Singapore Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1111 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"there is nothing premium about the service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Singapore in premium economy on the recently introduced second flight. Priority boarding after business class allows time to settle in, with ample space in the overhead lockers. Just three rows in the cabin, with good legroom and comfortable seats, which have a decent recline. There is a footrest on the seat in front, and a calf rest attached to the seat, which seems to serve no purpose other than create problems for the crew in trying to them stowed for landing. Good sized TV screen which is easy to operate. Overall the hard product is good. However there is nothing premium about the service, which is strictly economy. There are no pre take-off drinks, and there was no bar service after take-off prior to the meal. This may have been due to the late hours departure and a wish to serve the meal as quickly as possible, but one would have thought that with a maximum of 24 in premium economy this would not have been a big issue. Amenity kits are no longer handed out, but the menu indicated they were available on request. Meals were tasty, but the same as economy, served on plastic trays. No sign of table cloths and proper crockery as shown on the website. Drinks are served in plastic as opposed to glasses, and in small quantities. Wine was a basic white or red in a small plastic tumbler half filled. Fruit juice slightly larger serving, but still meagre. No offers of refills until the trays were eventually removed. There are no dedicated crew in premium economy. Service starts with premium, but then proceeds through economy, with clearing starting at the back of economy, so that premium economy is the last to be cleared. With the time difference the second meal was lunch. This time I ordered champagne, served in a plastic stemmed “glass” amounting to half a normal glass, again no refills offered until trays cleared, at which time the champagne had disappeared from the trolly. The main reason for choosing premium economy is space and comfort, on which there are no complaints. However notwithstanding the fact that Singapore economy is amongst the best, it is not a premium economy service. Having chosen to pay a significant premium over economy, it is disappointing that the enhancements provided by other airlines are not provided.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteJohannesburg to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"will return to AirAsia for future flights"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Canberra via Sydney. I have flown many times with economy airlines such as Jetstar and AirAsia. But my first ever flights with Singapore Airlines which I had high hopes for were a washout. The economy seats are much smaller than AirAsia and all you are getting for your extra dollars is a menu and entertainment options. Also I have an injury and asked for help getting on and off the plane before the crush. They made me get a medical certificate to prove the injury but let me on with every one else. And with a broken foot those small seats were even worse. I will return to AirAsia for future flights.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Canberra via Sydney
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"definitely fly Singapore again"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Perth. Seat layout was 1-2-1, although no skybed for such a short flight. The seats were narrower but still comfortable. I fell asleep even before take-off and then woke up after to set my seat flat. Due to jetlag, I spent the entire flight asleep and the air stewardess asked if she could get me something else to eat when we were about to touch down. Great service. I will definitely fly Singapore again - although I am not sure if business class is worth the short trip.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Perth
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"quality at its best"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Singapore Airlines represents quality at its best - food, service, seats, entertainment. Champagne, juice or water upon boarding. With book the cook, I had chicken rice for lunch preceded by a satay appetizer and succeeded by cheese platter for dessert. The skybed folds out for a comfortable sleep. Service was very quick each time I pressed the call bell. Seat layout is 1-2-1. I still think Singapore Airlines business class is by far the best in the world due to wider seats that are more comfortable.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"flight is perpetually delayed"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Surabaya. I always fly Singapore airlines for work, and it has been getting worse by the day. The flight is perpetually delayed. It seems like they do not have a good concept of punctuality. In addition, cabin crew are average in terms of service and pleasantness. the hard product in itself is not something to be lauded. However, among all of it, it has always been the late departure over and over is the one that I think is the biggest pain.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Surabaya
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew seemed to be quite inattentive"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Singapore to Beijing in economy class and the A380 I took was only a 75% retrofitted plane (Econ Class left out). The seats, toilets, catering was ok but the crew seemed to be quite inattentive and the economy class on that A380 was old and shabby. Other than that, food seems to be great but my flight had a 30min delay due to a drone flying around at Changi Airport 2nd runway so there was a single runway operation. Other than that it was great so thanks Singapore Airlines.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not even close to Qatar Airways"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Istanbul via Singapore. BKK to SIN on a newish B789 with a great new Business Class seat; comfortable and great IFE with a large HD touchscreen screen. Lounge in Singapore a rather mediocre experience, overcrowded with average food offerings. SQ lounge in BKK was much better. The big disappointment of this trip was the ancient B772 on the SG to IST sector. It was the very old business class seat which is very very uncomfortable. IFE was poor due to the small non touch screen. As usual, no amenity kit, the fresh flowers in the washrooms have been replaced by tacky plastic flowers. It is very hard to understand why the airlines provides a really good hardware product on a 2h flight, but is not able to do the same on a 11h overnight flight. Service and food on both flights was just average. SQ does not even come close to the business class product of Qatar Airways which I usually fly long haul.
