Saudi Arabian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 272 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"reached a new low"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Washington via Riyadh. Every day in this part of the world there are things that I find frustrating. Customer service is generally quite bad as a rule. It is almost never up to the standard that western companies provide. But I must say that Saudia Airlines has reached a new low, in having the worst customer service I have ever encountered in my 12+ years here in Dubai. I bought a business class ticket on Saudia, from Dubai to Washington Dulles, USA. My outward bound flight was on June 26. I paid to upgrade to first class. The seat, seating area, plane and toilet were all old and worn, and worst of all dirty. Without any explanation, the date of my return flight was changed. That meant I had to at my own expense buy a new connection ticket. At the same time they changed my flight, they changed my seat, seating me next to a stranger which I specifically did not want. It took emails, phone calls, and I was repeatedly told nothing could be done. Finally at the airport, after causing me much stress about this, an agent changed my seat, and then, and this is my big complaint, and one that I want to be addressed, my entertainment system did not work. No picture, no sound. I asked the flight attendant for a voucher to spend in duty-free, was told no. (That is what British Airways does in these situations). I asked for a note stating my system did not work, they refused to give me one, saying that it was in the records on the plane, no need for a note. I have written three emails concerning this, called twice. so far in over a month, I have received nothing. Nothing! I provide all the information, and on the phone, they tell me they cannot find my record.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteDubai to Washington via Riyadh
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"I recommend Saudia"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Jeddah. My experience with them was actually very positive. The staff at the gate were polite and friendly. Cabin crew members were welcoming, smiling and available throughout the whole flight. The food was OK. I wouldn't say the IFE selection was great but not bad for a 6 hour flight. The airplane was pretty new and clean. I recommend Saudia and will be more than happy to use their services in the future.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Jeddah
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"discourage you to fly this airline"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Very bad experience on Saudia. Business class seats are angled and are not flatbed, the airplane is not clean. Food is quite mediocre. Staff quality usually is unpredictable: I had one stewardess that was very good at what she was doing, the other one was a total disaster. Only amenity kit for women were handed out, the ones for men appeared to have run out. When complaining about the seats not going fully flat to the cabin chief he started a discussion. He came back with the stewardess about 10 minutes later. I was asked to get my things out of the empty seat next to me. When asking what they were doing the cabin chief mentioned he would show me how flat the seat could go. I asked him to get out of my eyes and leave me alone for the rest of the flight. Usually on Saudia flight you also will have the experience that staff think it is more important to have a tea party in the front pantry and do not care at all about business class passengers wanting to sleep during a red eye flight. As on this flight, the cabin chief is always male and usually very lazy and incompetent. I absolutely discourage you to fly this airline. It's business class product is inferior to that of most other airlines.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteIstanbul to Jakarta via Jeddah
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Dont recommend at all"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My flight from Medinah to Jeddah delayed by 20 minutes and there was also 30-40 minutes delay to pick the luggages up. Because luggages wasnt coming at all in baggage claim area. We also lost our baby stroller laggage and 2 zamzam water packages after 40 minutes. Because of this delays we missed our 8.25 am BA132 flight to London in North terminal. This caused us many expenses going forward and backwards between terminals and finally booking a hotel at Jeddah for one night and rebooking a flight to London tomorrow afternoon. I tried to get as much as help I could from Saudia customer service, ticket counters, and supervisor. None of them helped in any way and it's a very poor service provided. I filed a complaint only to hear after 10 days that they rejected it because my connection flight is not Saudia but British Airways. Dont recommend at all.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedinah to Jeddah
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"positive improvement in Saudia"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Jeddah. An enjoyable flight, fairly empty and good attentive staff, good food and a nice and newish plane. Check in to boarding was smooth and staff were polite. I have noticed a positive improvement in Saudia flights the last few times I have flown internationally. Free wifi for whatsapp usage is a nice touch. They are catching up and becoming much closer to a reasonable airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Jeddah
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I had faulty IFE"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London to Riyadh. I was annoyed that the check-in person weighed my hand luggage, especially as both my checked luggage pieces were well below the limit - as was my hand luggage. The reason for the annoyance was that it is obvious they let some passengers take too much luggage on board. They should tackle them and not the ones who do stick to the weight limits. I had faulty IFE on my way to London and again on this flight - very poor, especially as these are fairly new planes. I suspect the person behind me also has problems because he kept hitting the supposed touchscreen quite forcibly. Also the same issue with food as on the first leg - not enough of it. The other surprising thing was that the food from Riyadh was much tastier than that from Heathrow - the opposite of what one would normally expect. In any case, I was glad that I had eaten in the lounge. Apart from these issues the flight was fine. The experience gets spoilt by the mayhem at Riyadh airport's luggage carousels which are too small and in too small a space. Not Saudia's fault, just the airport handling many more passengers that before. Nonetheless, Saudia have always delivered my luggage on the same flight and without causing any serious damage to it (unlike Emirates). Happy to continue flying with Saudia and always taking some food with me.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Riyadh
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"an excellent flight"

(Saudi Arabia)

Not Verified | Riyadh to London. This was an excellent flight with Saudia except the IFE was not working properly and the food, though reasonably tasty, was of insufficient quantity. It is very poor that the IFE screen on an aircraft that is only two and a half years old was faulty. These two issues aside, the Flight Attendant was excellent and made for a very pleasant flight. Last year (probably in response to complaints about the food) Saudi introduced a new service model where items are handed out individually rather than being already on a tray. The problem with this is that it takes a very long time for the food to be delivered, especially if you happen to away from where they start the service. Overall, I still prefer Saudi on this route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRiyadh to London
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"flight was suddenly cancelled"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I booked from Dubai to Kuala Lampur via Riyadh, after check in the flight was suddenly cancelled, later their excuse was bad weather, there definitely was not bad weather, I checked myself. I was rebooked via Jeddah, flight arrived very late, I missed my appointment, Saudi airlines compensated me 98AED only, absolutely a disaster.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Kuala Lampur
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"had a pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Nice experience onboard my Saudia Flight from London Heathrow to Jeddah. The plane was quite empty at that time of year so we had more space to roam around the aircraft. The food was decent and had a pleasant experience with Saudia.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Jeddah
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they get worse and worse"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Jeddah to Riyadh. Unfortunately, since I presently live and work in Saudi Arabia, I have to fly on Saudia often. This airline never ceases to disappoint me! It seems that they get worse and worse. On this latest occasion, the flight departed Jeddah late, the delay was never announced on the airport screens and the Saudia personnel knew nothing. Once the flight arrived in Riyadh, the passengers were sent to a carousel to "pick up their luggage." No one mentioned to the passengers that the plane had left Jeddah without 95% of our baggage. There were no Saudia reps at the carousel and the passengers, including myself, were left waiting 1 and 1/2 hours for our baggage. Needless to say the baggage never arrived. Finally we were told to go to their claim desk where they had two reps to deal with over 150 passenger claims. We were given a claim number and told we would receive a text when our bags came in and that we would have to return to the airport for them, no such thing as sending the bags to you. For three days I attempted to call their baggage service center without response, I never received a text. I finally returned to the airport on the 4th day and found that my bag, along with thousands of other bags from Riyadh flights over the previous 5 days were piled up in a corner. I wish I did not have to fly them again, however there are only a few choices here and each is worse than the other!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJeddah to Riyadh
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no