke withthe Customer Relations Dept and she said she was sorry about my situation and that I could apply for a donation ticket back. I went to the website and read that SWA gives away 40,000 free tickets a year to "those in need" but the request can take 6-8 weeks. I have a job I had to get back to, didnt have enough diapers, or anything to continue my stay. So, I called them back. Again, "I am sorry, but there is no way around it- you'll have to pay". I told the agent I can pay on the 19th, but will it still be the same amount of money for my daughter to fly back, and how much will it cost to change my reservations. She said they can't guarantee the price will be the same, and that she didn't know how much more out of pocket I would have to come out. I live paycheck to paycheck. I only went to VA because my oldest daughter gave birth to my first Grandchild, and it was important I would be there. I could have left my daughter with my Husband while I was gone if I would have known I had to pay for her return flight back. But since I was stuck there, no one cared and upper management that could have helped me, and also didnt want to get on the phone themselves did not help, nor care I was stranded without a vehicle and no place to go with my 2 year old daughter. I was fortunate enough to reach out to distant family and borrow the money to fly back home with my baby. I have never flown with SWA before, I always chose Delta - and from here on out I will stick with Delta. Not only are the flight attendants rude and their customer service is completely incompetent- they honestly have no heart or no care in the world. The Customer is not their priority.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Norfolk via Baltimore
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"went out of her way to help me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Norfolk to Boston. When connection flight was delayed due to weather, Lynn was able to help me book my connecting flight in order to make my arrival time within 15 minutes. Mother Nature saw fit to delay us again but she went out of her way to help me even after a colleague said it wasn’t possible. Thank you, you are the best at customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNorfolk to Boston
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"find this practice very unfair"

(United States)

Trip Verified | While traveling from Los Angeles to Denver, I requested to be put on stand-by, as an Southwest A List Preferred, the agent told me I was first on the list, but it was a full flight so there was no guarantee, which I understood. A few minutes later, while I was standing by the podium, I saw a lady ask the Agent to also be put on the A List Preferred stand-by list. This person was traveling with two other people that were not A List Preferred. The Southwest agent immediately gave this person a boarding pass, because she was traveling with two people that paid to get on an earlier flight. I find this practice very unfair to give preferred preference to another A-List Member because they were travel with two other people.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Denver
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"disappointed in this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tampa to St Louis. I’m disappointed in this airline. The last 2 times I’ve flown with them my flight has been significantly delayed (at lest an hour each time). Last time a drunk person that wouldn’t leave the plane and never should have got on. This time because a captain wasn’t there? And only when leaving St. Louis, never when leaving Tampa. It’s been my airline of choice for years but considering when I can’t rely on departure time to find another airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to St Louis
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely inflexible!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Los Angeles. Worst airline. Extremely inflexible! Had a flight booked from Denver to Los Angeles, booked the flight early and did not pay top dollar. We wanted to leave on a earlier flight and called the airline and they had 8 open seats. They wanted to charge me $500+ to change the flight to the same exact flight but two hours earlier. They person I spoke with said we can try to go to the airport early and see if they would accommodate us. Went early and they said no - we didnt pay enough for our tickets. They said if our flight is delayed they would change it. Our flight was delayed 10 mins but they said had to be 15 minutes. Had to wait 2 hour, even though there were 8 open seats on the earlier flight. The manager was extremely rude.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Not at all happy with Southwest"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nashville to Pittsburgh. I had paid extra for A group but turns out there were already 15 to 20 people on the plane from the previous flight that all moved to the front on the plane. This is not a fair way to board. If they leave the plane they should re board with everyone else and if they choose to stay on thru should remain in their original seats. I feel scammed for paying the extra money to board in A group and I will not fly southwest again. I asked the agent at gate C 22 about this and she looked at me like I was the rudest person for asking why this is. Not at all happy with Southwest.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Pittsburgh
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"continuously unimpressed"

(United States)

Not Verified | Denver to Raleigh Durham. I am continuously unimpressed with this airline. The only reason to fly with Southwest is if you are on a budget. Their services are not up to par with other airlines, and if you are a frequent traveler they are consistently frustrating. For example, the past three flights I have been on, the WiFi didn’t work at all. Now that I am on a 737-700 that somehow has working WiFi, I can barely load Outlook let alone this page. I can’t count on this airline for on time departures or arrivals, or for getting any work done on the plane. Why as a business customer would I be interested in this airline for anything other than the price
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Raleigh Durham
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no