AircraftBoeing 787-9 / 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Istanbul via Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Overall great experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Beijing via Singapore. Overall great experience and Singapore definitely have satisfied us. Upon boarding a hot towel was served. The seat was quite soft, reasonably wide and the legroom was above average. Two full meals were provided on the Melbourne to Singapore sector which was some of the highest quality airline food I have experienced in Economy Class, complemented by the usage of metal cutlery and the ice cream dessert. The only drawback from the flight would be the rather inconvenient Wi-Fi service with pretty much unacceptable pricing for the average user, although on-board SMS and calls were provided, given your carrier supports it on their side. Overall a great experience and does seem to be worth paying a little bit extra for.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Beijing via Singapore
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"usual high standard of SIA is there"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Bangkok return. In the past 10 year or so, we can clearly see many once premium airlines in the world have to resort to cost cutting, due to keen competition from low cost carriers and many other factors. Haven't not been on economy class of Singapore for quite some time, I decided to try it for it's a short haul flight plus it's price factor was very good this time. The usual high standard of SIA is there with the immaculately groomed kebaya-clad crew, and the good condition of the plane and its amenities etc. Hot towel service is still provided in economy class which is a nice touch. Menu is not given since it's a short sector. Hot drinks, cold beverages and meals are all served in one go, which cuts time and makes good sense. However, one can clearly see some cost cutting with the portion of the meal smaller, and the taste was rather bland and mediocre. Boeing 787 on the way to BKK was a fine plane, except the seat pitch and the aisle are all very narrow. Sat at the aisle, I was constantly bumped by the crew and passengers, there's almost nowhere foe me to hide as I wild be spilling onto my neighbour's space. It's quite frustrating really. Also the tray table is so close to my stomach, it's uncomfortable to say the least. Touch screen AVOD was very good, and pre-ordered duty free was dully delivered without delay. On return, SIA has a good lounge on concourse D of BKK airport, which is very close to the boarding gate, D6 or 7. A330, despite being an older plane, actually offered more seat pitch and slightly more space. No touch screen this time. The catering from BKK was better than from SIN. Overall, SIA still manage to being one of the top airlines in the world despite some cost cutting. Take advantage of their promotions, which can sometimes beat the budget airlines by the hands down.
AircraftBoeing 787 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"processes of serving special meals"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Delhi via Singapore. Amazing airline. Excellent customer service. Good food. But cannot understand how this, one of the best airline in the world, has ignored the plight of thousands of travellers who order special meal for so long. The problem is neither with the food nor the service standard of the crew. It is to do with the processes of serving the special meals. Special meals are first served. But no drinks are offered or served on demand. Either one should wait until the remaining passengers are served food with drinks and get a drink and let the nice food sit on the tray and let it get cold. Or eat the food without any drinks, not even water. Singapore Airline should change its processes so thst the crew should bring the same trolley containing the selection of drinks while serving the special meal and offer the same selection of drinks to passengers being served special meal.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Delhi via Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes